Berlin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Berlin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its many world-class museums to the darker history of World War II and the Berlin Wall, Berlin has a lot to offer the enterprising visitor.
Member Image Gator75
7 reviews
Jun 2017
Warnemunde is a quaint little seaside resort town, that is very walkable to visit the beach and the local shops. However, we chose to take an excursion (WA-20 – A Twentieth Century Experience) into Berlin. The excursion consisted of a three hour coach ride on the Autobahn through the agricultural countryside to get to Berlin, six hours touring Berlin, and a four hour coach ride back to the ship. In Berlin, we visited the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, the site of the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, and the sites of the famous speeches given by Presidents Kennedy and Regan. Due to the damage sustained during WWII, Berlin is a relative new city. The tour also included a wonderful German lunch at the impressive Maritin Hotel. Our guides Shawn and Riek were very knowledgeable and made the trip enjoyable. We are glad we made the long trip to Berlin, as it was a moving experience, but would not recommend it to someone who has already been to Berlin.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lv2quilt
1 review
Jun 2017
This was enjoyable. Unfortunately it poured down rain for most of the tour. The 3 hour bus ride back to the port turned into 4 1/2 hours due to the traffic. More shopping would have been nice. The meal at the restaurant was fantastic.
Read lv2quilt's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Atlanta Traveling Gal
1 review
Jun 2017
Our tour guide (Daniel) did a great job showing us the city and all of the historical sites. He also showed pictures of what that place looked like during WW II.
Read Atlanta Traveling Gal's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla
Member Image Rob Clayton
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Once in Berlin we were left to our own to see Berlin "our way"...great experience.
Read Rob Clayton's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Tropicalpunch
1 review
May 2017
Berlin Highlights. It took us awhile to decide if we wanted to take the train into Berlin as a lot of people complained about the 2.5 hr. train ride. We decided to go and had a great day. The train ride was fun, enjoyed our compartment mates and cabin boy. The tour was very informative and our guide, Will, was excellent. We had time for shopping and were treated to a German lunch complete with beer! Unless you are familiar with Berlin, take a guided tour so you know what you are seeing!
Read Tropicalpunch's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image jonathanw.house
1 review
May 2017
Viking arranged a German Railway train from the port to Berlin and back (2.5 hours each way). Still had time to explore Berlin after highlights tour. Best site, not included, is the Museum Insel, which has world-class exhibits.
Read jonathanw.house's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image MississaugaChris
1 review
May 2017
covered a lot of interesting ground and on our free time spent it at the Berlin wall which was terrific because of the historical exhibit there
Read MississaugaChris's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Tushers
4 reviews
May 2017
I really enjoyed this, great guide and although some unexpected walking we had a great day.
Read Tushers's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tim w
1 review
May 2017
Train picked us up at the ship, which surprised us. There was a lot going on in Berlin that day, but we managed to see everything that we had expected.
Read tim w's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image taistealach
1 review
May 2017
Lawrence the guide spoke English perfectly and gave the history of Germany with sensitivity and humour. He was passionate about his subjects.
Read taistealach's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image LindaStuck
1 review
May 2017
Excellent! Comfortable uncrowded bus for the 3 hour trip. Heather was excellent and the headsets made it all easy. They did have the wrong ship departure time but that was corrected
Read LindaStuck's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image Natkat3100
1 review
Apr 2017
Appreciated the train journey (3 hours) into Berlin as apposed to a bus. Couldn't help feeling sad thinking of Berlin's past history but at the same time pleased to see how they have progressed.
Read Natkat3100's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bobbatthebeach999
1 review
Apr 2017
1st trip to Berlin. 3 hour train ride one way. Good overview. Would have preferred to walk by the remaking Berlin Wall (neat Ostbahnhoff train station) rather than drive by. Did independent walk about using Rick Steve's Audio Europe app.
Read bobbatthebeach999's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Kghuff
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Viking chartered a private train for the 600 -700 passengers who went into Berlin. It was a long ride, but it was made as comfortable as possible. The tour once in Berlin felt choppy - lots of traffic and construction. Lunch took too long, and might have contributed to what felt like a rushed tour.
Read Kghuff's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image KMGA
2 reviews
Apr 2017
A good overview of the city and where to visit on free time.
Read KMGA's full Viking Astrild cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image tele21
1 review
Sep 2016
Quick walk around town
Read tele21's full Viking Astrild cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image briansau
1 review
Sep 2016
There was a 2 1/2 hour train ride each way - a total of 5 hours on the train which is too long! The lunch at the Reichtag was good, but service was very slow! The organ concert was very goon
Read briansau's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Budsparks
1 review
Sep 2016
A very nice train ride right from the ship into Berlin and then a bus tour of the important sights in the city and then plenty of time to explore the city on your own and the train back to the ship. A long 12 hour day with the cafe open for dinner when we returned.
Read Budsparks's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Where2now?
1 review
Sep 2016
We saw a lot both on the bus and walking in the short time we had in this enormous city. Great guide!
Read Where2now?'s full Marina cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image GMJohn
1 review
Aug 2016
Nice half day hitting the major sites including Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, government center, the wall, museum island, etc.
Read GMJohn's full Viking Astrild cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image nofema
1 review
Aug 2016
This one day visit included 6 hours on the train to and from the port to Berlin and only about 4 hours t see the highlights of the city. We were able to see the highlights but not really experience much except for the Holocaust Memorial (very moving) and Brandenburg Gate area. More time was needed.
Read nofema's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Michael McFadden
1 review
Aug 2016
An interesting train ride to and from Berlin along with an unexpected initial city bus tour (not well described in the tour brochure) laid the basis for a very pleasant self guided tour in Berlin.
Read Michael McFadden's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Jill Alice
1 review
Aug 2016
We took a twelve hour tour into Berlin. They picked us up at 6:30 am at the pier. We boarded a large bus and were in Berlin by 10:00. The bus made one bathroom/snack stop. We then were divided into smaller groups of 16. We drove all over East and West Berlin until 3:00 with a stop at a beer garden for lunch. We then met up with the other groups and reboarded the original bus for the 3 hour trip back to the ship. We did not like this tour. We spent too much time at places we had no interest in seeing and then at the end of the day at checkpoint Charlie and the Berlin Wall we were so rushed we only had a few minutes. I think we would have been better off taking the train in by ourselves and seeing the few things we were interested in or visiting the resort village by the ship.
Read Jill Alice's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB tours
Member Image pillperson@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Same guide from Sachsenhausen - knew his Berlin and shared history and up to date information in a wonderful experience
Read pillperson@hotmail.com's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BritinSoCal
1 review
Aug 2016
Well worth paying the premium over DB fares for direct train into Berlin. Topography of Terror and the Wall memorials are a must, easily accessible via a one day transit pass
Read BritinSoCal's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links