Costa Maya Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating 73 Reviews
Dive deep into Costa Maya's deep blue waters, a perfect excursion for both beginners and experts. You'll see beautiful coral formations and check out tropical fish.
Details & Booking
Member Image teamflames
Nov 2018
Nice guide, only snorkelled in inner reef. Saw turtles but lack of coral. Lot of seaweed and jellyfish.
Read teamflames's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Doctor dive
Member Image 3bigdogs
Sep 2018
We booked this online and it was less than 30., way cheaper than the ship. There was tons of seaweed which was nasty and stinky. However, we saw great fish, an eagle ray, and lots of turtles, which made it worthwhile. Took a taxi to Krazy Lobster beach; they do not charge for loungers and umbrellas. We ate tacos which weren't very good but they didn't make us sick.
Read 3bigdogs's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursions
Member Image BirdTravels
Aug 2018
Costa Maya – Catamaran Cruise and Snorkel. This was a great snorkel excursion. The crew, dressed in pirate outfits, were great! The catamaran was “o.k.”, there was a forward net to sit on and there was free soda and beer (after snorkeling). The crew divided the group in to beginners, intermediate, and advanced snorkelers. For the beginners, they really took a lot of time and effort to make sure everyone had a great and safe experience. For the advanced group, they guide moved the group over the maximum amount of reef and then turned us loose at the end. The reef was beautiful with lots of tropical fish. There was a lot of Saragossa seaweed at point (common in the area).
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image st albert
Jul 2018
Had an independent snorkel trip with a personal guide. Saw lots of stingrays, turtles barracudas, the very best snorkelling on our trip. Interesting because last time we went we didn't see anything on the reef. This was a small Padi certified instructor.
Read st albert's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ruiz_partyof6
Jul 2018
We booked a beach day and snorkeling onshore. It was easy and a very relaxing place. Go early because beach chairs are first come first serve.
Read ruiz_partyof6's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image regularcruisers
Jul 2018
Pirate snorkel. Nice operator. Did a great job. Corny but fun
Read regularcruisers's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mirri
Jul 2018
Booked a day pass at the Yaya Beach Club. Had an hour-long snorkeling excursion where we got to see some sea-life and sea turtles. The beach club's lounges were excellent and the dining area was excellent, but we were constantly harassed by beach vendors and saying "no thank you" about every five minutes.
Read mirri's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Doctor Dive
Member Image stampwithkristine
Jul 2018
We did the catamaran/snorkeling excursion. The tour guide "pirates" were a lot of fun. They took the time to fully explain how to snorkel and broke us up into beginners and experienced snorkelers. They were so patient and kind to those who were scared. I would do this one again.
Read stampwithkristine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image epalins
Jul 2018
It was a catamaran with a pirate theme. It was fun and reasonably priced.
Read epalins's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image VictoriaJingle
Jun 2018
We took the Barrier Reef Snorkel excursion. The ride out was about 45 minutes and very nice. Big boat and friendly people. The reef was beautiful! the water awesome. The snorkeling was not so great. It had rained the week before and the water was a little cloudy and not much to see. I think it would be worth trying again but i'd check the weather patterns from the previous 4-5 days. The people who hosted the excursion were very nice.
Read VictoriaJingle's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TianaM
May 2018
Guides were knowledgeable and great , area is shallow and the waters are more cloudy in this area. Still had a good time.
Read TianaM's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2freespirits
Apr 2018
Only one spirit felt sufficiently comfortable in the water to attempt this. Conditions were rough and even strong swimmers seemed to be struggling. The 'pirates' who organised it were very capable and friendly.
Read 2freespirits's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DaisyDog56
Apr 2018
Pleasant boat ride to the snorkel area - but very very few fish to see. Quite uneventful.
Read DaisyDog56's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image slowpoke30
Apr 2018
We booked Costa Maya Reef Snorkeling through Costco / Shore Excursions Group. Toucan Tours did a great job, greeting us shortly after we exited the port gates, providing shuttles for the short ride to/from the beach and setting us up with Rafael and Roberto. We went out on a small boat as with our family (5 people), anchored just off the reef and were taken on an extended snorkel tour that featured a handful of large sea turtles in their natural environment. Nothing fancy, but it was great having a guided personalized tour of the reef for the family.
Read slowpoke30's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tucan Tours
Member Image wngrandma
Mar 2018
My daughter was impressed with the tour. We saw some fish and turtles. I would like to have seen some more coral,. Was nice because my 6 year old grandchild was able to snorkel. Was promise a ride back for free if we didn't stay at beach we didn't stay at beach afterwards but had to pay for a taxi.
Read wngrandma's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Tocan Tours
Member Image saabmedic
Mar 2018
Average reef, expected more.
Read saabmedic's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JennDixon74
Mar 2018
We went to Jamie's Blue Reef which was awesome. From there we went snorkeling. We saw fish, coral and sea turtles. It was awesome.
Read JennDixon74's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image california mike
Feb 2018
Catamaran and Snorkel trip. Better then I expected (Low expectation for any cruise snorkel trip). Decent fish- crew really tried
Read california mike's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image st albert
Feb 2018
Snorkelling not very good at Costa Maya, the reef is rather dead. We went on a boat which was OK, just didn't see much
Read st albert's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image shortnicole45
Jan 2018
At first it started off a bit cheesy because the staff had the "pirate" theme going. But overall we had great time. The snorkeling was fun and there was plenty of cold beer.
Read shortnicole45's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mikey630
Jan 2018
was nothing special, nor did I expect anything special. As it was just snorkeling. get your equipment and end you go. No issues with equipment, mask, fins and vest.
Read Mikey630's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image new2cruising18
Jan 2018
Great time snorkeling. Able to see sea turtles and then hung out beach side.
Read new2cruising18's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: gypsy divers
Member Image London1990
Dec 2017
Did the glass bottom boat and snorkel tour which was very good.
Read London1990's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image basicprincess24
Dec 2017
We booked the "Catamaran Cruise & Snorkel." Your snorkel guides greet you as pirates when you arrive at the pier, which was a little odd. The catamaran ride out to the snorkel site takes about 45 min, during which time you receive your mask, lifejacket, and brand new packaged snorkel, which you can take home. This is a nice touch. They split everyone into three groups, beginner, intermediate, and advanced. Our family of first-timers were in the beginner group, which stayed closest to the catamaran. Our guide, Michelle, was amazing, making sure everyone was having a good time and not having any problems. We had three people who couldn't snorkel on their own, so Michelle let them hang onto a life preserver that she pulled around so they could still enjoy the excursion. We saw a lot of fish and coral, and the water was so clear and beautiful! On the ride back, the guides offer complimentary beer and Mexican Coke products. The Catamaran ride was a little rough, so those prone to seasickness should be aware.
Read basicprincess24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image basicprincess24
Dec 2017
We booked the "Catamaran Cruise & Snorkel." Your snorkel guides greet you as pirates when you arrive at the pier, which was a little odd. The catamaran ride out to the snorkel site takes about 45 min, during which time you receive your mask, lifejacket, and brand new packaged snorkel, which you can take home. This is a nice touch. They split everyone into three groups, beginner, intermediate, and advanced. Our family of first-timers were in the beginner group, which stayed closest to the catamaran. Our guide, Michelle, was amazing, making sure everyone was having a good time and not having any problems. We had three people who couldn't snorkel on their own, so Michelle let them hang onto a life preserver that she pulled around so they could still enjoy the excursion. We saw a lot of fish and coral, and the water was so clear and beautiful! On the ride back, the guides offer complimentary beer and Mexican Coke products. The Catamaran ride was a little rough, so those prone to seasickness should be aware.
Read basicprincess24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links