Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image Mark Banner
1 review
Sep 2017
Mendenhall glacier was spectacular! Even the rain didnt spoil our trip!
Read Mark Banner's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mpatel101
1 review
Sep 2017
I took helicopter ride and guided walk on Glacier excursion -- it was totally worth it. The excursion itself is ~ 1 hour. 15 minutes to / fro in helicopter and about 20 minutes of walking on glacier. However, this is once in a lifetime opportunity (unless you go back to Alaska) and I highly recommend it. It is bit pricey at ~ $350 per person, but I felt it was worth it. If you have more money to spend, I believe you can pay up to $550 for a much longer trek on the glacier
Read mpatel101's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image traveller00
1 review
Sep 2017
The excusrsion was well organzed. One complaint is that the tour does not start more than an hour after the ship landed. We would have preferred to leave early and have more time in Juneau. The Mendenhall Glacier was quite far from the viewing area. I have seen the Glacier in NZ and felt that was more spectacular as we could get close to it.
Read traveller00's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rwmiller
1 review
Sep 2017
The bus driver was very entertaining and made the 20 minute ride to the glacier a lot of fun. Once at the glacier, we were able to enjoy walking around and seeing the visitor center.
Read rwmiller's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Grazer5
1 review
Sep 2017
The Bus driver, Kenny from M&M, was hilarious making the trip more enjoyable. Then we went to the Red Dog Saloon and had the famous Duck Fart shooters. It would have been nice to have a bit more time in Port here.
Read Grazer5's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: M&M Tours
Member Image mrvideo3
1 review
Sep 2017
Horrible - we were late coming in from the No Whale Cruise, my wife and my self had to run to get a picture of glacier because it was getting dark
Read mrvideo3's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BelizeBunny
1 review
Sep 2017
We did the helicopter ride to the Mendenhall Glacier with a guided walk on the Glacier. It wasn't a sunny day and that worked in our favor because there was no glare, but it was an awesome experience! I would recommend this tour to everyone it's truly a once in a lifetime experience. The guides up on the glacier were wonderful they really loved their job.
Read BelizeBunny's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MAPeroom
1 review
Sep 2017
we saw the glacier on our hike, it was very sad to see how much it has receded.
Read MAPeroom's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image landsx2
1 review
Sep 2017
The Mendehall Glacier was beautiful and our bus driver and guide was very friendly and informative about Alaska and people.
Read landsx2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mseckora
1 review
Sep 2017
Amazing to see how big these Glaciers are.
Read mseckora's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: City Bus
Member Image EatLobster
5 reviews
Sep 2017
Sky broke as we arrived so hiked down and saw it all
Read EatLobster's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image edrobichaud
1 review
Sep 2017
just a bus ride to & from, and only 1 hour to walk to glacier face and/or tour visitor center
Read edrobichaud's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image piemom9397
3 reviews
Sep 2017
Bus ride to the Mendenhall Glacier was smooth; we had about 45 minutes to walk around the glacier before we had to leave for the whale watching tour. I wish we'd had a little bit more time to see more things there, but all was good.
Read piemom9397's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image floridasnoflake
1 review
Sep 2017
The glacier is a really cool thing to see! The weather was great when we were there so we got to see if super clear and in good weather. I would recommend doing this!
Read floridasnoflake's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image victoriamaxine
1 review
Aug 2017
Mendenhall Glacier was quite a site, we spent about an hour there, and hiked to the waterfall, very cool experience!
Read victoriamaxine's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dishpanhandz
1 review
Aug 2017
We were going to take a float plane tour to see the five glaciers. It was canceled due to fog which burned off later in the morning. I was very disappointed as this was going to be the highlight of my vacation , hence the mediocre feelings to the bus tour to the glacier . The bus driver Chris, who actually lives in Juneau, was very good, informative and funny. The ride up the mountain and climb up to Browns Cross had beautiful views but so was NOT a airplane tour of the five glaciers.
Read dishpanhandz's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DaveNW
1 review
Aug 2017
Basically it was just an expensive bus ride to the Glacier area. For the cost, I expected more. The bus left us there, and we were done more than an hour before the bus came to pick us up. It had begun to rain, so that last hour was pretty long.
Read DaveNW's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jklawson
4 reviews
Aug 2017
Can't say enough about this excursion. We went on a shuttle to the helicopter site. We were suited up with a jacket (lightweight outer jacket), gloves, pants, boots, and a fanny pack (with water and snack). Then on a helicopter out to the glacier. We were given crampons, helmet, and ax...and were guided around the glacier for 2 hours. We drank water from a water fall. What an unbelievable experience. Then copter ride back. Words of advice - you can only bring a phone/camera and what is in your pack. Everything else stays at the airport in a secured bag. They outfit you - and you must wear what they provide. If it's cold, wear your winter jacket and their jacket over yours. Jeans or yoga pants are warm enough under the pants provided. Enjoy - it is the experience of a lifetime!
Read Jklawson's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gohokies123
1 review
Aug 2017
The glacier tour was beautiful. They load you up on a bus and take you to the glacier. The bus driver talks about a lot of things along the way, about a 20 minute drive. They drop you off at the glacier for about 2 hours, or a little less. There are multiple trails you can take to get a closer look at the glacier. It's a beautiful, beautiful thing to see, and the lake and other scenery is great as well.
Read gohokies123's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image newportqld
1 review
Aug 2017
Really impressive.
Read newportqld's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sny
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Captain Harry had arranged for a taxi to take us to the glacier after whale watching. Glacier is breathtaking!!! Video in the theater was very informative. Nice little gift shop. No food or drink available anywhere.
Read Sny's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Weather Permitting
Member Image Fabricrat
1 review
Aug 2017
After having crab at Tracy's Crab Shack, we booked an independent excursion upto Mendenhal Glacier and walked up to the falls. It was a very nice, easy 2 mile (1 in 1 out) walk. The falls and glacier are very beautiful and majestic to look at. Wonderful to be as close as we were. The shuttle from the ship to town was very nice to have available.
Read Fabricrat's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Not sure. Blue bus on the dock.
Member Image gilnshari
1 review
Aug 2017
We really enjoyed seeing the capital city by tour bus and then going out to the Glacier for about an hour was plenty of time for me. The views were amazing! The wildlife we saw on the way was spectacular also. Swans, Eagles, Moose, Salmon. No bears for us but we heard of others off the beaten path that saw bears. I saw a couple of stuffed ones, I'm happy.
Read gilnshari's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: M&M Tours
Member Image HH2017
1 review
Aug 2017
Beautiful park and nice hike.
Read HH2017's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wjack
12 reviews
Aug 2017
Glacier was beautiful and very nice hike to falls. Great photo opportunities.
Read wjack's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links