1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Regent Seven Seas Cruises
  4. Regent Seven Seas Cruises Cruise Reviews

11 Regent Seven Seas Europe - Eastern Mediterranean Cruise Reviews

This was suppose to be a 5 star experience but it was anything but. They didn't go to two out of the 10 ports and only gave us $500 coupon for use another trip which we won't use. They had ending problems and didn't let us ... Read More
This was suppose to be a 5 star experience but it was anything but. They didn't go to two out of the 10 ports and only gave us $500 coupon for use another trip which we won't use. They had ending problems and didn't let us know that we were only running on 3 engines instead of 4. Missing two ports with useless compensation was not good. Won't be using Regent again. The shore excursions were below par. Disinterested guides and poor selection of places to visit and inform about. Excursions were too much riding in a bus and not enough walking and exploring, We think that Regent should have given us a cash refund for the 20% of the trip that we didn't get to experience. We have traveled on other cruise ships and had a much better experience. The entertainment was sub par with a cast that was just not up to entertaining on a 5 star ship. The food was good but not better than any of the other 7 cruises we have been on. Will not travel with Regent again. Read Less
Sail Date October 2019
Well what a very poor cruise. Regent has gone from elegance to budget. Staff are sloppy. Spill a drink and just walk off. Order a cocktail and end up with anything but what was ordered. Staff seem to not understand English when it suits ... Read More
Well what a very poor cruise. Regent has gone from elegance to budget. Staff are sloppy. Spill a drink and just walk off. Order a cocktail and end up with anything but what was ordered. Staff seem to not understand English when it suits them. Entertainment zero. Towels thread bare. Even holes in bath towels and mats. Could not believe it. Dress code really? Baseball caps in main dinning room. Shorts worn everywhere after 6pm. Excursions started at breakfast time and not back till afternoon so no breakfast or lunch. Saves them a fortune. I really thought it was a bad dream. Paid a fortune and received zero for the money. Officers had family aboard and staff seem to eat in public areas. Nice to line up for a coffee after staff are served. Unbelievable. Regent are on the way out and the sooner the better. Keep well away. Complimentary wine very poor and seems to be a push to buy the premium range. Prime 7 lobster raw. Chatreuse appalling. Bar staff couldn’t make a decent martini and didn’t care less anyway. Read Less
Sail Date August 2019
Family vacation with our two teen sons. Firstly we booked a 15 night cruise with Regent at no time did they tell us that the cruise was two bolted together. Beware this seems perfectly normal and somewhat shady. The net effect is that ... Read More
Family vacation with our two teen sons. Firstly we booked a 15 night cruise with Regent at no time did they tell us that the cruise was two bolted together. Beware this seems perfectly normal and somewhat shady. The net effect is that entertainment and menus repeat for both weeks... I think this is very unfair and should be addressed and I would advise people to check prior to booking unless you dont mind having a mirror image of the first part of the cruise in your second week. Ship: First time on Seven Seas and was bursting with excitement. I found the ship to be boring to be honest lacking the distinction and a personality I was expecting from Regent. Everything seems underwhelming not pretty and basic fit out Cabin: Best part of the ship nicely appointed decent size room and bathroom, balcony was a bit cramped to move around on but useable. Bed was very comfy. Staff: Very mixed firstly on the pool deck their never seemed enough of them but given the drinks were included one cant help but think this was deliberate. As a result the staff at the pool bar were unwelcoming and stressed certainly no service. The staff in the buffet were mixed in respect to attitude, one felt that the training was lacking with a number of staff many seeming distant and uninterested. The supervisor in Prime 7 was damn right rude I think he felt he owned the place! Prime 7 was okay but we didn't have a compulsion to go back. I have dined in far better on more traditional steak restaurants on cruise ships Prime 7 was average at best. Shore excursions: well a mixed bag supposedly all inclusive despite anything decent being charged for. The chargeable ones were good albeit out trip to the Ferrari museum 1.5 hour drive each way ended up leaving us just 45 mins to get round before being hearded back onto the bus. In the event they refunded just $30. Sums up Regent in my opinion...Cheap! I have been on Silverseas and Seaborne and have seen reviews that Regent are better. In my opinion they are in a different class. Both the aforementioned are far beyond Regent in every way for example both offer cold towels round the pool Regent does not, both offer fresh fruit kebabs at the pool Regent does not. Both offer deck dining quality at night Regent offers burgers. All very low end with high end pricing. In the end its everyone's choice but for me this was an excellent itinerary and we as a family had the trip of a lifetime, Regent had every opportunity to win our business in the future and simply failed to achieve the high standard they advertise themselves to be. We wont be back!! Read Less
Sail Date July 2019
This cruise was chosen because of the 7 day itinerary and at this time of year the temperature would not be too hot. My wife is very asthmatic so the temperature was a very important feature for us. The restaurant service and food were ... Read More
This cruise was chosen because of the 7 day itinerary and at this time of year the temperature would not be too hot. My wife is very asthmatic so the temperature was a very important feature for us. The restaurant service and food were excellent so was the attention we received from all the restaurant and bar staff. Our cabin was kept beautifully clean and tidy by our cabin steward, so far everything was as we expected.. The down side was: terrible vibration from the propellers/engines at night time, we had to cancel three days shore excursions because we were too tired to go on them and had to sleep during the day. We did complain about the noise and were told "What noise" . We did find out from some staff members that technicians where onboard trying to rectify the problem and that there had been a lot of similar complaints, but reception staff still refused to admit there was a problem. The pool area is lovely and we would have enjoyed that if we could find empty seats where we did not have to endure the smoke coming from the smoking area at the pool side. My poor wife was coughing and choking with the smoke in this area which you could smell over a third of the seating area. A closed in area where everyone who smokers can enjoy fellow smokers poisonous fumes should be available. . The air conditioning in our suite was also not working despite our constant requests for this to be rectified it was not repaired There was rudeness from the reception desk when we asked when it would be working!! and to top the lot no water in the cabin to flush toilets or wash hands on the last night.. When it finally came through the taps the next morning it was a dirty brown/yellow colour. We passed on our morning showers and decided to wait till we arrived home later that day. Regent as far as we are concerned do not live up to their hype, they let themselves down by not admitting when there is a problem and encourage their staff to lie to you. The staff at reception areas can be very rude and choose to ignore your complaints over problems which you do not expect to have on a top end luxury cruise line. We will not cruise with Regent again, there are plenty of other excellent cruise lines out there who provide a good quality cruise experience and who listen to passengers with genuine complaints over lack of what should be the usual experience you would expect on a holiday, air conditioning, a good nights sleep, clean water when it finally comes through the taps and reception staff who pay attention to your problems not ignore them and lie to you! We are seasoned cruisers and usually have four cruise holidays a year so Regent you have lost yourselves two passengers who would have booked more cruise holidays with you ! Read Less
Sail Date September 2016
We sailed with Regent on Seven Seas Voyager from Istanbul to Dubai over 21 nights. We booked and paid for a concierge level cabin and selected cabin 741 from the deck plans as we felt that, being midship and not too high, it would be more ... Read More
We sailed with Regent on Seven Seas Voyager from Istanbul to Dubai over 21 nights. We booked and paid for a concierge level cabin and selected cabin 741 from the deck plans as we felt that, being midship and not too high, it would be more stable than some other cabins. After an absolute comedy of errors involving our booking disappearing completely, amongst other things, we finally boarded at Istanbul. We were greeted on board by a steward with a dribble of sparkling wine (champagne?) and then left to find our own way to our cabin, which was not overly difficult. The cabin was small but adequate, with sitting area, bedroom area, bathroom, small verahdah/balcony, and large closet. It was not a stateroom, it was a cabin, and calling it a stateroom was misleading. We noted that the concierge level amenities (coffee machine, binoculars, pashmina etc) were not present but presumed, from reading other literature in the cabin, that the coffee machine was not there because of safety concerns. It was only on day 10 or 11, when we went looking for the binoculars, that we realized that everything else was missing. On enquiring at reception, we were told that our cabin had been downgraded to deluxe, and we were not entitled to concierge amenities. Hmm...we had already had NUMEROUS problems with our booking, largely caused by Regent's complete inability and/or refusal to COMMUNICATE with their clients, and now we discover that we have been DOWNGRADED with not so much as a whisper!!!!!!!!!!!!! After proving to reception that we had indeed booked and paid for a concierge level cabin, and asking the following day as to what was happening, the missing amenities appeared the next afternoon with no explanation, no apology, nothing.....!!! Nor were we ever offered a change of cabin up to concierge level. So if you are looking for a cruise line which cares and communicates, the Regent is probably not for you. The included excursions were basic but acceptable, as the ports were all on minor Greek islands (except for Rhodes), or minor Arabian ports, with not a whole lot to offer anyway. The guides which we had were local and knowledgeable and all spoke good, comprehensible English. The excursions which we wanted to do and which offered the most interesting locations were all charged as extras - no surprises there. We originally booked to go to Luxor and the Valley of the Kings, but due to the political upheaval in Egypt these were cancelled and other ports were added and/or rescheduled. This rescheduling caused havoc with our pre booked and paid for excursions, and once again Regent FAILED to COMMUNICATE with us (or with any passengers) as to what was happening and/or what options they could offer for the new ports/dates. They also told us quite categorically that we were not booked on any of these excursions and once again I had to provide proof of our bookings. Our TA was next to useless as she disappeared for 3 weeks to do a French river cruise, then disappeared again later in the process, and Regent's agents in Sydney (Wiltrans) were also very NON COMMUNICATIVE and UNHELPFUL when we had major issues which needed sorting out. Our cabin had, as expected, quite a bit of the vibration we had been warned about, and regularly STANK of either diesel fumes or cigarette smoke or both. Someone near our cabin was obviously smoking but we were never able to pinpoint where it came from. But the heavy, overpowering stench of the diesel was really annoying and caused my asthma to play up whenever we were in the cabin. Leaving the verhandah door open alleviated the smell somewhat, but there is a ventilation/air intake problem with the air conditioning if this smell is permeating into cabins via the air conditioning. As to the vibrations, it is obvious that there is something intrinsically wrong with Voyager's engines, as no other vessel we have ever sailed on has anything like this vibration. The food was nice without being 6 star and the menus in Compass Rose bore a boring similarity to each other after about 5 days. We ate at La Verahda/Sette Mare several times to alleviate the monotony. Signatures and Prime 7 both had good menus and good meals, however the service at Prime 7 left a lot to be desired. We had a 7pm reservation and it was obvious that they wanted the table again for 8 or 8.30 as they were preparing our main course by 7.40pm. When I objected and told the steward that we did not want our main until at least 8pm, it obviously caused him a problem. He stalked off the the Maitre d' and, after much gesticulating our way and tapping of watches, the Maitre d' came to us and apologised and assured us that we should not hurry (as if we were ever going to hurry anyway!!!). As it was, there were still several unused tables in the restaurant the whole night, and they were still unused when we left at 9.30pm. The service staff in all areas were amazing. Housekeeping, bar stewards, wait staff, cleaners, everyone was absolutely top notch, caring, polite, pleasant and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Reception and Destination Services were coldly polite and generally uninterested especially when we had problems. We asked for binoculars on one day and were told that a pair would be sent up immediately. 24 hours later we approached reception and asked what had happened and why we had not received them, and that's when we were told that we were not in a concierge suite. We can't understand why reception did not simply ring us back and advise us that there was a mistake and that they were unable to provide binoculars - another example of Regents FAILURE TO COMMUNICATE. Overall we enjoyed the cruise, however we did not appreciate Regent's lack of communication on many, many issues relating to itinerary changes. We did not like being informed that our cabin was downgraded and we feel that we have certainly received a lot less than what we paid for and expected. We have, thus far, received no response from Regent to our queries and to be quite honest, we don't expect them to bother replying. I know that there are many other cruise lines which provide the same type of service which Regent claims to provide so we will be investigating them further for the future. After the poor booking experience and the APPARENTLY DELIBERATE lack of communication by Regent, we would never even consider sailing with them again. Given that we were close to being the youngest passengers on the boat by at least 10 years, and that we can obviously afford to cruise in the style Regent offers (but does not provide), I would suggest that Regent needs a wake up call if they wish to attract our demographic. We have many more years of cruising ahead of us but they won't be with Regent. Unfortunately I feel that Regent are resting on some fairly ancient laurels and getting by on a past reputation. Read Less
Sail Date November 2013
My wife, daughter and myself recently took a cruise on Regents Mariner from Rome to Istanbul. We had taken cruises several times in the past, primarily on Crystal. We decided to book the Seven Seas Aft suite (cabin 988). From the moment we ... Read More
My wife, daughter and myself recently took a cruise on Regents Mariner from Rome to Istanbul. We had taken cruises several times in the past, primarily on Crystal. We decided to book the Seven Seas Aft suite (cabin 988). From the moment we entered our cabin we were overwhelmed by a very strong sewer odor. We repeatedly complained to staff, including reception and anyone else who would listen to us. After several hours, someone from engineering appeared, ascertained the situation and then left. I tried to ask him what the issue was, but he indicated he did not speak English. The problem persisted into our second day on board the ship. Again, we kept asking for someone to come to our cabin and explain to us what was happening. No one came. I was curious to find out if this was an isolated situation and googled the ship's name and sewer odors. Apparently this has been an issue on the Mariner, particularly in the stern of the 9th deck. Finally, towards the end of the second day I sent an e-mail to our travel agent, who is with the Virtuoso travel group, indicating that we had enough and wanted to leave the ship at our next port-of-call unless the problem was fixed. She, in turn, contacted a fellow agent who was on board the ship. That agent was able to talk to someone in a position of responsibility on the ship. The sewer odor ceased for the time being. After two days of unanswered complaints we were finally contacted by the ship's assistant general manager. She indicated that we were the only people on board that complained of the odor. I mentioned to her other passengers near our cabin told us they also complained. She denied that was the case and the conversation went downhill from there. I was then contacted by the general manager who met with me, apologized and told me the problem involved disposal of effluent from the ship's wastewater system. He assured me the problem was resolved. For the next 6-7 days that was the case. However, for the last day and a half, it came back with a vengeance. At that point, we just wanted to get off the ship. The sad thing about our experience is there is a lot to like about the Mariner and the Regents cruise line. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was consistently outstanding. Many of the excursions were well thought out. Unfortunately, the ship is badly in need of an overhaul. We were not the only ones with complaints about the ship itself. For example, the couple next door to us were able to unlock their door only half the time. It seemed like every time we saw them they were waiting in the corridor for someone from engineering to change the door's locking mechanism. The TV system throughout the ship went down for the last two days of our voyage. It was rare that we could hear a ship's announcement. Much of the furniture looked as if a bunch of kids went after it with scissors and knives. Floorboards on our cabin's balcony were coming up to the point we tripped over them. Nobody expects perfection, but passengers deserve better than this. Instead of being defensive or evasive about their ships' shortcomings, Regents should be pro-active in addressing the issues of their passengers. Will we ever cruise on Regents again? Maybe, but only on a ship that has been newly overhauled. Read Less
Sail Date June 2012
We had booked back to back cruises on Oceania's Maiden Voyage which was cancelled. Then booked with Regent, their sister company. Two days after booking we had to cancel due to a court appearance which was unexpected. Regent would ... Read More
We had booked back to back cruises on Oceania's Maiden Voyage which was cancelled. Then booked with Regent, their sister company. Two days after booking we had to cancel due to a court appearance which was unexpected. Regent would only give us 75% of our money back if we booked another cruise which we did. Our Travel Agent had to fight tooth and nail to get this concession. The only cabin available that didn't cost less than this 75% (which Regent was keeping no matter what) was the Master Suite which we of course were required to pay still more for. The cabin is very weirdly configured with the prow of the ship cutting into the balcony and bedroom. The anchor at 6am some mornings made a horrendous noise, and sleeping impossible, Although spacious it is certainly not worth the money. The dining room staff were not at all welcoming and the food was adequate, but not much more. The specialty restaurants were also very mediocre. One bright spot was our butler, who not only dealt with our occasional requests, but also managed to anticipate others. Regent seems to have shifted toward free shore excursions. Predictably, we got what we "paid" for: overcrowded excursions and mediocre guides. Our overall feeling is that Regent has become an organization that is focused intensely on reducing short-term expenses and seems to care little about how this might affect relations with their clientele, and therefore their long-term profitability We were on the Mariner last year and had a much better experience. We are now booking a Grand Voyage for next year and it certainly won't be on Regent. Read Less
Sail Date May 2012
This was our second experience with Regent. Prior experience was very good, on the Mariner, with great weather and a great crew. Based upon prior experience, we had anticipated being loyal Regent clients for years to come. This ... Read More
This was our second experience with Regent. Prior experience was very good, on the Mariner, with great weather and a great crew. Based upon prior experience, we had anticipated being loyal Regent clients for years to come. This second trip was disappointing. The trip was challenged with bad weather, and political issues in scheduled ending port of Athens, Greece. We clearly do not hold Regent responsible for that. I was however very disappointed in the management response to challenges faced. I have waited for a month+ to post a review for 2 reasons: 1) I have expressed my feelings in writing to Regent, and was awaiting their reply; and 2), I wanted to let the events settle for a while before reacting. With time-passed, Regents reply to my concerns was very weak (a copied form letter), and my feelings have not really changed. My strong feeling after our return is that once the cruise started having difficulty, the feeling we got as passengers went from Regent's "It's All Included" to "It's all prepaid and Regent will just wait for this trip to be over and the next cruise group to board." 4 scheduled ports were missed due to weather in the last 6 of 10 days. Schedules were changed in the few ports made, but not coordinated with the rest of the ship management. For example, to accommodate a need to leave Kusadasi, Turkey earlier than scheduled in the afternoon, passengers were notified the evening prior that excursion departure times were moved up to just after 7am. But, the restaurants were not scheduled to open until 7am, and thus there was no food service prior to departing. A small thing, but should have been handled better by this claimed level of luxury provider. On another day (Sicily), due to rain, a large number of excursions returned around 1:00. After passengers went to rooms to get dry clothes on, we went to restaurants to find that they were closed at 1:30. Only available option was the pool deck buffet in the rain. Would have seemed simple to extend the restaurant service hours to accommodate. As port calls were missed, little was done to fill the void. Cruises experience bad weather, that is to be expected; I just would have expected a lot more ability by Regent to handle the experience. We truly got the impression that the on-board management staff was scrambling wondering what to do next. Food was not as good as we had previously experienced on the Mariner. I will trust my next cruise experience to another line. Read Less
Sail Date October 2011
I sailed on the Regent Seven Seas Navigator with my wife and 11-yr old son August 14, 2009 for 7 days, Athens (Piraeus) to Istanbul. My previous cruise experiences have been on Seaborn, Crystal and Lindblad/Nat. Geo. (small ships in ... Read More
I sailed on the Regent Seven Seas Navigator with my wife and 11-yr old son August 14, 2009 for 7 days, Athens (Piraeus) to Istanbul. My previous cruise experiences have been on Seaborn, Crystal and Lindblad/Nat. Geo. (small ships in Galapagos and Baja). I am not particularly picky about things and although I give almost anyone the benefit of the doubt if their heart is in the right place, I do notice things and, if things don't go well, those things stick in my craw. Anyway, the things I noticed (but would never complain about) are towards the end of this review, after "You're OUT!!!). I had, admittedly, somewhat high expectations of Regent, as I had originally chosen a 12-day itinerary on Oceania and my wife and agent 'upsold" me to Regent, as a definitive step-up from Oceania. As the title to this review portends, I was disappointed to the core with many aspects of the cruise that, in my opinion, leave no doubt as to the answer to question where Regent Seven Seas belongs in any "rating" of cruise lines. First, the good. We had a basic room which, on the Navigator, is stunning and huge (even without the generous balcony) relative to anything I have experienced on Seaborn or Crystal in the same general category. 24-hr room service. So, if your idea of a perfect cruise is sitting in the room, reading or watching videos and living off of room service, you've come to the right place. Room service food was reported to be good by my son, who enjoyed it several times. We only had the "fixings" delivered for some caviar we had, all good. Now, the misery. This was to be a designated family-oriented cruise, replete with a kids program in 3 age groups. There were between 50 and 60 kids on the cruise (representing over 10% of the passengers on board). When we inquired after boarding, we were told that the two women who ran the program were "asked to leave the ship" at a prior cruise port. No explanation, no apology, no alternatives, just mystery. Further inquiry yielded no details or explanation. I can say with 100% assurance that if this had happened on Crystal, they would have flown new staff from another location, co-opted crew from other duties or otherwise figured out how to deliver on a promise so essential to the concept of family cruise "vacation" (i.e., mom and dad can have some time together alone) and the number of affected passengers. Not with Regent. Had there not been a ping-pong table on board, the seas would have been littered with parents jumping from the rails. We had the opportunity to dine with some of the senior staff one evening and danced around the subject - but they were all tight-lipped to the end. Unbelievably, we learned a day before disembarking, that the staff asked to leave the ship were in fact rejoining the ship on the return to Athens. Arrgh. Strike one. A zero for failing to deliver an essential part of the cruise, as marketed and promised, and a below zero minus for not figuring out how to otherwise mitigate their abject failure and come up with something, if only a believable story. We signed up, using a not insignificant amount of shipboard credit (several hundred dollars) for a Regent "Signature" excursion in Rhodes. These are the very special, particularly-vetted couple of excursions that an exclusive group within Regent arranges. In our case, it was an "Off-Road" Adventure, renting a jeep and caravanning to many of the interesting sites on Rhodes that most folks wouldn't be able to visit because of the off-road nature of the trip and mobility of being in small vehicles. Although we may have at some point driven through some of the towns in which some of the historic/cultural sites described in the excursion brochure resided (though my GPS did not indicate so), hand over heart I can say that there was nothing, other than the act of renting a jeep that bore any resemblance to what was in the Regent brochure, the basis on which we booked this trip. We started out at "Butterfly Valley", actually a very interesting site in which a certain butterfly species (in fact, a moth), historically comes. Unfortunately, we were hustled in and out so fast, we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the place at any pace, or to take more than a snapshot or two. We were then off for a one hour drive to have a snack/drink, which ended up being at a hunting lodge. After another hour and a half in the car, we ended up in a small village in the mountains overlooking (a ways away) the coastline. Not the place we were supposed to stop, with another large party from a tour bus upstairs, but the food was fine. At this point, I was interested only in the "Ouzo". Then back in the jeeps for about 45 mins. Did I mention that the brochure said we would be off-road most of the time to visit these rare sites, but that we had yet to see anything but pavement. Not for long. For about a sum total of about 90 seconds, we hit a patch of unpaved road under repair and - you guessed it - that was the "off-road" part of the trip. Just before exiting the un-pavement, in one of the most surreal moments of this goat-rodeo, the guide pulled everyone off the road onto the dried weeds at roadside, right next to a bunch of bee hives (imagine the 95 degree heat, sun, and now swarming bees at having been invaded by 9 topless jeeps). Why? To gather everyone's cameras so that he could take a memorable picture for everyone on or in front of their own jeep on their own camera. You think I'm kidding? It was surreal. Put aside for the moment that 2 minutes further down the road was a scenic pull-out with a sweeping panorama of the coast and surrounding Greek isles, this was a scene that Quentin Tarentino would pay money to get the rights to. After the honking of irritated guests drove the guide back into his jeep, we were back in the jeeps for another hour to...the beach. Nothing in the brochure about the beach or swimming. We had not brought bathing suits. No towels provided by Regent for the trip (you would think - even if to save their stateroom towels from being used at the beach off the ship). But there we were at a small Taverna on the beach and the beautiful Med. My son and I went cowboy style and my wife had to suffer with a diet coke and view of the Med. 50 minutes later, we're hustled back in the jeeps for, yes, another 45 min drive back to the jeep rental spot, and then a bus ride back to the ship. Strike Two. No one from Regent had ever vetted this trip. They never gave any explanation (other than the disingenuous letter mentioned below). There is no way imaginable that it could be considered anything other than a slow roast around Rhodes for 8 hrs. Most importantly, we had wasted our only opportunity to see Rhodes on this misrepresented "Signature" excursion, not to mention the several hundred in credit dropped on this. Shameful. Our first stop back on board after chuckling about the comedy of misconception and execution that was our "Signature Rhodes Off-Road Adventure" was to visit the excursion desk to lodge our disappointment and disbelief at what had just befallen us. Lots of "so sorry", but obviously no one there with any answers or ability to do anything. They left a note for the excursion manager. We later met with him, in civil fashion, away from the excursion desk, in relative privacy. He took notes and expressed concern and shock, but clearly had no knowledge. I challenged him to find a single participant on the trip that would sign up again for that trip, rather than have their fingernails pulled one-by-one. He said that he really couldn't do anything, but would send it to "New York". This was Tuesday. We were due to disembark Friday morning 8am in Istanbul. We checked back throughout Wednesday and Thursday and no one had any answers. We had not asked for anything in particular, but clearly were PO'd that we had expended money on an entirely misrepresented trip. Finally, around 8pm on Thursday night, while packing, I went to the excursion desk and said I wouldn't leave until I had some response. I was told that the response from New York had "just come in" - and that Regent was not prepared to do anything. Nothing at all. As if we had just reported something that we had imagined. I was left so incredulous that I simply asked to have it in writing, which they delivered around 9pm that night (I'll try to post this). End of story. Let's contrast Regent's response to the "Off-Road" goat rodeo with our experience a day later after disembarking at our small hotel (the "Blue House Hotel") overlooking the Blue Mosque. My son mentioned to someone at the front desk in passing that the Jacuzzi jet button hadn't worked in the spa tub when he tried. I hadn't even heard of it and, frankly, wouldn't have cared a bit, but when we returned from our day of touring Istanbul, a sincere letter of apology from hotel management for the malfunction and a basket of fresh fruit in our room. Enough said. By the way, we highly recommend the Blue House Hotel, otherwise known as the "Mavi-Ev". Strike Three. Doing anything approaching taking responsibility for a bad experience and a gesture, however modest, to make a cruise customer feel like a guest. How 'bout a little replacement shipboard credit, which given the timing, we would have only been able to use, if at all, on a nice bottle of wine at our last dinner. How 'bout a basket of fruit. How 'bout 10% off a future cruise. Anything..., but nothing? Hmmn. We all differ in how we measure our experiences, but I can say truthfully that in each of our cruises, we absolutely had to personally visit with and thank not less than a half-dozen crew members, to say farewell, exchange contact information, invite them to visit when they're in the San Francisco area and the like. There was not a single person that any of us felt even remotely compelled to hunt down, other than a Kiwi security officer that my son promised to do the Maori Haka dance for. We had a pleasant dinner with him and with a nice young woman whose title led us to believe she would be the perfect person to share our "concerns" about the cruise with, but ended up being more responsible for customs clearance at ports than customer service and, other than expressing surprise at what we had experienced, offered no hope that anything would be done. It was like sharing the story with just another guest. The Maitre D' of the main dining room deserves special mention for patience and keeping that warm smile and wit amidst demanding cruise customers all wanting window tables. No one else remotely came to mind for any of us. Strike 1, Strike 2, Strike 3 - You're OUT!!! My conclusion - a perfect cruise line for someone used to a cattle car mega-ship. If you have been on Seaborn, Crystal, or any cruise line out there that truly puts the guest first and has any understanding as to what that means - run the other way as you will be disappointed on Regent Seven Seas. From the top down, they have no clue what guest/customer service is. It's an institutional problem, not an aberration. Some details - Nice gym, open 24 hrs. But nothing in terms of programs in the dance/stretch area. No staff to run any of the programs from all appearances. I remember a daily schedule of yoga, pilates and other things on Crystal. Zilch on Regent. Carpets and certain other common areas smell "stale". Carpet upgrade or cleaning or paint (anything to cover up the smell) would be worthwhile. I always wonder what "included tips" means for staff. For the first couple of days, I thought the overall attitude of staff was a little harsh. This got better over time, but there has to be a better way of handling this "perk" that still incents the staff to work to their potential. Perhaps a special "tip" shipboard credit that can only be used for that purpose. Wireless internet from the room worked pretty well, though I had to work around VPN blocking. We attended an evening show -which was very well produced. I understand the band/orchestra (professional) had been brought back on a semi-permanent basis and that explained in part the good music quality. Specialty restaurant food was mediocre at best and the menu, uninspired. Main dining room food and service was excellent, as was the wine list. The "house" booze (for which one does not pay extra) was top notch. (Belvedere or the Goose - house; Bombay Sapphire - house; Maker's Mark (for those Manhattans) - house. The house wines at dinner were so interesting, varied and good we rarely ventured into the wine list. The "photo shop" described in literature and even in on-board materials in the room....well, it must have been a sick joke. From what I could tell from visual inspection and asking for several items during the trip, it consisted of a pile of AAA batteries and a couple of memory sticks (which could not be located); literally all in a small plastic basket to the left of the cash register. I was looking for liquid lens cleaner or anything close - fat chance. Don't think that there is even a photo kiosk where you can stick in a memory card and print photos or burn a CD. There was literally nothing. We'd been used to photographers on most cruises - a casualty of cost-cutting on Regent. Food in general - given that we were in Greece and Turkey, I would have expected that at least in one of the restaurants we might see some "local" dishes. It was really odd to have spent 5 days in Greece before boarding the ship and 5 days in Istanbul after disembarking, cultures that are known for their fine cuisine, and not being able to enjoy any of it on the ship. How 'bout a small sampling at dinner of "local" dishes. It's what we've seen on other cruise lines. Golf driving net - hope you're left-handed or the choice is slim. The mat looked like a bad toupee and kids routinely whacked balls off the back of the boat, occasionally off of other guests - an accident waiting to happen. I had to get off the treadmill and run outside to exercise a little adult supervision a couple of times. No crew around, but this brings me back to Strike One, and I've spent enough energy on this diatribe. Overall impression - these folks are in cost-cutting mode and it shows. Answer to the Question: A two-star pretender....but love the cabin. Read Less
Sail Date August 2009
We had a pretty poor experience a few weeks ago aboard the Navigator. We have cruised a few times before, but mostly travel by air. As a frame of reference, we have cruised on Crystal, Silverseas, Royal Carribean, Cunard, and Celebrity ... Read More
We had a pretty poor experience a few weeks ago aboard the Navigator. We have cruised a few times before, but mostly travel by air. As a frame of reference, we have cruised on Crystal, Silverseas, Royal Carribean, Cunard, and Celebrity in the past, in either Europe or Asia. We found Regent to be "okay", but certainly not for the price and hype. We have three children, ages 7, 10, and 13, so we booked two cabins. The cost of the one-week cruise for the family was over $17,000 without air, but the port tours were largely free or at low-cost as part of Regent's current promotions. Our biggest complaint against Regent is the very poor way in which they handled a significant problem we had with our room. Basically, they took almost the entire cruise duration to deal with a plumbing problem (never completely solved), and in addition to other issues, they did not handle things in a way anyone in the luxury hospitality business should. When we boarded the ship in Monaco, we were greeted in our cabin by an acrid sewer/algae smell. The whole room smelled, but we were able to figure out that it was coming from the bathroom. The housekeeper agreed that it smelled horribly, and when we returned from dinner a few hours later the sewer smell was somewhat overcome by the smell of Drano/chlorine. Not exactly pleasant. The next day the sewer smell returned, so we contacted the front desk. To make a long story short, Reception was very nice but not very effective. They had a plumber come out on Day 1 (embarkation is Day 0), and he said that there was something wrong with the drain and fixed something, with maybe 50-70% improvement. But it still had that sickening smell. Anyway, by Day 5 the smell was mostly gone after one other plumber intervention. But the inconvenience of waiting around for the plumber and having him stomp around the bathroom in his boots also did not help our cruise experience. For most of the cruise, when we were on the ship we found ourselves all retreating to our sons' cabin, which happened to be a handicapped cabin without a sofa. The smell was the overriding problem with the cruise. Add to that a bath towel that had more than 10 holes and stains in it (I have photos), multiple unannounced water interruptions resulting in milky-white water emerging from our sink on several occasions including an interruption at midnight-3 am that left my 13 year old with shampoo on his head, and really terrible breakfasts (cheap quality ingredients) in the Portofino restaurant, and you have something that is FAR from what we consider luxury. In addition, the cruise line has handled our concerns very poorly. We actually emailed our complaints to RSSC Guest Relations on 8/12/09 (Day 5), and we have not heard anything from them and it has been almost 3 weeks. We cc'd our letter to our American Express Centurion travel agent, and she contacted their marketing manager. The Amex agent initially told us that RSSC "would have to respond within 48 hours", but their only response was that the complaint would be sent on to some other department in their company. As I said, it has now been over three weeks and still no reply. We travel a lot about 3 months a year. Over the years, we have had "issues" here and there, including new purchases stolen from my room at a Hong Kong hotel, or a cruise housekeeper who put our brand-new unreleased Sonicare toothbrushes brush-down in a half-glass of water left by the previous guest as soon as we boarded the ship! Each time, someone from management would come and apologize, send some tangible token like flowers or candy to let us know that they are sorry and value our patronage. Well, from Regent, nothing. No words from management, no candy (how hard is that on an all-inclusive cruise, we already had $1000 shipboard credit from Amex that we could hardly spend?), nothing but an offer to "clean our room" on day 5/7 of our cruise, the only day AT SEA! Anyway, my final word is that what Regent is offering is far from luxury and as we wait to hear from management, it becomes clear that they are undeserving of the Regent name. The Regent Hotel in Hong Kong (now Intercontinental) was one of the world's great hotels and we actually spent New Year's Eve there on the Millenium but this cruise line has nothing to do with the Regent we knew. Read Less
Sail Date August 2009
Cruise May 16 on Regent Seven Seas NavigatorWe have cruised many times with this cruise line before it changed its name from Radisson to Regent, and what I can say is that Regent is no Radisson. While Radisson tried its best to accommodate ... Read More
Cruise May 16 on Regent Seven Seas NavigatorWe have cruised many times with this cruise line before it changed its name from Radisson to Regent, and what I can say is that Regent is no Radisson. While Radisson tried its best to accommodate customer needs, Regent does not seem to care.Prior to this cruise, I had occasion to contact its corporate staff (Gair O'Neill and Ken Watson). Getting them to return phone calls was like pulling teeth. I never managed to speak to O'Neill, and Watson was totally unhelpful when I managed to track him down.On boarding the ship, the same uncaring attitude continued. As they requested, I had booked my shore excursions on-line, prior to boarding. After boarding, I found that they did not have my bookings. When I pointed it out, they blamed their computer. What is worse, the ship's staff did not care because they said it was a corporate office problem, not theirs. They refused to put me on the shore excursion they lost even though they had a few vacancies, because they were holding them for some passengers who had not boarded yet. A more clear-cut case of discrimination I cannot think of. As for the food and service, economy seems to be the watchword for all meals, but especially in the afternoon teas. Their pastry chef appears to be learning the trade. The rooms are adequate in size, but chips in the shower tiles and a tight-fisted policy towards bath amenities do not go with a cruise that bills itself as a six star experience.The entertainment is embarrassing. While they had quite a few performers, they should note that quality is preferred over quantity.In all respects, the cruise line does not compare to Radisson. Read Less
Sail Date May 2009
Already Booked?

Get to know who you’ll be sailing with

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click