• Newsletter
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Deals
  • Find a Cruise
  • Reviews
  • News
  • Cruise Tips

AmaBella (APT) Review

4.5 / 5.0
20 reviews

Room for improvement

Review for Europe River Cruise on AmaBella (APT)
2-5 Cruises • Age 80s

Rating by category

Value for Money
Public Rooms
Fitness & Recreation

Additional details

Sail Date: Sep 2018

We had to change from the AmaVerde to the AmaBella on this APT cruise half way through our cruise because of low water on the Danube. This involved a four hour coach journey. This transfer was only revealed to us two days beforehand even though the company knew about it months ago; apparently they have had to do this transfer since June 2018. Rather deceitful in my opinion not to tell us from the start.

The two ships are virtually identical, but it's the crews that make the difference. On the Amaverde they were all very pleasant, accessible and helpful from the Captain down. It was very different on the Amabella. We found that quite a few of the waiters were cheeky, rude and ignorant. One in particular thought he was a comedian but he was nothing more than an irritating clown. For the thousands of pounds you pay for this cruise the least you expect is to be treated with respect.

The reception staff were rather sullen and not very helpful, the head barman was rather lackadaisical, the senior staff were notable for their absence; we hardly ever saw them.

Response from KiraP, Marketing @ APT Travel Group

Hi There, Thank you for your review. Bringing you the best River Cruising experience is really important to us so we take your feedback seriously. We regret you didn’t have the River...

Cabin Review

Cabin Ocean View

Quite good. Comfortable and warm with adequate storage and facilities.

4 Helpful Votes
previous reviewnext review

Find a cruise

Any Month

Get special cruise deals, expert advice, insider tips and more.By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

© 1995—2023, The Independent Traveler, Inc.