U.S. State Department Issues a Tsunami-Based Public Announcement

December 29, 2004
(Tuesday, December 28) -- The U.S. State Department has issued a public announcement to inform folks about conditions in countries affected by the December 26 tsunami in South Asia. In a rundown, the announcement highlights seriously affected areas and these include:

INDONESIA: The Northern and Western parts of the Indonesian Island of Sumatra, and particularly the province of Aceh. Tourist destinations in Bali and Eastern Indonesia were not affected.

SRI LANKA AND MALDIVES: The Southern and Eastern coastal areas of Sri Lanka and the island of Male in the Maldives.

THAILAND: The Southwestern and coastal areas of Thailand encompassing the provinces of Phuket, Phang-Nga and Krabi. Areas particularly hard hit include Phuket, Phi Phi Island, Krabi, and several small islands in this area. Islands in the Gulf of Thailand (such as Koh Samui) were not affected by the tsunami.

MALAYSIA: The Northwest coast of Malaysia especially, Penang and Langkawi.

INDIA and THE ANDAMAN and NICOBAR ISLANDS: The Southeastern coast of India on the Bay of Bengal including the Andaman Islands.

BURMA: The Western coast on the Bay of Bengal and Andaman Sea.

BANGLADESH: The Southern coast on the Bay of Bengal.

SOMALIA: Coastal region.

KENYA: Coastal region.

TANZANIA: Coastal region.

SEYCHELLES: Coastal region.

For more info, go to http://www.travel.state.gov.