Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image Grazer5
1 review
Sep 2017
The Bus driver, Kenny from M&M, was hilarious making the trip more enjoyable. Then we went to the Red Dog Saloon and had the famous Duck Fart shooters. It would have been nice to have a bit more time in Port here.
Read Grazer5's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: M&M Tours
Member Image mrvideo3
1 review
Sep 2017
Horrible - we were late coming in from the No Whale Cruise, my wife and my self had to run to get a picture of glacier because it was getting dark
Read mrvideo3's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image landsx2
1 review
Sep 2017
The Mendehall Glacier was beautiful and our bus driver and guide was very friendly and informative about Alaska and people.
Read landsx2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EatLobster
5 reviews
Sep 2017
Sky broke as we arrived so hiked down and saw it all
Read EatLobster's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image floridasnoflake
1 review
Sep 2017
The glacier is a really cool thing to see! The weather was great when we were there so we got to see if super clear and in good weather. I would recommend doing this!
Read floridasnoflake's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image victoriamaxine
1 review
Aug 2017
Mendenhall Glacier was quite a site, we spent about an hour there, and hiked to the waterfall, very cool experience!
Read victoriamaxine's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dishpanhandz
1 review
Aug 2017
We were going to take a float plane tour to see the five glaciers. It was canceled due to fog which burned off later in the morning. I was very disappointed as this was going to be the highlight of my vacation , hence the mediocre feelings to the bus tour to the glacier . The bus driver Chris, who actually lives in Juneau, was very good, informative and funny. The ride up the mountain and climb up to Browns Cross had beautiful views but so was NOT a airplane tour of the five glaciers.
Read dishpanhandz's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DaveNW
1 review
Aug 2017
Basically it was just an expensive bus ride to the Glacier area. For the cost, I expected more. The bus left us there, and we were done more than an hour before the bus came to pick us up. It had begun to rain, so that last hour was pretty long.
Read DaveNW's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jklawson
3 reviews
Aug 2017
Can't say enough about this excursion. We went on a shuttle to the helicopter site. We were suited up with a jacket (lightweight outer jacket), gloves, pants, boots, and a fanny pack (with water and snack). Then on a helicopter out to the glacier. We were given crampons, helmet, and ax...and were guided around the glacier for 2 hours. We drank water from a water fall. What an unbelievable experience. Then copter ride back. Words of advice - you can only bring a phone/camera and what is in your pack. Everything else stays at the airport in a secured bag. They outfit you - and you must wear what they provide. If it's cold, wear your winter jacket and their jacket over yours. Jeans or yoga pants are warm enough under the pants provided. Enjoy - it is the experience of a lifetime!
Read Jklawson's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gohokies123
1 review
Aug 2017
The glacier tour was beautiful. They load you up on a bus and take you to the glacier. The bus driver talks about a lot of things along the way, about a 20 minute drive. They drop you off at the glacier for about 2 hours, or a little less. There are multiple trails you can take to get a closer look at the glacier. It's a beautiful, beautiful thing to see, and the lake and other scenery is great as well.
Read gohokies123's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image newportqld
1 review
Aug 2017
Really impressive.
Read newportqld's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sny
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Captain Harry had arranged for a taxi to take us to the glacier after whale watching. Glacier is breathtaking!!! Video in the theater was very informative. Nice little gift shop. No food or drink available anywhere.
Read Sny's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Weather Permitting
Member Image Fabricrat
1 review
Aug 2017
After having crab at Tracy's Crab Shack, we booked an independent excursion upto Mendenhal Glacier and walked up to the falls. It was a very nice, easy 2 mile (1 in 1 out) walk. The falls and glacier are very beautiful and majestic to look at. Wonderful to be as close as we were. The shuttle from the ship to town was very nice to have available.
Read Fabricrat's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Not sure. Blue bus on the dock.
Member Image gilnshari
1 review
Aug 2017
We really enjoyed seeing the capital city by tour bus and then going out to the Glacier for about an hour was plenty of time for me. The views were amazing! The wildlife we saw on the way was spectacular also. Swans, Eagles, Moose, Salmon. No bears for us but we heard of others off the beaten path that saw bears. I saw a couple of stuffed ones, I'm happy.
Read gilnshari's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: M&M Tours
Member Image HH2017
1 review
Aug 2017
Beautiful park and nice hike.
Read HH2017's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wjack
12 reviews
Aug 2017
Glacier was beautiful and very nice hike to falls. Great photo opportunities.
Read wjack's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sheila31
1 review
Aug 2017
We booked one tour that took us to Mendenhall Glaciers, the Gardens and the Hatchery. Mendenhall is basically a tour on one's own. There are paths to take that get one closer to the waterfalls and the glacier. .
Read sheila31's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tigrib
2 reviews
Aug 2017
a lot of walking, needed more time at the glacier less at the garden
Read tigrib's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mrskigen
1 review
Aug 2017
Disappointed in the loss of ice on the glacier since our last visit over 25 years ago.
Read Mrskigen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Btown cruiser
5 reviews
Aug 2017
Bus driver for Mendenhall Glacier tour was interesting and courteous.
Read Btown cruiser's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrgoetz
1 review
Aug 2017
I had read that local blue bus transportation to the glacier was $7 per person, but when we arrived all of the stands showed prices of $45 per person. It's hard to know if this was a permanent change or just a price hike considering that the weather was outstanding. Regardless, for our group of 6 we just got a taxi for $35 each way plus $7pp for the park passes. Uber may be cheaper, but they have to drop you off about a mile from the visitor's center, whereas taxis go all the way in the national park. The area itself is great, even though the glacier itself is quite far away from the visitor's center. The walk to the waterfall is an easy walk and well worth the trip
Read mrgoetz's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image eilncastro
1 review
Aug 2017
Beautiful spot, lots of trails to hike, some easy some more difficult
Read eilncastro's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image csidwell
1 review
Jul 2017
If we had it to do over again we would have taken the helicopter tour. This was ok but you just drive up and look at the glacier from a distance. It's still an ok tour
Read csidwell's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GoQueenBee
1 review
Jul 2017
We started with the whale,watching and ended here at Mendenhall Glacier. It was very impressive and worth seeing. The visitor center is very informative as well. We had less than an hour so not enough time to do anything except look at the glacier from afar and peruse the visitor center. If you want to take any of the hikes this tour is not for you. It was fine for us as we were not equipped to do any hiking.
Read GoQueenBee's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image photophreak
1 review
Jul 2017
I was worried Meldenhall would be too similar to the Hubbard Glacier, but not so. Yes a glacier, but the whole park experience - seeing the Salmon running, the beautiful walks out to the falls and observation point and the lake and mountains
Read photophreak's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links