Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Member Image rickrw
1 review
Jun 2017
This is Europe's most southerly point, the lighthouse stands proudly over the area and is visible for miles. First lit in 1941, the lighthouse was a welcomed addition for sailors who knew the difficulty of maneuvering around Gibraltar Bay. The Monkeys added a delight to the tour. We were able to see the coast of Africa from that vantage point.
Read rickrw's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DazzaO
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We were the very first party up to the rock by cable car, so we had a lovely peaceful time at the top before the crowds. Then as we began our walk down towards the caves, it was so quiet, even the guide commented that he had never known it so peaceful and enjoyable.
Read DazzaO's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Misty12345
3 reviews
May 2017
We booked the cable car from home and took it to the top of the Rock and walked down. Enjoyed seeing the apes, and the ape den and other attractions on the walk down. The view is just magnificent, the walk down a little hairy, but we enjoyed it.
Read Misty12345's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: n/a
Member Image turquoisesea
6 reviews
May 2017
Great but should have provided transportation back to the ship orca voucher for cab
Read turquoisesea's full Majestic Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jayintx
4 reviews
May 2017
Good, small group tour. Great guide.
Read jayintx's full MSC Sinfonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Shearwater29
1 review
Apr 2017
A Mini bus took us up the rock which was a fab experience and dropped us at the caves. The caves were illuminated with coloured lights making a spectacular sight. On exiting the caves the monkeys were out in force to greet us. Our mini bus took us back down the Rock and as on the way up pointed out interesting facts and places. A quick wall around the town then back to the ship lovely trip but only 5hrs allowed in Gibraltar which was not nearly enough time.
Read Shearwater29's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image TriciaMcM
3 reviews
Apr 2017
The tour was good but the weather wasn't and so there wasn't much to see as the fog was too heavy. Not a lot to see if you didn't want to go shopping.
Read TriciaMcM's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Pacer6
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Gibraltar Inside Out provided us with an excellent, 1/2 day tour of Gibraltar highlights. Very well done, informative in a comfortable van.
Read Pacer6's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Camillus112
1 review
Nov 2016
The tour guide was competent; not much to see, not his fault. St. Michael's Cave is an underground entertainment center.
Read Camillus112's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Seasoned firefighter
5 reviews
Oct 2016
Our guide was "Big Joe" and he gave us an excellent view of what Gibraltar was like, it's history, culture and current developments. We saw all the major sites and experienced a wonderful 3.5 hour tour.
Read Seasoned firefighter's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Don't remember
Member Image Leelou270
1 review
Oct 2016
Had been a little aprehensive about meeting the monkeys, but they made the experience
Read Leelou270's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: Inside Out Rock Tours
Member Image peteukmcr
11 reviews
Oct 2016
Only a short 2 hours but enough to see Europa Point, St Michaels Caves and the Apes.
Read peteukmcr's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wheelchairtraveler
6 reviews
Sep 2016
Great drive to the top.
Read wheelchairtraveler's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image CancunCaptain
1 review
Sep 2016
Nice panoramic tour that included tapas at the Rock Hotel!
Read CancunCaptain's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image CocoaGinger
1 review
Sep 2016
Accommodated wheel chair; wonderful tour; again learned so much about the history of Gibraltar.
Read CocoaGinger's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image 28SAC
2 reviews
Sep 2016
A fantastic 3 hour tour with a very knowledgeable guide, Worth every penny and made us want to visit again
Read 28SAC's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Rock tours with John Lopez
Member Image Cruisersjd
1 review
Sep 2016
Alfie our guide was very entertaining
Read Cruisersjd's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alf
Member Image Mrs Hall16
1 review
Sep 2016
50% refund given due to unorganised excursion.
Read Mrs Hall16's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbpro
1 review
Aug 2016
Our 4 hour tour was jam packed with interesting stops. In a nutshell, we saw just about everything. Our driver/tour guide was extremely knowledgable and personable. The apes were cute. St. Michael's Caves were fascinating and beautiful. The Great Seige tunnels and the drive around The Rock were interesting, too. A great visit.
Read jbpro's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Gibraltar Taxi Association
Member Image debbiecurnow
1 review
Aug 2016
hilarious.monkeys were very entertaining. tour guide Karen was very friendly and imformative and enthusiastic.
Read debbiecurnow's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: calypso
Member Image ggo85
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Great, BUT . . . Did the walking tour f the upper rock. Guide was good and tour was enjoyable. The one caveat is that walking down from the top, we were on a narrow road with large taxis (minivans). At times, we were pressed to the side of the cliff, with the wheels of the taxis literally a few inches from our feet. Some people on the tour were actually hit by the car mirrors or by the branches of the trees when pressed into the side of the mountain. Someone is going to be seriously injured. Not sure this is entirely the cruise line's issue -- really more of a Gib issue. But something needs to be done.
Read ggo85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked a taxi tour, which was excellent. Our driver was very informative and interesting.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lorna Doone
6 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an excursion with other people on cruise critic. We used Rock Tours Gibraltar. Fabulous tour including the rock, the caves, castle, monkeys, beaches etc. Only complaint is that the guide did not return us to the port. He dropped us off in town telling us it was a 10 minute walk to the port. Walking fast it was almost 1/2 hour and this is not what was promised when we booked the trip. Being tired after touring all day he should have taken us at least to the security entrance at the port.
Read Lorna Doone's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image vcd
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Good tour but too short.
Read vcd's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a wonderful excursion with this company Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and provided us with a very enjoyable tour. Our tour was supposed to be 2.5 hrs but was more like 3 hours.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: InsideOut Rock Tours

Sponsored links