Costa Maya Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kick back and relax on the sandy beach in Costa Maya. Whether you book an organized beach break or venture out on your own, fun and sun await.
Member Image Bclifton
1 review
Sep 2017
Went to ZAZA beach club. The beach was nice but the constant harassment from people trying to make a buck selling crap on the beach got old in about three minuets.
Read Bclifton's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jssmith129
1 review
Aug 2017
Just chilled out in the water. Rented snorkel masks from a lady for $10 a piece -- great investment! Snorkeling was the best part of the beach break. We loved seeing all the fish and coral.
Read jssmith129's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jdpitzer
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We went to Maya Chan for the day. Best excursion ever!!!!
Read jdpitzer's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan beach Resort
Member Image bharrelslp
4 reviews
Jul 2017
Jungle Beach tour was okay, the beach was difficult to get into the water but they had kayaks, and other activities to rent. We ate in the small restaurant on the beach and it was very good. You took a taxi back to the port at any time. Nice but not my favorite because to the length of walking to get back to the ship etc. very tiring especially in the heat. If you do not have a mobility problem you will be fine.
Read bharrelslp's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rsjones5
1 review
Jul 2017
Food and drinks and staff were great. Beach was not good. Costa Maya beaches and water had lots of trash and smelled bad.
Read rsjones5's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image Pookiefish
2 reviews
Jul 2017
We enjoyed this beach break. The beach was a bit rocky but that didn't bother us. The water was lovely and clear. There were lounge chairs with umbrellas for shade and a very attentive waiter who cheerfully brought us drinks. There were some people on our excursion who were loudly complaining about the quality of the beach but it was very peaceful once they decided to leave. There were a few vendors nearby hawking the usual items but we were happy to find a gentleman who was a teacher for a local high school who had items made by the students. The proceeds went to the school and we were happy to purchase hand made items for a good cause. He recommended a cafe on the beach which offered fresh seafood and we were very happy to try it out - it was excellent! Great atmosphere and food (the fish tacos were fantastic)!
Read Pookiefish's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Nusi
1 review
Jul 2017
Barefoot Beach was an excellent choice. There are a number of these private beaches all lined up next to each other. Barefoot was a good value, including excellent food and drinks, comfortable loungers with shade, kayaks, snorkeling, and wonderful service by our waiter Chuy!
Read Nusi's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image adriana525
1 review
Jul 2017
Get ready to laugh, dance, and sweat at the Salsa & Salsa and Beach Day. Then cool off in refreshing ocean and enjoy the afternoon on the beach.
Read adriana525's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hamaknockr
1 review
Jul 2017
The beach resort was average, but no one expected a 5 star resort. The food was Americanized Mexican and the drinks were watered down. The beach was nice and we got to spend about 15 mins in the water before we got rained out.
Read hamaknockr's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rknabel
1 review
Jun 2017
Great pool and food... beach was a little rocky and kelpy but still a beautiful day!
Read rknabel's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ano
4 reviews
Jun 2017
It was fine. Imagine a Disney waterpark a few years after its been closed. The glory days are gone. We did the lazy river and sat at the pool. Not the zipline and water slide types, but they looked fun. For the price, though, it should have been a Disney waterpark. Just remember bring LOTS of bug spray.
Read ano's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Txcamper
1 review
Jun 2017
The Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill was beyond fabulous!!!! I emailed the owner Steve and made my request, when we got there, everything was perfect! Front roll seats for 11 people on the beach with shade. The food was good, the beach beautiful and the staff beyond amazing.
Read Txcamper's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Booked ourself
Member Image labarrea
1 review
Jun 2017
Nasty, dirty water park with many of the water slides closed down. ABSOLUTELY NOT WORTH THE EXPENSE. In addition, no food and beverage provided and the food and beverage options available for purchase were ridiculously expensive.
Read labarrea's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MSCruiserHCT
1 review
May 2017
Everything was great. The quesadillas were awesome. Unlimited drinks. Some could have been stronger. The only thing I didn't like was the constant peddlers trying to sell you something every five minutes.
Read MSCruiserHCT's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Nohoch Kay Beach Club
Member Image Dkp7021
1 review
May 2017
the beach was wonderful! There are honest people there too!
Read Dkp7021's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image attilamom1217
9 reviews
May 2017
I enjoyed the beach escape with open bar. However, the excursion itself was not very well organized. We all met at the end of the pier, but were left with no instructions as to where to find the shuttle to take us to the beach. One or two people were told so if you lost the group, you had no idea where to go. Coming back to the ship was 'grab a cab' (paid for through the excursion). There was a limited drink choice, but sufficient choices. Beach was rocky - water shoes are a good idea.
Read attilamom1217's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image coldje
1 review
May 2017
Avoid "Jungle Beach Break." At $49 each it is a rip-off. Thank you RCI. There is no jungle hike as described. You get pulled by a small Nissan truck in a trailer with bench seats. You get dumped at a public beach which is crowded and roped off for different hotels. You are harassed by vendors the whole time every five minutes to buy trinkets.
Read coldje's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zstkbrkr
2 reviews
May 2017
Get the shuttle, or jeep,or bike, or dune buggy but get to that beach!!! If on shuttle ($3.00 pp) get off at 2nd stop. A man should be there and offers a palapa and chaise lounges free if you eat and drink with them! Massages for $20. my husband loved it! Very Mexican place and not to it's full potantial yet however it was a lot of fun and a great way to spend the day drinking beer under the palapa and looking at the gorgeous ocean!!! They even had a live band playing American favorites. I would do this again in a heart beat!
Read zstkbrkr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image r4golden
4 reviews
May 2017
Costa Maya – I have been to this port before and never took the time to do anything other than stay on board, as I thought the options were limited. Little did I know! Another cruise critic member mentioned on our role call that they were renewing their vows at an all-inclusive day resort call Maya Chan http://costamayabeachresort.com/ It’s owned by a family that likes to cruise and they only cater to people from cruise ships on port days. What is really nice is that it is limited to 50 people. Everyone gets some kind of shade. We had a tilted thatch roof kind of hut with a bed for 2 and 2 Adirondack type chairs and a table right on the water. I will warn you, it is a fairly long trip to get to Maya Chan (20-30 minutes) mostly on rough dirt road. So if you are prone to motion sickness, be prepared. But it is worth it! When you arrive you are greeted with a rum punch and a large platter of fresh tortilla chips with the best guacamole and pico de gallo we have ever had. And they will bring you as much as you want. There are 2 bars and many servers who will come out in the water for your order. Drinks are unlimited. The serve a wonderful all you can eat taco lunch with 4 different kinds of meat and all the fixings. The food was outstanding. Massages are available. We paid $25 for a ½ hour massage and it was nice. Don’t expect deep tissue, but a nice soothing/relaxing back rub. They are having trouble with the dreaded sea grass here, but they have several people cleaning it up all day while we were there. If you are expecting a white sand pristine beach with crystal clear water look elsewhere. The owners tell you that as well up front. Also all beach toys are included, airseats to sit in and enjoy your drinks while in the water, paddle boards and kayaks and snorkel gear too. We were treated like royalty all day long for only $59 per person including transportation. Tips are additional. Also no beach vendors are allowed. We will go back and we recommend you try this wonderful oasis.-----------------------------Our third port was Costa Maya and we chose to go to Maya Chan Beach Resort, which is an all-inclusive beach resort for $59 per day per person. This was a WONDERUL destination and so well worth the money. Upon arrival, we were greeted with rum punch, homemade chips, salsa and guacamole and a custom attendant for ordering drinks (I was already sold on this place!!!). They directed us to our personal palapa with chairs/lounging bed and showed us where all the water equipment/water sports and amenities were located. We lounged around in the water for most the day on floatie chairs and they had kayaks and paddle boards available for everyone too. The water was not the cleanest or clear enough to snorkel, but that certainly didn't take away from the day as there were so many other activities to do. They brought unlimited drinks out to you and provided lunch. Lunch was a taco bar with homemade tortillas, fresh meat and all the fixings. They were the best tacos I have ever had!!! They provided massages right there for an additional charge and we opted for a 30 minutes couples massage (for $25 each) which added a nice relaxing touch to the day. They limit the number of people at Maya Chan to about 50 so it is a nice quiet intimate group and great getaway from the ship pool and other crowded beach areas. I wouldn't hesitate to return and recommend Maya Chan to everyone. The only down side to this wonderful beach resort is travelling there. It is about a 25 minute ride from the cruise port, mostly on a very rough and bumpy dirt road. We rode with a group in a van with no air conditioning for this ride. I am very prone to motion sickness so even with Dramamine and ginger lozenges, with the heat, lack of air circulation and rough ride, I barely made it there and back without being sick.
Read r4golden's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image SusieG1
1 review
Apr 2017
Lovely little beach, all inclusive, for $35.00 we had beach chairs reserved under a huge umbrella, all our drinks and a wonderful lunch included. Only complaint? We had to be back at the ship at 1:30. To short a day!
Read SusieG1's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: YaYa Beach Club
Member Image nor72
2 reviews
Apr 2017
We enjoyed our day on the beach. The beach was lovely and we were well looked after. Lots of people trying to sell things but everybody was friendly and took no for an answer. We were given taxi tolkens so could return to the ship when we wanted which was Excellent.
Read nor72's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image megan_ash
1 review
Apr 2017
We booked this excursion just to get off the ship and enjoy a beach day. I can't say that I would book this on again but for the price it wasn't so bad. Drinks are included but the food does cost. When picking our location to sit and enjoy our day we walked all the way to the end so as not be in the middle of everyone and that worked out decent. There are lots of people selling items and they will come by multiple times even if you say no but this is their way of life and how they make money. Again, I can't say that I would book this again but I don't have any complaints either.
Read megan_ash's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Beverlyp
1 review
Apr 2017
Terrible dirty ,smelled like a sewer so rocky you can cut your feet
Read Beverlyp's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crusingcyndee
1 review
Apr 2017
Nice beach with beach loungers and umbrellas. Good beach service. We just drank, didn't eat the food b/c we weren't hungry but it looked good. We HATED the CONSTANT parade of locals coming through selling their wares. This was extremely annoying. The bathrooms were fairly clean. Overall we would skip this excursion. Do not recommend
Read crusingcyndee's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image justhappy
1 review
Apr 2017
Facility was in poor condition, beach in bad shape and full of trash. Drinks included were weak and basically mixers without booze. Constant parade of vendors all day trying to sell things. Trying to lay in a lounger that is in poor shape and jammed in with all the others was not a good time. Water was full of limestone rocks and while the water was clear, very poor snorkeling unless you swim very far out to the drop off. Not relaxing, not fun.
Read justhappy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links