Edinburgh Edinburgh Castle Excursion Reviews

Edinburgh Edinburgh Castle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The famous Edinburgh Castle is an essential visit for anyone with an interest in the remarkable history of Scotland.
Member Image steveg49
3 reviews
Aug 2017
The whole world shops on the Royal Mile, so be prepared. Castle was really well kept.
Read steveg49's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stagehandron
1 review
Aug 2017
The castle is a site to see.Our guide gave us the amazing facts about the castle. Viewed the Crown Jewels. St Margret's chapel and many other sites. Wear good walking shoes for there is much uneven ground. Be prepared to climb stairs There are bathrooms and gift shops on site.
Read stagehandron's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susan24
1 review
Aug 2017
Guide had too many people, no talking devices. Time cut short in Castle
Read Susan24's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cohen3605
1 review
Aug 2017
Visited the castle. Loved the festivals in August in Edinburgh. The festivals in August make Edinburgh a happening
Read cohen3605's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelfortwo
1 review
Jul 2017
Hop On Hop Off bus tour & tickets to ‘Skip the line’ to Edinburgh castle. Again, the bus tour guide is so informative and buying the Skip the Line tickets on Viator are well worth it if you'd like to get in without a long wait. The lines are massive if you don't have the Skip the line ticket. The castle is quite impressive as it sits upon the lava rock. Side note: The cruise ship will have you wait between 1-2 hours for a tender HOWEVER, they don't check the ticket number they give you. So we had number 1170, but could have gone with the 1st boat transfer since they don't check. Otherwise, you'll be sitting like we stupidly did waiting for our group # to be called to disembark.
Read travelfortwo's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Hop On Hop Off bus & Skip the line Edinburgh Cas
Member Image ccsuwxman
1 review
Jul 2017
Heavy rain that day. Tour guide escorted us into the castle, then left us on our own. Disappointing. We opted to remain longer in Edinburgh and took a cab back to the cruise port in Newhaven.
Read ccsuwxman's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image hiccups
1 review
Jul 2017
Would have liked to have had more time in town. The excursion was billed as "moderate" walking, but several passengers booked it that shouldn't have, and therefore we lost time at the castle.
Read hiccups's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image clmerc
1 review
Jun 2017
our Guide Cathy was excellent. However they need to find a dock, this tendering in Rough seas was unacceptable.
Read clmerc's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mr boh
1 review
Jun 2017
Required some walking but the castles were worth it. The guides were very knowledgeable in the history.
Read mr boh's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image weimigirl
1 review
Aug 2016
We enjoyed the castle but we were rushed and did not have time to walk the royal mile. We toured the town. Loved the buildings but would have liked more time to explore.
Read weimigirl's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions.com
Member Image maland
1 review
Jul 2016
Interesting tour, shame about the weather.
Read maland's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Bradyporter
1 review
Jul 2016
Very informative.
Read Bradyporter's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Grado
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Bought tix online to avoid queues. Lots of hiking. Hard to find. Took HOHO bus there and still had to do a lot of uphill walking and steps. Not for mobility impaired. All military. No homey type rooms in the castle. Interesting military history.
Read Grado's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mackley1956
1 review
Jun 2016
Impressive castle. Didn't get the full effect because they had constructed a huge grandstand and bleachers in front of the castle in preparation for the Edinburgh Military Tatoo to be held later in the summer. Still a great excursion.
Read mackley1956's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rusty1014
2 reviews
Jun 2016
City is beautiful, Castle is as crowded as Disney at Christmas, I'm very glad we saw it.
Read rusty1014's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image socram13
7 reviews
Jul 2015
The number of Castle visitors was huge. As a half day only (combined with City tour), maybe a full day would have been better, as we walked away from the Castle commentary just so that we could spend half an hour beyond the castle walls.
Read socram13's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rjwaxman
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Nice tour of the castle with a good guide. Time constrained up at the castle and little chance to see the rest of the city, other than a quick stop at the royal palace to stretch legs. Didn't help ship was docked out of town.
Read rjwaxman's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kwebster58
8 reviews
Jul 2015
In Edinburgh, we did a Castle and City drive. This was on a most Popular and World Heritage Site, so I knew this would be enjoyable, and less expensive as well because of the trip only being 4.5 hours.
Read kwebster58's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cmonroepm
1 review
Jul 2015
Drove from ship to castle, guide gave us facts and then we had free time. Lots of climbing.
Read cmonroepm's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BTuttle
1 review
Jun 2015
We did the excursion to the castle and it was quite nice. Then we had lunch in the area and walked down to the Queen's residence. All very lovely.
Read BTuttle's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ref4e
1 review
Jun 2015
Just took a quick look at the outside and walked the Miracle Mile down to Holyrood Castle
Read Ref4e's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: RobHallBespokeTours@yahoo.co.uk
Member Image bobby3334
7 reviews
May 2015
It was Saturday and it was so crowded for the coaches and visiting the castle it was almost impossible to move. It looked like the entire 3,600 people on the ship had descended at once on the royal mile and castle. However, it was crowded by people of every country. We were the only ship in the city to my knowledge. A local said that the two previous Saturdays hardly anyone was there so I don't know where they came from. The guide was the worst possible. It seemed like she had never given a tour before and fortunately she said she was not allowed to guide in the castle. So without so much as a map or a pamphlet we set off on our own for two hours. With long lines I was able to see the crown jewels which compare very unfavorably to the crown jewels in London (sorry Scotland) and the oldest part - the chapel used by Mary Queen of Scots. Strangely this was the two hours that the sun came out and no rain. There were great views and I had a coffee and a piece of cake for $12 while I was viewing. The guide refused to talk about or answer questions about religion or politics (which everything is about in Scotland) but did tell us that John Knox was buried under a car park when I asked (he founded the Prebysterians) When I asked where Mary Queen of Scots (beheaded by Queen Elizabeth) was buried she refused to answer (it is in Westminister Abbey in London I found later) and said if I wanted to discuss religion or politics she would have to talk to me after the tour. Strange response from a tour guide...in a city where everyone is about religion and politics. She did not speak about much of anything which probably was a blessing. The castle and history are very interesting themselves but the tour guide contracted by the ship was the worst ever.
Read bobby3334's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jagracin
1 review
Apr 2015
16 of us thoroughly enjoyed the day. Our driver - Graham, was very accommodating and informative. I put together the group so we could see both the castle and Rosslyn Chapel. We had @ 4 hours for the castle and shopping (weather encouraged shopping and lunch activities) but due to the small group got to the castle early and ahead of the masses. can't recommend Timberbush enough - they were great.
Read Jagracin's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Timberbush tours
Member Image girls5
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2014

I bought the tickets for the Castle and Audio Guide before we left the U.S.A. The Castle was wonderful!! Probably allow about 2 hours.

Read girls5's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Tours with Locals
Member Image clearanceshopper
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

Large, very old castle perched high on a hill. Also included city tour.

Read clearanceshopper's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links