38 Viking River Viking Jarl Romantic Cruise Reviews

We started out on the Viking Jarl. The staff was excellent and if our whole cruise had stayed on the Jarl we would have had our dream vacation in spite of the low water levels. The Captain, Hotel Manager, Program Director, wait staff, ... Read More
We started out on the Viking Jarl. The staff was excellent and if our whole cruise had stayed on the Jarl we would have had our dream vacation in spite of the low water levels. The Captain, Hotel Manager, Program Director, wait staff, bartender, room steward and all other staff we came in contact with was excellent. But the moment we changed onto the Atla the staff was rude, had an attitude, food service was bad bad (Banana pudding was a small, hard muffin with hint of banana, not a creamy, delicious pudding), food was ok but not like the great food we had on the Jarl. All in all the whole experience on the Atla was terrible. We were made to feel like an inconvenience and they could hardly wait until the next day when they could pass us off to the Bragia. When we transferred on Saturday to the Bragia it started out fine. We were greeted well. But the wait staff was clearly lacking. The Aquavit Terrace had the food for breakfast laid out but the entire time we were eating we never saw any wait staff to help us. The final night was the breaking point. We had experienced a bad tour with a guide we could not understand, it was cold and we were tired. When we arrived for dinner we were advised that the regional Hungarian menu was ALL we could order from!! The staff was extremely rude when we requested other choices. Finally the matre de allowed my husband who cant have spicy food to have a plain hamburger and french fries. It was like they couldn't get rid of us fast enough. The next morning we were staying at a hotel in Budapest we had arranged. Although our bags had been out by 7:15 as told, when we got ready to leave at 8:30 they were not upstairs. We had to ask for them to be brought us and a taxi called. We previously had been told by friends what a great cruise line Viking was. This trip was terrible. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
We’ve all seen them - the inspirational Viking Cruise Lines advertisements - mature couples drinking wine on deck with wind blowing gently on their smiling faces amidst beautiful castles going by as they cruise luxuriously down the ... Read More
We’ve all seen them - the inspirational Viking Cruise Lines advertisements - mature couples drinking wine on deck with wind blowing gently on their smiling faces amidst beautiful castles going by as they cruise luxuriously down the exotic river. Enchanting villages where, said couples, are watching and bantering with the village folk while teaching them the secret techniques of their trade. Enrichment lectures onboard and destination performances at port so you can experience the culture live and in color. Irresistible, right? So irresistible, in fact, that we called Viking directly and after talking at length with the “Travel Consultant” about the “Romantic Danube” River Cruise and all that it included, we signed up with eager anticipation. My husband and I just completed our Viking “Romantic Danube” River cruise and found the reality to be altogether different. It was actually more of a BUS TRIP where we “cruised” down nondescript highways with occasional stops in places not on the itinerary (to make up for the places we didn’t go to that were on the itinerary) to catch a glimpse of our ship docked at some rundown, industrial site that is nowhere near our destination. My personal favorite was the gravel pit with the huge crane where we literally had to walk under the dangling cab to board our ship. This, of course, was one of those stops somewhere between cities we were supposed to visit but had to take a bus to get to. Rumor has it, from a reliable source who works for Viking, that these sites are actually chosen to avoid paying expensive docking fees in ports of call. But I digress… Unfortunately, our trip did not reflect what was advertised in the commercials, brochures or travel document verbiage. In fact, there was but a vestige of what the itinerary and brochure promised. Yes, the river level was down; and Yes, the itinerary needed to be altered; and Yes, there were buses to be organized and utilized, but the overarching problem with this trip for us was that Viking’s approach to all of this is to NOT FULLY DISCLOSE the information they had. This resulted in constant last minute changes, passenger confusion, misinformation, frustration and an overall feeling that we were having “the wool pulled over our eyes”, which then lead to multiple rumors about how Viking was greedily and knowingly taking advantage of its passengers. To top off this already difficult environment, the Program Director and his staff were arrogant, condescending, aloof and downright rude. When I asked, out of curiosity, why Viking ships were docked in port at Passau and moving down the river, yet we had a very long bus ride bus to get to Passau AND back that afternoon AND another 4.5 hour bus ride the next day to meet a ship to swap with, I was met with a very curt response from one of the managers, followed by the Program Director literally yelling at me and making extremely sarcastic and belittling comments to me within hearing distance of other passengers. Honestly, I was incredulous. This was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE and UNPROFESSIONAL behavior. He did later apologize and said how stressed out he was, but that is just not what I expect when we’re paying THOUSANDS of dollars to take this trip. By Day 3 of the cruise, passengers were already talking openly about how upset they were about all of these changes were being handled; the lack of communication, the seeming chaos and poor decisions that were being made. These were not just people whom had not been on a Viking cruise before, this included people who had taken multiple cruises with Viking and were never going to step foot on another Viking ship after this one was done. By the time the trip was completed, that’s all we heard people talking about - how unethical, irresponsible, unconscionable and negligent Viking was to KNOWINGLY take our money and not fully disclose what the true impact on our trip might be. Based on the reviews we read prior to taking the trip, this water level issue had been going on for 4 months! We even called Viking 5 days prior to departure to ask if our trip was going to be impacted and if we could cancel if it was. They, of course, responded with NO, you can’t cancel, NO, they didn’t anticipate a problem as it had just rained and No, No, No, etc. It’s their favorite word, come to find out! And, if nondisclosure was not enough of an insult, we also encountered vast changes on what they did disclose. When we first booked our trip, we were told that we could upgrade for free if a balcony room became available. We called numerous times to see if there was a cancellation. Once onboard, we asked immediately for an upgrade. NO, it was not free (that word again!) and when first given an upgrade price of $400 (they told us this 3 separate times), when we went to pay just minutes after they quoted us, they charged us $480! Again, NO, we never said $400…our word against theirs. They didn’t even say, “We’re sorry for the misunderstanding” or any kind of courteous response, just NO! Rather than continue to recount our many disappointing moments, let me state factually the itinerary we experienced: Nuremburg - On Day 2, we were told that the boat apparently “needed” to start off down the Danube while we were on our tours and we had to be BUSSED to catch up with it - an additional 45 minutes on top of what the bussing time to and from Nuremburg was supposed to be Regensburg - the only port that we could access by the boat and no busses * Straubing - Not on the itinerary. A remote docking site to access Passau and other ports by BUS. From Passau to the boat: 3 hours roundtrip, shortening our time in port. For passengers, like my husband, who didn’t want to sit on a bus for 3 hours, he was faced with either sitting on the boat with no activities or easy access to the town of Straubing. * Ybbs - Not on the itinerary. The day after Passau, we were bussed 4.5 hours to this place to be boarded onto a new ship. No tours - we did cruise down the Wachau Valley starting at 4, which was beautiful, but this was supposed to be earlier in the day and we could have had a tour of Krems that day. Vienna - a disaster. We had just our morning tour and needed to get back on the boat because the water level was getting lower. Vienna was supposed to be a 2 day experience. Additional tours were cancelled and off we sailed by 2:00 that same day to head for our next port. Another aside: Viking advertises a side excursion to Salzburg for the day. What they DON’T tell you, is that it requires a 6.5 - 7 hour bus trip roundtrip! * Bratislava - Not on the itinerary. We stopped here for the night with no onshore tours or activities or even information about the port. * Komarom - Not on the itinerary. This was the closest we could come to Budapest. A 1.5 hour bus trip away. No town in site, just another very unattractive outpost. We had a city tour of Budapest in the morning followed by a lunch, but we were told we needed to get back to the boat as they were trying to figure out bussing for the optional tours and getting people to a hotel that had flights before 8am the next morning. DEPARTURE: The sad part of leaving was the fact that only a handful of people were put up in a hotel in Budapest to be closer to the airport. The rest of us had to bus back to the boat and wake up very early to catch yet another bus for another 2.5 hour ride into the airport. One of our acquaintances had to get up at 3am to be on the bus by 4:15am. WHY didn’t Viking put us all up in the hotel as a convenience and kind gesture? For us, our Viking Air arranged flight to Munich was cancelled. As we were standing in line waiting to see if we could even get out that day, another Viking ship had all of their people that were on that flight rebooked and were escorted to the gate they were rebooked to. We asked for help as well, but apparently it’s all ships for themselves! This was the worst group travel experience we have ever experienced. The Viking Brand does not deserve to have the reputation it does. Marketing can buy impressions, but then you have to live up to it. Viking, most certainly, did not do that. And for myself and my husband and many others onboard this trip…“You never get a second chance to make a good first impression.” Read Less
Sail Date September 2018
We just returned from a "Romantic Danube" cruise. It was a total misrepresentation by Viking Cruises. The Danube water level is at the lowest it has been since 1933. Therefore the ships cannot sail. Instead we were bused from ... Read More
We just returned from a "Romantic Danube" cruise. It was a total misrepresentation by Viking Cruises. The Danube water level is at the lowest it has been since 1933. Therefore the ships cannot sail. Instead we were bused from city to city spending less than 1/4 of the week on the Danube sailing. The description touted the beautiful scenery onboard the ship while sailing. Never saw it. Some of our excursions were cancelled (oh, we will refund your money for cancelled excursion). The most disturbing part was that Viking knew about this for 1-2 months and did not notify us thereby not giving an option to change our cruise. They sent an email the day after we landed in Europe alerting us to the possibility that we may have to take buses at various places on the Danube due to the low water level. Couldn't change the cruise at that point. We contacted Viking upon return and their response was a slight discount on our next cruise. That is worthless as we will never take another cruise with Viking. Viking is unethical and dishonest - their decision to delay notifying their customers is despicable. Read Less
Sail Date August 2018
This cruise was the worst holiday we have ever experienced. My husband is a survivor of abdominal cancer and we have a special needs daughter living with us. This was to be our trip of a lifetime. We only have 2-3 weeks per year to enjoy ... Read More
This cruise was the worst holiday we have ever experienced. My husband is a survivor of abdominal cancer and we have a special needs daughter living with us. This was to be our trip of a lifetime. We only have 2-3 weeks per year to enjoy an adult holiday together. The Cruise was a plethora of negative events, a TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT. WATER LEVELS WERE LOW. Viking told us after we arrived in Europe, too late to change plans. Viking solution, take a bus to Passau, Vienna, Budapest. Cancel optional excursions, sleep on 3 different ships (not sail, SLEEP). Locals in Europe told us Viking has been doing this for 6 weeks, don't tell the passengers, pretend this just happened. Email from Viking "...as a precautionary measure, we may need to adjust our sailing speeds, which could result in slight delays. We may also need to dock in alternate locations in areas where our regular docking spots are adversely affected by the conditions". Service was substandard, on the third ship we even cleaned our own table, they are casual staff called in by Viking last minute. (Staff told us this). When we asked for dessert, they told us to wait until everybody has finished eating because "the cook is still making it". By the way, don't book a veranda, they park 2 and 3 ships beside each other. You walk into the next ship to get onto the dock. Plus make sure you always keep your curtains closed, or the passengers on the next ship can see directly into your cabin. Unfortunately, sometimes you will see too much. Viking only informs you about any issues the night before, too late to adjust your itinerary. Cabins are small, you cannot bypass one another at the end of the bed and when watching TV there is no room on either side of the bed to place a chair. Because we always had to keep the curtains closed, it really made the room seem very small. We paid $16,000 for the Viking Cruise plus $3000 for our daughters care at home. Their final offer $5000 credit towards another cruise. WE can't afford another cruise. WE were mislead and feel cheated. Do your own homework. Check everything out before you go because when you get there you might only be getting a poor quality bus ride like us. Read Less
Sail Date August 2018
We were so disappointed in the response from Viking to the problems of the low water levels on the Danube. As others have said we had to change ships twice and spent two 1/2 days on buses, excursions were cancelled, we lived out of our ... Read More
We were so disappointed in the response from Viking to the problems of the low water levels on the Danube. As others have said we had to change ships twice and spent two 1/2 days on buses, excursions were cancelled, we lived out of our suitcase due to changing ships so much. Our balcony was unusable several days due to being parked next to other stranded ships or being parked near a swamp area. We understand that the water levels were out of Vikings control but notifying us two days before departure when they knew for over a month and then offerering no actual financial compensation (25% off your next cruise!) was unexceptable. Then three calls to customer service with no one with authority responding . We may have tried Viking again but the poor customer service has definitely been a deal breaker! I would pick a different cruise line! Read Less
Sail Date August 2018
My husband & I choose this cruise because of the 2-for-1 price including airfare! We felt very catered to for the whole trip! The veranda suite was comfortable and posh. A bottle of sparking wine upon our arrival and, fresh fruit and ... Read More
My husband & I choose this cruise because of the 2-for-1 price including airfare! We felt very catered to for the whole trip! The veranda suite was comfortable and posh. A bottle of sparking wine upon our arrival and, fresh fruit and beverages stocked everyday! We only participated in a couple of the evening festivities in the lounge. Instead enjoyed cozying up in our stateroom with movies that we thoroughly enjoyed. We spent 4 days on the Jarl. Then because of drought conditions the Danube had low spots. We were bused to the Alta further on down river. Then spent 2 more days cruising until the next low spot! Had to be bused into Budapest. But Viking handled EVERYTHING! Extra night at the hotel, transferring our luggage, etc. The staff on both ships were fantastic! Mario was our program director and was excellent at his job which was made complex due to the dought! We took advantage of the included tours at each port of call. They were great! And not to be missed! Great tour guides and you had a radio with an earphone for the tours. This was good so you didn't need to be right up near the leader and could stand back and take in the sites. We ate primarily on the Aquavit Deck to enjoy the views and fresh air. Every night I had the regional special and was NOT disappointed! Breakfasts and some dinners we ate in the lower dining room and were delighted by the friendly servers. It was sad to leave. Think next time a longer cruise! Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We picked this cruise to do an early summer short European cruise. We had looked for a while but all suites were fully booked. Then I found this date with a suite with possible upgrade to the Explorer suite, the best cabin. Two weeks ... Read More
We picked this cruise to do an early summer short European cruise. We had looked for a while but all suites were fully booked. Then I found this date with a suite with possible upgrade to the Explorer suite, the best cabin. Two weeks before the trip we were confirmed for the upgrade. When we arrived we were very pleased with the suite. What we didn’t realize that being at the back of the boat with an upriver trip we were going to be subject to a large amount of engine noise. Apparently there was an engine problem. But at night we were subject to 93-98 decibels of engine noise despite the best the captain could do. So the service was great, the program was great and the food awesome. The itinerary of shore excursions was also very good. We thoroughly enjoyed everything - except being in our cabin when the ship was underway. We slept poorly due to the noise and thus were tired during the day and had difficulty enjoying the excursions. From this experience I would have to warn anyone away from spending the money to have the top suite. Maybe going downstream there is less engine noise. I would do the trip again but not in that cabin. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
Viking Cruises came highly recommended to me by my friends in several different groups, so it was easy to select the Danube River cruise with my companion. The recommendation was warranted! Two things impressed me right off, Viking's ... Read More
Viking Cruises came highly recommended to me by my friends in several different groups, so it was easy to select the Danube River cruise with my companion. The recommendation was warranted! Two things impressed me right off, Viking's attention to detail right down to the small stuff (like good design of cabins, things many guests might not even notice) and Viking's corporate culture, always welcoming and accommodating. It was great to have staff address me by name by the second or third day. Impressive! I especially appreciated the open table seating at meals, as it was a great opportunity to meet new guests every time we sat down for meals. And a little humble humor here, no other guest was "stuck" with me for a whole week! Viking River Cruises are a great way to travel with little worry about arrangements. From arrival greeting (at the airport and longboat), to shore excursions at each port, to not having to pack and unpack along the way, to Viking staff confirming my return air travel and providing easy transfer to my departing airport. On this trip, my favorite port was Passau, Germany. Just the right size bowl of porridge, not too big and not too small, to explore more in depth. An opportunity to self tour for a little deeper cultural immersion should one make the effort as I choose to do when I travel. I also enjoyed my extension in Prague, Czech Republic. Yes, I took the panoramic tour to familiarize myself, though my greatest pleasure was going off-line by myself, away from the crowds, the shops and the more touristy spots to engage with citizens of the Czech Republic on a deeper level. Amazing what you can discover this way! I'll not hesitate to recommend Viking River Cruises to all my friends whenever cruising comes up in conversation. Thanks, Viking. Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
the Ship was surprising in the layout, design and function; and the staff hands above those on the big cruise ships. The people make all the difference. The majority of the excursions where better then we had expected and several last ... Read More
the Ship was surprising in the layout, design and function; and the staff hands above those on the big cruise ships. The people make all the difference. The majority of the excursions where better then we had expected and several last minute opportunities turned out to be the HIGHLIGHT of all of them. The palace tour was way too hot and crowded in Vienna, and we skipped the Abby tour entirely because we simply were too tired to get off the boat. Traveling through the locks was amazing even for someone like me that works in maintenance facilities of a large power station. Their staff is beyond professional, they have dedication almost to a fault. the entertainment OFF ship and brought on board the ship (2 separate times) was likewise excellent, the family horse farm in Bavaria for the Biergarten were delightful - hell everyone on was. The pianist that provided the daily and evening entertainment was enjoyable but they could use a different schedule for each night; hearing the same tunes in the exact same order got to be somewhat laughable. The food was simply fantastic, and the service spot on. the only down side was the packaged air travel arrangements - they have no flexibility and they notify you far to late for you o make any effective changes. I use Delta almost exclusively for the air miles, yet they put me on swiss air, while our friends were put on Delta - when asked about changing even the seats we were simply told to take it up with the airline - which at the 6 week mark was sold out solid and we were basically told too bad. with those 2 exceptions - it was possibly the best vacation we have had.... Read Less
Sail Date May 2018
the reviews on Viking were the main reason we chose this route for our first European trip. Even though our trip to and fro were, to say the least, poor, Viking outdid themselves in every way possible. On the way to the ship we were approx ... Read More
the reviews on Viking were the main reason we chose this route for our first European trip. Even though our trip to and fro were, to say the least, poor, Viking outdid themselves in every way possible. On the way to the ship we were approx 24 hours late due to all kinds of planes, trains and cab problems. In the end, Viking backed the ship up in the river, and picked us up at a small dock in south of Nuremberg. While they were backing up the ship to pick us up, all we could think was "who does this". The rest of the trip would be answered with Viking. From the fantastic tour guides, to the food and amazing social experiences, it truly was a trip to remember. We did several optional tours, including the carriage ride through Vienna and we have amazing pictures of all of it. Viking is not a standard cruise, but you get up each day excited about where you will be, what you will see and the stories told. Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
We chose Viking because we had already travelled with Viking on the Rhine Getaway cruise and knew the high standards of service, wonderful food, personal attention and the beautiful excursions with well thought out highlights of each port. ... Read More
We chose Viking because we had already travelled with Viking on the Rhine Getaway cruise and knew the high standards of service, wonderful food, personal attention and the beautiful excursions with well thought out highlights of each port. Viking always gives that little bit more that makes them FIVE STARS when it comes to value and quality! The itinerary was fabulous especially the concert in Vienna! The Christmas markets were amazing and Budapest was just breathtakingly magical. We highly recommend the Romantic Danube Cruise. The memories that we have of this time will always be some of the best of our travel experiences. Our cabin was always clean, the service superior and the staff always accommodating and helpful. As mentioned before FIVE STARS! We would definitely recommend this cruise to our friends and family. Viking is very organized, superior in customer service , they go out of their way to make sure your cruise experience is the best that it can be. Just wonderful! Viking is top notch! Read Less
Sail Date November 2017
I chose this cruise after looking / shopping for a cruise for over a year. This was our first overnight river cruise but will most assuredly not be our last. The service onboard the Jarl was perfect in every way. I have never experienced ... Read More
I chose this cruise after looking / shopping for a cruise for over a year. This was our first overnight river cruise but will most assuredly not be our last. The service onboard the Jarl was perfect in every way. I have never experienced anything such as this trip/tour/cruise that was as perfect as this was. The scheduling was perfect and precisely as advertised. I have never seen any this good, certainly none better. The shore excursions in each port were well done and quite interesting. The excursion guides were not only knowledgeable but very entertaining. We were impressed with the choices of sights to see and the routes taken on the tours. Most importantly, none of them were physically taxing! The food!! The only word that comes to mind is incredible!! The choices on the menus were beyond what I had expected and the chef was remarkable in that if something you wanted was not listed for a particular day, he would prepare it for you anyway!! The only thing that could possibly match the food was the service!! The service personnel in the dining room were all simply wonderful although we eventually gravitated to our "favorite" and ensured we got here service area for every meal after about the second day of "sampling" the services of all the others. I will say that due to technical difficulties our in room TV did not work very well. But, the other experiences on the ship helped to remedy that one small negative. The crew was very apologetic over this and I am reasonably confident that it was simply a glitch that could happen on any ship and certainly not the normal experience for this ship or this cruise line. Overall, this cruise was one of the most wonderful experiences we have ever had and we are already looking forward to / planning our next one! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing, wonderful get away!! And, needless to say, I recommend Viking!! Read Less
Sail Date November 2017
The cruise was advertised as the Romantic Danube. It was neither. First, we were anticipating enjoying the Danube River. Only one day was devoted to cruising the Danube. All other days were spent in port, because the cruising was done ... Read More
The cruise was advertised as the Romantic Danube. It was neither. First, we were anticipating enjoying the Danube River. Only one day was devoted to cruising the Danube. All other days were spent in port, because the cruising was done at night while it was both dark and/or we were sleeping. We didn't see much of the Blue Danube. We had booked the rear stateroom at a higher price so we could have a 180 degree view or the river and its shorelines. What we got was a 180 degree view of ports, which after several hours becomes rather boring. Some days we sat aboard the ship for five hours with nothing to do. Second, romance includes at least intimate dinners with one's spouse. The tour advertised open seating for dining. The picture we had was choosing to be by ourselves. Well, first, there were no two person tables. The smallest number was sic persons. The dining room seated 180, the number of people on the cruise. No separate seating when every seat is occupied. (By the way, I have a solution to this, in case Viking is interested.) Finally, there were few programs during the evening hours. A disappointment. They could do better. On the positive side, the personnel were awesome and we loved our stateroom. Read Less
Sail Date October 2017
We chose this cruise for places we visited. We have never been on this part of the world and for us it was spectacular. The cabin was as expected but comfortable. The food was superb. The crew is what made it for us. We could not be ... Read More
We chose this cruise for places we visited. We have never been on this part of the world and for us it was spectacular. The cabin was as expected but comfortable. The food was superb. The crew is what made it for us. We could not be happier with all the people who worked on the boat. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The shore excursions, for the most part were informative and enjoyable. However, the tour of Vienna was very disappointing, and the bus tours were not good at all. We wanted to take in as much as possible in the ports we visited. For the most part we were able to do that except for Vienna. After a major disappointing foot tour, we were limited to how much time we had to enjoy the city. Having said all that, we would take the same cruise again. We are looking forward to our next cruise. We and our friends are planning going on a cruise to Holland and Switzerland. Viking of course. Read Less
Sail Date October 2017
We liked the itinerary. Starting in Nuremberg and ending in Budapest allowed us to have a good experience on the Danube and visit several towns. Viking is very well run. The staff was excellent; the ship was clean and efficient; the ... Read More
We liked the itinerary. Starting in Nuremberg and ending in Budapest allowed us to have a good experience on the Danube and visit several towns. Viking is very well run. The staff was excellent; the ship was clean and efficient; the food was good; and the tours were well organized. I would have rated the cruise "Excellent" but for a couple of small items. First, unlike some other cruise ships, Viking or at least the Jarl did not have bikes available. There were days when we would have enjoyed biking along the river or from one town to another. Second, we thought the food was well prepared and good, but it did not bowl us over. Good not excellent. We are not complaining; for a ship of 200 people, the staff did a fine job and the food was consistently good. Its just that we were rarely "wowed" by the food. There was some "sameness" to the breakfast and lunches on board and I would preferred a couple of nights with a little extra special touch to the dinner. Partly, we may have been affected by the weather. It was a tad chilly and some days it rained, so that limited our ability to use the upper deck or other outside areas. Even with the dampness, we enjoyed the cruise. I want to repeat that we thought the staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly and wanted to be helpful. They displayed a great deal of training and good management. And the ship was very clean, showing again excellent management of the ship and its staff. The cruise was a well-oiled operation. We would consider taking another Viking cruise. Read Less
Sail Date October 2017
We had a wonderful time on this river cruise. The ship was excellent, the food was excellent, the service was excellent, and the cities we visited were exceptional. We chose this cruise because we had never been to Budapest or Nuremberg. ... Read More
We had a wonderful time on this river cruise. The ship was excellent, the food was excellent, the service was excellent, and the cities we visited were exceptional. We chose this cruise because we had never been to Budapest or Nuremberg. The room was adequately sized and appointed. It was the Viking Jarl. The dining was excellent as I stated above. Roger and Jahz were fabulous. The were very attentive and knew what we needed before we did. They made the trip. Also, Neli kept our room clean and neat. We visited Budapest, Vienna, Nuremberg, Regensburg and Passau, Germany. At each port we took the walking tour and learned the history of each city. We also too the Nuremberg Jewish tour and learned of the trials of the Nazi war criminals. In Passau we visited a horse farm and a lovely beer festival. We look forward to our next trip and it will be on Viking as they have the best overall package we have found between the ships, personnel, cities visited and service. Read Less
Sail Date September 2017
I was searching for a memorable way to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday, and a cruise on the Romantic Danube fit the bill. We started by arriving in Budapest two days before check in date. We loved Budapest and it became one of ... Read More
I was searching for a memorable way to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday, and a cruise on the Romantic Danube fit the bill. We started by arriving in Budapest two days before check in date. We loved Budapest and it became one of our favorite European cities. The buildings were amazing and the people were very friendly and helpful. The cruise itself far exceeded our expectations. The Viking Jarl is a beautiful ship, our stateroom was very nice, and the staff was great. The food was delicious and the ports of call and shore excursions were all exceptional. The only glitch in our first river cruise came complements of Mother Nature. The water level was too low for the ship to sail to Nuremberg, so most of the passengers were bussed to the city and then back to the ship in Regensburg. About eight of us who had early flights the next morning remained in Nuremberg where we were placed in a hotel. We were given vouchers for dinner that evening in the hotel, and the next morning we were all given box lunches and transportation to the airport for our flights. My wife and I have made several ocean cruises, but this was our first river cruise. We hope to do more river cruising, and we look forward to doing it with Viking. Read Less
Sail Date August 2017
This was one of our "trip of a lifetime" dream vacations. We wanted to see the beautiful scenery and castles along the Danube. We also wanted to enjoy guided tours through the old cities that are featured on the Nuremberg to ... Read More
This was one of our "trip of a lifetime" dream vacations. We wanted to see the beautiful scenery and castles along the Danube. We also wanted to enjoy guided tours through the old cities that are featured on the Nuremberg to Budapest cruise. The local guides on the guided tours were very interesting and knowledgeable. We enjoyed learning about the history of each city that we visited. When travelling through the Wachau Valley, the scenery is absolutely beautiful. We were fortunate to have a beautiful sunny morning for this section of the cruise and we were able to enjoy the view from the open top deck on the ship. The on-board entertainment was great - there was a good variety of entertainment and we had lots of fun. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The dining room staff always made sure we were given personal attention. I would highly recommend the Nuremberg to Budapest cruise on the Viking Jarl. Read Less
Sail Date August 2017
My wife and I have made many trips to Europe. Previously when we travelled, we prepared our own itinerary, made our own arrangements, carried our own luggage, etc. A few years ago, we decided to spoil our selves and took two land (bus) ... Read More
My wife and I have made many trips to Europe. Previously when we travelled, we prepared our own itinerary, made our own arrangements, carried our own luggage, etc. A few years ago, we decided to spoil our selves and took two land (bus) tours, which made things easier, but we still had to pack each night to be able to move to the next hotel on the following day. Further, we spent the good part of the day travelling from place to place. This year we decided to try a river boat cruise, and heard great things about Viking. We were not disappointed. In fact, everything about our experience exceeded our expectations. The included airfare was a bargain. The ground transportation provided on our tour of Slovenia, from Slovenia to Budapest (to start the cruise), and from Nuremberg to Prague at the end of the cruise was all first rate (note there were only 2 hotel to hotel transfers, which on a 3 week adventure is entirely tolerable). The river boat experience was incredible. It was like taking our first class hotel with us on our travels. My wife and I have food allergies that were accommodated without a problem. The food variety and preparation was excellent. All of the personnel were pleasant, helpful, and efficient. Tours and shore excursions were informative - highlighting the important with enough detail to make it interesting - even exciting, and the tour guides were very knowledgeable. We are looking forward to make another tours with Viking in the future. Read Less
Sail Date July 2017
First time to these countries, free airfare was offered, and the timing fit within our calendar. Like the convenience of booking everything with Viking, so everything is taken care of. Some of the excursions were a bit slow for us. I am ... Read More
First time to these countries, free airfare was offered, and the timing fit within our calendar. Like the convenience of booking everything with Viking, so everything is taken care of. Some of the excursions were a bit slow for us. I am not one who wants to see a new country/city from a motor coach. I'm not that old yet. When we have more time for vacations, we will definitely consider extending our trip. More time in Budapest was definitely needed, too much of the tour was via motor coach. Food and service are outstanding. The crew bends over backwards to make your vacation an unforgettable experience. The beer and wine provided at meals is a wonderful touch, and one we greatly appreciate. We have already booked our next Viking Vacation. Trying an ocean cruise this time, and are traveling with friends this time. Look forward to checking out Asia. Read Less
Sail Date July 2017
Our VRC was absolutely wonderful. The pre-trip to Prague was fabulous, and we wish we would have also added Budapest post trip. The tours were fantastic, and loved Prague by night! All of the Viking employees were professional, ... Read More
Our VRC was absolutely wonderful. The pre-trip to Prague was fabulous, and we wish we would have also added Budapest post trip. The tours were fantastic, and loved Prague by night! All of the Viking employees were professional, friendly, and accomplished. Our ship Jarl, Captain, and crew were first rate. We really loved the crew, Cruise Director Suzy, and activities. Embarkation was so easy, and the ship was beautiful and clean. Services provided on the boat were fast and efficient, and frankly, they practically provided it before we even had to ask! Our State Room attendant Erica was awesome and kept our quarters spotless. Dining was fabulous and we really enjoyed the local meals that were served. Our servers Victor Yap, and Sarah Bitonio Yap were fantastic! Our wine sommelier, Dragon, gave us great suggestions for wine with our meals! We celebrated our wedding anniversary on the cruise and the crew brought us a cake at dinner! The Bar Staff, especially Valentine, were so welcoming, remembered our names, and proved excellent service. We really enjoyed learning about our destinations and the activities on the boat were fun and entertaining. Loved it when we were cruising down the Danube and our Cruise Director Suzy was narrating the scenery and giving us history to go with it! We took advantage of the sun deck and walked the track to try and keep the pounds off! Port and Shore excursions were great. We didn't attend all, but loved the city tours and especially loved the Bavarian Beer Fest we attended on June 14th. It was fascinating going through the 24 or so Locks and commend our Captain on flawless execution! We loved Krems and Gottweig Abbey along with all of the other locations (Nuremberg, Passau), and especially loved Budapest. As I stated before, I wish we had added the post tour of Budapest. There just wasn't enough time there! We will certainly consider another Viking Journey...I am looking at Portugal/Spain, or maybe the Rhein! It was absolutely the trip of a lifetime, and now you have ruined us for life with the wonderful Viking experience! It will be hard to top this wonderful adventure. Read Less
Sail Date June 2017
Traveled with several friends. We had not been to the countries and ports previously so it was a tremendous new experience. The cabin rooms very nice and plenty of room. The food was outstanding with good variety. The food service staff ... Read More
Traveled with several friends. We had not been to the countries and ports previously so it was a tremendous new experience. The cabin rooms very nice and plenty of room. The food was outstanding with good variety. The food service staff were very accommodating to prepare dishes we wanted even though it may have not been on the days menu. Basically this is a cruise for older adults, not for children. The service from cruise team was amazing. I would suggest going a little later in the year as weather would be warmer. We had to wear coats each day. Outstanding educational experience. Extremely enjoyable and memorable. Great pics. We recommend adding on extra days on front and end of cruise to have time to experience some nearby areas. Suggest you go as a group... the ship has great gathering space and opportunity to relax and socialize at various times especially after dinner in the evening. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
We chose this cruise to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The facilities on the boat, the room, the staff, the food, and the tours far exceeded our expectations. Our cabin was spacious and always clean and made up. We really ... Read More
We chose this cruise to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The facilities on the boat, the room, the staff, the food, and the tours far exceeded our expectations. Our cabin was spacious and always clean and made up. We really enjoyed the heated floor in the bathroom The crew were friendly, most helpful and always accommodating. Our every need was quickly satisfied. The food was, without exception, fantastic. It was served by the friendly and courteous wait staff, and was always hot. The activities director was absolutely superb. We had fascinating speakers and demonstrations that were relevant to the locale we would be visiting. All, and I emphasize all, the tour guides were most knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. They had a wonderful amount of details about the community not often heard on a tour. The best thing about the cruise was the small group of passengers. by the time the tour ended, we were like family and this includes the crew. We decided this was the best anniversary present we ever received and look forward with anticipation to sailing aboard Viking in the near future. Read Less
Sail Date April 2017
Spent 3 wonderful days in Prague before leaving for river boat in Nurenberg, Received notification that our boat was being changed to another ship with the same accommodations. Two days into trip, we were told to pack up we were ... Read More
Spent 3 wonderful days in Prague before leaving for river boat in Nurenberg, Received notification that our boat was being changed to another ship with the same accommodations. Two days into trip, we were told to pack up we were changing ships again. No explanation except the it was a corporate decision. We were bused at 8:30 in the morning to another port. Our day of planned tours were eliminated. Then because of traffic on the Danude we were delayed and passed our next stop and lost another tour destination. This was my 3rd cruise on a Viking ship. The river boat cruise is a gamble at best, but there were no environmental issues this time. In addition the food is only passable and uninspired. One evening steak was being offered and was so tough you could not cut it. It was offered the next evening in a soup, goulash, and still was tough. The crew did their best with the problems, however we were not pleased with how our cruised was handled and the rebate offered cannot erase a disappointing experience. We arrived in Budapest late and missed time on our extend trip. In retrospect if we eliminate the cruise and and only had experienced the wonderful dinners and tours in Prague and Budapest our vacation would of been perfect. Read Less
Sail Date September 2016
The staff was fantastic both in terms of their excellent service and their efficiency. If you needed any help with anything at all they would go out of their way to see that your needs or concerns were taken care of - our maid, Martina, ... Read More
The staff was fantastic both in terms of their excellent service and their efficiency. If you needed any help with anything at all they would go out of their way to see that your needs or concerns were taken care of - our maid, Martina, didn't just clean and turn down our room, she brought my wife ice for her sore knee, extra pillows and just anything else we needed. She was by far the best at her job that we have ever encountered. The food was outstanding in terms of selection, taste and quality. It rivaled any five star restaurant that I have been at. The ship and the rooms are well laid out and very upscale. We had a balcony but didn't use it much because of all the presentations, entertaining games and other places to sit and socialize with our fellow passengers while watching the outside views at the same time. They don't have amenities like a pool or a workout room but you wouldn't have time for on board exercise anyway because you spend so much time walking while touring the various historical, architectural and cultural sites in each of the cities you are visiting. If you have an appreciation for great architecture, important historical sites and the cultures of other peoples, you will love this trip. Almost all the local people that we dealt with were polite, considerate, informative and very interesting. Sometimes complete strangers that we came across on our tours and walks would greet us in a friendly manner. I would definitely recommend this company for anyone planning a beautiful river cruise in Europe. Read Less
Sail Date August 2016
Viking Jarl Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 4.4
Dining 4.0 4.6
Entertainment 3.0 4.0
Public Rooms 5.0 4.6
Fitness Recreation 1.0 3.3
Family 1.0 3.3
Shore Excursion 4.0 4.4
Enrichment 4.0 4.3
Service 4.0 4.8
Value For Money 3.0 4.2
Rates 4.0 5.0

Find a Viking Jarl Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click