We book and paid for an expedition cruise and received less than a repositioning cruise. We book the cruise over 2 years ago at which time Viking advised that most of the tours were included in our fare. Then 30 days before the cruise, Viking was charging for the tours that we had wanted and others they had simply cancelled. Totally false advertising. Viking either has no clue what expedition cruising is or they just chose to not provide what we paid for. We were to go to Halifax originally but then the company wanted to do some PR work in New York so we were to miss Halifax as we would be leaving late. Then because we were leaving late, a storm caused us to remain in the harbor overnight. Then they told us we were even later because the Canadian pilot wouldn't get on board in the high seas. We were just coming out of New York, USA not Canada so it would be a US pilot. So we sailed even later and therefore missed both the Cape Cod Scenic Sailing and Louisburg, Cape Breton Island which, according to their expedition staff is in the US not part of Canada. In PEI, the expedition leader who was no more than a cruise director announced that Quebec had a mask mandate so we had to wear a mask in PEI which is like saying that Sweden has a mask mandate so Norway had to wear masks. They clearly had not done their homework on where they were in the world. We missed Cap Aux Meules due to weather. At one point Viking sailed past one of the locks and had to brake and reverse course in the St Lawrence Seaway. They didn't reserve a pilot and we therefore missed a day in Toronto. Their daily briefings were just port talks and trying to sell more shore excursions which were to be included in the first place. Viking seems to think that taking a tour of the subs, the kayaks and the special operations boats were an expedition experience since they never used them or that a 45 minute zodiac tour of a harbor area in a city is an expedition cruise. People arrived from the UK without jackets as Viking had said gear would be available which it wasn't. They forgot to pick us up from the airport so we ended up in the port very early in the morning without breakfast or even coffee. Their front end staff even said it was a repositioning cruise not an expedition cruise when a number of us complained. We have been on expedition cruises and have wonderful adventures. This cruise wasn't even close to an expedition cruise let alone a wonderful one.
Response from VikingS, Community Team
Cabin are actually quite nice but we had to change rooms due to a noise that sounded like a shotgun going off every few minutes. They tried all day to figure out the problem but never could identify it. Three days later we received a call asking if the problem had been resolved. Closet cupboards are difficult to access and close properly. The nordic balcony is a unique feature and the sitting area is great to watch what is happening outdoors.