Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating 832 Reviews
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Details & Booking
Member Image luvtazzie
Sep 2018
We thought we were going to be able to get closer than we did, and didn't have as much time as we hoped to explore the area.
Read luvtazzie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rmkluba
Sep 2018
Beautiful, bring your walking shoes and a good jacket if it’s winter
Read rmkluba's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mjnmjn
Sep 2018
Mendenhall Glacier is beautiful and the Park staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, when we visited it was pouring rain the entire time, so the weather detracted from the overall experience. Still, it was worthwhile and interesting.
Read mjnmjn's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image detreesoh
Sep 2018
We were only at the Mendenhall Glacier for 75 minutes, which was barely time to hurry down the Nugget Falls trail to get as close as possible to the glacier. The falls are very impressive! Unfortunately the weather obscured much of the view of the glacier. It will definitely be on the list the next time I go on an Alaskan cruise - and I will hope for a sunnier day!
Read detreesoh's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image qz2z
Sep 2018
It was a beautiful day. It is about a mile and a half optional walk to the waterfall but well worth the effort. The tour was very informative, and our driver was great. We did see more bald eagles along the way, but they were perched on top of light posts as opposed to in trees.
Read qz2z's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chrisbennettga
Sep 2018
Absolutely gorgeous - went to Mendenhall Glacier (after the Gardens - which were not that great aside from the view at the very top of the mountain). The 2 mile round trip to the falls is worth every second.
Read chrisbennettga's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Scott6428
Sep 2018
Short trip to the glacier after a ride through town and a stop at the fish hatchery. The Salmon bake at the end was excellent. Outdoor setting.
Read Scott6428's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bobjenky
Sep 2018
The Mendenhall Glacier part was just OK. They have a 25 minute hike up a hill/mountain/25-minute hike down, but you only have 1 hour there. You can just view the glacier from the bottom and then take an elevator to the gift shop and movie.
Read bobjenky's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CUontheC
Sep 2018
This was a very scenic excursion. Got to see the Glacier and had a wonderful salmon bake. Could have done without the salmon hatchery.
Read CUontheC's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kelmbee
Sep 2018
Great time hiking the trails, visiting the Visitor Center. The waterfall is only a one mile hike away so it was easy to do and very pretty to see. Actually saw a bear cub napping near one of the trails. There was a ranger nearby maintaining the peace for the bears (there was actually a mother and two cubs, but I only saw one of the cubs).
Read kelmbee's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image patzlotnik
Sep 2018
Beautiful scenery. Saw a mama bear and her two cubs munching on salmon.
Read patzlotnik's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coloradolovestocruise
Sep 2018
We took a bus through the town of Juneau and then to the Glacier. Excellent!
Read coloradolovestocruise's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Back to Ak
Sep 2018
George the bus driver was quite a good host. The Glacier visitors center and trail out to Nugget Falls were what we experienced. Good trip.
Read Back to Ak's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NanaBCD
Aug 2018
Perfect! Be sure to walk to the base of the falls!
Read NanaBCD's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image flutepilot
Aug 2018
Not enough time at Mendenhall. Great whale watching - they really knew what to do. We saw many whales and I got some great pictures.
Read flutepilot's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image waltcchatttn
Aug 2018
Bus Driver Dave was great (a history professor at the University of Alaska)...walk to Nugget Falls...have a Salmon Burger at the Salmon Spot
Read waltcchatttn's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RGEVANS2
Aug 2018
Nice tour. Scenic, great view of the falls and glacier. Reasonably priced and EZ walking. A winner.
Read RGEVANS2's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hugh Jazz
Aug 2018
Beautiful town, the glacier is terrific, hike down to the falls. We saw a bear snatch a salmon out of the river and then devour this with her two cubs. We were about 12 feel away with a small fence as a barrier, but it was breathtaking.
Read Hugh Jazz's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DebRonLin
Aug 2018
Combined tour, saw whales and other wild life. Ourcrew very friendly and informative.
Read DebRonLin's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WendyTillotson
Aug 2018
Mendenhall Glacier was awesome. The exhibit was nice. Didn't have enough time there.
Read WendyTillotson's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KerriY
Aug 2018
Beautiful. We walked to the waterfall. We also saw a bear and her cub catching fish int the stream
Read KerriY's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image Tstewart12
Aug 2018
The glacier was beautiful and we saw some humpback whales. The price for what you got though wasn’t worth it. We should have booked independently.
Read Tstewart12's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ilovermont73
Aug 2018
Couldn't get too close to the glacier but it was beautiful. If we had more time/energy we would have done the hike to the waterfall.
Read ilovermont73's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ChaosCoordinator
Aug 2018
Great family hike to Nugget Falls. Gorgeous views everywhere. Loved the visitor center. Also saw a momma bear and her cub trying to catch salmon for lunch! So much fun. Even in the rain. But it’s in a rainforest so ... duh. Should have known we would be rained on the whole time.
Read ChaosCoordinator's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image ChaosCoordinator
Aug 2018
Great family hike to Nugget Falls. Gorgeous views everywhere. Loved the visitor center. Also saw a momma bear and her cub trying to catch salmon for lunch! So much fun. Even in the rain. But it’s in a rainforest so ... duh. Should have known we would be rained on the whole time.
Read ChaosCoordinator's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours

Sponsored links