Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image mcfaithie
1 review
Aug 2017
Great ac bus ride and interesting stuff
Read mcfaithie's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CC at sea
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Good half day. Our guide fabulous. Make sure you take / wear mosquito spray. The ruins are in jungle environment and the mosquitos were out in force. Don't forget your camera.
Read CC at sea's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image arunk
1 review
Jul 2017
Interesting
Read arunk's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jclark6528
1 review
Jul 2017
We had three great excursions on this trip, and this was the favorite for 3 of our 6 family members. Got on a nice comfortable bus with complimentary water - ride to Chacchoben is relatively boring scenery, but no complaints. Experience at Chacchoben was honestly a perfect mix of "guided" and "free walk" and everybody in my family agreed. Our guide (Lizbeth) was fantastic. It was really interesting and a great time for my whole family.
Read jclark6528's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shortcake2
1 review
Jul 2017
The trip to the ruins takes about an hour. The driver does the speed limit. He will also talk if you ask him questions. He was very friendly once we started talking to him. We were taken to the ruins where there are restrooms, souvenirs, and drinks you can buy. The driver allowed us to take some water bottles from the cooler. And our driver brought us bottles of water about half way through the tour. (Thank you!) Once there, we were greeted by a tour guide which we got Boris. As for the bugs, I felt they were the same as back home. We were sweating so much, we all felt that our sweat was causing that feeling of being bit, but later didn't see any bites. It was around 100 degrees. When the tour was over, we got back in the van and headed back. On the way back our driver asked us if we wanted to stop for pineapple and at a little shop to try different flavors of salsa's. Our group did. We stopped at both places.
Read Shortcake2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image snownow
1 review
Jul 2017
Native choice is awesome, the only way to go.
Read snownow's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: The Native choice
Member Image flynship11
1 review
Jul 2017
This is a great tour to do witht e limited amount of time your in port. The ride is only about 45 minutes to the site. Along the way your tour guide will introduce you to Mayan culture and history. You will have the opportunity to buy a date of significance to you translated into Mayan gliphs on paper or leather. We opted to do our wedding anniversary. You dont have to buy anything. It gets made while you're on the tour and is ready for you back at port when you get off the bus. The buses are newer and do have a bathroom in the back of them. Please note- the first and last 20 minutes of this ride are on paved but uneven roads. Its a little rough, eventually you get to a major highway which is much better but if you suffer from motion sickness then you might want to take appropriate measures. The parking area of the ruins is large and developed. There are merchants selling goods that looked mostly imported to me. There is also a food stand. The tour guide said they take cards but the food vendor doesnt so make sure you have some cash for cold drinks or food. The ruins are cool, there are several structures to see. You are allowed to climb on the first few steps of most buildings. Please respect the boundry ropes and any other special instructions you get from your guide. It takes about 1.5-2 hours to walk through and get pics. They try to allow you time to shop but again, it wasnt really for us anyway. The only other advice I can give you is wear comfortable closed toe shoes. The walking is semi-rough terrain. The limestone can be slippery even if dry, I slipped a bit on some moss. And there are fire ants all around. Also, be aware, you are walking through a jungle. The guide will tell you there is the possibilty of snakes and/or scorpions. So dont lift any rocks and sticks, keep your hands close. We didnt see any snakes or scorpions but we were treated to the sight of a resident family of monkeys going across the tree canopies. We had a great time and I would highly recommend this tour. Great value for the money.
Read flynship11's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hamaknockr
1 review
Jul 2017
The buses were new and nice and our guide was GREAT. We seemed to have plenty of time at the ruins, but i would have liked another 30 mins or so just to explore on my own. There were some vendors at the beginning of the ruins, but I didn't buy anything.
Read hamaknockr's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bigham4749
1 review
Jun 2017
The drive was interesting. The site is not very interesting. There is not any activity around it. Steps are very steep to get up to top. Nothing really stands out. Should have chosen the longer tour at Kolunlich Tour
Read Bigham4749's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dstroke27
6 reviews
Jun 2017
Costa Maya, Took the ships excursion to the Mayan Ruins, tour itself was good,guide was extremely knowledgeable,But he tried to sell us a variety of items, why we were traveling back and forth to the ruins 50 mins TACKY!! Score 25
Read dstroke27's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tartan23455
1 review
Jun 2017
Nice tour. Nice new busses.
Read tartan23455's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jimjimjim
1 review
Jun 2017
not as neat at tulem or chitzanitza
Read jimjimjim's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbaxter2
1 review
Jun 2017
Learned a lot of history on the trip to the ruins and at the ruins. Enjoyed eating lunch made by some locals.
Read jbaxter2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image Mmtex
1 review
Jun 2017
Very accessible collection of Mayan ruins about a one-hour bus ride from port. We had excellent guide who presented a very interesting account of the history of the Mayans and of the Chacchoben ruins. Great excursion
Read Mmtex's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image missmeliss333
2 reviews
Jun 2017
I booked a tour through "The Native Choice" to the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins. The ride to the ruins is almost an hour. We were in a comfortable van/bus and our guide (Edder) helped to pass the time quickly by giving us interesting information about the area. The ruins were impressive and Edder was very knowledgeable on the history of the Mayan culture. The kids were a little less enthusiastic and said it was like taking a school field trip. After the ruins we went to Bacalar Lagoon resort for lunch (included in the price) and swimming and kayaking. The food was delicious but the lagoon time was cut a bit short by a downpour that wouldn't quit. We headed back to the port and made it with time to spare so we could shop. This was a nice day, a little less adventurous than most of our excursions, but enjoyable.
Read missmeliss333's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image lildee99
1 review
Jun 2017
A great introduction to Mayan culture and history.
Read lildee99's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kyboymom
1 review
May 2017
This was definitely the highlight of the Cruise. I couldn't have been more pleased with our excursion experience with The Native Choice. The tour group size was very small and personable. Our guides name was Edder and he was fantastic. His English was very good and he was very informative regarding their culture and the history of the Mayan Ruins. I would highly recommend them!
Read kyboymom's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image leoduren
1 review
May 2017
Was outstanding! I would HIGHLY recommend this excursion. Not nearly as crowded as Chichen Itza. Lots of time to stroll and take photos in between info sessions.
Read leoduren's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beer drinker
1 review
May 2017
Enjoyed seeing the ruins. The trip to the park was about 90 min, and the park was only a 45 min visit. Then on to a private beach for lunch, drinks and a chance to swim in the water. Very relaxing for a couple of hours, then back to the ship. Not a lot of time for extra shopping.
Read Beer drinker's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HypnotistCory
1 review
May 2017
The port itself is just a port...the town of Costa Maya was hit by a hurricane a few years back and so there is literally nothing to do here if you don't book an excursion other than port shopping. That being said, the Ruins tour was great! It's a bit of a ride out there, a little over an hour, but our tour guide was excellent on the bus and gave us tons of info before we got there. The site is partially restored and partially not, so you really get the sense of what nature does to it over time, as well as the restored buildings that give you a taste of what it was like in Mayan times.
Read HypnotistCory's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aschroepfer
1 review
May 2017
This was a great excursion. You take a bus ride for about an hour. The tour guide, who was awesome and extremely knowledgeable, gave us a lot of information on the ride there, including a description of the general area. Once we arrived, we had about 2 hours or so at the ruins, which to me was about the perfect amount of time. The tour guide took us through the ruins and gave us plenty of time for pictures. There is one point where you can climb some of the ruins, or opt out to if you don't think you can handle the climb, but it was totally worth it. I heard one woman complaining that she was not able to "do stuff" like she wanted (which I interpreted to mean going off on her own and climbing everything), which I thought was pretty ridiculous. These ruins are thousands of years old. No, you can't just to climbing wherever you want. It's a guided tour. I will warn people that it's extremely hot and humid, but there was a lot of shade. Still, we were all dripping with sweat and happy to see the air conditioned bus at the end of the tour. Oh, and remember that bug spray! The mosquitoes are everywhere. My sister and her friend apparently did not realize that they can bite through clothes and got bit a good bit on their legs. Spray everywhere and you'll be fine. My mom and I (who grew up more around mosquitoes) did not get a single bite. Overall, I highly recommend this tour if you are looking to see some ruins.
Read aschroepfer's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dwdonaldson
1 review
Apr 2017
Going to the ruins was by far our favorite part of the entire cruise! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. The ruins were very impressive!
Read dwdonaldson's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ford prefect
1 review
Apr 2017
Guide was a retired anthropologist who knew extensive information about Mayan culture and history. Great. Book early AM, it gets HOT in the jungle. Bring and use bug repellent.
Read ford prefect's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gary72
10 reviews
Apr 2017
Wonderful, friendly, and informative tour. Went with a group of about 10.
Read Gary72's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya tours
Member Image Laurarc
6 reviews
Apr 2017
We booked the deluxe tour which was well worth the extra money. Our tour guide, Daniel, was outstanding. Being Mayan himself he was able to share the incredible culture and traditions of the Mayan people. He had vast knowledge and expertise and was excited to share the beauty of his people and ruins we explored.
Read Laurarc's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links