St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image TOP1175
1 review
Jun 2017
The tour guides provided in depth explanations of the culture, history and religions of the beautiful island.
Read TOP1175's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Manfam425
1 review
Jun 2017
Every single thing was booked when we tried for a shore excursion except for the railway tour. It was nice, we were on a bus to the other end of the island to pick up the railway and the railway is scenic but nothing too exciting. they did a good job of entertaining you with local singing and the drinks were flowing.
Read Manfam425's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image captainorin
4 reviews
Jun 2017
2 hours or 18 miles by train & 1 hour by bus for last 12 miles. Took us all the way around the island. We had the only female guide / buss driver. She really knew her stuff about St. Kitts. Worth the money.
Read captainorin's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sadie0127
1 review
Jun 2017
The Scenic Trailway train ride was awesome and got to see most the of the island and learned a lot of its history. Great tour guide and even had live singers and complementary drinks on board.
Read Sadie0127's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TheShadowDoc
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Took the catamaran from the port to meet a transfer to the scenic railway. Nice experience.
Read TheShadowDoc's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kc1004
1 review
May 2017
Tour was a great way to see the island
Read Kc1004's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sheandix2
1 review
May 2017
Started out on a bus. Driver gave a wonderful tour. Then went on the train. Beautiful tour of the island. Very informative. A must do while on St. Kitts
Read sheandix2's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ian R. Harvey
1 review
May 2017
this a must do. excellent no complaints see a lot of the island three hours long with half an hour on bus the rest on train, restrooms on train as well as complementary drinks only a snack available but you are only on for three hours
Read Ian R. Harvey's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image notoriousrmb
1 review
May 2017
Scenic railway tour was very relaxing, informative and drinks were provided. So much fun! Great views of the island and wildlife (saw many wild monkeys) and everyone was extremely friendly.
Read notoriousrmb's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PI314
1 review
May 2017
It was a very pleasant way to discover these island and its history. We highly appreciated this tour. The drinks were very good.
Read PI314's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dadls
1 review
Apr 2017
Train tour was great, the bus ride at the end was too long and let us off far from the ship so that we had to walk thru the shopping area
Read dadls's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruiser54300
1 review
Apr 2017
Very interesting to see the land from a train, a very small train. But it ran approximately 70% around St. Kitts along the shore. The views were wonderful and the tour guide very informative.
Read Cruiser54300's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dustymadison
1 review
Apr 2017
This tour on an old sugar cane railroad train was pleasant. Tour guide informational, a couple free drinks and snack, outdoor and indoor seating (would there have been enough room inside if it were raining?).
Read dustymadison's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pattipersia
1 review
Mar 2017
I felt this was a lot of money for this tour. Also, the railroad part was way too long. Most of the time on the tour we were looking at trash in peoples yards. I don't think I would recommend this tour.
Read pattipersia's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Miki&Marc
1 review
Mar 2017
Scenery went from breath-taking to scary. Tour guide did great job but sound system let her down. Drinks were delicious and plentiful.
Read Miki&Marc's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image csmaslin
2 reviews
Mar 2017
This was the best tour of the trip. We really enjoyed the boat ride and then the train ride. Great views
Read csmaslin's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image janshopsalot
1 review
Feb 2017
The scenic train ride consisted of looking at old sugar cane fields for almost two hours. it was very boring! The people on the train were very nice. Very overpriced.
Read janshopsalot's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Painswick
1 review
Feb 2017
Touted by Island as a major tourist attraction, it was in poor mechanical shape, half the track has been closed, carriages dirty and uncomfortable. Could have been so much better !
Read Painswick's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Mrearl
3 reviews
Feb 2017
we like trains and enjoyed the ride and the bus ride to the train. very knowledgeable and friendly
Read Mrearl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ElTeeCruise
2 reviews
Feb 2017
The best trip we went on was the Scenic Railway Tour of St Kitts. Expensive but definitely worth it. Nice views of the island and very strong free cocktails. We couldn't hear the narration from the 4th carriage but our minibus driver had told us the same information (from what I could hear) any way.
Read ElTeeCruise's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wb_samui
1 review
Feb 2017
Expensive but a fun event for people who have never been to St Kitts.
Read wb_samui's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Robert45
1 review
Feb 2017
Train ride was limited to looking at scenery. When tour ended, we booked a second tour at the pier so we could actually visit some of the sights.
Read Robert45's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PaleoLady
1 review
Feb 2017
We took the railway tour followed by a catamaran tour for the ride back to port. Sit in the covered top deck of the railcars or you won't really see anything except embankments. Narration was well done and could be heard in all of the cars (5 that day, a fully booked day so I'm glad we reserved the excursion pre-cruise). Drinks were unlimited. A small group of local women visited each of the cars, singing. Photographic opportunities were limited and difficult to take due to motion, but it was a pleasant day. The catamaran ride was also great, giving us a view of the opposing side of the island. It was also well narrated and drinks were unlimited. Some folks took full advantage of this feature. People were asked to take shoes off before boarding. We carried ours in our daypacks; otherwise you had to find yours from the baskets after landing. Sunglasses were a must, and hold onto your hats!
Read PaleoLady's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image philipsharp
2 reviews
Feb 2017
probably the best excursion plenty to see and drink
Read philipsharp's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image LA_Girl
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Very unique tour with historical aspects added. Also included drinks with and without alcohol.
Read LA_Girl's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?