Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating 298 Reviews
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Details & Booking
Member Image scdimplesov
Dec 2018
Ricky was our tour guide. This was a wonderful excursion. I learned alot, Ricky presented the information great. He was knowledgeable and friendly and very helpful. The bus ride to and from was pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and we were provided with snacks.
Read scdimplesov's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vampgirl6796
Nov 2018
Got a wonderful tour of the Mayan ruins and then we're taken to a resort area. The food and drinks were of poor quality but overall it was a pretty good experience
Read vampgirl6796's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WanderingTheWorld
Oct 2018
Before the cruise, we reserved a spot on Native Choice's Chacchoben Ruins tour from Costa Maya. The deposit for two people was $30, and we paid the final $80 when we checked in at their tour office. The drive to the ruins was about an hour. Our guide David made this tour amazing! He is very passionate about his job and did a great job answering all our questions. Plenty of bottled water was provided. I highly recommend this company!
Read WanderingTheWorld's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Penny4825
Oct 2018
Jesus, was a tour guide. He was very nice and informative about the Mayan Ruins. He is very passionate about the culture of the Mayans. I would recommend this excursion.
Read Penny4825's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JBullock89
Oct 2018
We took the $3 shuttle to the downtown beach. Once we got there we noticed that the women were all topless and it was a lot of partying. We decided to get a taxi from there to the ruins. We paid $20 per person (the ship wanted $120 per person), and had a great time! Our driver didn't speak much English, but luckily my husband is still pretty fluent from his college days. The ruins were incredible! Don't fall for the ship scam! Go out on your own to find transportation.
Read JBullock89's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image KnightsFan
Sep 2018
Native Choice is located about a 15 minute walk from the port exit, it takes about another 10 to get from the cruise ship to the exit. At the Native Choice office they check you in and put you on a mini-bus with others doing the same tour. From there it's about a 45 minute ride to Chacchoben. We did the two hour tour and were taking around by a Native Choice guide. The tour does require walking, and the steps throughout the complex are rather high, it is not a tour for somebody who has trouble going uphill.
Read KnightsFan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image Texas-gal cruiser
Sep 2018
Great tour. We learned so much about the Mayans and the ruins.
Read Texas-gal cruiser's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BD Curtis
Jul 2018
We selected the deluxe tour so our group was only 10 people. It was very nice to have a guide that was so knowledgeable and our group was small enough to enable questions and answers. We could hear clearly and had lots of time to climb the ruins and see what we wanted to. We were able to get there before the big groups so we were not hindered by the amount of others that were there. I would highly recommend the tour, and especially the deluxe version.. Well worth the money!!!
Read BD Curtis's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jbaylo
Jul 2018
So glad we took this excursion. Tour guide was great and the ruins were amazing to see
Read Jbaylo's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 70 Mach 1
Jun 2018
Great excursion; I`m glad that I booked this one. The ruins are compact and an easy walk. The site has enought tree vegation to prevent one from being uncomfortable in the heat. Our guide (Maria ?) was of Mayan descent and was very knowledgable and informative. It is appearant to me that NCL shore expeditions have the more knowlegible and experienced guides.
Read 70 Mach 1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jonkim33
Jun 2018
Booked through Native Choice and it was amazing! Hugo was a great guide and we saw the ruins, ate lunch at Balcalar lagoon.
Read jonkim33's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Moosevilleco
Jun 2018
We loved our history explanation of the area from native choice! The Chacchoben Mayan Ruins are amazing and we really enjoyed our Mayan lunch experience!
Read Moosevilleco's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image tmarie3979
Jun 2018
These ruins were very old dating back to 200-300 BC which was very fascinating. They were located in the jungle and we were not only able to see and walk on some of the ruins, but we had a visit from quite a few spider monkeys as well! Our guide, Diego, was very good at explaining the history and letting us explore.
Read tmarie3979's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image tulip2010
Jun 2018
Amazing day. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. The amount of time at the ruins and at the lagoon was perfect. Air conditioned bus, small number of people in the tour. I highly recommended stopping for the pineapple on the way back to the ship. They sell it at roadside stands and it is delicious!!
Read tulip2010's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image jbeath1
May 2018
The walk to the Native Choice was a few blocks away. It actually seemed like a much shorter walk then I was expecting based on the online description. There were people all over the place helping give directions. I was surprised that they were genuinely trying to help you get where you needed to go, as opposed to trying to sell you on a different trip. You can easily take a taxi here if needed. At Native Choice, we boarded a 15 passenger van with A/C. There was a driver and a tour guide who told us about the history of the area and answered questions the entire drive to the ruins. The drive took about an hour, but was on paved roads that were in good condition. The ruins were really cool to see. The tour guide provided a lot of information about the history of the ruins, which we honestly didn't care much about. We were very disappointed that we were only given 10 minutes to explore the ruins. We would much rather have had less information and more time exploring. After the ruins, we drove 20 minutes to a Mayan village. Here, we learned how to make tortillas and had an authentic Mayan meal. The meal was delicious and one of the best meals that I had on the trip.
Read jbeath1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image drevl
Apr 2018
Booked the deluxe tour, smaller group. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Read drevl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image YamahaRyoko
Apr 2018
We booked our excursion through Shore Excursions Group, since Royal Caribbean did not offer this tour. We had no issues booking with a third party excursion group and Natives Choice was a very professional establishment. We thoroughly enjoyed the ruins and our tour guide Hugo was pleasant and very informative. We were intimidated by the 8 hour Talum ruins, so we opted for Chacchoben. It was a fantastic experience. The directions we clear, although getting out of the port authority was a little more difficult than we imagined. Just before you arrive at Natives Choice tours, you'll feel like "Maybe I shouldn't be walking down this street" but its there. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Costa Maya.
Read YamahaRyoko's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group, Natives Choice Tours
Member Image marissavn
Apr 2018
Really pretty, amazing to see. Guide was lame and paying for the "deluxe' tour was a sham.
Read marissavn's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ABPanda
Apr 2018
Booked through Shore Excursions Group to Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and Mayan Experience where we visited a Mayan community. The tour guide was amazing! Very friendly and informative. The ruins were great, it was a hot day but there was a decent breeze and you’re under shade most of the time. The Mayan village was a great opportunity to interact with real Mayan women, learn how they make tortillas and eat a delicious traditional Mayan meal prepared by them. This tour was exceptional in quality and service.
Read ABPanda's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image p.opus
Apr 2018
The Mayan Ruins were fantastic, but the cruise guide was pretty disorganized and had trouble keeping our group together. Plus we had to rush to get back to the ship on time. Did not appreciate having to run to the ship through the labyrinthian passages of the Costa Maya shore facility to get to the ship.
Read p.opus's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cafrock
Apr 2018
Enjoyed this tour. Buses were comfortable, water provided coming and going. Tour of ruins was very interesting. Shopping at port in Costa Maya was very good - wide selection, plenty of time after excursion to shop.
Read cafrock's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Love2Cruz5
Apr 2018
Chacchoben was really cool. Caught to climb to the top of one of the ruins. Saw some wild monkeys. Great tour if you like to learn about the Mayan Ruins.
Read Love2Cruz5's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image thekingb
Apr 2018
Excellent, lesser known ruins. Tour guide was good even though his English was not great. Nice, safe air-conditioned bus ride to the ruins. Toured the ruins. Returned for a LATE lunch. It was great, but it was also quite expensive...
Read thekingb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image krbeau00
Mar 2018
Great tour, informative guide. Butterfly garden was ice and pineapple stop was yummy. Enough time at ruins, lots of interesting history given by Daniel. Only complaint is final time to meet sent after cruise started and we did not check internet during trip or have cell phones, wish it had left a half hour sooner, but we had plenty of time. We were there plenty early, but could have slept a little longer. Easy to find company and people in Costa Maya were friendly and helpful. Made it back with an hour available to shop in port, Perfect! Never felt rushed, and bottled water was provided. Comfy a/c vans to ruins and back. About 20 minutes to shop for souvenirs and use restrooms at ruins.
Read krbeau00's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Viator-Costa Maya tours
Member Image krbeau00
Mar 2018
Great tour, informative guide. Butterfly garden was ice and pineapple stop was yummy. Enough time at ruins, lots of interesting history given by Daniel. Only complaint is final time to meet sent after cruise started and we did not check internet during trip or have cell phones, wish it had left a half hour sooner, but we had plenty of time. We were there plenty early, but could have slept a little longer. Easy to find company and people in Costa Maya were friendly and helpful. Made it back with an hour available to shop in port, Perfect! Never felt rushed, and bottled water was provided. Comfy a/c vans to ruins and back. About 20 minutes to shop for souvenirs and use restrooms at ruins.
Read krbeau00's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Viator-Costa Maya tours

Sponsored links