Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image carla-94vieira
1 review
Jul 2017
Very busy and interesting city, tour guide showed us the important places
Read carla-94vieira's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Klampley
1 review
Jun 2017
Good overview of the history of the city. Wish we could have stopped at a few of the sites rather than driving by.
Read Klampley's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hills63
1 review
Jun 2017
Athens surprised me. It is full of graffiti everywhere. Very disappointing. Probably my least favourite place. Bus tour was excellent although we didn't get time to stop at the major places for photo opportunity.
Read hills63's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
Tour you around the city
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mandaj07
1 review
May 2017
We did a small group city tour of Athens. The small group v. large group makes very little difference. Our guide was average at best and kind of rude. I was disappointed in Athens as a whole. I felt the people who had just gotten a taxi driver to show them around the city and talk to them had better experiences that day. We also were dropped off at the Plaka for a ridiculous amount of time.
Read mandaj07's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sue1972
1 review
May 2017
easy way for us older folks to see the sights plus we had time for shopping and coffee in Athens
Read sue1972's full Costa Luminosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image m.morrow
1 review
May 2017
The bus was great affordable, hop on hop off with great information along the way. Lots of stops, well marked and tour bus employee very available to help along the way.
Read m.morrow's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Red Bus
Member Image ptcruzer
1 review
Dec 2016
Covered a lot of ground in short time. Got back just in time. Very nice guide and spectacular sites in a chaotic messy city. Very proud people.
Read ptcruzer's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SLydon
1 review
Nov 2016
We took the hop on Hop Off, from the ship to Athens. Some people took public busses but I was with an older person and wanted to maximise view of the city. We went to the top of the Acropolis which wasn't as difficult as it appears. Perhaps in summer it is mobbed and the groups make it difficult to see. We had a great time but perhaps booking an English language tour of the Acropolis would be recommended for people without a good understanding of the related history and culture.
Read SLydon's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Open Tour
Member Image davidandjie
1 review
Oct 2016
A waste of time. The traffic in Athens made it impossible to see anything as there was a fear we would not be able to return to the ship on time.
Read davidandjie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Hop On Hop Off
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
It was good. Nikos was extremely personable and drove us around and then to the port. This was helpful because it was raining outside and my 62 year old mother doesn't like to walk too much. However, where he drove us, we basically could have walked to (on a normal non-rainy day with a person who doesn't mind walking). The price of the excursion was way more than it should have been, but Nikos was a great companion for the day.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Welcome Pickups
Member Image GreenAcres10110
1 review
Oct 2016
Part of the Acropolis tour was a quick bus tour past some of the highlights of Athens. All we needed to see this time
Read GreenAcres10110's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
The day was mostly rainy so we didn't venture off the ship until after lunch.We took one of the hop-on hop-off tours. The rain stopped soon after we got on the bus and we had a nice tour of the city.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image winter.escapee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Saw everything with a very entertaining guide, included a lunch stop in Cape Sounion
Read winter.escapee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: George's Taxi
Member Image BeachBoundGirl72
2 reviews
Oct 2016
This was an 8 hour tour, called The Best of Athens, that we booked on our own. We had a very nice driver who was very nice and extremely knowledgeable about Athens. He took us all over the city with stops at the Acropolis, the Parthenon, and a few other places. We ate lunch at a hole in the wall tavern called 5eff's. We ate a family style lunch and were completely stuffed when we left. The price was amazing and this was by far the best meal I ate in 15 days in Europe.
Read BeachBoundGirl72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion
Member Image Tbird58
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Ancient Athens is not to be missed. We got to the Acropolis early in the day before the crowds and so glad we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable. She gave us the history and stories in such a way they came alive. From there we went to the Olympic Stadium and the tomb of the Unknown Soldier to watch the changing of the guards, which was awesome. Very nice day and recommend this tour company.
Read Tbird58's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: PK Tours - Greece
Member Image parr2300
1 review
Sep 2016
ride to and from town 5+/- K
Read parr2300's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image HappyFeet66
1 review
Sep 2016
Good tour. We had time to see the Platka to shop and eat lunch and walked to the government building to see the guard change before meeting the bus. Lots of time at the Acropolis to see everything there. We were happy with this tour. No hassle with finding buses etc. we just went directly to the tour bus when we left the ship.
Read HappyFeet66's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sanel
1 review
Sep 2016
Great city but weak tour.
Read Sanel's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: Centrotrans
Member Image Turbo Trace
1 review
Sep 2016
Made good because of our excellent guide, Eleni.
Read Turbo Trace's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AmazingAsheville
3 reviews
Sep 2016
This tour started with a driving tour of Athens and gave us a chance to view the Acropolis but only from the outside. We then were taken to Plaka where we had an hour and a half for shopping (we spent our time at a sidewalk cafe). Overall, this was the worst Celebrity tour we took.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image computerqwerty
3 reviews
Sep 2016
We stopped for photos at all the main sites and then dropped off and walked to the Government to see the amusing changing of the guards.
Read computerqwerty's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image sunwalker
1 review
Sep 2016
Again, I think we saw as much as folk on other tours on our own(I heard complaints of too much talk from guide to taking too much time) Acropolis is a must see! Easy to walk around.
Read sunwalker's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Weboos2
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Used the hop on hop off bus, which was excellent. Saw everything
Read Weboos2's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: hop on hop off bus
Member Image daleleah
1 review
Sep 2016
Toured the city and had the different areas described/explained.
Read daleleah's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: FORGOT

Sponsored links