Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image STEVENJAN
1 review
Jul 2017
The flowers were in all their glory!!!
Read STEVENJAN's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SumFish1
1 review
Jul 2017
Great worth for money, but not a lot of time spent during excursions.
Read SumFish1's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image fwbulldog
1 review
Jul 2017
Traffic sucks, so plan to spend a lot of time sitting on the bus coming and going. Not nearly enough time to explore the garden (which is amazing).
Read fwbulldog's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joelkmcw
4 reviews
Jul 2017
The ship arrived in Victoria at about 7 PM and we boarded a bus to the gardens almost immediately. Got to the gardens about 8 PM - it was a Saturday and the place was very crowded. The gardens are very impressive, especially at dusk and later because they light up the trees and walkways with various colors. And at 10 PM they start the fireworks show on Saturdays in the summertime. 30 minute show, very creative. Tip - everybody in the gardens was there for the fireworks and the hillside where you get the best angle on the fireworks show was very crowded. People bring blankets and just sit on the ground but if you show up five minutes before show time - like we did - you will have a hard time finding a patch of grass with a good view. Get to the fireworks viewing area about 9:30.
Read joelkmcw's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Nicole Sautter
1 review
Jul 2017
Beautiful gardens and enjoyed the bus tour of the city to and from the gardens. Gorgeous city.
Read Nicole Sautter's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tbarsug
1 review
Jul 2017
Beautiful, lovely, and well thought out!! A place etched in my memory!!
Read tbarsug's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Terry&LN
1 review
Jun 2017
This was the biggest surprise for us. We never expected such a magical experience In the daylight it was Magnificent, but in the dark it was mystical. Please don't miss this. Even if you are tired and want to relax on the ship, push yourself to have this once in a life time experience!
Read Terry&LN's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image slfarnsworth
3 reviews
Jun 2017
Beautiful place with nice restaurants and gift shop.
Read slfarnsworth's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ginmato
1 review
Jun 2017
The gardens were beautiful but we arrived almost 8 pm and after an hour, it was dark and you really can't see much in the dark.
Read Ginmato's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nclansing
1 review
Jun 2017
Ship docked at 6:00pm Once again not enough time to do both an excursion and go into town. City is several miles from the ship. Tour left at 6:30pm and took 45 minutes each way. Was only given an hour and 45 minutes at the gardens then back to the ship after 10:00pm. Pretty much a waste of time.
Read nclansing's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mochas8
1 review
Jun 2017
Highlight of Mom's trip since she's a National Garden Club member. Spectacular landscape, horticulture and beautiful flowers!!!
Read mochas8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: CVS Tours
Member Image SJ19
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautiful gardens and needed more time here. We had to visit about 7 pm, not good time for photos - twilight. Too dark for good shots but not dark enough to enjoy lights. I would not think kids would like this one much.
Read SJ19's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wjl
1 review
Jun 2017
Butchard Gardens were beautiful. Scenic drive enjoyable.
Read wjl's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Tours By Locals
Member Image swatkins56
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Had a great tour guide/driver who provided lots of interesting narration on the city. Unfortunately, Friday afternoon traffic slowed us down. The gardens were spectacular, but as a photographer I wish it hadn't be such a sunny day.
Read swatkins56's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stockdad
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautyful, but there are just so many flowers i can look at and say "oh that's nice" Tea sevice is OK if you want to take a break
Read stockdad's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image crackerbit
1 review
Jun 2017
A bus ride and entry to the Gardens. It was crowded despite the bus driver saying it doesn't get crowded until the schools are out. The gardens did't have some of the topiaries I'd seen photos of in the past so I was a little disappointed. There's drinks Kiosks around which is nice, and a large overpriced gift shop. I saw tea rooms but I guess they're for tours, not walk ins. A quick tour of Victoria on the way back.
Read crackerbit's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Capoppy
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Good thing to book with Princess and such a short call at this port.
Read Capoppy's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rusticfurnituremaker
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Darwin ( the driver) gave us an excellent tour of Victoria followed by a trip to Butchart Gardens. He was very informative and had an answer to the many historical and architectural questions we threw at him. The Gardens were absolutely fantastic.
Read rusticfurnituremaker's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Surfside tours
Member Image Savencash
1 review
May 2017
Stepped off the ship and took a taxi for $55 Canadian. Got there before the tour busses and the hordes of people. Entrance fee is only $32 Canadian. Saved a ton of cash ($200 USD) by not booking this through the ship.
Read Savencash's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gilbert Cruisers
2 reviews
May 2017
The garden tour through NCL as more expensive and super crowded (my Aunt and Uncle went with them as they had excursion credit) We went with CVS and it was a smaller group (23 of us) a roomy bus and we got a little bit longer visit. The gardens were spectacular and I would totally go again!
Read Gilbert Cruisers's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Discover Card tours/CVS
Member Image frufc
1 review
May 2017
When we eventually got off the ship the Taxi for 4 people was very good value and very quick to the venue
Read frufc's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Took Taxi
Member Image 40 Years between cruises
1 review
May 2017
Shared a limo with another family, cost was about the same as ship excursion.
Read 40 Years between cruises's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lori Hawaiian
1 review
May 2017
Absolutely beautiful gardens! We had a little more than 2 hours, from about 7:15p - 9:30p, at the gardens. Thankful that the restaurant and gift shop were open to accommodate our evening visit.
Read Lori Hawaiian's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gdaym8
1 review
May 2017
Butchard Gardens is a must. Its so hard to explain how incredibly beautiful this place is......definitely well worth the trip. Bloggers said rent a car at Avis in Downtown Victoria and drive. We did this and it worked out great. We docked at 230pm. Took cab to Avis downtown Victoria for 10.00CAD (they take USD). Rented car for 30.00CAD. Was at Butchard Gardens by 330pm until 515pm. Was able to get back and turn rental car back in by 6pm and was able to have a nice sushi dinner in Victoria and back on boat by 830pm. Renting car is much cheaper than shore excursion (99.00USD per person) or even renting a taxi to Butchard Gardens which is 60.00CAD each way.
Read gdaym8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Avis Rental
Member Image CruzinTampa
2 reviews
May 2017
Great day spent at the Butchart Gardens. Local tour operator had frequent buses going back downtown, so we could stay all day. Saw plenty of Cruise excursioners from our ship who wished they could stay longer. Victoria was the best port of the entire cruise,
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: CVS

Sponsored links