Cozumel Tulum Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Tulum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the ruins of the walled city of Tulum, which rise above the Caribbean Sea. Explore the archeological monuments of this ceremonial center, which were left as a reminder of this ancient Mayan culture.
Member Image tallshipcaptain
1 review
Dec 2017
Very well organized with barely enough time to spend on ruins site itself. A really good local tour guide offered numerous helpful tips to make the best use of our time. Alejandro was awesome!
Read tallshipcaptain's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wlampert
1 review
Dec 2017
Nice excursion, but a lot of time is spent traveling to the ruins, so there is no time to do anything else in Cozumel.
Read wlampert's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joebehr2011
1 review
Dec 2017
This was a full day excursion, fun but I wish we would have had an hour or so to peek our heads out and shop in Cozumel.
Read joebehr2011's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wolfwalker
1 review
Dec 2017
Needed more time. The guide was very informative and the food was good. There were a lot of people and it was hot. The walk to the site was long and very busy. We took the shuttle back. We were quite rushed to get back to the port and do a little shopping but discovered after we were on board that other tours were running late and we could have had more time.
Read wolfwalker's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rainey13
1 review
Dec 2017
Ship-board organization was lacking. They made everyone with a mainland tour sit in the theater to find out that we had to get off the ship, walk to the end of the pier, and get on the huge yellow ferry. Since there was no other information - like departure or return time - provided, this was absolutely wasted effort. But the actual tour was good, the ruins amazing, and this one allowed shopping/lunch time.
Read Rainey13's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SUBnet192
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Tour operator was good (Sun & Fun) but had a few sale pitches during the trip that I didn't care much for (Jewelry, Souvenir book). We didn't have much time at the site. We left at 10am, had to take a ferry to the mainland, a bus to Tulum, we had 2.5 hours total on site and being that we left late, we pretty much had to spend 1h for lunch on site, leaving us 1.5 hours total to visit. It was fine but a bit better timing would have been appreciated.
Read SUBnet192's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jwhamlin
3 reviews
Dec 2017
Great tour guide and tour. Did not appreciate going through the gauntlet of local hawkers at the site.
Read jwhamlin's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yyf
1 review
Nov 2017
Great to see the Mayan ruins with very good views on the cliff. The sea water was as pleasant to watch as the ruins themselves. The guide was great and knowledgeable. However, we feel that it was a bit of a rush and we were not given enough time to explore the ruins.
Read yyf's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LuvChowDawgs
4 reviews
Nov 2017
Tulum ruins with beach club and lunch buffet. This tour has fabulous potential. I had done this one twice and loved it, but this third time was a dreadful disaster beyond words. The tour guide was abominable.
Read LuvChowDawgs's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CluelessCruiser1
1 review
Nov 2017
Too much time spent traveling to/from ruins (almost 4 hours total)! Guide too interested in selling necklaces and pictures as well as steering people to a particular restaurant. Not worth the steep price for what you actually got. Too bad because the ruins were really interesting
Read CluelessCruiser1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GlamorousGirl
3 reviews
Sep 2017
Tulum was spectacular - an unforgettable experience no one should miss. It was hot but worth it. Tour also went to an interesting Mayan village with a good lunch, on a quick canoe ride which was fun but it was hard to get in and out of the canoe with arthritis, and a cenote swim which I did not enjoy because I can't swim, so I just watched everyone else.
Read GlamorousGirl's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nbnaked
1 review
Aug 2017
Very hot, mosquitoes, Cenote was fantastic. A lot of walking and exercize. Treated like royalty. A lot of historic information.
Read nbnaked's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SageUT
1 review
Aug 2017
We did the Tulum ruins excursion through Celebrity for Cozumel. Getting off the boat was easy again but we had to take a boat from Cozumel to the mainland (Playa Del Carmen) and we met up with the excursion company. We got on a bus and it was about 45 minutes until we got to the Tulum site. The guide was amazing (Jesus) educated us the entire bus ride to the site. There were a lot of shops there and we were at the site for about an hour. It was really amazing to see the ruins and the location it was on, it was on a beach with cliffs. The guide was very informative. We then went to a private beach and had lunch and stayed on the beach. We thought it was better than Costa Maya and the sand was whiter and the water clearer. Very nice. We were there for about an hour and then went back to the port. We were lucky we booked through the cruise line because the last ship back to the port before the cruise ship closed the doors waited for our group. We arrived 20 minutes after the ship said to be back on the ship.
Read SageUT's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jvanhoudt
1 review
Mar 2017
The site was nice to see but in 30 minutes we had seen it with the guide , then we had one hour free time to take pictures ... to bad it took 3 hours to get there and 2,5 hours to get back for only 30 minutes of fun
Read Jvanhoudt's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lesliepfeiffer
1 review
Mar 2017
We took ma 45 minute water taxi ride to another island, from there we boarded a nice, clean van to our destination, another 45 minute drive to Tulum. Our guide for the day was Omar. Omar was amazing! Once in Tulum, we took a boat out into turtle cove and went overboard for snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays. The snorkeling gear was great and the turtles came right up to the boat and poked their heads out of the water to look at you. This was an amazing experience! The water in Turtle Cove off of Tulum was the most baby blue clear water I have ever swam in.
Read lesliepfeiffer's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UpstateNYtraveler
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Tulum was very cool! The ferry ride to the mainland was horrible. The 5th avenue shopping experience was not wanted but was included with this excursion. We did not want to shop so the excursion attendant made us sit there on 5th avenue for 2 hours until our "end time". There was no reason why he couldn't have given us our ferry pass to go back and skip the shopping if we did not want to do it.
Read UpstateNYtraveler's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kearhartkbds
3 reviews
Mar 2017
Ship to tender ...tender was rocking, waters very rough/choppy few threw up ride was very rough. Bus ride to Tulum was very nice A/C bus. Tulum is breathtaking. Ride back /snacks/water provided. Tender on way back was rough seemed got easier with rough waters.
Read Kearhartkbds's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image seadog007
1 review
Mar 2017
The ruins themselves were amazing. It was too hot, bring an umbrella. Our guide gave up halfway through the tour, it would have been nice to have been guided the entire grounds because we missed out on a lot of historical information. No complaints though, everyone was baking.
Read seadog007's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jhgramma
2 reviews
Mar 2017
The tour guide was amazing. Best guide we have ever had on a tour. Was so knowledgeable about the ruins. Beware of the ferry ride from Cozumel to the main line though. Very rough ride. They even handed us sea sick pills before we left!! I laughed, but you won't believe how many got sick on that ferry ride.
Read jhgramma's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ctbednar
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Tulum itself is very nice, but this really is a tourist trap. Tour guide sold things on the bus from the port to Tulum and back. Also told you which shops to shop at. Huge flea market where the buses park at Tulum. Would never go back with tour, only alone.
Read ctbednar's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
Tulum with beach break and lunch. Ruins were amazing, but it was very hot and crowded which was a major contrast to Chacchoben, which was cool and deserted. Tour was rushed and disorganized. Buffet lunch was just okay. Not many things for younger kids to enjoy. Beach was nice, but noisy. Ferry ride from Cozumel was okay, but I'd recommend sitting outside if possible. Overall, we just felt rushed and would probably opt for shopping or beach in Cozumel over going to mainland.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrrastos
1 review
Feb 2017
We didn't see much of Cozumel because we went to the mainland to see the Tulum ruins. If you get seasick easily I wouldn't recommend the ferry to the mainland. The ride can get pretty rough. I am a commercial fisherman so it didn't bother me at all, but my wife and I were looking around and some of our fellow passengers and quite a few looked a little green. It takes more time to get to Tulum than you what time you have to spend there. The ruins are worth seeing, but for me were not really the highlight of the trip. I had never been to Mexico before, and on the way back form the ruins to the tour bus there is a restaurant called Frosty's that is recommended by the tour operator, who warned us that some of the other restaurants nearby overcharged and took advantage of people. I had some tacos and a very good margarita. This is also a very good place to get some bottled water. It was 37C in the shade. My wife unfortunately didn't eat anything. She was nervous to be in Mexico because she pays too much attention to the news, but her fears were unfounded. I would highly recommend booking this excursion with the cruise line because of the tight timeline. If the tour is delayed at least the ship will wait for you.
Read mrrastos's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image asclavijo
1 review
Feb 2017
Made our way, via Taxi, to the water taxi location ($18 for 6 of us one way). Took the water taxi to Mexico and then had a private driver take us to Tulum and Snorkeling. Great experience!
Read asclavijo's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private tours by Johann & Sandra
Member Image ThatGirlKay
1 review
Jan 2017
GABRIEL was wonderful. The tour was amazing!
Read ThatGirlKay's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
Our first Mayan ruins stop - enjoyed it and simply magnificent location with out of this world views, but very crowded and not as impressive as other sites we went on to see
Read Snixies's full Marella Dream cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)

Sponsored links