16 Puntarenas (Puerto Caldera) Cruise Reviews

This was a cargo ship container port with nothing around and no access to a town unless you paid for a shuttle or excursion.
This was a cargo ship container port with nothing around and no access to a town unless you paid for a shuttle or excursion. Read Less
Sail Date January 2020
Was supposed to arrive at 11. Got there at 3, two hours before darkness. All birding and naturalist tours were cancelled. Left at 8, leaving so late served no purpose as everyone was on the ship when the last tour buses arrived at ... Read More
Was supposed to arrive at 11. Got there at 3, two hours before darkness. All birding and naturalist tours were cancelled. Left at 8, leaving so late served no purpose as everyone was on the ship when the last tour buses arrived at 6pm. Walked into town, little opportunity to shop as limited options. The 2 hastily organized tours (shopping and a horse show) spent their last hour driving in the darkness. Significant lines at guest relations and shore excursions with passengers demanding to be reimbursed. This stop was an insult to the passengers Read Less
Sail Date October 2018
Arrived at 3 pm with night at 5 pm. No point to have been there. All nature/birding excursions were cancelled.
Arrived at 3 pm with night at 5 pm. No point to have been there. All nature/birding excursions were cancelled. Read Less
Sail Date October 2018
this area was not good. Charged by cruise line $15 pp to go to town on large bus which they said would take 15 mintues. It took 35 . Upon return the lines were excessively long and no shade and no rep in the town to guide us They had ... Read More
this area was not good. Charged by cruise line $15 pp to go to town on large bus which they said would take 15 mintues. It took 35 . Upon return the lines were excessively long and no shade and no rep in the town to guide us They had set up a Gazebo for Staff in center Puntarenas but nothing for passengers. Waited ab out 35 minutes for bus. The bus then dropped us off in parking lot before entry gate to pier and made us change to another bus to go into the pier area. Absurd. This is probably the fault of the contractor but yet arranged by NCL. Read Less
Sail Date May 2018
I would recommend Princess cancel this stop and add a stop further along to break up days at sea. We took shuttle into town......and the town is not prepared for travelers. All of the shops we stopped in did not accept US ... Read More
I would recommend Princess cancel this stop and add a stop further along to break up days at sea. We took shuttle into town......and the town is not prepared for travelers. All of the shops we stopped in did not accept US dollars.....except for a restaurant that we stopped for beverages. Read Less
Sail Date October 2016
Vastly over priced with 70% of time on a bus and 100% of time sitting (see review). We saw 3 one foot crocs and maybe a macaw high up in the trees. However, I think it's just a dummy to please the tourists. We also saw a cockroach ... Read More
Vastly over priced with 70% of time on a bus and 100% of time sitting (see review). We saw 3 one foot crocs and maybe a macaw high up in the trees. However, I think it's just a dummy to please the tourists. We also saw a cockroach that hitched a ride on our boat., That was the highlight. Read Less
Sail Date February 2016
The ship was blasted by corn dust for hours at this port. Inhaling corn dust can be harmful to your health.
The ship was blasted by corn dust for hours at this port. Inhaling corn dust can be harmful to your health. Read Less
Sail Date January 2016
nothing there. To go to town you either have to have a tour, a cab or pay $29.95 to get a transfer to leave the port area you are not allowed to walk to town. We found this out the day before we docked.
nothing there. To go to town you either have to have a tour, a cab or pay $29.95 to get a transfer to leave the port area you are not allowed to walk to town. We found this out the day before we docked. Read Less
Sail Date December 2015
There is really nothing to do at the port itself. You can, however, get a free wi-fi connection in the building the ship docks next to.
There is really nothing to do at the port itself. You can, however, get a free wi-fi connection in the building the ship docks next to. Read Less
Sail Date April 2012

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click