Copenhagen Castles of North Zealand Excursion Reviews

History and architecture buffs can escape the city on a Castles of North Zealand tour from Copenhagen. Tour highlights typically include visits to Kronberg Castle and the town of Elsinore which was made famous in Shakespeare's Hamlet.
If you like castles you'd like this tour.
Sail Date: April 2019
If you like castles you'd like this tour. Hamlet castle included.
If you like castles you'd like this tour. Hamlet castle included. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
2 contrasting castles in beautiful locations.
Sail Date: July 2018
2 contrasting castles in beautiful locations. Will hope to visit again.
2 contrasting castles in beautiful locations. Will hope to visit again. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Copenhagen: Not long before we arrived it was raining and did not look very promising, however by ...
Sail Date: May 2018
Copenhagen: Not long before we arrived it was raining and did not look very promising, however by the time we arrived and disembarked the weather was warm and sunny. It was a pleasant walk to the centre past the Little Mermaid statue ... Read More
Copenhagen: Not long before we arrived it was raining and did not look very promising, however by the time we arrived and disembarked the weather was warm and sunny. It was a pleasant walk to the centre past the Little Mermaid statue which had quite a crowd around it. For the next couple of hours, as we had arrived during the early afternoon, we wandered around the area and by the port, seeing the changing of the guard at the Amalienbourg Palace and coming back via the Churchill Gardens, but not venturing as far as the Tivoli Gardens. The following day, we went on a Celebrity tour to the palaces of North Zealand, which is very pretty, and had lunch. The guide was very passionate about Danish history and knowledgeable about the subject. It would have been good to have more time to wander around the castles rather than listen so much, but that is our opinion; she was an excellent guide to have. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Great tour of the countryside.
Sail Date: August 2017
Great tour of the countryside. Got to see the changing of the guard at the queen's summer palace. Loved the castles. Very historical.
Great tour of the countryside. Got to see the changing of the guard at the queen's summer palace. Loved the castles. Very historical. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Very interesting.
Sail Date: July 2017
Very interesting. The history with the different occupiers. Was entertained by local actors. It seems that royalty then and now hasn't changed much.
Very interesting. The history with the different occupiers. Was entertained by local actors. It seems that royalty then and now hasn't changed much. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
A full day a fun and adventure.
Sail Date: July 2017
A full day a fun and adventure. Beautiful and informational.
A full day a fun and adventure. Beautiful and informational. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Frederiksborg Castle was amazing, lunch was very good, ran out of time so only got to see outside ...
Sail Date: July 2017
Frederiksborg Castle was amazing, lunch was very good, ran out of time so only got to see outside of Kronborg/Hamlet castle, but the whole day was very nice, so no complaints. Excellent guide & bus.
Frederiksborg Castle was amazing, lunch was very good, ran out of time so only got to see outside of Kronborg/Hamlet castle, but the whole day was very nice, so no complaints. Excellent guide & bus. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Crystal Cruises
Too short time allow in the castle, and only a picture stop for the Hamlet one.
Sail Date: June 2017
Too short time allow in the castle, and only a picture stop for the Hamlet one. The stop to the little mermaid added no value for us and we would have prefered to spend more time in the castle and visit the gardens
Too short time allow in the castle, and only a picture stop for the Hamlet one. The stop to the little mermaid added no value for us and we would have prefered to spend more time in the castle and visit the gardens Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Loved this trip to the other end of Denmark - very knowledgeable guide.
Sail Date: June 2017
Loved this trip to the other end of Denmark - very knowledgeable guide.
Loved this trip to the other end of Denmark - very knowledgeable guide. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Highly recommend using the trains to see the castles.
Sail Date: June 2017
Highly recommend using the trains to see the castles. So much cheaper and they take you very close to them.
Highly recommend using the trains to see the castles. So much cheaper and they take you very close to them. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Oceania Cruises
Lack of headphones to hear the guide outside; bus.
Sail Date: May 2017
Lack of headphones to hear the guide outside; bus. Excellent guide with good information. He spoke different languages, although they did not allow him to offer the excurcion in different languages. They offered lunch which was not bad.
Lack of headphones to hear the guide outside; bus. Excellent guide with good information. He spoke different languages, although they did not allow him to offer the excurcion in different languages. They offered lunch which was not bad. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Beautiful castle and grounds well worth a visit if you have done Copenhagen previously it was also ...
Sail Date: May 2017
Beautiful castle and grounds well worth a visit if you have done Copenhagen previously it was also lovely to see some of the Danish countryside on the way to the castle
Beautiful castle and grounds well worth a visit if you have done Copenhagen previously it was also lovely to see some of the Danish countryside on the way to the castle Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Another tour Nazis who was extremely full of herself and had horrible timing issues.
Sail Date: August 2016
Another tour Nazis who was extremely full of herself and had horrible timing issues.
Another tour Nazis who was extremely full of herself and had horrible timing issues. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
The countryside views were beautiful!
Sail Date: July 2016
The countryside views were beautiful!
The countryside views were beautiful! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
NEVER TAKE THIS TOUR!
Sail Date: June 2016
NEVER TAKE THIS TOUR!
NEVER TAKE THIS TOUR! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
I liked the itinerary and the castles we visited.
Sail Date: August 2015
I liked the itinerary and the castles we visited. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Wish I could have spent more time in the gardens of the last castle we visited but we just didn't have the time.
I liked the itinerary and the castles we visited. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Wish I could have spent more time in the gardens of the last castle we visited but we just didn't have the time. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Great tour and the lunch at a King's rest stop restaurant was fabulous.
Sail Date: July 2015
Great tour and the lunch at a King's rest stop restaurant was fabulous.
Great tour and the lunch at a King's rest stop restaurant was fabulous. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Saw two beautiful castles, as well as a few highlights in the city, i.e.
Sail Date: June 2015
Saw two beautiful castles, as well as a few highlights in the city, i.e. Little Mermaid statue
Saw two beautiful castles, as well as a few highlights in the city, i.e. Little Mermaid statue Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
it was done poorly and there is no other way of saying it.
Sail Date: June 2015
it was done poorly and there is no other way of saying it. The tour simply did not match RCCL’s description. We did not stop at or even drive by Nyhaven (which is the lead photo on RCCL’s excursion page) but instead we made a right ... Read More
it was done poorly and there is no other way of saying it. The tour simply did not match RCCL’s description. We did not stop at or even drive by Nyhaven (which is the lead photo on RCCL’s excursion page) but instead we made a right hand turn when the guide said “that is Nyhaven over there.” The tour was supposed to include a “smorgasbord lunch at a local restaurant.” Instead we had a 2 choice buffet lunch that was catered at a local Senior Center –that’s right, a Senior Center. The tour was also to feature a walk on the ramparts at Kronborg Castle which did not happen. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Great guide, Kirsten.
Sail Date: May 2015
Great guide, Kirsten. Trip was smooth, the castles were fun to experience and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Had a very nice meal experience.
Great guide, Kirsten. Trip was smooth, the castles were fun to experience and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Had a very nice meal experience. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises