Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image USN30years
1 review
Jul 2017
Even though it was raining, we had an awesome time at the Glacier. The walk from the visitor center to the lake, water falls and view of Mendehall Glacier was well worth the trip. Outstanding presentation at the visitor center on how the glaciers are all receding at an astonishing rate.
Read USN30years's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tiffmeyer
1 review
Jul 2017
Hike to Nugget Falls, it's worth it.
Read tiffmeyer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dragon_J
3 reviews
Jul 2017
The tour was disorganized and we only had 30 min at the glacier because they let the first bus go.
Read dragon_J's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau tours
Member Image Alex Knoell
1 review
Jul 2017
Wish we had a little more time to spend at the Glacier
Read Alex Knoell's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tbarsug
1 review
Jul 2017
Wonderful tour bus driver Bryce, very informative. The Mendenhall is a beautiful and peaceful place. A memory that will be etched in my mind forever!!!
Read tbarsug's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steveod
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Mendenhall Glacier was an absolute zoo. Way too many people. This isn't the cruise lines fault of course. We just wish were there on a day when there weren't four ships in port.
Read steveod's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Gmasam
1 review
Jun 2017
Enjoyed the hike to glacier and the powerful Nugget Falls.
Read Gmasam's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Blue Bus
Member Image Teacher on a trip
1 review
Jun 2017
We did the Helicopter ride to Mendenhall Glacier and walk. I recommend doing one where you do a hike on the glacier because it is the best use of time. Helicopter ride was very cool!! Glacier guides were informative, entertaining, and friendly.
Read Teacher on a trip's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cshelvock
1 review
Jun 2017
one mile walk each way to get up close to Nugget falls and pretty close to the glacier.
Read cshelvock's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nclansing
1 review
Jun 2017
Not as spectacular as advertised. To far away. Seen much more spectacular glaciers in Kenai and Canadian Rockies. Not in port long enough to anything but the tour. Didn't go downtown at all.
Read nclansing's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DanC8N
1 review
Jun 2017
Our first glacier, and therefore very impressive. The ride out on the bus was tolerable but not much more.
Read DanC8N's full Safari Endeavour cruise review
Provider: UnCruise Adventures
Member Image Journey2016
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We went to see the Mendenhall Glacier and then went to a Salmon bake. Both were great, and we enjoyed the meal. It was delicious.
Read Journey2016's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ctgrossman
1 review
Jun 2017
An amazing site and should not be missed
Read ctgrossman's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msdupont89
1 review
Jun 2017
Great guide, experienced Mendenhall glacier up close.
Read msdupont89's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 3K9night
2 reviews
Jun 2017
After a brief coach ride with a driver who told us the history of Juneau and the sites we passed along the way, we arrived at Mendenhall Glacier National Recreation Area, which is operated by the National Park Service. We had two hours to explore the area on our own, so we hiked down to Mendenhall Lake where Nugget Falls, a spectacular water fall, spills into the lake just a short distance from the foot of the glacier. It was well worth the visit, a must see if you are visiting Juneau. I was able to dip my hand in the clear chilly glacial lake and spend time just enjoying the view. Miniature ice bergs floated in the lake, and beautiful stones covered the lake bottom and shore. I picked up a few tiny ones to bring home as souvenirs, including a couple pieces of quartz, as it is permitted - they are constantly coming down from the mountain, carried by the glacier, the falls and other small flowing streams. We were told we were there on a good day, as there were not too many ships in port, so it was not overcrowded. Also, it was a bit overcast, which allowed us to see the blue in the glacier - something not seen on a bright sunny day, as everything is white in the glare of the sun. You could spend an entire day there, as there are many hiking trails, but the nearest you can get to the foot of the glacier is at the end of the Nugget Falls trail, so if you only have one day in Juneau and want to see or do something else in the afternoon you can do so if you go to the glacier in the morning.
Read 3K9night's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image nb_mitch
1 review
Jun 2017
Great view and hiking trails, would have been great to see some wildlife, but the waterfall and glacier was great.
Read nb_mitch's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mr.roboto
1 review
Jun 2017
Walked through the visitor center, and short hike to the glacier lookout. You can see the whole bay and great views of the glacier and Nugget Falls
Read mr.roboto's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Whale Watch Tours
Member Image SJ19
1 review
Jun 2017
Basically your are paying for the bus to take you there and the entry to the park, otherwise you are own your own. Not sure if there is a less costly way to get there. Worth seeing and can get close to the waterfall. Back in Junea, we skipped the Red Dog and found a small brewery and a small distillery while walking in town. Good beer and good gin.
Read SJ19's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hwasch
1 review
Jun 2017
Breathtaking and accessible.
Read hwasch's full American Spirit cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image swatkins56
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Great tour guide. Our mistake was in booking a trip that spent 2 1/2 hours at the glacier, which was 2 hours more than necessary if you don't plant to hike to the falls. Left us too little time in town.
Read swatkins56's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HicksRA
1 review
Jun 2017
We took a bus ride to Mendenhall Glacier where alongside the glacier is a huge waterfall of melting ice. You can walk down a path which is about 3/4 mile right up to the falls. It's a beautiful sight. We then went on to a Salmon Hatchery which was fairly interesting.
Read HicksRA's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gone2sead
1 review
Jun 2017
There's nothing like seeing the Mendenhall Glacier along with Nugget Falls. It's a short trip from Juneau and so very worth it. We took the 1 mile hike to Nugget Falls which is right next to Mendenhall Glacier. It's not a difficult walk at all and you can walk right up to the falls, which are huge.
Read gone2sead's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image OLPOP
1 review
Jun 2017
Too long at the Glacier unless you walk out to the falls.
Read OLPOP's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image EJHGamma
1 review
Jun 2017
Pouring rain at the glacier so not so much fun but still magnificent.
Read EJHGamma's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image crackerbit
1 review
Jun 2017
A bus ride to the Mendenhall Glacier where one can walk to view the glacier and a waterfall next to it. Bring water, no flavored beverages or food allowed because of Bears.
Read crackerbit's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?