Juneau Float Plane Excursion Reviews

A float plane will provide you with some of the most exquisite views that Juneau has to offer. Some tours include a salmon feast at a quaint lodge.
Taku Lodge, Mendenhall Glacier: Great meal, bears, and tour on island
Sail Date: June 2015
Taku Lodge, Mendenhall Glacier: Great meal, bears, and tour on island
Taku Lodge, Mendenhall Glacier: Great meal, bears, and tour on island Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
WinAir.
Sail Date: June 2015
WinAir. Good planes and a very good pilot. Recommend highly
WinAir. Good planes and a very good pilot. Recommend highly Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Taku Lodge is a must in my eyes!
Sail Date: June 2015
Taku Lodge is a must in my eyes! The salmon bake brunch was excellent! ! The beauty I will never forget!! A must do!
Taku Lodge is a must in my eyes! The salmon bake brunch was excellent! ! The beauty I will never forget!! A must do! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
The takeoff in the harbor was easy followed by a beautiful flight over the glaciers.
Sail Date: June 2015
The takeoff in the harbor was easy followed by a beautiful flight over the glaciers. The Taku lodge was perfect for dinner and the location is amazing.
The takeoff in the harbor was easy followed by a beautiful flight over the glaciers. The Taku lodge was perfect for dinner and the location is amazing. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Taku lodge was wonderful, an unforgettable day.
Sail Date: May 2015
Taku lodge was wonderful, an unforgettable day.
Taku lodge was wonderful, an unforgettable day. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
This is great because I don't think you can truly get a view of the glaciers and ice fields from ...
Sail Date: May 2015
This is great because I don't think you can truly get a view of the glaciers and ice fields from the ground. It's expensive but worth it. It went by fast.
This is great because I don't think you can truly get a view of the glaciers and ice fields from the ground. It's expensive but worth it. It went by fast. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Five glaciers and a float plane experience.
Sail Date: May 2015
Five glaciers and a float plane experience. Wow! Had it not been for my stomach being left up in the air prior to lunch, I would also have been able to comment on that! Still more than a worthwhile trip. Just take the tablets, if you need ... Read More
Five glaciers and a float plane experience. Wow! Had it not been for my stomach being left up in the air prior to lunch, I would also have been able to comment on that! Still more than a worthwhile trip. Just take the tablets, if you need them!! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
It was amazing to see the glaciers and landscape from that angle.
Sail Date: May 2015
It was amazing to see the glaciers and landscape from that angle. Food was amazing at Taku Lodge. Service was the best. Got to see 2 bears. Would do this excursion again in a flash. Was worth every penny I spent!
It was amazing to see the glaciers and landscape from that angle. Food was amazing at Taku Lodge. Service was the best. Got to see 2 bears. Would do this excursion again in a flash. Was worth every penny I spent! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Took a seaplane to Taku Lodge.
Sail Date: July 2014
Took a seaplane to Taku Lodge. AMAZING! Planes took off from very close to the dock. Getting on was quick and easy. The sites were nothing like I've ever seen before. The lodge was adorable, food was second to none including salmon, ... Read More
Took a seaplane to Taku Lodge. AMAZING! Planes took off from very close to the dock. Getting on was quick and easy. The sites were nothing like I've ever seen before. The lodge was adorable, food was second to none including salmon, there was a bear. Could not have asked for a better experience. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Fabulous!
Sail Date: August 2013
Fabulous! Flew over 5 glaciers on the way to a lodge built in the 1920s. Staff prepared a delicious meal with grilled salmon. Hiked the area with a geologist. Encountered (from 50+ feet) a couple of black bears.
Fabulous! Flew over 5 glaciers on the way to a lodge built in the 1920s. Staff prepared a delicious meal with grilled salmon. Hiked the area with a geologist. Encountered (from 50+ feet) a couple of black bears. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Disney Cruise Line
My husband and I agreed this was our favorite tour.
Sail Date: August 2013
My husband and I agreed this was our favorite tour. Flying over the glaciers was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides at the Lodge were graduate students, which were full of knowledge about the area and much unexpected understanding ... Read More
My husband and I agreed this was our favorite tour. Flying over the glaciers was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides at the Lodge were graduate students, which were full of knowledge about the area and much unexpected understanding of the history and ecological significance of the area. The lunch was the best salmon (cedar planked) and fresh. Coming from Florida fresh fish or none is my rule and the lunch was all fresh down to the glacier ice that cooled the drinks. Only downside is that we could have spent more time exploring the area, but it is a business and the bottom line of money flow keeps this place open and the students studies possible. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Spectacular views of glaciers and Juneau.
Sail Date: July 2013
Spectacular views of glaciers and Juneau.
Spectacular views of glaciers and Juneau. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
My husband did the float plane to an island to look for bears.
Sail Date: July 2013
My husband did the float plane to an island to look for bears. The whole trip was not very well planned, the other guests on the tour were very loud the whole time (if there was bear in the area, it would have left from all the noise) One ... Read More
My husband did the float plane to an island to look for bears. The whole trip was not very well planned, the other guests on the tour were very loud the whole time (if there was bear in the area, it would have left from all the noise) One of the guests could not walk, kept falling, out of breath. The tour guides took us to several places-we only stayed at each place a few minutes, not long enough to have a chance to see any bears. One of the guides was a 17 year old high school student- much to young to be leading this type of tour. Neither of the guides told us to talk quietly, walk quietly, etc. The only good part was the airplane flight. For $430- this was a complete waste of money!!!!! I would give this tour a negative number. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
We took the Taku Lodge Feast & 5-Glacier Seaplane Discovery tour and this was one of the highlights ...
Sail Date: June 2013
We took the Taku Lodge Feast & 5-Glacier Seaplane Discovery tour and this was one of the highlights of our trip. My wife is a very nervous flyer, only getting back into it three years ago, so obviously there was some trepidation about ... Read More
We took the Taku Lodge Feast & 5-Glacier Seaplane Discovery tour and this was one of the highlights of our trip. My wife is a very nervous flyer, only getting back into it three years ago, so obviously there was some trepidation about taking a flight in a small plane. Our pilot was the Director of Operations and invited her to sit in the copilot seat, which helped ease any fears she might have. The plane itself was a 10-seater de Haviland and it handled like driving in a car. Every passenger got a window seat and the views were spectacular. You don't really appreciate the expanse of a glacier until you fly over it. We flew twenty minutes to the Taku Lodge, a quaint hunting lodge opposite the Taku Glacier. We were served a feast of wild salmon and other Alaskan delicacies that were just scrumptious. We spent an hour and a half at the lodge, allowing enough time to eat and explore the grounds. The return flight was equally spectacular. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The Five Glaciers flight is my personal highlight and the pilot was excellent.
Sail Date: June 2013
The Five Glaciers flight is my personal highlight and the pilot was excellent.
The Five Glaciers flight is my personal highlight and the pilot was excellent. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
this was the best trip ever!
Sail Date: May 2013
this was the best trip ever! the float plane was awesome and Taku Lodge was a wilderness delight....the staff there was as good as the scenery and the food was great...even bought the cookbook.
this was the best trip ever! the float plane was awesome and Taku Lodge was a wilderness delight....the staff there was as good as the scenery and the food was great...even bought the cookbook. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Our flight to the Taku lodge near Juneau was the ost amazing trip.
Sail Date: September 2012
Our flight to the Taku lodge near Juneau was the ost amazing trip. The lodge was beautiful, we had a fantastic lunch and even saw some bears. Thoroughly recommend.
Our flight to the Taku lodge near Juneau was the ost amazing trip. The lodge was beautiful, we had a fantastic lunch and even saw some bears. Thoroughly recommend. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider:
Great excursion!
Sail Date: September 2012
Great excursion! Highly recommend even though it is not cheap. Awesome does not do this justice. This is where to spend your money if you can afford this. The tour operator ran a tight ship; and had safety awards in the office.
Great excursion! Highly recommend even though it is not cheap. Awesome does not do this justice. This is where to spend your money if you can afford this. The tour operator ran a tight ship; and had safety awards in the office. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Taku Lodge.
Sail Date: August 2012
Taku Lodge. Absolutely incredible. Another smooth ride. Flying over the glacier from a few different angles made great ops. The meal here was very good. Salmon caught just down from the lodge and cooked over alder wood. Baked beans, ... Read More
Taku Lodge. Absolutely incredible. Another smooth ride. Flying over the glacier from a few different angles made great ops. The meal here was very good. Salmon caught just down from the lodge and cooked over alder wood. Baked beans, reindeer sausage, fruit compote of apples, blueberries and cranberries, a streusel type dessert. The Russian tea was good and warmed us up. The story of the owners was captivating. A bear was under the gift shop but never came completely out. Just his nose and face peeked out from time to time. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
It is great and not to be missed.
Sail Date: July 2012
It is great and not to be missed. However, they fly; rain or shine. See our ship review. You might prefer to wait to book it until you are in port.
It is great and not to be missed. However, they fly; rain or shine. See our ship review. You might prefer to wait to book it until you are in port. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
We took float plane to Taku Lodge.
Sail Date: July 2012
We took float plane to Taku Lodge. Excellent views of glaciers, fabulous salmon cookout. This trip had a $219pp surcharge; you can book it yourself for $290pp. This was a wonderful experience. Secondly, cruising to Juneau we cruised ... Read More
We took float plane to Taku Lodge. Excellent views of glaciers, fabulous salmon cookout. This trip had a $219pp surcharge; you can book it yourself for $290pp. This was a wonderful experience. Secondly, cruising to Juneau we cruised Tracy Arm. Not to be missed scenery and wildlife. Regent offered one excursion that picked up at the ship early in AM. Small excursion boat took passengers rest of way up narrows to Juneau where they re-boarded. We regrettably were not aware of details of this excursion. It had a $149pp surcharge. But if we were better informed upfront, we would have taken it. Everyone who did take it raved about the wildlife sightings and scenery. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Float plane to a delicious lunch at the Taku Lodge.
Sail Date: June 2012
Float plane to a delicious lunch at the Taku Lodge. Cruise passengers on out trip, but they paid more.
Float plane to a delicious lunch at the Taku Lodge. Cruise passengers on out trip, but they paid more. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Taku Lodge- The BEST salmon ever and the five glaciers not so bad too!
Sail Date: June 2012
Taku Lodge- The BEST salmon ever and the five glaciers not so bad too!
Taku Lodge- The BEST salmon ever and the five glaciers not so bad too! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The Taku Lodge excursion is expensive, but we all agreed that it was worth it.
Sail Date: June 2012
The Taku Lodge excursion is expensive, but we all agreed that it was worth it. The view of the glaciers were incredible. Dinner was also surprisingly good. You will almost certainly see black bears up close.
The Taku Lodge excursion is expensive, but we all agreed that it was worth it. The view of the glaciers were incredible. Dinner was also surprisingly good. You will almost certainly see black bears up close. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
We were picked up by the plane operators at the dock and taken to our float planes.
Sail Date: June 2012
We were picked up by the plane operators at the dock and taken to our float planes. In a few minutes were were cruising above the glaciers with taped narration. Looking down on the various glaciers was an amazing experience. The weather ... Read More
We were picked up by the plane operators at the dock and taken to our float planes. In a few minutes were were cruising above the glaciers with taped narration. Looking down on the various glaciers was an amazing experience. The weather was poor so it wasn't as pretty as it would be on a sunny day, but seeing the rivers of ice is something that can't be described with words. It was a wonderful hour of flying that seemed like just a few minutes. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line