Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image acudoctor1
1 review
Dec 2017
Wonderful tour. Mayan history is captivating. Tour guide well informed.
Read acudoctor1's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Z3r0
1 review
Dec 2017
We did this tour while visiting Costa Maya on our Christmas Cruise and it was fantastic. We paid $100 directly through their company, which was $120 cheaper than we would have paid for something similar through the cruise ship. Plus we were on a much smaller bus than we would have been which allowed for a more personal tour and the ability to go to a beach resort on a lagoon that is inaccessible by larger buses. At the resort we were given a delicious taco lunch and all we could drink soft drinks, margaritas and beers. Afterwards we could use the kayaks, lay in a hammock or pay $15 for a 20 minute massage (which we did and was so worth it). Our tour guide was Casey and she was funny, knowledgeable, and attentive to ensuring we made it back with plenty of time to get on our cruise ship.
Read Z3r0's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image HMH4609
1 review
Dec 2017
the Chacchoben mayan ruins tour was good-our guide could have been more informative regarding the ruins. the site was clean and well preserved. the beach break was not worth the up cost. the drive to the beach ate up most of our day. the beach was full of trash outside of the limits of the property. I mean more plastic washed up on shore than I have ever encountered-we stepped over a disposable razor and called attention to the attendant to pick it up. I found myself picking up plastic trash during my walk as I could not leave it to wash back out to see. perhaps if they want tourists to continue to visit cleaning up the perimeter would be helpful it was traumatic to see what we are doing to our Earth-that was our take home message from this excursion.
Read HMH4609's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image croozer2B
1 review
Dec 2017
Talented and knowledgeable tour guides at Native Choice Tours. David gave us an amazing tour at the ruins. We really got a feel for Mayan life 2000 years ago! And we saw monkeys in the trees! We'd hoped to take their Extreme Chacchoben tour, but ship was late docking so we had only time for the ruins. On a big comfortable bus with about 40 folks instead of the smaller van we'd hoped for. The AC worked well, but the speaker was too static-y to understand David. He kindly came back to the rear of the bus and repeated his presentation. But the speaker issue should be addressed. Overall, the company is very professional and conscious of time issues. We were back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read croozer2B's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image he1234
1 review
Dec 2017
Wonderful and knowledgable guide. Great excursion for anyone who loves ancient ruins.
Read he1234's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Waynejr
1 review
Dec 2017
Fantastic, we had a great tour guide Ivan. He was extremely informative, his knowledge of the area, culture and history was amazing. He was very proud of his heritage and answered every question.
Read Waynejr's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Rainey13
1 review
Dec 2017
Very knowledgeable & friendly guide. We did a "deluxe" tour so we were in a smaller van, not a large tour bus - much preferred. Didn't allow for much time at the end for gift shop.
Read Rainey13's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dfrey1957
1 review
Dec 2017
50 minute drive in a very nice new bus. Guide was super friendly and knowledgeable. No mosquitos at all. This was a cool day in Dec.
Read dfrey1957's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BearPenn2010
1 review
Dec 2017
This was one of the nicest ruins visited...bus ride through the island was nice, took about an hour to the ruins, then an other hour and a half to private beach for lunch...
Read BearPenn2010's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image StephenGuth
1 review
Dec 2017
Unlike other ruins tours that take a lifetime on a bus to get there, the bus ride is about an hour. The ruins are very cool and there's a number than you can climb on for great pics. There were about 30-people on our tour and we were pretty much alone. That made for some awesome pics of my fam standing alone on and amongs the ruins. The tour guide was always very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture and the ruins.
Read StephenGuth's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rsherrett
1 review
Dec 2017
Native Choice Tours, and our guide Hugo, were great. Learned a lot of history about the Mayan culture as well as details about the local rain forest and wild life.
Read rsherrett's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image Midsis
1 review
Nov 2017
Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. Spouse had trouble climbing and area and he and the driver assisted him.
Read Midsis's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Toucan tours
Member Image mdahmus
1 review
Nov 2017
Combo ruins/beach tour. Bus ride was long and tour guide was hard to understand. Ruins were pretty cool. Beach was HORRIBLE. Sea grass and mud. I will swim in almost anything and even I didn't like it; the family hated it.
Read mdahmus's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ephesus2
1 review
Nov 2017
Good execution to a none crowded Mayan ruin that is accessible in a few hours off the ship.
Read Ephesus2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cruzisuzi
1 review
Nov 2017
Very worthwhile trip to a more recently excavated Mayan city site. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about Mayan history and culture and we had an opportunity to scale the side of a pyramid. The bus ride was comfortable.
Read cruzisuzi's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tigereyes0330
1 review
Nov 2017
We had a lovely time. Our guide Yam was friendly, comedic and informative. We learned some about the local history and spent some time exploring the ruins.
Read tigereyes0330's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image daboo2
2 reviews
Nov 2017
Again, I have been here before, but my adult son had never seen the ruins. The drive was an hour, but went quickly because of our tour guide. Always takes my breath away! Bug repellent is a must, so purchase some before you leave or you can buy it at the ruins. Lots of biting flies and mosquitoes. For me, the best part was the monkeys up in the tree tops tossing leaves, twigs, and tiny coconuts down on us in one area. Laughed so hard! The temples are amazing. The flora was different and very interesting to learn about.
Read daboo2's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travel2RRR
1 review
Nov 2017
Tour Guide was Erick, driver was Miguel. VERY educational!!! Went to Chacchoben Ruin. Erick is Mayan and born and raised in Chacchoben (Red Corn). He taught us how do do Mayan Math with Mayan symbols. Miguel kept us safe and hydrated.....and then to Bacalar Lagoon Resort for an authentic lunch, swimming, kayaking, unlimited beverages! This was one of the best excursions I have ever experienced!
Read Travel2RRR's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image klwhite
1 review
Nov 2017
Great to see the ruins, I really don't know if it was worth the 45 minute ride to get to them but it was nice never the less.
Read klwhite's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisinsusee
1 review
Nov 2017
We enjoyed the ruins. It was great being able to walk up the steps.
Read Cruisinsusee's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Drifter1955
1 review
Nov 2017
Very knowledgeable guide -- nice history information on Mayans and culture. Good variety of access to temple areas.
Read Drifter1955's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image brianclt
1 review
Oct 2017
Our guide (I think her name was Laticia) was very knowledgeable. She made sure that she was available for questions throughout the day and really made this a great experience.
Read brianclt's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msowko
1 review
Oct 2017
This was hectic because a different ship got delayed and was still there when it was just supposed to be our ship, but it was still a fun trip. The bus ride took 45 minutes, but it went by quickly with the informative guide, Manuel. The ruins were neat, and the landscape was even neater to me. We even saw monkeys in the trees.
Read msowko's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rag421
1 review
Oct 2017
We enjoyed this excursion too. Our guide was informative but sometimes difficult to understand between an accent and the sound system on the 1 hour drive on the bus to the ruins. But staff was very friendly. Could have used a little more time it went by so quick. About 4 hours in total. Cost around $70-$80 each.
Read rag421's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TSki2102
1 review
Oct 2017
Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The ruins were well maintained and you were allowed to climb up on some of the structures. You were allowed to freely walk around and view the different areas for a specific amount of time, then our guide would pull everyone back together to talk about the history and culture of the Mayan civilization. Very informative. If you are a history buff, this excursion is for you!
Read TSki2102's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links