Stavanger Lysefjord Excursion Reviews

The 42-kilometer Lysefjord is known for its vertical rock walls and Pulpit Rock, a natural rock formation rising more than 600 meters above the water.
Only wet day but a very pleasant cruise in the fiord.
Sail Date: July 2019
Only wet day but a very pleasant cruise in the fiord. Booked online and I believe the same company and route as P&O excursion but cheaper especially for children.
Only wet day but a very pleasant cruise in the fiord. Booked online and I believe the same company and route as P&O excursion but cheaper especially for children. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
we did the rib boat tour of the fjords...
Sail Date: June 2019
we did the rib boat tour of the fjords... it was exhilarating and amazing. It was the most beautiful thing I have seen.
we did the rib boat tour of the fjords... it was exhilarating and amazing. It was the most beautiful thing I have seen. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Boring , the snack stop for waffles was terrible
Sail Date: June 2019
Boring , the snack stop for waffles was terrible
Boring , the snack stop for waffles was terrible Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Another discovery tour!
Sail Date: June 2019
Another discovery tour! But in a different way. The name was Stavanger by sea and it took around 4 hours. There are no buses involved in this one but a ship furnished with a selection for coffee, juices and snacks. Location of ship can be ... Read More
Another discovery tour! But in a different way. The name was Stavanger by sea and it took around 4 hours. There are no buses involved in this one but a ship furnished with a selection for coffee, juices and snacks. Location of ship can be reached from the Nieuw Statendam docking by foot; embarkation was a mess and completely disorganize! We got there and found the ship’s outdoor spaces packed with people, once at the boarding area, a huge line up waiting to get in; this is too long to explain so just to make it a bit shorter, we were able to get in but when we saw the crowds we decided to get off after we learnt that behind that ship was another also loading passengers, so we went there, went in and happy to say, it was a smaller ship, not many people so it was very easy to move in and out or go up, down or inside as you pleased. We left port at the same time as the big one and didn’t see them again. The boat ride towards the area where all the attractions were is quite long (about 1 hour) and during the voyage we experienced an unbelievable and variable weather! Rain, strong winds, cloudy skies, full sun, it was quite disconcerting because you didn’t know where to go or for how long you would be in whatever place you went. At any rate, once we arrived to THE area, the weather became very pleasant, even quite warm. The scenery was beautifully striking cruising slowly along the Lysefjord where is situated one of the most stunning natural wonders of Norway, the promontory called Pulpit Rock located 1500 feet far above; we stopped by the Vagabonds Cave a place where destitute people used to hide running from the tax collector and in front of a huge waterfall, so close that we had to move inside to avoid getting soaked! In general it was a very pleasurable tour where we had many different experiences. To be recommended? If you like nature, cruising without much pressure, being able to take some rocking from the ship and weather permitting, relax under the sun, this one is for you. There was no Tour guide just some info coming thru the loudspeakers, this means you are on your own. Back to the starting point, we walked back around the interesting harbour to the ship, trying as much as possible to enjoy all the sights! And getting ready for the next port. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Second time on this cruise.
Sail Date: April 2019
Second time on this cruise. Scenery is stunning. new boat was big improvement in both space, ride and the commentary is much easier to be heard than on the older boats. very easy to get too just a short walk from the ship
Second time on this cruise. Scenery is stunning. new boat was big improvement in both space, ride and the commentary is much easier to be heard than on the older boats. very easy to get too just a short walk from the ship Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
The fjord cruise docks just behind where the Serenade docked, which made for a very quick and easy ...
Sail Date: August 2018
The fjord cruise docks just behind where the Serenade docked, which made for a very quick and easy walk. The cruise itself was fantastic and did not feel like it was three hours long.
The fjord cruise docks just behind where the Serenade docked, which made for a very quick and easy walk. The cruise itself was fantastic and did not feel like it was three hours long. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Twenty years before, I had hiked Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock) near Stavanger in the fog and rain.
Sail Date: August 2018
Twenty years before, I had hiked Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock) near Stavanger in the fog and rain. I had hoped to repeat the hike on this cruise. However, the stopover in Stavanger was not long enough. So, I did a cruise of Lysefjord so that ... Read More
Twenty years before, I had hiked Preikestolen (Pulpit Rock) near Stavanger in the fog and rain. I had hoped to repeat the hike on this cruise. However, the stopover in Stavanger was not long enough. So, I did a cruise of Lysefjord so that I could see Pulpit Rock from below. Unfortunately it was raining most of the time, and it was hot inside the main cabin with all the passengers on the tour. The air conditioning was not working on the boat; the ship personnel complained if we opened the doors to allow some fresh air into the main cabin. HAL should have a discussion with the tour operator about passenger comfort. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Loved the incredible views, seeing the goats and shoreline up close, and doing it for much less ...
Sail Date: August 2018
Loved the incredible views, seeing the goats and shoreline up close, and doing it for much less than the same Princess Shore Excursion.
Loved the incredible views, seeing the goats and shoreline up close, and doing it for much less than the same Princess Shore Excursion. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Great, comfortable boat road with more wonderful scenery!
Sail Date: July 2018
Great, comfortable boat road with more wonderful scenery!
Great, comfortable boat road with more wonderful scenery! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Stunning very picturesque out to pulpit rock, stop off for coffee and waffles only issue the ...
Sail Date: July 2018
Stunning very picturesque out to pulpit rock, stop off for coffee and waffles only issue the timings we woukd lije to have gkne to the nowegian oil abd petroleum museum we could have stayed an extra few hours in Stavanger
Stunning very picturesque out to pulpit rock, stop off for coffee and waffles only issue the timings we woukd lije to have gkne to the nowegian oil abd petroleum museum we could have stayed an extra few hours in Stavanger Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
We took a two hour boat trip through the local Fjords, past Lysefjord and under Pulpit Rock.
Sail Date: June 2018
We took a two hour boat trip through the local Fjords, past Lysefjord and under Pulpit Rock. Very enjoyable - the ferry had leather seats, picture windows, snacks for purchase on board and was not overly crowded. BTW this is the same ... Read More
We took a two hour boat trip through the local Fjords, past Lysefjord and under Pulpit Rock. Very enjoyable - the ferry had leather seats, picture windows, snacks for purchase on board and was not overly crowded. BTW this is the same vendor the cruise line uses but half the price if booked independently. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Beautiful trip in comfortable boat.
Sail Date: May 2018
Beautiful trip in comfortable boat. Departure point is minutes away from where the ship docks
Beautiful trip in comfortable boat. Departure point is minutes away from where the ship docks Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: MSC Cruises
Took the boat ride through Lysefjord to see the Pulpit Rock from the fjord.
Sail Date: May 2018
Took the boat ride through Lysefjord to see the Pulpit Rock from the fjord. Wonderful boat cruise w/ Rodne Fjord Cruise line - just a few hundred feet from where the Viking ship was docked. Gorgeous day on the water and the snack stop in ... Read More
Took the boat ride through Lysefjord to see the Pulpit Rock from the fjord. Wonderful boat cruise w/ Rodne Fjord Cruise line - just a few hundred feet from where the Viking ship was docked. Gorgeous day on the water and the snack stop in Helleren for the waffle & coffee & 'Viking Warrior' was fun. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Boat trip - could not see if sat in middle ...
Sail Date: April 2018
Boat trip - could not see if sat in middle ... great when we got to the fjord though - waffles also a bonus
Boat trip - could not see if sat in middle ... great when we got to the fjord though - waffles also a bonus Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Taken from the quay side next from the cruise ship up through the fjord Stopped for waffles& ...
Sail Date: February 2018
Taken from the quay side next from the cruise ship up through the fjord Stopped for waffles& coffee then on further for more photo opportunities and views
Taken from the quay side next from the cruise ship up through the fjord Stopped for waffles& coffee then on further for more photo opportunities and views Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
Brilliant time on the speedboats dispite weather
Sail Date: August 2017
Brilliant time on the speedboats dispite weather
Brilliant time on the speedboats dispite weather Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: P&O Cruises
This is a 3 hr cruise on the Lysefjord to Pulpit Rock and back.
Sail Date: August 2017
This is a 3 hr cruise on the Lysefjord to Pulpit Rock and back. Lots to view and the time went quickly.
This is a 3 hr cruise on the Lysefjord to Pulpit Rock and back. Lots to view and the time went quickly. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Again, easier and less expensive than ship offered excursion.
Sail Date: August 2017
Again, easier and less expensive than ship offered excursion. Booked online. Took a scenic peaceful trip through Lysefjord to Pulpit Rock after a walk through old town and the charming town of Stavenger.
Again, easier and less expensive than ship offered excursion. Booked online. Took a scenic peaceful trip through Lysefjord to Pulpit Rock after a walk through old town and the charming town of Stavenger. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Great boat tour.
Sail Date: August 2017
Great boat tour. A little hard to hear the guide in certain parts of the boat.
Great boat tour. A little hard to hear the guide in certain parts of the boat. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Stavanger is a newer city of about 125k people.
Sail Date: August 2017
Stavanger is a newer city of about 125k people. We got up early to watch the sail into port - but it is not recommended. There is a small 'old town' near the port. We took the boat tour to Lysefjord and Pulpit rock. There was ... Read More
Stavanger is a newer city of about 125k people. We got up early to watch the sail into port - but it is not recommended. There is a small 'old town' near the port. We took the boat tour to Lysefjord and Pulpit rock. There was occasional showers but I opted to sit up on deck anyway for the better view. The fjord was nice - there was a stop at a small restaurant for waffles/berries that were great. The family that ran it were very hospitable. The ship pilot pulled into some tight spaces for great photos. The Pulpit rock from below is not as impressive from the pictures taken from above. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Cunard Line
Clean, comfortable ferry-type ship with excellent facilities.
Sail Date: August 2017
Clean, comfortable ferry-type ship with excellent facilities. Fjord is beautiful, stopped for waffles at a stop on the trip.
Clean, comfortable ferry-type ship with excellent facilities. Fjord is beautiful, stopped for waffles at a stop on the trip. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
good trip ...booked from quayside 3hrs of pure enjoyment
Sail Date: July 2017
good trip ...booked from quayside 3hrs of pure enjoyment
good trip ...booked from quayside 3hrs of pure enjoyment Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Great boat tour of Lysefjord and Pulpit Rock.
Sail Date: July 2017
Great boat tour of Lysefjord and Pulpit Rock. Stops were made to feed the mountain goats and catch some water from a local waterfall for all to sample. Also, a final opportunity for waffles and coffee. The scenery on this tour was ... Read More
Great boat tour of Lysefjord and Pulpit Rock. Stops were made to feed the mountain goats and catch some water from a local waterfall for all to sample. Also, a final opportunity for waffles and coffee. The scenery on this tour was unbelievably spectacular. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Oceania Cruises
Great weather...great tour...great price.
Sail Date: July 2017
Great weather...great tour...great price. I booked independently. The boat wasn't too crowded, and we loved seeing the fjord and Pulpit Rock. Highly recommended.
Great weather...great tour...great price. I booked independently. The boat wasn't too crowded, and we loved seeing the fjord and Pulpit Rock. Highly recommended. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
We booked this harbor cruise once on shore as it was less expensive than through the ship).
Sail Date: July 2017
We booked this harbor cruise once on shore as it was less expensive than through the ship). It poured rain and the clouds and fog were very low so we didn't get to see the Pulpit Rock.
We booked this harbor cruise once on shore as it was less expensive than through the ship). It poured rain and the clouds and fog were very low so we didn't get to see the Pulpit Rock. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line