Invergordon (Inverness) Highland Day Tour Excursion Reviews

From Invergordon, cruisers can take a Highland Day Tour to see and experience much of what the region is famous for, from castles and gardens to stunning views and whiskey tastings.
We went with Wendy from Iona Highland Tours.
Sail Date: May 2017
We went with Wendy from Iona Highland Tours. She's the owner, and she also had trainee Eddy with her. We saw everything you'd want to see and then some. The tour busses were all pulling off at other lookout points to see the ... Read More
We went with Wendy from Iona Highland Tours. She's the owner, and she also had trainee Eddy with her. We saw everything you'd want to see and then some. The tour busses were all pulling off at other lookout points to see the castle on Loch Ness, but she found us just the right smaller one. We saw the cathedral, Cowdor Castle, an ancient burial with mysteriously placed stones (that doubled as a sundial--very neat), a fort with tremendous history and the battlefield that changed Scottish history forever. Her van has wifi and she had chargers for us too (but the wifi ran out of data early on--don't think it is a regular occurrence though). Wendy was fantastic but if you go with her, you should know that she's expanded her business and the other two guides working with her are very new (and at least one has a very strong Glasgow accent) so be sure to request her specifically. Eddy seems very nice and warm, but she's putting him into the field too soon after not enough training (in my opinion). I don't know who the other one is. You can find Wendy Ford through an internet search. Just FYI: the one downside was that she brought up her commitment to right-wing politics in the UK and celebrating Brexit. It really put a damper on the day. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Castles (Cawdor and Urqhart) are incredible to see.
Sail Date: May 2017
Castles (Cawdor and Urqhart) are incredible to see. Grounds and history of these places is like no other.
Castles (Cawdor and Urqhart) are incredible to see. Grounds and history of these places is like no other. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Nice day, but long bus drive.
Sail Date: August 2016
Nice day, but long bus drive.
Nice day, but long bus drive. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
We could picture ourselves living there.
Sail Date: August 2016
We could picture ourselves living there. Really enjoyed the tour.
We could picture ourselves living there. Really enjoyed the tour. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
At Inverness we took the Celebrity excursion to Cawdor Castle and it was a cruise highlight.
Sail Date: August 2016
At Inverness we took the Celebrity excursion to Cawdor Castle and it was a cruise highlight. Lots to see inside the turreted fairy-tale castle, and two large gardens either side of the estate are beautifully maintained. Our coach guide was ... Read More
At Inverness we took the Celebrity excursion to Cawdor Castle and it was a cruise highlight. Lots to see inside the turreted fairy-tale castle, and two large gardens either side of the estate are beautifully maintained. Our coach guide was a local man, very well-informed. From him we learned about the history of the Scottish region as well as the family of the Thanes, later Earls, of Cawdor. On the return drive, he showed us the battlefield at Culloden Moor where Bonnie Prince Charlie's army was defeated in 1746. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Loved this tour!
Sail Date: July 2016
Loved this tour! Took us all over and the tour guide Gordon was awesome. Long day on the bus but they made it interesting. Highly recommended.
Loved this tour! Took us all over and the tour guide Gordon was awesome. Long day on the bus but they made it interesting. Highly recommended. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Simply amazing tour company.
Sail Date: July 2016
Simply amazing tour company. Booked online. Had a wonderful day!
Simply amazing tour company. Booked online. Had a wonderful day! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Loved Dunrobin castle and the falconry exhibition!
Sail Date: July 2016
Loved Dunrobin castle and the falconry exhibition!
Loved Dunrobin castle and the falconry exhibition! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Inverness was beautiful with good shopping.
Sail Date: July 2016
Inverness was beautiful with good shopping. Toured Brodie Castle, Culloden battlefield and saw Loch Ness. Used Wow Scotland and were very pleased.
Inverness was beautiful with good shopping. Toured Brodie Castle, Culloden battlefield and saw Loch Ness. Used Wow Scotland and were very pleased. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
oday we toured two castles, one was in ruins and the other was well maintained.
Sail Date: July 2016
oday we toured two castles, one was in ruins and the other was well maintained. Our tour started at 9:30 AM and we returned to the ship around 5:30 PM. Our first stop was at the 14th-century Urquhart Castle, situated right on the edge of ... Read More
oday we toured two castles, one was in ruins and the other was well maintained. Our tour started at 9:30 AM and we returned to the ship around 5:30 PM. Our first stop was at the 14th-century Urquhart Castle, situated right on the edge of loch Ness. This is one of the most picturesque areas in Scotland. We saw the introductory film which gave the history of the castle and residents. After the film, we then walked through the ruins and saw the many areas of the castle. Sadly, the Loch Ness monster did not make an appearance. After, we departed for Kingsmills Hotel where we had a three course lunch, salad, chicken and vegetables and dessert. Lunch was very tasty. After lunch, we then drove to the Culloden Battlefield. This windswept moorland is the site of the last battle on British soil -- a turning point in Scottish history. This was a short stop for us to see the battlefield and hear of the history of the area. Our last stop was at Cawdor Castle -- a truly beautiful, traditional medieval (1454 A.D.) castle with exceptionally lovely gardens. This tour was well worth the money spent. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the entire area. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Invergordon Shore Excursions & Tours: TP done.
Sail Date: June 2016
Invergordon Shore Excursions & Tours: TP done. Nigel Tours. Our guide and driver was Allan MacDonald, who truly is brilliant. Smart, well prepared, witty, knowledgeable, courteous...I really don't have enough words of praise for ... Read More
Invergordon Shore Excursions & Tours: TP done. Nigel Tours. Our guide and driver was Allan MacDonald, who truly is brilliant. Smart, well prepared, witty, knowledgeable, courteous...I really don't have enough words of praise for him. Probably the best tour guide I've ever had. We opted through Nigel to have a private tour, which really is awesome because you have more flexibility. We started early before our scheduled appointment in Allan's VW that was very comfortable from our cruise ship port to Inverness. Allan is from this region and knows the flavor of this historic area. We saw the Inverness Castle known for Macbeth to the beautiful houses of this town. We went to Loch Ness Rebel boat to travel down Loch Ness to Urquhart. He picked us up at the ruins to take us to Pringles Woolen Mill, where we bought Scotch and some gifts from the nicest manager. Afterwards we ate lunch at Culloden Moor Visitor Center (though we didn't get to eat pure Haggis because they ran out) and then explored the exhibition that very well explained the war between England and the Jacobites. One side, the walls displayed the Jacobites’ situation, and the opposing wall displayed the English perspective. There is a 360 theater but the sound was far to loud so I didn’t watch it. We then walked onto Culloden Battlefield where many Scots were killed. The field is marked where the English and the Scots stood. Afterwards we visited the magnificent Cawdor Castle with beautiful rooms and impressive kitchens. In the basement lies what remains of a holly tree, and the castle was built around it. The gardens at Cawdor are top notched. We were lucky it didn't rain because really, the gardens are breathtaking. ‘We saw a few other minor sites during our actively, packed day. It was the best! Allan got us back to our ship within a safe time of 50 minutes to spare. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Visited Loch Ness and Urick Castle, free time in Ivergordon.
Sail Date: June 2016
Visited Loch Ness and Urick Castle, free time in Ivergordon. Very pretty country side.
Visited Loch Ness and Urick Castle, free time in Ivergordon. Very pretty country side. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Urquhart Castle was great, Loch Ness was a disappointment.
Sail Date: June 2016
Urquhart Castle was great, Loch Ness was a disappointment. Very commercialized! They did not sell Ness things either!
Urquhart Castle was great, Loch Ness was a disappointment. Very commercialized! They did not sell Ness things either! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
PRINCESS EXCURSION to DUNROBIN CASTLE.
Sail Date: June 2016
PRINCESS EXCURSION to DUNROBIN CASTLE. Outstanding Castle Tour & Gardens, Grounds, Falcon Mews & Performance OUTSTANDING. Tour Bus Drive & Guide very impressive. Took scenic tour back. Loved it.
PRINCESS EXCURSION to DUNROBIN CASTLE. Outstanding Castle Tour & Gardens, Grounds, Falcon Mews & Performance OUTSTANDING. Tour Bus Drive & Guide very impressive. Took scenic tour back. Loved it. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
A little too frenetic and disorganized, but delightful countryside and sights
Sail Date: June 2016
A little too frenetic and disorganized, but delightful countryside and sights
A little too frenetic and disorganized, but delightful countryside and sights Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Cawdor Castle is a beautiful intact castle with a beautiful garden.
Sail Date: June 2016
Cawdor Castle is a beautiful intact castle with a beautiful garden. Urquhart Castle is a ruin on Loch Ness. We didn't see the Loch Ness Monster.
Cawdor Castle is a beautiful intact castle with a beautiful garden. Urquhart Castle is a ruin on Loch Ness. We didn't see the Loch Ness Monster. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Loch Ness, and castle, lake boat tour, and Culloden battlefield.
Sail Date: June 2016
Loch Ness, and castle, lake boat tour, and Culloden battlefield. A day well spent, didn't see a "HeeLan Coo" (Highland cow) though.
Loch Ness, and castle, lake boat tour, and Culloden battlefield. A day well spent, didn't see a "HeeLan Coo" (Highland cow) though. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
At Loch Ness it was bright and sunny and I had a good look round Urquhart Castle.
Sail Date: June 2016
At Loch Ness it was bright and sunny and I had a good look round Urquhart Castle. The castle became very crowded, particularly the shop.
At Loch Ness it was bright and sunny and I had a good look round Urquhart Castle. The castle became very crowded, particularly the shop. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Fantastic scenery.
Sail Date: May 2016
Fantastic scenery.
Fantastic scenery. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
We booked a day tour of Highlands for 6 people in a van with John of SeeTheHighlands.com, and he ...
Sail Date: May 2016
We booked a day tour of Highlands for 6 people in a van with John of SeeTheHighlands.com, and he created a custom tour for us to include Loch Ness, Inverness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, Clava Cairns (with standing stone circles) ... Read More
We booked a day tour of Highlands for 6 people in a van with John of SeeTheHighlands.com, and he created a custom tour for us to include Loch Ness, Inverness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, Clava Cairns (with standing stone circles) and a distillery. Great tour! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
The best tour, great guide beautiful country side.
Sail Date: May 2016
The best tour, great guide beautiful country side.
The best tour, great guide beautiful country side. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
The highland was beautiful the tour guide had his Scottish outfit on.
Sail Date: September 2015
The highland was beautiful the tour guide had his Scottish outfit on. Lock Ness was lovely but the store was very crowded.
The highland was beautiful the tour guide had his Scottish outfit on. Lock Ness was lovely but the store was very crowded. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Great especially the tour information and the countryside
Sail Date: September 2015
Great especially the tour information and the countryside
Great especially the tour information and the countryside Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
beautiful Loch Ness and Cawdor Castle
Sail Date: August 2015
beautiful Loch Ness and Cawdor Castle
beautiful Loch Ness and Cawdor Castle Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
The tour of Dornock and the Highlands was gorgeous.
Sail Date: August 2015
The tour of Dornock and the Highlands was gorgeous. The weather was perfect. Dornock is a quaint, lovely town with flowers all around. The Falls of Shin requires a long walk down and back up.
The tour of Dornock and the Highlands was gorgeous. The weather was perfect. Dornock is a quaint, lovely town with flowers all around. The Falls of Shin requires a long walk down and back up. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises