Belfast Giant's Causeway Excursion Reviews

Belfast Giant's Causeway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Discover the 40,000 basalt columns that stretch from land to sea and to form the Giant's Causeway, the most famous natural attraction in Belfast.
Member Image Herbs Mom
5 reviews
Jun 2017
The Odyssey Tour group was a little hard to find at first, mostly not their fault. We got off the ship and the signs pointed us to the left for BUS TOURS, so we all went that direction. We didn’t see anything marked ODYSSEY and asked a driver from another company who pointed us in the direction which was to the right of where we got off. Martin was there with his blue jacket on and the sign that said ODYSSEY TOURS (the busses were from another company – it would have been helpful to have known the name of the busses – would have made it easier to find on that initial search). We waited a few minutes for 2 who didn’t show and then we left. I liked it that Martin wanted to be punctual. We deviated from the usual schedule and went to Carrick--a-Rede rope bridge first to try to avoid crowds there. Martin waked thru the bus first to see who was interested in going down to the bridge, then when we got there picked up that specific amount of tickets and distributed them on the bus and collected the money (this was to avoid waiting in the line to purchase tickets). It was no problem if you changed your mind and didn’t want to go down. We changed our mind and decided to walk around the cliffs instead – beautiful views!!!! We used the hour and a half there easily and enjoyed the scenery. We next went to Giants Causeway and again, Martin was very detailed how to avoid the lines and gave great tips about it. We walked down and rode the bus back up (1 pound/person). It was very crowded down there and hard to get a good grasp of the true beauty of it with all the people crawling around. We did enjoy a good pub type lunch at the Nook at the top of the Causeway. Our drive next took us down the coast – Martin was very detailed about the area, especially the history. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery! Our tour ended in downtown Belfast where Martin showed his true passion of the division in the city in the 1960’s/1970’s + the history leading up to it. It was very interesting hearing it directly from a person who lived it. John was a terrific driver – always putting our safety first
Read Herbs Mom's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Odyssey Tours thru Viator
Member Image easy22
1 review
May 2017
After visiting the causeway, walk around to the hotel and have a drink or a cup of tea. Absolutely charming. Use Paddywagon tour.
Read easy22's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Dorothy's Friend
4 reviews
May 2017
Excellent port of call so very different from Dublin. The Giant's Causeway was well worth the visit despite the numbers of visiting.
Read Dorothy's Friend's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image What now?
1 review
May 2017
Great tour made even better by our Tour guide, Martin and our excellent driver, Conner ( I have no idea how he can drive in those traffic conditions and extremely narrow streets but he did it!). Martin has a wealth of Irish history and folk lore at his fingertips. In all our travels (9 cruises and many land tours) he is far and away the best tour guide that we have ever had! I can't extol his virtues enough. I understand that Odyssey Tours is a relatively new tour company. With tours like we had, they will have no problem succeeding. We located them through Viacom.
Read What now?'s full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Odyssey
Member Image Wireagle
1 review
May 2017
Iceland had been so fantastic we expected something of an "after the Lord Mayor's Show" day but we were fortunate to book Paddy who gave us an outstanding cultural and historical tour, so good in fact that we finished the holiday on a high rather than with a sense of anti-climax. We are very happy to recommend this tour.
Read Wireagle's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Paddy Campbell's Belfast Famous Black Cab
Member Image dputland
5 reviews
May 2017
Very nice bus tour with informative guide. Giant's Causeway was very cool, just wish it was closer to the dock.
Read dputland's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Book Lover
2 reviews
Sep 2016
A must see. Shuttle bus can take you Dow to the rocks.
Read Book Lover's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Paddy Cambell
Member Image cruzerbooser
1 review
Aug 2016
We were on a tight timeline, but our driver got us to the Giant's Causeway, with adequate time to hike up and back, saw the rope bridge and was able to stop and take pictures at the Dark Hedges, and return to the ship in time. We had to wait for some of the people to board the bus, but they were caught up in the debacle leaving the ship, so we took off without them...
Read cruzerbooser's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Allen's tours
Member Image higrm1
1 review
Aug 2016
Very nice walk down to the rocks. Weather was still wet, but less than Dublin so it was enjoyable. Our taxi driver told us we need not enter the building to see the rocks, so we avoided the fee by walking through the tunnel. Apparently the fee is only for the exhibition in the building and nothing is charge to visit the rocks.
Read higrm1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bettybayley
1 review
Jul 2016
it was a nice warm sunny day and very interesting trip
Read bettybayley's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lauraelizabeth1983
1 review
Jul 2016
We booked with Princess b/c the independent tours were already sold out. The bus ride was fine. We were really looking forward to going to the Causeway. We had plenty of time to walk around and explore and take photos. Skip the 9.5 hour tour. We took the shorter one and people we talked to on the longer one complained at the length.
Read lauraelizabeth1983's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KanCruise
1 review
Jul 2016
Also excellent tour. It is a long way to Giants Causeway but we also stopped at Carrickfergus Castle along the way.The driver did drive us for a short but meaningful tour around Belfast on our way back to the ship and gave us a brief history as we drove by some amazing murals.
Read KanCruise's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Allens Tour
Member Image floridakeyster
1 review
Jul 2016
Went to Giant's Causeway and Carrickfergus and also Peace Wall in Belfast.
Read floridakeyster's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: private
Member Image cartervan
4 reviews
Jul 2016
A nice trip out into the countryside. We were amazed to see what a huge tourist attraction the "Giant's Causeway" is. We wished we had more time to walk the trails and enjoy the scenery.
Read cartervan's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image crusingnut
1 review
Jul 2016
We were picked up @ the dock upon arrival (noon) and drove to Belfast city for a tour then on to Giant's Causeway where we spent some time exploring. The scenery along the way was beautiful. Highly recommend. http://www.elegantirishtours.com/#_=_
Read crusingnut's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: ELEGANT IRISH TOURS
Member Image kstapleford@rogers.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We went to Bushmills, Port Rush and the Giants Causeway.mour guide was exceptional. Well worth it!
Read kstapleford@rogers.com's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Boardwalkfun
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Interesting columns, cold and windy. Quick lunch at the Nook.
Read Boardwalkfun's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: McCombs
Member Image mdiceskater
1 review
Jun 2016
Giant’s Causeway is National Heritage Site with 40,000 basalt columns from ancient volcano eruptions 60 million years old. I see why it is ranked alongside Mt Everest & Giant Redwoods because it is spectacular. The hexagonal stones and the pillars -- how in the world did that occur!
Read mdiceskater's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Saltwater1974
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Did ODESSEY BUS TOURS. 30 feet on left off the ship. Outstanding Tour. Probably best day of Cruise. Giant's Causeway amazing, Dunluce Castle, Rope Bridge, Antrim Coast drive, and brief tour of Belfast at the end - OUTSTANDING in all respects. Bus Driver & Tour Guide very personable, friendly, informative, and entertaining. Great job at 25 BPS apiece...real value!
Read Saltwater1974's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SFOGIRL
1 review
Jun 2016
The Giants Causeway was fantastic but we weren't there long enough. We only got to explore the area for 2 hours out of a 8 hour tour.
Read SFOGIRL's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mackley1956
1 review
Jun 2016
Really a unique place. Probably our favorite excursion on this cruise.
Read mackley1956's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image redtag
9 reviews
Jun 2016
Titanic Belfast new museum is outstanding and we got there before the crowd. Giant's Causeway is not worth the trouble! I would never recommend going there.
Read redtag's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: McComb's Tours 80 pounds for 2
Member Image mmoeller
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Day #3 of sun. Amazing. Giant's Causeway was packed. The buses were in there like sardines. The tour also went to the rope bridge.
Read mmoeller's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image augies
1 review
Jun 2016
Loved Giants Causeway. Princess tour was very good.
Read augies's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image suzily
1 review
May 2016
Great tour, went places that a big bus couldn't.
Read suzily's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: don't know

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?