Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals Excursion Reviews

Puerto Limon The Tortuguero Canals cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Immerse yourself in the Costa Rican rainforest on a tour of the canals of Tortuguero.
Member Image HimAndMeGoCruising
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Rainforest walk and canals - highly recommend
Read HimAndMeGoCruising's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Promised to see wildlife but only saw one monkey and some birds.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Your Lucky Tour
Member Image sassyred4u2005
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Really nice excursion, the guide was great very informative. We saw monkeys, and many other different kids of animals
Read sassyred4u2005's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image teony20
1 review
Jan 2017
Oscar Brown took 5 of us in his van on a tour of his city. He is very knowledable about flora and fauna. Also he took us to the boat ride of the Torguguero Canal. Very nice.
Read teony20's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Oscar Brown
Member Image Vickia314
1 review
Jan 2017
TRAIN RIDE, TORTUGUERO CANALS & COUNTRYSIDE Limon, Costa Rica Started with a tour in an air-conditioned bus with an amazing guide. Shirley was so knowledgeable and delightful. We boarded a vintage train for a excursion through the Caribbean rain forest and countryside. Shirley again narrated this tour through the countryside of Costa Rica. The spider monkeys swinging on the vines were the highlight of the trip as well as sloths. We boarded the bus to a Pachira Private Dock where we enjoyed Caribbean live music at the restaurant and treated to a delicious tropical fruit buffet. Then we returned to our ship via the bus. Great excursion.
Read Vickia314's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Eleanor Mae troutman
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent guide Omar and driver Ronald
Read Eleanor Mae troutman's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Brian1951
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Included Banana Train ride where we saw lots of wildlife on train and during canal tour
Read Brian1951's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kuntrybu
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Interesting to see all the vegetation and animals
Read kuntrybu's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
Toured city, went to rainforest, and did the Toruguero that despite rain seen all kinds of animals. Was not able to do the hike but had a very nice driver who caught the animals (green and red frogs) for us. we had nice place to rest.
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Lucky Tours Eduardo Humphreys
Member Image frenchlovers
1 review
Dec 2016
Very little wildlife to see, but thrilled with the basilisk lizards.
Read frenchlovers's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Workinless
11 reviews
Nov 2016
Very nice combination tour of the area around Limon plus a short Torguguero Canal Tour. We were about 30 min. late leaving because a group from another ship was a no show. Tour companies often do not require deposits and they get stiffed by groups like this. Irritating to all parties. Our guide, Fabiana, was pretty, personable and an excellent guide. She did a great job explaining the history and culture of Costa Rica. After a short drive and a couple of stops to see some Howler monkeys, we stopped by a family owned fruit stand. You can sample the fruit for for voluntary tips, pus Fabiana got everyone a small box of fruit to eat. They had coconuts for $1 and the milk was delicious. A short stop at the edge of a banana plantation (it was closed on Sunday) and Fabiana talked about the growing and harvesting of the crop. The canal ride was very nice, but don't expect a jungle cruise teeming with animals. There were quite a few birds and we saw a couple of sloths and the snout of a small caiman. Lunch was on our own at a nice restaurant overlooking the beach before returning to the ship after a brief stop at a souvenir shop in town.
Read Workinless's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Syltravel
Member Image mninem
3 reviews
Nov 2016
After 2 days of heat and humidity in Cartagena and Panama, this short, slow paced boat ride was just enough.
Read mninem's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gbp10
1 review
Nov 2016
Saw sloths, howler monkey and toucans from a covered pontoon boat.
Read gbp10's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ralbert92
1 review
Nov 2016
Information, guide was very knowledgeable, got to see sloths and howler monkeys in the wild along with many species of birds.
Read ralbert92's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mysterygal
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Excellent tour with knowledgeable tour guide. We saw lots of wildlife.
Read mysterygal's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WanderingTheWorld
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Saw a bit of wildlife. Somewhat scenic.
Read WanderingTheWorld's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GWSUBARU
1 review
Nov 2015
Saw several sloths, birds and lizards.
Read GWSUBARU's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RobertaV
1 review
Apr 2015
Ok after a real problem with the company who didn't want to give us the private tour and wanted us to join another group even though I had confirmation e mails. It took about an hour for them to sort it out,
Read RobertaV's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oscar Brown
Member Image Mother Mucker
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Boat a bit rickety however the guide was very good and was intent on pleasings us. We were able to find iguanas, crocodiles, sloths, monkeys and a variety of birds. Very enjoyable
Read Mother Mucker's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image chip60
1 review
Mar 2015
Took a trip on the canal, on a small boat with other Costa Ricans. The trip was very good. Saw howler monkey, colourful lizards, birds and baby croc. The guide was very good at pointing out the various birds and animals.
Read chip60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image BerkCruiser
3 reviews
Mar 2015
A good guide, raised locally, attuned to the rainforest so well that he could spot wildlife that was hidden to the rest of us. Enriched the experience. Pleasant and interesting ride up and down the canal.
Read BerkCruiser's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image JanandBill
1 review
Mar 2015
Very short trip on a very unattractive commercial stretch of a canal, seeing practically nothing. Guides more interested in humorous patter than in providing interesting information.
Read JanandBill's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Straightlinespeed
2 reviews
Feb 2015
Jumped aboard a small boat and got to go down the canals looking for wildlife. We saw a lot of birds, bats, sloths, and monkeys. Also saw a lot of locals, fishing and making there living on the canal. There is no guarantee what you will see while on the canal.
Read Straightlinespeed's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image italian stallion
6 reviews
Feb 2015

Great variety in bus,boat and train tour. Boat tour was very lazy and peaceful with many fauna and flora to see. Howler monkeys and some species of birds, with the green lizards, iguana style reptile were there for the photo taking. Interesting facts about Costa Rica was part of the bus tour explained by a well versed tour guide with good English speech.

Read italian stallion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yellow09jeep
1 review
Jan 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The boat driver went out of his way to turn the boat so everyone could see.

Read yellow09jeep's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links