Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Sail Date: October 2018
We went with Rock tours put together by another cruise critic member. We had a nice van for 8 . We saw the caves, th fort and the famous apes. It was great! We got off in town and had lunch but were not as impressed with the town so paid 3 ... Read More
We went with Rock tours put together by another cruise critic member. We had a nice van for 8 . We saw the caves, th fort and the famous apes. It was great! We got off in town and had lunch but were not as impressed with the town so paid 3 Euros to go,back to the ship. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: August 2018
It was very foggy and couldn't see much from the top. Recommend going later in the day when it clears.
It was very foggy and couldn't see much from the top. Recommend going later in the day when it clears. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: July 2018
Brilliant tour guide on this one, passionate and very knowledgeable. A fascinating tour which incorporated a cable car ride to the top of the rock.
Brilliant tour guide on this one, passionate and very knowledgeable. A fascinating tour which incorporated a cable car ride to the top of the rock. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: July 2018
Nice ride up and in caves and lovely seeing the monkeys.
Nice ride up and in caves and lovely seeing the monkeys. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Sail Date: July 2018
Enjoyed visiting the caves. Had a great time with the apes.
Enjoyed visiting the caves. Had a great time with the apes. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Sail Date: July 2018
Taxi excursion that was available at bottom of the rock, 35euro for an hour with 4 stops including apes on the rock, taxi men were great and had a lot of knowledge of rock n apes, very friendly, tour was over an hour but they didn’t seem ... Read More
Taxi excursion that was available at bottom of the rock, 35euro for an hour with 4 stops including apes on the rock, taxi men were great and had a lot of knowledge of rock n apes, very friendly, tour was over an hour but they didn’t seem to mind or hurry you in any way Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: July 2018
Loved the explanation about the history and importance of Gibraltar. Loved the monkeys. St.Michael's cave is out of this world. The siege caves are unbelievable.
Loved the explanation about the history and importance of Gibraltar. Loved the monkeys. St.Michael's cave is out of this world. The siege caves are unbelievable. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: June 2018
It took a while to get us organised to get of the boat which was frustrating when we had been at sea for two days we were just wanting of the boat, that is why I out 4 out of 5. However, the trip itself was excellent. Got a taxi went to a ... Read More
It took a while to get us organised to get of the boat which was frustrating when we had been at sea for two days we were just wanting of the boat, that is why I out 4 out of 5. However, the trip itself was excellent. Got a taxi went to a few view points before the rock, we really enjoyed seeing all the monkeys on the rock. Some people got the chance to hold them if they wanted to. We also went in the caves. Was good value for money. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: May 2018
A brilliant tour with a local guide, we went to lookouts, into St Michaels cave and the siege tunnels and fed the apes peanuts. £27 including entry fees for 2 hours, was good value.
A brilliant tour with a local guide, we went to lookouts, into St Michaels cave and the siege tunnels and fed the apes peanuts. £27 including entry fees for 2 hours, was good value. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Sail Date: May 2018
Great 2 hour informative walk up Rock
Great 2 hour informative walk up Rock Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Cunard Line
Sail Date: May 2018
Awesome and very informative. The tour guide was very well informed and the history of the area is really amazing. SO much to see!
Awesome and very informative. The tour guide was very well informed and the history of the area is really amazing. SO much to see! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: May 2018
we took the local bus #3 to the cable car. The bus stop is walking distance from the port, passing the statue with passengers & luggage. Bus #10 also goes there. Bus fare can be bought in Euros or Pounds inside the bus and it a day ... Read More
we took the local bus #3 to the cable car. The bus stop is walking distance from the port, passing the statue with passengers & luggage. Bus #10 also goes there. Bus fare can be bought in Euros or Pounds inside the bus and it a day ticket costs very little. Outside the terminal plenty of taxis offer a service to drive you up/down and there is also a tour agent selling the transfer in minivans including entrance to the cable car. We pre-booked cable car tickets online so we had a quicker access to the top and have priority of other clients with no pre-booking and the local bus was quick & easy. Cable car service will be upgraded in 2020 and services improved. Now persons with mobility challenges need to walk now certain steps/staircases before entering or exiting the actual cable car. Once arrived on the top within 6 minutes, views are great. Stay inside the little restaurant (glass building) if you decide to eat or drink, otherwise the monkeys will jump at you and take it away in a flash. We saw two persons being attacked and it was not funny. The bus stop to return back is across the parking lot and walk underneath the little bridge/tunnel. Duty free shops in the terminal were great value and compared to other airport or ships duty free prices about 25% lower! If you like to walk, walk to town and cable car: it is about 25 minutes’ walk and expect some height difference during your walk. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: April 2018
Excellent tour. We rode the cable car up to the top, took a stroll on the rock and saw St Michael's Cave, Great Siege Tunnels and apes den. Totally recommend this trip.
Excellent tour. We rode the cable car up to the top, took a stroll on the rock and saw St Michael's Cave, Great Siege Tunnels and apes den. Totally recommend this trip. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Sail Date: April 2018
we took the Rock excursion by taxi - it was great .. tour guide was pleasant and informative... saw many apes.
we took the Rock excursion by taxi - it was great .. tour guide was pleasant and informative... saw many apes. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Sail Date: April 2018
average guide and transport
average guide and transport Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Silversea Cruises
Sail Date: October 2017
Well worth the time and money with a small group tour of 8. All of the places were included in one 1/2 day excursion.
Well worth the time and money with a small group tour of 8. All of the places were included in one 1/2 day excursion. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: October 2017
One of the best excursions. Go up to the top and meet the apes and see the incredible views.
One of the best excursions. Go up to the top and meet the apes and see the incredible views. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Sail Date: September 2017
Great guide and excellent tour. Loved seeing the family of Ape's, especially the babies feeding with the large males sitting alongside. They didn't seem aggressive and loved to jump on and off the bus roof and sit on the wing ... Read More
Great guide and excellent tour. Loved seeing the family of Ape's, especially the babies feeding with the large males sitting alongside. They didn't seem aggressive and loved to jump on and off the bus roof and sit on the wing mirrors. The views from near the top were great. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: August 2017
Before the cruise we booked online Dolphin Adventure boat and cable car ride. The cost was £27.00 per person for both experiences. This is so much cheaper than through the cruise ship or paying when you get there. Word of warning the ... Read More
Before the cruise we booked online Dolphin Adventure boat and cable car ride. The cost was £27.00 per person for both experiences. This is so much cheaper than through the cruise ship or paying when you get there. Word of warning the cable car to the top of the rock in August wait without a ticket is 3 hours. If you pre book it is 1.5 hours. We realised we did not have enough time to wait for the cable car and had to use a taxi instead. Dolphin Adventure were so good they refunded our cable car tickets. The taxi return to the top of the rock is £25 per person. This includes 3 stops, a cave, the monkeys and the tunnels. If you don't want to queue this is your best option. To get to the entry to the cable car is a 25 minute walk from the ship. To get to the dolphin boat it is 15 min walk from the ship. The dolphin experience was very good. The trip takes about 1 hour. We saw lots of dolphins they come very close to the boat. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: August 2017
Great excursion. An ape decided to be my hat!
Great excursion. An ape decided to be my hat! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Sail Date: June 2017
This is Europe's most southerly point, the lighthouse stands proudly over the area and is visible for miles. First lit in 1941, the lighthouse was a welcomed addition for sailors who knew the difficulty of maneuvering around Gibraltar ... Read More
This is Europe's most southerly point, the lighthouse stands proudly over the area and is visible for miles. First lit in 1941, the lighthouse was a welcomed addition for sailors who knew the difficulty of maneuvering around Gibraltar Bay. The Monkeys added a delight to the tour. We were able to see the coast of Africa from that vantage point. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Sail Date: June 2017
We were the very first party up to the rock by cable car, so we had a lovely peaceful time at the top before the crowds. Then as we began our walk down towards the caves, it was so quiet, even the guide commented that he had never known it ... Read More
We were the very first party up to the rock by cable car, so we had a lovely peaceful time at the top before the crowds. Then as we began our walk down towards the caves, it was so quiet, even the guide commented that he had never known it so peaceful and enjoyable. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises