Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox

Carnival Fascination Cruise Review by cwestpvb

Home > Reviews > Member Reviews > Carnival Fascination Cruise Review by cwestpvb
Carnival Fascination
Carnival Fascination
Member Name: cwestpvb
Cruise Date: March 2013
Embarkation: Jacksonville
Destination: Bahamas
Cabin Category:
Cabin Number: U123
Booking Method: Cruise Line
See More About: Carnival Fascination Cruise Reviews | Bahamas Cruise Reviews | Carnival Cruise Deals
Member Rating   5.0 out of 5+
Dining 4.0
Public Rooms 5.0
Cabins 4.0
Entertainment 5.0
Spa & Fitness 4.0
Family & Children (By Age Group)
        13-15 1.0
        16+ 1.0
Shore Excursions 5.0
Embarkation 5.0
Service 5+
Value-for-Money 5+
Rates 5.0
Write a cruise review!

Show the Lowest Price
Departure Month
Please select at least one vendor.
Expedia
Carnival.com
CheapCruises.com
Cruise.com
Priceline.com
Onboard.com
American Discount Cruises
Sponsored Links:

red arrow


Ship Facts: Carnival Fascination Review (by Cruise Critic!) | Carnival Fascination Deck Plans
Great Fun and a Great Deal
We have only been on one cruise before this and it was about seven years ago. So pretty much this was another first time cruising experience. This was a five day cruise to Nassau and Key West. We were planning on going on the cruise before this one, but it was booked before we got to it. This one was only 30 dollars more per person for an inside room, so we went with it instead. We did online check-in and booked an excursion for Nassau before the cruise. We began packing the weekend before and got all our essentials that we needed to buy.

March 25th, 2013: Embarkation

We live only 20 minutes from JAXPORT, so we left at around 11:00 AM. When we arrived at the port we were greeted with lines, lines, and more lines. Thankfully, they move FAST! We went through security, checked in, and got on the boat in about 30 minutes! We took the elevator to the lido deck and had some lunch. We had the mongolian food since it had the shortest line. I would say go for it! No line and the food was good! You choose noodles,veggies, meat, and sauce. Then they cook it right there! After lunch, we went to guest services to put some money in our cash account. It was about 1:00 then, so we went to our room. We had a standard inside room directly midship, room U123. We had the 2 twins set up and that allowed for a big space in the middle of the room. We didnt have a fridge which we would have liked, but everything else was good. The rest of the day was just exploring and dinner. We had 8:15 dining, not our first choice, in the Sensation dining room. Our waiter was Elmer and he was great the whole week! Don't be afraid to ask whats not good that night! He knows the best stuff to eat! We had tilapia and brisket, both very good. We then brought the chocolate melting cake to the room. After that we called it a night!

March 26th, 2013: Sea Day

We woke up late and missed breakfast in the dining room, so we headed upstairs to have the buffet breakfast. It was okay, but we didnt go back up for breakfast again. Then we went to the room to get our bathing suits on and then went on deck. It was windy and cold, so we didnt stay long. After that we played a round of mini golf then just hung around the ship. It wasnt a really productive day, haha! We had lunch in the dining room, and it was much better than the lido deck! Its only open for lunch on sea days, so make sure you take advantage of it! Then we just got ready to see a show. It was the Motown show, and it was very good! Make sure you see it! Then we had dinner right after. It was formal night, so everyone was all dressed up! We had prime rib and eggplant and zucchini parm. Prime rib was no good, so my mother sent it back and got lobster! Much better! After dinner we went to bed. We could feel the ship, so a dramamine was needed.

March 27th, 2013: Key West

We woke up really early to watch the sun rise, and yes it was worth it! Then we had breakfast in the dining room and went ashore! We just rented some bikes and rode around to the southernmost point. After about an hour and a half we rode back to the port. We had parasailing at 10:45, it was fun and expensive. After that we went on the ship and hung around. We left port at 2:30 so we went to the top deck and watched the ship leave(and also make some last minute phone calls before the cell service was gone!). Nothing really went on that day so nap time was on the list(yes we like naps!). We eventually went on deck to lay in the sun, but once again it was freezing! We had record low temperatures that day so we just sat for a few minutes. Then we got ready for dinner. We had a casual dinner, it was good, not complaints. Then it was time to go to bed!

March 28th, 2013: Nassau

We docked at about 12:00, right on time! We were second people off the ship and went right to Senor Frogs! We had a great lunch of grouper strips, fried to perfection, and mexican style sliders! Senor Frogs is not to be missed! After that we bought a beautiful conch shell and then headed to the ship to get ready for the snorkel trip. We left the room at 2:10 and got in the group right off of the ship. We walked to the boat and sailed to a reef. It was a little chilly, so we were not in for too long! The trip back was fun! Dancing, drinks, and laying in the sun. We passed Atlantis and thats now on the bucket list! After the trip, we just hung around the boat. Dinner was good, I can't remember what we had but it was good! Then we went to bed like usual.

March 29th, 2013: Last Day :(

Another sea day consisting on few things. We did the water slides! They are fun! And did some more mini golf! Other than that nothing really happened until dinner time. We went to the Divas show. It was good, but the Motown was better. Dinner was good! We had Veal Parm and meatloaf. Veal was very good and meatloaf was okay. We then took baked alaska back to the room! Then we put the luggage outside and called it a night!

March 30th, 2013: Debarkation

We woke up early and brought our carry on's to the dining room and had breakfast. We waited on deck 10 in the lobby near a window. When they called zones 1-5 at around 9:00, we began timing when we would head down. We eventually left at 9:20 and headed down to floor 4. They called our zone, zone 7, a few minutes after. We got off in 5 minutes. We then collected our luggage and went to customs. It was very quick! After that it was time to celebrate a good vacation with lunch at The Loop!

Overall:

It was perfect for a last minute vacation. Cruising is really the way to go! We would want to try a different cruise line next time to see how they all are. Norwegian and Royal Caribbean are better, as we have been told. But Carnival was not bad at all! We would gladly sail with them again and the Fascination again!

Publication Date: 04/01/13
Read the Bahamas ports review by cwestpvb
More Carnival Fascination Cruise Reviews

Read the previous Carnival Fascination review Read the next Carnival Fascination review

Like This Review?



Register for a Meet & Mingle!
More Bahamas Cruise Reviews
Cruise Critic's Carnival Fascination Review
Carnival Cruise Deals
Carnival Message Board
Write a cruise review!
About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.