Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image Jencampbell
1 review
Aug 2017
Again, amazing history lesson. I woudn't go back to Athens, but it was worth seeing the Acropolis.
Read Jencampbell's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Gilesh17
1 review
Aug 2017
Orgainsed our tour through www.privategreecetours.com. Excellent tour customised to our needs, met and dropped off at the terminal. Our driver/guide (Elis) was font of all knowledge and made the tour and fantastic experience.
Read Gilesh17's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private Greece Tours
Member Image bateau bay
1 review
Jul 2017
Had a great day saw lots. Acropolis was amazing. Had lunch at Gods Place in the Praka
Read bateau bay's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: PK tours
Member Image farm flower girl
1 review
Jul 2017
Again, the crowds took away from the enjoyment! Climbing to the Acropolis with so many people trying to keep up with the guide was difficult.
Read farm flower girl's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mmeca
1 review
Jul 2017
We booked with RCC - called Ancient Athens, Acropolis and Plaka. This was the biggest disappointment ever due to the description not matching what was suppose to happen. Not only was the description not specific enough, whomever wrote the descriptions needs to review the use of vocabulary and syntax. For our family this was a huge huge disappointment. Read more of our comments in the general cruise review area.
Read Mmeca's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SeniorCruise2017
1 review
Jul 2017
It was hard for us to walk up to the top with the heat. Then we lost our group and that was scary. We did not want to spend hours shopping after so we took a cab back to the ship. However, we enjoyed the sites and the tour
Read SeniorCruise2017's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image smac1968
1 review
Jul 2017
Trip to Acropolis using the hop on off bus, amazing sight to see. City was hot in july for walking about. so stayed on bus apart from getting off for included lunch another Gyros.
Read smac1968's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Athens Open Tour Bus
Member Image cozmodog1
1 review
Jul 2017
Best part of the cruise! Must see- once in a lifetime!
Read cozmodog1's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image je_gigote
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Tour guide provided excellent insights into the Acropolis and we had time to wander around and explore for ourselves, but there were too many people there. Another destination with little shade; bring your hat and water bottle on hot days.
Read je_gigote's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Klampley
1 review
Jun 2017
We were there on a day when the staff at the Acropolis was protesting because of a dispute over wages. As a result the acropolis did not open until noon, at which point every tour in the city converged on the hill. It took us 1 hour of waiting in 90+ degree tempuratures to make our way through the entry point and up the steep cliff to the acropolis. This was the one time during our cruise when I was worried about our safety as we were teetering on the side of a steep, slippery marble stairwell being forced up as other tours were coming down off the hill. Very disorganized and stressful. Even the tour guides were fighting with each other and some of the passengers. Really detracted from what should be a phenomenal experience. To top it off our bus almost left a group of 6 of us who were 2 minutes late to the meeting point, despite the delayed entry. Had to literally run to catch the bus as it was pulling away. The tour company Navigator, should have done more to plan around this protest as they were aware it was going to happen and should have thought this through a bit more.
Read Klampley's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Business Professor
3 reviews
Jun 2017
There was a strike of workers at the Acropolis. As a result, tourists were not allowed in to view the Acropolis until 11a.m. at which time over 40 thousand visitors were amassed waiting to get in. Not a pleasant scene. Once allowed to enter, visitors were rushed through by the workers. Not much time was allotted to photos.
Read Business Professor's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Allypally54
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Have been before so knew what to expect, added The Plaka (area nearby) to trip, only went with ship because felt it too hot at nearly 50 degrees to go independently. Athens itself is scruffy, the waste bins were overflowing on the streets due to a strike, property's empty, not a pleasant place. A lot of climbing up to the Acropolis in the searing heat
Read Allypally54's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Numbercrunchers77
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Tour included many stops before heading to the Acropolis, well worth the 6 1/2 hours with our guide.
Read Numbercrunchers77's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: USAA Shore Excursion Group
Member Image thendriks
1 review
Jun 2017
disorganized guide and very poor information.
Read thendriks's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
Get the best to get the best experience. Athens with Cape Union Lunch. They tour you around the city, then Acropolis, Cape Union. Lunch was a buffet in a very luxury hotel
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rossjensmiles
1 review
May 2017
Fascinating to see although tour person talked too much which didn't give us enough time to take photos etc. Wear non-slip shoes.
Read rossjensmiles's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kathleen681
1 review
May 2017
Amazing historical site! We were a full day your seeing both the Acropolis and the Temple of Poseidon. If I did another full day tour, I would certainly book again with the ship just for the sake of timing.
Read kathleen681's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Maddona
1 review
May 2017
Superb knowledgeable tour guide and driver .small group so we went ahead of the crowds and our itinerary was superb. much better than cruise excursions with large coach.
Read Maddona's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: P k tours.
Member Image heywhotookmypie
1 review
May 2017
Booked a shuttle through the ship - bad idea. Very expensive and didn't include access to the Acropolis! Just 100 euro basically for a shuttle bus. Not worth it - should have rented a car.
Read heywhotookmypie's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bj_blue
1 review
May 2017
This was excellent. We got to the Acroplis early, out guide Danae was amazing - best of any of our excursions.
Read Bj_blue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarawara
1 review
May 2017
Our tour included a bus tour of the city's major sights, a trip to the Acropolis, and 3 hours on our own which we used to have a great lunch and visit the Acropolis museum. Our tour guide was very good, with great pictures and interesting stories and very good English. The acropolis is breathtaking, but it rained that morning and the marble at the top was very slick.
Read Sarawara's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarahw2a
1 review
May 2017
Excellent tour, very long day be prepared for lots of walking.
Read Sarahw2a's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image m.morrow
1 review
May 2017
Acropolis was great to have done however local directions and information not very good or helpful. Locals not as friendly as elsewhere. I'm glad to have had the opportunity to visit Athens however I didn't expect that the city appeared to be in need of care. To get really anything out of Athens the time in port needs to be extended.
Read m.morrow's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: walked up
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Not for anyone with walking difficulty, but an amazing tour! We did Delphi one day and the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Parthenon and a city tour that included the Olympic Stadium and temple of Zeus. Don't miss the Museum and be sure to go there before going up to the Parthenon.
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Go Next
Member Image HOTCATPM
1 review
Apr 2017
The tour guide was excellent , the driver a magician , traffic as always was a nightmare. So glad we took a tour, fab. meal at Dionysis at foot of Acropolis. We had plenty of free time to shop and take pics. wished we had stopped to see Guards @ Capitol but just drove past. All in all Excellent tour
Read HOTCATPM's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links