Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox

Diamant Cruise Review by island-ladie

Home > Reviews > Member Reviews > Diamant Cruise Review by island-ladie
Diamant
Diamant
Member Name: island-ladie
Cruise Date: May 2012
Embarkation: Grenada
Destination: Southern Caribbean
Cabin Category:
Cabin Number: 5
Booking Method: Cruise Line
See More About: Diamant Cruise Reviews | Southern Caribbean Cruise Reviews | Island Windjammers Cruise Deals
Member Rating   5+ out of 5+
Dining 5+
Public Rooms 5.0
Cabins 5+
Entertainment 4.0
Spa & Fitness Not Rated
Family & Children Not Rated
Shore Excursions 4.0
Embarkation 5.0
Service 5+
Value-for-Money 5+
Rates 5.0
Write a cruise review!

Sponsored Links:

red arrow


Ship Facts: Diamant Review (by Cruise Critic!)
One of the Top 3 Vacations of My Life!
Itinerary 5/6/12 -- 5/19/12:

Sunday, 5/6 -- Board Diamant

Monday 5/7 -- Chatham Bay, Union Island

Tuesday 5/8 -- Admiralty Bay, Bequia

Wednesday 5/9 -- Wallialabou, St. Vincent (moved to Buccament Bay?)

Thursday 5/10 -- Marigot Bay, St. Lucia

Friday 5/11 -- Rodney Bay, St. Lucia

Saturday, 5/12 -- Rodney Bay Marina, St. Lucia

Sunday 5/13 -- Soufriere (mooring between Pitons), St. Lucia

Monday 5/14 -- Admiralty Bay, Bequia

Tuesday 5/15 -- Tobago Cays

Wednesday 5/16 -- Saline Beach, Mayreau

Thursday 5/17 -- Clifton, Union Island, then to Petite St. Vincent, then to Sandy Island

Friday 5/18 -- Sandy Island, Carriacou then to Port Louis, Grenada

Saturday 5/19 -- Port Louis, Grenada

Sunday 5/6/12 -- Met other passengers at Victory Bar in Port Louis and boarded Diamant. Crew: Capt. Matt, Marlon, Clive, Philbert, Brandon and Troy (Boston was also with us for a few days). Usual great snacks & swizzle and a buffet dinner.

Monday 5/7/12 -- Left around 5 AM and anchored near Hillsborough, Carriacou to check out of Grenada then sailed to Chatham Bay. Took the new launch to the beach -- it is like being in the Cadillac of Zodiacs. Local bar, Bollhead allowed use of chairs. Spent day snorkeling, swimming and dodging the rain drops (it's not like we weren't wet anyway).

Tuesday 5/8/12 -- Early sail to Bequia and passed Moonhole for photos. Shopping ashore (love Soldana, Bookstore, ship-making shops, new Oasis Art Gallery) and met up with group for lunch at Mac's Pizza. Lobster is out of season, so no lobster pizza, but the shrimp pizza was really good. Stop for ice cream then over to Princess Margaret Beach for afternoon on the beach. Wine and cheese night!

Wednesday 5/9/12 -- After breakfast, sailed to St. Vincent to stop at Wallialabou (set for Pirates of the Caribbean). Walking tour with Speedy to some waterfalls and of course found a little shop to support the local economy! Moved anchorage to a lovely area -- it might have been Buccament Bay, but I forget. The resort on shore had white sand shipped in to cover the natural black sand -- I think the black sand is pretty cool myself.

Thursday 5/10/12 -- Early sail to Marigot Bay in St. Lucia. Rainy day, so we all stayed in the saloon and watched "Groundhog Day" after lunch. Sailed past the Pitons. Once moored, went over to the yachtie shops and of course spent money. Great BBQ buffet tonight -- Philbert's own special sauce. YUM.

Friday 5/11/12 -- We all went on an island tour with Murphy after breakfast and Matt moved the ship to Rodney Bay. We visited the banana fields, a rum distributor for a rum tasting and a rum buying soiree, Diamond Falls and Botanical Garden, the volcano and then up to Ladera for lunch between the Pitons. If you get the chance to do the rum tasting -- it was $3 US and then you went to another area where they had 15-20 bottles of rum set out with disposable cups and you just went at it -- whatever you wanted and however much you wanted. Since it was still early in the morning (around 10), we did try to behave and leave some rum for anybody that came after us! Several photo stops along the way back to Rodney Bay. Long day, but we saw lots and had great fun.

Saturday 5/12/12 Matt moved the ship from Rodney Bay to the Rodney Bay Marina so the ship could re-provision, get laundry done, etc. Several of us went over to the Rodney Bay Mall to purchase tickets for the St. Lucia Jazz Festival on Pigeon Island (it's not an island any more -- they dredged earth up and it is now just a narrow drive). Did shopping (you'd think we were made of money!!). Walked to Spinnaker's on the beach for lunch and sunbathing/swimming. Launch picked us up in the canal to take us back to ship for snacks and swizzle. Several of us went to the Jazz Festival for dinner and entertainment. Dinner was from local vendors. We saw Kirk Franklin and Keri Hilson perform. If you ever have a chance to go to the Jazz Festival in St. Lucia -- don't hesitate. It is like nothing you could imagine and quite worth the ticket price.

Sunday 5/13/12 After Capt Matt cleared us out of St. Lucia, we moved to a mooring between the Pitons for the day. Went to the beach for swimming and fantastic snorkeling from the beach and from the ship. This has been turned into a marine preserve and it is breathtaking. Another beautiful day in paradise.

Monday 5/14/12 Early start to cross the channel to Bequia. Found a fairly calm spot, so had a late breakfast before continuing on. Got to Admiralty Bay around noon, just in time for lunch. Some went into town, some went to beach. Darn, I went to town, so I had to have another ice cream. If you haven't been to Bequia for a few months, you won't believe your eyes. They are totally remaking the walk way along the water's edge to Mac's -- even doing landscaping. Several of us went over to the Frangipani for dinner -- I would highly recommend their food.

Tuesday 5/15/12 Early sail over to Tobago Cays this morning. It was a little rock'n'roll and a little flying food at breakfast. Brandon won the best balancer contest. Deck chairs, mats, noodles over to the beach for the day. Brought the grill over for a beach lunch -- cheeseburgers in paradise! Some went over to snorkel with the turtles -- it was a great success. It's Crazy Hat Night -- no crazy hat -- no swizzle!

Wednesday 5/16/12 Left Tobago Cays to sail over to Saline Beach, Mayreau. Some took launch to Saline and some took launch to Salt Whistle Bay. Some walked from beach to beach. Some did everything! Wonderful BBQ buffet tonight for dinner.

Thursday 5/17/12 Under sail around 7 AM for Clifton on Union Island. Spent a couple of hours wandering around town. Had a "who can buy the most useless thing" contest -- won by Rob. While in town, went to Costello's and spent some more money. After lunch, sailed over to Petite St. Vincent, Private Resort (it said so on their shirts). Picturesque island and beach. Several swam to beach from the ship, being one of the lazier ones, I took the launch. Had drinks at the Private Resort bar. We were not allowed to go near the resort so they could protect the privacy of their guests. Sailed over to Sandy Island for snacks and swizzle. Matt grilled chicken for dinner. Several of the Diamant guests decided to feed the seagulls the stale/soggy cookies and pretzels -- it was a feeding frenzy with the sunset in the background. Lots of stars tonight.

Friday 5/18/12 A couple of us went over to Hillsborough for an hour or so while Capt Matt checked us into Grenada while the rest went over to swim and snorkel at Sandy Island. Drizzly morning, but the reports of snorkeling were good. Early lunch, then got under sail to return to Port Louis. Beautiful sail, beautiful day. Pulled into Port Louis about 4 PM. Had Brandon's special Rumageddon with snacks. Crystal came aboard to start the check out process. Matt grilled steak for the Captain's dinner and Philbert prepared the other delicious food. Had a surprise anniversary celebration complete with chocolate cake.

"Sad"urday 5/16/12. Several had early flights home. Philbert sent everyone off with a hearty breakfast. Sad goodbyes to new friends with promises to keep in touch. Sad goodbyes and thank yous to the crew with the promises of returning soon.

This was one of the best trips I have taken. The length was perfect; the crew were absolutely stupendous; I couldn't have hand-chosen a better group of passengers. I was lucky enough to be able to spend 3 days on Grenada before and after the sail at the Allamanda Beach Resort. Our Diamant (our private yacht) was classy and took us where we wanted to go. The food couldn't have been better -- I bet there was once at least 3 hours between eating.

Thank you to Island Windjammers, the crew and fellow passengers for making this trip one of the best vacations ever!

Publication Date: 05/28/12
Read the Southern Caribbean ports review by island-ladie
More Diamant Cruise Reviews

Read the previous Diamant review Read the next Diamant review

Like This Review?



More Southern Caribbean Cruise Reviews
Cruise Critic's Diamant Review
Island Windjammers Cruise Deals
Island Windjammers Message Board
Write a cruise review!
About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.