Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image brianclt
1 review
Oct 2017
Our guide (I think her name was Laticia) was very knowledgeable. She made sure that she was available for questions throughout the day and really made this a great experience.
Read brianclt's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msowko
1 review
Oct 2017
This was hectic because a different ship got delayed and was still there when it was just supposed to be our ship, but it was still a fun trip. The bus ride took 45 minutes, but it went by quickly with the informative guide, Manuel. The ruins were neat, and the landscape was even neater to me. We even saw monkeys in the trees.
Read msowko's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rag421
1 review
Oct 2017
We enjoyed this excursion too. Our guide was informative but sometimes difficult to understand between an accent and the sound system on the 1 hour drive on the bus to the ruins. But staff was very friendly. Could have used a little more time it went by so quick. About 4 hours in total. Cost around $70-$80 each.
Read rag421's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TSki2102
1 review
Oct 2017
Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The ruins were well maintained and you were allowed to climb up on some of the structures. You were allowed to freely walk around and view the different areas for a specific amount of time, then our guide would pull everyone back together to talk about the history and culture of the Mayan civilization. Very informative. If you are a history buff, this excursion is for you!
Read TSki2102's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Denlen29
1 review
Oct 2017
A great excursion. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.
Read Denlen29's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HelenaSwe
1 review
Oct 2017
We went on a tour with the Native choice to the Chacchoben Ruins. It was very good. No problem to find the bus. The guide let us borrow his bug spray since we didn't have any. The ruins are very nice and we also saw monkeys. Perhaps the guide talked a bit too much about the different plants, but it was still interesting. The little village around the port is not interesting at all and the food not very good. I think it is better to eat at the ship or take a taxi to a restaurant further away. Unfortunately it was difficult to find a restaurant close to the port, but outside the port area.
Read HelenaSwe's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The native choice
Member Image moops
1 review
Oct 2017
Great guide who was very knowledgeable and took the time to talk about the ruins, but also point out interesting flora and fauna on the grounds. Ruins are gigantic, but interesting -- site has about three main structures, plus the ruins of a 'residential' area. Should be in decent physical condition -- to see two of the structures you need to climb up some steep and uneven stone steps (some chose to wait at the bottom). About a 30-40 minute drive one-way to the ruins in a comfortable van. They provide bottled water, even bringing some on the grounds to hand out as we toured. Give yourself at least 45 mins to walk from the ship to the Native Choice office -- it is a fairly long trek. Drop-off will be at the pier entrance saving you the walk back from their office. Bring mosquito repellent!
Read moops's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Paba2017
1 review
Sep 2017
Great history of the Mayans! Tour guide was English speaking and was nice and informative. The transportation was on new coach buses!
Read Paba2017's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mcfaithie
1 review
Aug 2017
Great ac bus ride and interesting stuff
Read mcfaithie's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CC at sea
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Good half day. Our guide fabulous. Make sure you take / wear mosquito spray. The ruins are in jungle environment and the mosquitos were out in force. Don't forget your camera.
Read CC at sea's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image arunk
1 review
Jul 2017
Interesting
Read arunk's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jclark6528
1 review
Jul 2017
We had three great excursions on this trip, and this was the favorite for 3 of our 6 family members. Got on a nice comfortable bus with complimentary water - ride to Chacchoben is relatively boring scenery, but no complaints. Experience at Chacchoben was honestly a perfect mix of "guided" and "free walk" and everybody in my family agreed. Our guide (Lizbeth) was fantastic. It was really interesting and a great time for my whole family.
Read jclark6528's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shortcake2
1 review
Jul 2017
The trip to the ruins takes about an hour. The driver does the speed limit. He will also talk if you ask him questions. He was very friendly once we started talking to him. We were taken to the ruins where there are restrooms, souvenirs, and drinks you can buy. The driver allowed us to take some water bottles from the cooler. And our driver brought us bottles of water about half way through the tour. (Thank you!) Once there, we were greeted by a tour guide which we got Boris. As for the bugs, I felt they were the same as back home. We were sweating so much, we all felt that our sweat was causing that feeling of being bit, but later didn't see any bites. It was around 100 degrees. When the tour was over, we got back in the van and headed back. On the way back our driver asked us if we wanted to stop for pineapple and at a little shop to try different flavors of salsa's. Our group did. We stopped at both places.
Read Shortcake2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image snownow
1 review
Jul 2017
Native choice is awesome, the only way to go.
Read snownow's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: The Native choice
Member Image flynship11
1 review
Jul 2017
This is a great tour to do witht e limited amount of time your in port. The ride is only about 45 minutes to the site. Along the way your tour guide will introduce you to Mayan culture and history. You will have the opportunity to buy a date of significance to you translated into Mayan gliphs on paper or leather. We opted to do our wedding anniversary. You dont have to buy anything. It gets made while you're on the tour and is ready for you back at port when you get off the bus. The buses are newer and do have a bathroom in the back of them. Please note- the first and last 20 minutes of this ride are on paved but uneven roads. Its a little rough, eventually you get to a major highway which is much better but if you suffer from motion sickness then you might want to take appropriate measures. The parking area of the ruins is large and developed. There are merchants selling goods that looked mostly imported to me. There is also a food stand. The tour guide said they take cards but the food vendor doesnt so make sure you have some cash for cold drinks or food. The ruins are cool, there are several structures to see. You are allowed to climb on the first few steps of most buildings. Please respect the boundry ropes and any other special instructions you get from your guide. It takes about 1.5-2 hours to walk through and get pics. They try to allow you time to shop but again, it wasnt really for us anyway. The only other advice I can give you is wear comfortable closed toe shoes. The walking is semi-rough terrain. The limestone can be slippery even if dry, I slipped a bit on some moss. And there are fire ants all around. Also, be aware, you are walking through a jungle. The guide will tell you there is the possibilty of snakes and/or scorpions. So dont lift any rocks and sticks, keep your hands close. We didnt see any snakes or scorpions but we were treated to the sight of a resident family of monkeys going across the tree canopies. We had a great time and I would highly recommend this tour. Great value for the money.
Read flynship11's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hamaknockr
1 review
Jul 2017
The buses were new and nice and our guide was GREAT. We seemed to have plenty of time at the ruins, but i would have liked another 30 mins or so just to explore on my own. There were some vendors at the beginning of the ruins, but I didn't buy anything.
Read hamaknockr's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bigham4749
1 review
Jun 2017
The drive was interesting. The site is not very interesting. There is not any activity around it. Steps are very steep to get up to top. Nothing really stands out. Should have chosen the longer tour at Kolunlich Tour
Read Bigham4749's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dstroke27
6 reviews
Jun 2017
Costa Maya, Took the ships excursion to the Mayan Ruins, tour itself was good,guide was extremely knowledgeable,But he tried to sell us a variety of items, why we were traveling back and forth to the ruins 50 mins TACKY!! Score 25
Read dstroke27's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tartan23455
1 review
Jun 2017
Nice tour. Nice new busses.
Read tartan23455's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jimjimjim
1 review
Jun 2017
not as neat at tulem or chitzanitza
Read jimjimjim's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbaxter2
1 review
Jun 2017
Learned a lot of history on the trip to the ruins and at the ruins. Enjoyed eating lunch made by some locals.
Read jbaxter2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image Mmtex
1 review
Jun 2017
Very accessible collection of Mayan ruins about a one-hour bus ride from port. We had excellent guide who presented a very interesting account of the history of the Mayans and of the Chacchoben ruins. Great excursion
Read Mmtex's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image missmeliss333
2 reviews
Jun 2017
I booked a tour through "The Native Choice" to the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins. The ride to the ruins is almost an hour. We were in a comfortable van/bus and our guide (Edder) helped to pass the time quickly by giving us interesting information about the area. The ruins were impressive and Edder was very knowledgeable on the history of the Mayan culture. The kids were a little less enthusiastic and said it was like taking a school field trip. After the ruins we went to Bacalar Lagoon resort for lunch (included in the price) and swimming and kayaking. The food was delicious but the lagoon time was cut a bit short by a downpour that wouldn't quit. We headed back to the port and made it with time to spare so we could shop. This was a nice day, a little less adventurous than most of our excursions, but enjoyable.
Read missmeliss333's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image lildee99
1 review
Jun 2017
A great introduction to Mayan culture and history.
Read lildee99's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kyboymom
1 review
May 2017
This was definitely the highlight of the Cruise. I couldn't have been more pleased with our excursion experience with The Native Choice. The tour group size was very small and personable. Our guides name was Edder and he was fantastic. His English was very good and he was very informative regarding their culture and the history of the Mayan Ruins. I would highly recommend them!
Read kyboymom's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice

Sponsored links