St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image cruisingalong2018
1 review
Jun 2018
My daughter and I loved it. We saw a lot of the island. Margaritas were great!
Read cruisingalong2018's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Reachvane
1 review
May 2018
Great experience. The tour guides were very knowledgeable. They truly put in the effort to make the trip special. I love the choir as well.
Read Reachvane's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tnndcruiser
7 reviews
May 2018
This excursion is ok but it is way too long and there is nothing to see, plus part of the excursion is a bus tour. Really wasn't that great.
Read tnndcruiser's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image starsylvia
2 reviews
May 2018
Our driver, Warner, was incredible. He loved the island of his birth. Very Informative and a safe driver. Our train tour guide, Carla was super knowable and loved what she did. She is also a potter and we were able to pick up a piece of her work after the cruise. Beautiful!
Read starsylvia's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ChickAhoy
2 reviews
May 2018
Wonderful tour around the island. Narration by Carla was excellent, drinks were served, and a small choir entertained us along the way. Great!
Read ChickAhoy's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pal1014
1 review
May 2018
A little long, but ok. The train is not extremely comfortable and the ride took longer then expected. But staff is great, if you like rum drinks it'll make the trip go faster. We did morning tour, not sure how comfortable the afternoon heat would be for older travelers. We chose it because we wanted get look at the island and it did give us that opportunity.
Read pal1014's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisequeen5115
1 review
Apr 2018
Absolutely fantastic-our 2 year old son loved it!
Read cruisequeen5115's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image matth08
1 review
Mar 2018
Interesting day out and did enjoy the ride, but apart from the mountain, don't expect to see too much. There are no cotton plantations and the beaches in view are poor.
Read matth08's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image deblauwmk
1 review
Mar 2018
St Kitts/Nevis - We did the train ride around St Kitts booked through RC ($87US/pp). We liked the experience and people were friendly. It was educational and picturesque. The start was not far from the ship. The train takes you out and around (2/3 of the island) and they bus you back (sightseeing the remaining 1/3 of the island). The tour was only a few hours so we were less than thrilled that we didn’t have the option to stop at Fort Brimstone – it was disheartening that we drove right by it with no option to view unless we went all the way back to Port and took a cab all the way back to the Fort. Due to traffic and distance we didn't feel like had time to go back. RC makes it clear that if you are not back in time you will be left behind … unless you booked excursion though RC. That being said, we were late departing each day waiting for a couple stragglers. Never more then 30 minutes.
Read deblauwmk's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image elklemi
6 reviews
Mar 2018
train thru interior of island where sugar mills were located, had drinks and snack on the trip (free) and narration during the ride, they never asked for tips for anything.
Read elklemi's full Star Flyer cruise review
Provider: Star Clippers
Member Image Wildcatfish
1 review
Mar 2018
Loud squealing noise throughout train portion. Could barely hear the tour guide. Bus portion was disappointing. Bus stopped 4 blocks from port for a bathroom break. Would not recommend this tour.
Read Wildcatfish's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TroopersMom
1 review
Mar 2018
Boring, very little to see. The only thing that kept me from jumping off the moving train was the rum punch.
Read TroopersMom's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cyber Kat
3 reviews
Mar 2018
This was great fun and a fantastic way to see the island. The guides were good. We enjoyed the local a Capella group that entertained us. Rum drinks were tasty. It was a great day
Read Cyber Kat's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image wishuponasea
2 reviews
Mar 2018
The cost through the cruise line was quite a bit, but since we have never been here before, we decided to book it. The bus/railroad/bus tours were very interesting. A bus takes you to the RR. The driver told us about all the buildings, etc. that we passed. The RR trip was around the island. Not smooth at all, but lots of beautiful sights and interesting commentary, along with a 3 woman singing group and beverages. A fun morning to see the island.
Read wishuponasea's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image smcb66
2 reviews
Mar 2018
This was the first half of a "Rail and Sail" tour. The railway runs very slow down 18 miles of old narrow gauge railway (taking about 2 hours). Great scenery along the way!!! Unlimited open bar and sodas included, and the hostesses put on a great show! I recommend sitting up top in the open air part of the train cars.
Read smcb66's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dobagirl
1 review
Mar 2018
Sailing was nice but it would be nice to hear the ocean & not loud music the entire excursion. I don't need to be entertained by a lively crew. I want to hear a bit about interesting sites & listen to the ocean. It's not every day I experience the ocean. The ocean is the experience for me. Would have been nice to include a swim. It's a long tours with the railway. Drinks were available on the sail boat & train. However, a lunch should have been included or available with time to purchase & enjoy. Drinking alcohol all day without more than a bag of chips - not a good plan. Excursion left before lunch. By the time we returned to the ship near 5 pm, we were starving. The train ride was lovely. Glad to see much of the island this way. Best to sit a few cars back from the front so not swallowing fumes the entire time! Again, a cookie offered along with lot's a drinks but no meaningful food options. Tour guide was excellent - a wealth of info. However, she talked for 2 hours non-stop. Some quiet moments are welcomed!
Read dobagirl's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Royaloak01
2 reviews
Feb 2018
Very scenic island, free drinks on the train, even had a small choir to entertain while the guide took a breather.
Read Royaloak01's full Royal Clipper cruise review
Provider: Star Clippers
Member Image MP8.5OBX
1 review
Feb 2018
Three hours was to long not allot to see don't recommend it
Read MP8.5OBX's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cjm23mar
1 review
Feb 2018
It was a well organized tour from boarding the vans to the train. It was informative and entertaining. The train was double decker with closed cars on the bottom and upper open air covered with awning. The upper level is where the narrator speaks so it’s best to sit in the upper level. Complimentary drinks are served.
Read cjm23mar's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hupfamily
1 review
Feb 2018
A definite five star rating. We had a 0945 shore excursion to circle St Kitts. We had the bus portion first. It was a small minibus that held maybe 20 people. Slightly cramped but doable. Guide was excellent and kept up a constant dialog over the hour or so. Learned a lot of basic facts about the island and culture. Roads leave a lot to be desired and are very bumpy though. Arrived at the train station and our whole minibus was assigned to one car along with several others. Plenty of room down below in A/C or above in the open air. Great views from the top. Sound system was excellent and we heard all of the tour guides talk. Again very nice. Scenery was worth the price of the tickets alone. Both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks were included as part of the ticket price. Ride ended at another station where we boarded the same minibus for a return to the pier. Maybe a five minute ride. Note they do the same trip in reverse. That is, after we got off, new people got on and the train started off on another tour. You could have the tour start at either end.
Read hupfamily's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Edensmom
3 reviews
Feb 2018
We took the old train around the island and were entertained by a group of singers who were adorable, made more so by the rum drinks that were included. Not much to see really but a fun couple of hours.
Read Edensmom's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Yankee nut
1 review
Feb 2018
I enjoyed the ride but I think it was not worth the price I had to pay.
Read Yankee nut's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image theoz
4 reviews
Feb 2018
Would not recommend. It was expensive. What they don't tell you is you have an hour bus ride to the train. The train ride itself is 45 minutes long and you hardly see anything except grasses along side of the train. You catch brief glimpses of the ocean, but there is really nothing to see. The intercom system is horrible so you can barely hear the person speaking. They do serve you drinks - soda or alcohol and a sugar cookie. When it is over, you have a 15 to 20 minutes ride back to the ship. Would not do again and would not recommend this tour.
Read theoz's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SteakByTheOcean
1 review
Jan 2018
A great way to see the island, half by 30" gauge train (with alcoholic drinks!) and half by coach. An excursion with a nice difference
Read SteakByTheOcean's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image RJG1011
4 reviews
Jan 2018
Enjoyable way to see the scenery of St. Kitts and learn about the history. We felt the price was a bit high for what we received.
Read RJG1011's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links