Athens (Piraeus) Temple of Poseidon Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Temple of Poseidon  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Create your own postcard-worthy snapshots of Cape Sounion’s Temple of Poseidon on a scenic trip from Athens.
Member Image Momoftwobwzmandm
1 review
Jul 2017
It is a long ride out to the Temple of Poseidon but do not let that deter you. It is spectacular! GO!!
Read Momoftwobwzmandm's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: JG Athens Tours
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
Very hot, use hat, sunscreen and comfortable shoes.
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tehemsath
1 review
May 2017
A long bus ride and no bathroom stop upon arriving at site.
Read tehemsath's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kathleen681
1 review
May 2017
Very nice, but it is about an hour + drive from port.
Read kathleen681's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Barefoot&Brit
3 reviews
Apr 2017
Temple of Poseidon and Its Scenic Coast (Athens). Level 2, 4.5 hours. We’ve done the requisite Athens sites on a previous visit, so opted instead for the scenic drive to Poseidon’s temple. I found it powerful, but my husband said it was interesting and mostly, it wasn’t Athens. Easy enough walk with some steps, uneven terrain around the temple. Although the temple is not as ornate or huge as the Parthenon, I liked that you could get a bit closer without huge crowds. We had an hour’s stop at a luxury resort for coffee and pastries, which were all lovely, as one would expect. The water is breathtaking. (Bottled water provided). Some shopping at port.
Read Barefoot&Brit's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Aunt Bessie
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Really not worth the money to travel 1 1/2 hrs one way to see this ruin.
Read Aunt Bessie's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image kaviz
1 review
Nov 2016
Excellent day. Beautiful coastal ride. Stops at Tirrenne boat, Temple of Poseidon and Lake Vouliagia.
Read kaviz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Spiros of Athens Taxi
Member Image 57Kroozers
6 reviews
Oct 2016
Interesting trip to the ruin of the Temple of Poseidon. Nice scenery, excellent tour guide.
Read 57Kroozers's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Turbo Trace
1 review
Sep 2016
The drive out to the Temple of Poseidon once you are out of Athens is very picturesque in places. Film fans: The Temple of Poseidon is where some of Jason & the Argonauts was filmed, the skeleton attack.
Read Turbo Trace's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Huntingdon1701
2 reviews
Sep 2016
This was NCL's Athens and its Scenic Coast. It started off by going to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon, which was impressive, and then went back to Athens for a meal and a visit to the Acropolis. The meal was a mass-produced thing and not great, but was a good chance to meet other cruisers. The visit to the Acropolis was good, but rushed as our tour guide spoke for far too long on trivia (which should have been done on the coach). We then stopped off briefly at a shop on the way back to the ship - they gave away free postcards which saved me buying some.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kirra Cruiser
1 review
Aug 2016
Interesting drive along coast with informative guide. Windy site.
Read Kirra Cruiser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image jackaberlin
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth the trip to see the unbelievable coastal scenery.
Read jackaberlin's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Lovecruisin01
1 review
Jul 2016
nice
Read Lovecruisin01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Redjennalady
1 review
May 2016
Good excursion. Could be smaller group though.
Read Redjennalady's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image forepaughs75
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We thought this the best of the ancient ruins to see. The sight was impeccably clean and well maintained and the views are fantastic. Do NOT miss this one and be sure to appreciate the hour long drive from Athens along the coast. The restaurant at this site is wonderful and they have the best rest rooms we saw in Greece!. Enjoy a latte or two as you contemplate the views.
Read forepaughs75's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Greek Tour Drivers, Stelios Spinoulas
Member Image mpattison.k
1 review
Oct 2015
A nice drive - took a nap and was completely refreshed by the time we got to the temple.
Read mpattison.k's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jannie711
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved seeing Temple of Poseidon and the Acropolis. Our tour guide was great and very informative. Bring comfortable walking shoes and maybe a hat. Terrain is very rocky, hilly and windy. It was beautiful at both locations!
Read jannie711's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prufock
1 review
Aug 2015
Very good!
Read prufock's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Air Canada Vacations
Member Image Gamut
1 review
Jul 2015
For me, the trip there and back was relaxing and I saw beautiful scenery. For my grandson, it was too curvy and hilly and he got car-sick. Maybe a mention of this in the description? I don't remember seeing it...
Read Gamut's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
We took an all day excursion that included the Acropolis, a Greek buffet lunch, and a trip to Cape Sounion to see the Temple of Poseidon. Not a lot of people know about Cape Sounion, but the drive there (about an hour) was beautiful along the coast. The Temple of Poseidon suddenly rises in the distance, and it's quite a sight to see.
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rose108
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice tour through beautiful countryside and beach fronts with a pleasant swim at the end. The restaurant on the beach next door to the one they dropped us was better and good for lunch.
Read Rose108's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image hyker1
9 reviews
Jun 2015
The drive to Cape Sounion is longer than I expected... about an hour and a half. However, the views are fantastic and it was great getting out of the crowded city and see some of the Attic landscape. Maria again, was very good about describing and interpreting sights along the way. Cape Sounion was very impressive. I highly recommend this tour. It takes you out and away from the zillions of people scrambling over one another. At Cape Sounion, the Temple of Poseidon isn't crowded at all. There are lovely bathroom facilities, a restaurant to grab a snack or something to drink, and the views of the Aegean are magnificent!
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
Athens, overall, was not a favorite of our family of 5. In fact, out of all the awesome stops we had on this cruise, Athens was our least favorite and most disappointing. I hope that someday they will be able to recoup from the economic decline and be the amazing historical place to visit, that it can be.
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Long 1 day trip but was excellent and very informative. The lunch was excellent also and one of the best we have had
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
A beautiful temple, in a very beautiful location. One of the best parts was the number of leftover pieces lying about the site. We were amused to see that the builders had used a peg and hole type of assembly to hold the stones in place. My husband was amused by this, quipping that "the Greeks invented Legos!"
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links