Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image drevl
1 review
Apr 2018
Booked the deluxe tour, smaller group. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Read drevl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marissavn
1 review
Apr 2018
Really pretty, amazing to see. Guide was lame and paying for the "deluxe' tour was a sham.
Read marissavn's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ABPanda
1 review
Apr 2018
Booked through Shore Excursions Group to Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and Mayan Experience where we visited a Mayan community. The tour guide was amazing! Very friendly and informative. The ruins were great, it was a hot day but there was a decent breeze and you’re under shade most of the time. The Mayan village was a great opportunity to interact with real Mayan women, learn how they make tortillas and eat a delicious traditional Mayan meal prepared by them. This tour was exceptional in quality and service.
Read ABPanda's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image p.opus
3 reviews
Apr 2018
The Mayan Ruins were fantastic, but the cruise guide was pretty disorganized and had trouble keeping our group together. Plus we had to rush to get back to the ship on time. Did not appreciate having to run to the ship through the labyrinthian passages of the Costa Maya shore facility to get to the ship.
Read p.opus's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cafrock
1 review
Apr 2018
Enjoyed this tour. Buses were comfortable, water provided coming and going. Tour of ruins was very interesting. Shopping at port in Costa Maya was very good - wide selection, plenty of time after excursion to shop.
Read cafrock's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Love2Cruz5
1 review
Apr 2018
Chacchoben was really cool. Caught to climb to the top of one of the ruins. Saw some wild monkeys. Great tour if you like to learn about the Mayan Ruins.
Read Love2Cruz5's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image thekingb
1 review
Apr 2018
Excellent, lesser known ruins. Tour guide was good even though his English was not great. Nice, safe air-conditioned bus ride to the ruins. Toured the ruins. Returned for a LATE lunch. It was great, but it was also quite expensive...
Read thekingb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image krbeau00
3 reviews
Mar 2018
Great tour, informative guide. Butterfly garden was ice and pineapple stop was yummy. Enough time at ruins, lots of interesting history given by Daniel. Only complaint is final time to meet sent after cruise started and we did not check internet during trip or have cell phones, wish it had left a half hour sooner, but we had plenty of time. We were there plenty early, but could have slept a little longer. Easy to find company and people in Costa Maya were friendly and helpful. Made it back with an hour available to shop in port, Perfect! Never felt rushed, and bottled water was provided. Comfy a/c vans to ruins and back. About 20 minutes to shop for souvenirs and use restrooms at ruins.
Read krbeau00's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Viator-Costa Maya tours
Member Image mryan7474
1 review
Mar 2018
We've used Shore Trips on other cruises and they are always excellent. You walk to their office from the pier and even at a casual pace you can make the trip in 20 minutes. Once there the staff is incredibly helpful. You get water and you're checked in fast. Comfortable bus takes you to the ruins - an hour trip but worth it. The ruins are fascinating. Our excursion included a side trip to Seven Color Lagoon which was even more amazing than the ruins. A 20 minute trip takes you to the Lagoon which is basically a private resort. Including our group there were maybe 20 people enjoying the lagoon. Lunch provided was one of the best of the week.
Read mryan7474's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image outlawpez
1 review
Mar 2018
Great Mayan ruins!!! Great guide and nice, clean buses!!! It is HOT but history is rich and you can touch it.
Read outlawpez's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AW26
1 review
Mar 2018
Fantastic tour. Family friendly, informative, and a highlight of our trip. Short walk to the office, but everything after that was taking care of. Air conditioned bus, plenty of water bottles, and we made it back to the port with lots of time to spare.
Read AW26's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image ssirag
1 review
Mar 2018
Touristy port shops/restaurants, but enough local culture to make it feel authentic. Friends had a great time at Majahual town and beach, which are even more local. Mayan ruins were excellent, and our guide was very informative.
Read ssirag's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 123go cruise
1 review
Mar 2018
Went to the ruins and had guide on bus ride to ruins then guided tour in ruins, tour guides were great.. Then we went to a mayan village and had local lunch. Learned how to make our own tortillas . It was fun and food was deliscious.
Read 123go cruise's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: NATIVE CHOICE THRU DIRECT LINE CRUISES
Member Image nclcruise318
1 review
Mar 2018
The experience was amazing. Booking through Island Marketing Ltd you get an informative ride to the Ruins with a quick stop at a butterfly sanctuary. At the Ruins you get a very well researched history and get to view the ruins. On the way back the driver stops at a pineapple stand and you get to taste the most delicious moist fruit and you MUST try the chile pepper.
Read nclcruise318's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing Ltd
Member Image ANGIETRO
1 review
Mar 2018
Very cool - HOWEVER you can walk out of the gates to street and get the same experience for $8 per person. The drive takes about an hour but you don't need any tour guide once you get there. It is pretty self explanatory. We bought our package when we got off the ship through the cruise line. THey gave us ONE adult for free (savings of $80) so do not buy this on the ship. Either buy it when you get off or from the street taxis!
Read ANGIETRO's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image ltimmons
1 review
Mar 2018
It was a little confusing where to exit the port area and then to find the building to meet at for the excursion. There were locals there which were helpful in giving directions. Our guides were friendly and were knowledgeable. Great time was had.
Read ltimmons's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image jkrotosky
1 review
Mar 2018
For history buffs it is a pretty cool experience to see the ruins and even the kids found the ancient buildings fascinating. It does take an hour long bus ride to reach the ruins.
Read jkrotosky's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Martib123
1 review
Mar 2018
Tucan Tours is about 200 yards beyond the port gates. One of our group of 4 did not go and they gave me a refund for his fee right there! We boarded a new airconditioned van with 8 other passengers. They provided ice cold water for us and the driver bought pineapple slices for everyone ! He also took 3 of us to the beach and for some shopping in town after we returned to the port and unloaded the other passengers. The Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and amazing and you can climb them.
Read Martib123's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Tucan Costa Maya thru Shore Excursioneers.com
Member Image bronco1975
1 review
Mar 2018
Took the deluxe tour which meant we were a group of 12 in a brand new mini-van versus a huge crowd in a coach. On return trip guide bought some local candy for us to try plus served water, pop or beer (we had the beer). Nice touch. Our guide was great - knowledgeable, personable, adjusted the pace to the group.
Read bronco1975's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image annal
1 review
Feb 2018
As a history lover, I enjoyed this very much. Weather was great. Our guide Diana Garcia was very informative.
Read annal's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lmom1
1 review
Feb 2018
During a comfortable 1 hour ride to the ruins, our guide gave us a highly educational lecture on Mayan culture and history. The ruins were amazing. I wished that we could have climbed the pyramids, but preservation is more important. I am thankful to have seen this glimpse of history.
Read lmom1's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DCruiser81
1 review
Feb 2018
Native Choice did an EXCELLENT job, their guides are friendly and knowledgeable, and the ruins are quiet and not overrun by tourists. Highly recommend this excursion and the tour company - a better experience at half the cruise line's price.
Read DCruiser81's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image E2Mom
1 review
Feb 2018
Took a taxi to their office. Nice bus/van transportation. Deigo was a great guide. Mosquitoes were not a problem in February. Lunch at private resort and swimming in a fresh water lagoon.
Read E2Mom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Beachlover1989
2 reviews
Feb 2018
Native Choice did an excellent job and Erick was a fabulous guide - we highly recommend them!
Read Beachlover1989's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image ella_cymerman
1 review
Feb 2018
Beautiful Mayan ruins and our guide was very informative - we saw several wild monkeys, climbed some of the temples (as high as you're allowed to go), ate plantain chips, and enjoyed learning about the Mayan civilization. The bus ride is about 45 minutes which was a great way to see the countryside surrounding Costa Maya.
Read ella_cymerman's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links