Costa Maya Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dive deep into Costa Maya's deep blue waters, a perfect excursion for both beginners and experts. You'll see beautiful coral formations and check out tropical fish.
Member Image Mikey630
1 review
Jan 2018
was nothing special, nor did I expect anything special. As it was just snorkeling. get your equipment and end you go. No issues with equipment, mask, fins and vest.
Read Mikey630's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image London1990
1 review
Dec 2017
Did the glass bottom boat and snorkel tour which was very good.
Read London1990's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image basicprincess24
1 review
Dec 2017
We booked the "Catamaran Cruise & Snorkel." Your snorkel guides greet you as pirates when you arrive at the pier, which was a little odd. The catamaran ride out to the snorkel site takes about 45 min, during which time you receive your mask, lifejacket, and brand new packaged snorkel, which you can take home. This is a nice touch. They split everyone into three groups, beginner, intermediate, and advanced. Our family of first-timers were in the beginner group, which stayed closest to the catamaran. Our guide, Michelle, was amazing, making sure everyone was having a good time and not having any problems. We had three people who couldn't snorkel on their own, so Michelle let them hang onto a life preserver that she pulled around so they could still enjoy the excursion. We saw a lot of fish and coral, and the water was so clear and beautiful! On the ride back, the guides offer complimentary beer and Mexican Coke products. The Catamaran ride was a little rough, so those prone to seasickness should be aware.
Read basicprincess24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Parkatola
1 review
Dec 2017
An early arrival meant an early (nearly sunrise) snorkeling adventure. Great views of fish and the coral. Afterwards, we relaxed on the beach. Our excursion included drinks and beach chairs, and food is available. Would recommend!
Read Parkatola's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TexasMtnBoy
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Not a good snorkeling experience - took us to open water (not any protected area). Many passengers got a little sick
Read TexasMtnBoy's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image odester
1 review
Nov 2017
Tour guides were great. Current strong that day, but beach was very clean.
Read odester's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Terhaar
1 review
Oct 2017
Fun crew. The reef is almost dead so few fish.
Read Terhaar's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SuzieQT234
1 review
Jul 2017
We had to book independently because RCCL said I was too old to snorkel. (66) The boat was really small and uncomfortable, the snorkeling was good. The beach was really crowded and too many people hocking their wares and not taking no for an answer.
Read SuzieQT234's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: YAYA Beach
Member Image Jodster77
1 review
Jul 2017
Snorkeling and beach.. Nice but not much to do besides beach and snorkeling. Ended up leaving early to go back to the ship.
Read Jodster77's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image civilnut
1 review
Jun 2017
The beach was only 5 yards wide at the water the rest was rocks
Read civilnut's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisinbin
1 review
Jun 2017
This particular trip you are taken out by boat and there is much swimming involved in the waves to get past the reef. The rewards are great though with lots of sea wild life seen and photoed.
Read Cruisinbin's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image soupy36
1 review
May 2017
Full 45 minutes in water and no snorkel vests required. It was fun with lots of beautiful reef and fish.
Read soupy36's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dottie dog
2 reviews
Apr 2017
45 min drive to snorkeling site (beach club) which was filled with turtle grass for the first 30 feet, then poor visibility with algae after that. This was a former dolphin swim that is converted post hurricane in 2007 into a failed man made reef. There are sunken cars, helicopter and small plane, but none seem to be building a reef and visibility was horrible. We then had to wait an hour and a half for the next bus back which meant drinks and purchased limited lunch. The staff were nice. and the bus to and from is clean. But the excursion itself was a disappointment.
Read Dottie dog's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image florida cruzer
1 review
Feb 2017
We did the Catamaran Sail and Snorkel in Costa Maya, which was fabulous. Do not expect a fancy catamaran here. It is not a real big one; there is no downstairs, but it does the trick. There is ample shade and the guys are great. The sail to the reef took about 45 minutes, but it was a very pleasant ride as we had perfect weather. When at the reef, we went with the guide Luis, as they had broken us into two groups: one for novices and one for experienced snorkelers. Luis took us for an hour snorkel around the reef and it was awesome. He was terrific, showing us various sea critters and giving us fair warning when we had to navigate through some more shallow areas. After the snorkeling, it was free beer (no rum punch) and a quicker sail back to an area where we picked up a taxi. I would definitely do it again; the guys were very friendly and helpful and the snorkeling experience - although there is definitely a lot of dead coral there - was wonderful.
Read florida cruzer's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rbazor
3 reviews
Feb 2017
I highly recommend Herbert, check out his website. He does all kinds of tours at great prices. We did the snorkel hopping,and it was the best snorkeling we have ever done. Better than the Bahamas or Hawaii.
Read rbazor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Roatan Ocean Adventures
Member Image bb656
1 review
Dec 2016
really liked the beach club and the Mahahaul area. Snorkeling was just okay.
Read bb656's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bucket Listers
1 review
Dec 2016
Catamaran Cruise and Snorkel - Well organized, a group of about 30 pax.  The embarkation is a short 15 min bus ride from the ship.  We had a very windy day with high sea state, so it was a rough but safe transfer to the reef, and the visibility was reduced due to wave action.  About 45 mins in the water, all safely supervised, with good equipment (you get our own snorkel to use and keep), followed by some cervesas for the sail back to the port. 
Read Bucket Listers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image antiqfreq
1 review
Nov 2016
Lovely reef
Read antiqfreq's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MADDS
1 review
Nov 2016
The tour operators were very good and did a great job looking and assisting everyone.
Read MADDS's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Landsharks
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Lots of fish and under water activity close to the beach
Read Landsharks's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mom of 6
1 review
Sep 2016
We hated it. Hour long bus ride there and back, only 45 minutes snorkel "tour" that we could have given ourselves in an area that had a hazardous chain link fence, and cement pillars that the waves pushed me into. I sustained cuts and bruises. After the 45 minutes were up we had to turn in our equipment or pay $10 more apiece. The open bar was poor. The bar tender gave my 12 year old an alcoholic drink when he asked for lemonade. My 15 year old son's shoes were stolen, I think by the snorkel guide, and the management was not helpful or sympathetic. The bus ride home with a bunch of drunks was unpleasant and unsafe. The bus driver did not insist on a drunk lewd dancer sitting down when she was up in his face while driving, endangering the whole bus. It was our worst day, and I regretted my teen boys experiencing it.
Read Mom of 6's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image suzierocks
1 review
Sep 2016
Power snorkeled. Fun once we got the hang of it.
Read suzierocks's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image momat40
2 reviews
Aug 2016
My kids and I went snorkeling and my parents relaxed at same Jungle Beach
Read momat40's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tiffany1129
1 review
Jun 2016
Staff and trip were great. The water at this location is a little rougher than we expected so had to make good effort to swim and deal with the waves. Had we to do it again, would probably snorkel in Cayman or Cozumel.
Read Tiffany1129's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ctroutte
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Had a good time. Not many fish at this stop. Port was very nice.
Read ctroutte's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links