1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Scenic Amber
We were recommended to Scenic by dear friends who have had great experiences with this company. We were told about the 5 star food, drinks and accommodations. We booked a balcony suite 2 years in advance and saved to go on this cruise. It started off on a bad note on day one. We went to the bar and ordered champagne to celebrate our cruise. We were told to go sit down and that they would bring us our drinks. What they served us was not champagne. It was something sparkling but of such poor quality that we returned the drink. The bartender, Alin, explained that most guests preferred prosecco, so that is what he pours. No. We specifically ordered what we wanted. We didn't want a substitute of something inferior. This was the tone of the entire cruise with the bar staff. Eventually, we just stopped ordering drinks. If you ordered Remy Martin cognac you received something that would burn your throat. The bar staff would give us rude comments and show mocking behaviour about our champagne request whenever we came in the bar. We were always polite but insistent on getting what we ordered. They would pre-pour drinks and have glasses lined up with who knows what. When you asked for something specific they would substitute it for something inferior. If you did not insist that they pour it in front of you, you could never be sure what you had received, you only knew that it wasn't what you ordered. When you save your money and pay for a high quality experience you have every right to expect it. At the end, we were charged for items we did not order and had to argue it at settlement. The food was horrible. 3 star at best. As I have read of others, we lost weight on the ship. The salads were browned lettuce with no dressing. We could see no reason for the poor produce as we visited the central market in Budapest before the cruise and could see the beautiful produce available. The quality of everything served was just mediocre. We were so thrilled with the land excursions and the chance to eat a tasty meal that we willing paid of our own money for these experiences. The wine quality on the ship is very poor. The serve it freely at dinner but after tasting it, I usually drank water. At the Portabellas restaurant we left before dessert because it was such a poor meal. I will include photos I took of the breakfast selections, you be the judge if it looks 5 star quality. The coffee is vending machine coffee. At least they served Moet champagne at breakfast, but who wants to drink in the mornings? On the last evening, the menu produced was so lacking that my companion asked for a burger instead. The restaurant manager came over with snarky comments about "Here is your McDonalds". We don't eat a McDonalds at home. We don't eat fast food at all. The food is so poor, we figured they couldn't screw up a burger, could they? Many people ordered specific things not on the menu because the menu was just so poor. The ship itself was fine. Our room was fine. David, who offered the entertainment was great and was a nice, friendly diversion when we needed to go to the lounge/bar for updates. Yvonne, the cruise director, did an exceptional job and offered great suggestions. Dennis, our housekeeper was a highlight of our cruise. He always had pleasant conversation and was so attentive. We saw the butler once. After that it was kitchen or wait staff that would bring the things we ordered to our room. Dennis was the most attentive. The only negative about the room is that other ships dock right next to you so the balcony use is very limited. Mostly you are looking into the room of the next ship. Our best part on this cruise was when it ended and we did the land portion. The Scenic guides in Prague, were the best. The Marriot was a real treat after the ship. I'm glad we didn't start in Prague because getting on the ship would have been even more of a let down. I loved hearing the personal stories of the guides. It brought so much to my enjoyment of the cruise. We cannot, in good conscious, recommend a Scenic Cruise.

Extremely Disappointing for a 5 star cruise

Scenic Amber Cruise Review by MaryKCruiser

4 people found this helpful
Trip Details
We were recommended to Scenic by dear friends who have had great experiences with this company. We were told about the 5 star food, drinks and accommodations. We booked a balcony suite 2 years in advance and saved to go on this cruise. It started off on a bad note on day one. We went to the bar and ordered champagne to celebrate our cruise. We were told to go sit down and that they would bring us our drinks. What they served us was not champagne. It was something sparkling but of such poor quality that we returned the drink. The bartender, Alin, explained that most guests preferred prosecco, so that is what he pours. No. We specifically ordered what we wanted. We didn't want a substitute of something inferior. This was the tone of the entire cruise with the bar staff. Eventually, we just stopped ordering drinks. If you ordered Remy Martin cognac you received something that would burn your throat. The bar staff would give us rude comments and show mocking behaviour about our champagne request whenever we came in the bar. We were always polite but insistent on getting what we ordered. They would pre-pour drinks and have glasses lined up with who knows what. When you asked for something specific they would substitute it for something inferior. If you did not insist that they pour it in front of you, you could never be sure what you had received, you only knew that it wasn't what you ordered. When you save your money and pay for a high quality experience you have every right to expect it. At the end, we were charged for items we did not order and had to argue it at settlement.

The food was horrible. 3 star at best. As I have read of others, we lost weight on the ship. The salads were browned lettuce with no dressing. We could see no reason for the poor produce as we visited the central market in Budapest before the cruise and could see the beautiful produce available. The quality of everything served was just mediocre. We were so thrilled with the land excursions and the chance to eat a tasty meal that we willing paid of our own money for these experiences. The wine quality on the ship is very poor. The serve it freely at dinner but after tasting it, I usually drank water. At the Portabellas restaurant we left before dessert because it was such a poor meal. I will include photos I took of the breakfast selections, you be the judge if it looks 5 star quality. The coffee is vending machine coffee. At least they served Moet champagne at breakfast, but who wants to drink in the mornings? On the last evening, the menu produced was so lacking that my companion asked for a burger instead. The restaurant manager came over with snarky comments about "Here is your McDonalds". We don't eat a McDonalds at home. We don't eat fast food at all. The food is so poor, we figured they couldn't screw up a burger, could they? Many people ordered specific things not on the menu because the menu was just so poor.

The ship itself was fine. Our room was fine. David, who offered the entertainment was great and was a nice, friendly diversion when we needed to go to the lounge/bar for updates. Yvonne, the cruise director, did an exceptional job and offered great suggestions. Dennis, our housekeeper was a highlight of our cruise. He always had pleasant conversation and was so attentive. We saw the butler once. After that it was kitchen or wait staff that would bring the things we ordered to our room. Dennis was the most attentive. The only negative about the room is that other ships dock right next to you so the balcony use is very limited. Mostly you are looking into the room of the next ship.

Our best part on this cruise was when it ended and we did the land portion. The Scenic guides in Prague, were the best. The Marriot was a real treat after the ship. I'm glad we didn't start in Prague because getting on the ship would have been even more of a let down.

I loved hearing the personal stories of the guides. It brought so much to my enjoyment of the cruise.

We cannot, in good conscious, recommend a Scenic Cruise.
, The Scenic Team has responded
Dear MaryKCruiser, Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that your cruise did not live up to your friend's recommendations. The drinks and food that you mention does not sound like the usual 5 star standard and I am very sorry that you had a poor experience ordering the drinks you wanted. If you can provide your email address our Customer Care team will be able to contact you regarding these concerns, otherwise can you please email customercare@scenic.com.au and we will be in touch. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ship, the entertainment and that Dennis and Yvonne did an exceptional job. Best regards, The Scenic Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
MaryKCruiser’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Scenic Amber price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Cabin Review

Cabin 235
The room was fine.