Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image neesiesc
1 review
Jun 2017
very good tour. The monkeys and parrots are always fun. The parrots will eat any buttons that you have on your clothing.
Read neesiesc's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mamabearjp
1 review
Jun 2017
It was cool. It was neat to see all the Iguanas just free roaming. I didn't realize that our kayaking and snorkeling came with this. It was fun to do after we were done with our excursion. We got to see the beautiful birds, monkeys, and a short tour of the little man made cave there. It was interesting. I would recommend it.
Read mamabearjp's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Justmediana
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Very hot day was taken on tour where air was not moving inside caves monkeys were GREAT.
Read Justmediana's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Txcamper
1 review
Jun 2017
We LOVED it! Our guide Christopher was excellent!!! We loved interacting with the monkey's and the parrots.
Read Txcamper's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mmtex
1 review
Jun 2017
Gumbalimba Preservation Park. This is a privately-owned preserve with a small collection of monkeys, iguanas, parrots, and macaws. Opportunity for easy nature walks and interactions with monkeys (formerly pets) and macaws. Pleasant but not spectacular experience.
Read Mmtex's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image louis0015
1 review
Jun 2017
Outstanding! The nature preserve was amazing: lots of animals and history from our guide made this a must do...
Read louis0015's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image daricurn
1 review
Apr 2017
If you want a very close encounter with monkeys this is your chance. This is our second time to Roatan and we did this the last time too. Loved it!
Read daricurn's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AxiomCruiser
1 review
Apr 2017
For this tour we had to meet up at 7:45am but it was worth it because we were one of the first groups in the park; while we were there, we had no crowds...very nice. The park is clean and the tour is good. We were able to take pics with macaws on our shoulders and with monkeys on our heads. They sure tell crazy stories about what those monkeys might do to you...I was scared to let them get on me. But, the monkeys are well trained and cute...no problems. The rope bridge is wiggly and fun...might be difficult for someone who has trouble walking. There are a few rock stairways to climb up not too difficult. We also saw giant iguanas. The park is on beach and there is a place to eat some burgers, hot dogs, ice cream etc..bathrooms and lockers. After the tour, there is free time to go to the beach or pool and/or get a snack. They have buses back every so often.
Read AxiomCruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mariegi
1 review
Apr 2017
LOVED the monkeys! The tour was quite long as we learned about pirate history and visited the "insect room" in addition to the monkeys and birds. We were able to return to "Monkey Town" (or any/all of the park or the beach - whatever your preference!) on our own after our tour ended which was also very cool. This tour was a favorite for all of us.
Read mariegi's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jmilchick
1 review
Apr 2017
Tied with a dolphin swim on another cruise for my all time favorite excursion.
Read jmilchick's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image k10_north
1 review
Mar 2017
Monkey's and Parrots and beach! This was a history lesson as well as a walk through lush rainforests. We got to get up close to Iguanas, hold a MCaw as well as have a monkey jump on us. Lots of walking so if you have trouble walking this isn't for you. No need to rent a locker if you have smaller bags/drinks. They have a place you can put your belongings before going to see the monkeys. These lockers are not locked so any personal items should be kept on your person or rent a locker. One of the best parts of this excursion was the beach that they have at the park. You can gain access without having to book for more $$ through the cruiseline. You will have time to catch the bus as they come every 30 mins or so. The beach was calm, quiet and you could snorkle the reef. There were people coming up to us trying to sell, but once I told them no a couple of times, they backed off and we were able to enjoy our time. Suggestions: -bring a small bag so you won't have to rent a locker. Keep cash on your person. -Don't book the excursion with beach! The beach if free if you go to the park -Check out the pool at the park -snorkle here. The cost is minimal, but so beautiful! - bring bug spray. They have these tiny black flies that will bite the heck out of you!
Read k10_north's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adjensen
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Had a blast at this park/animal sanctuary. Appreciated the care that the employees showed for the animals and birds.
Read adjensen's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ronda.magoon
1 review
Mar 2017
OMG THIS WAS AMAZING!! Ride through Roatan and experience culture, play with monkeys, explore nature, pose with exotic birds. This is a MUST do!! Guides on this tour were fantastic
Read ronda.magoon's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bwright9369
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Try to get the beautiful and talented Denise Mackenzie as your guide. She does an amazing job explaining island life, history, flora & fauna while on the 45 minute bus ride there. You get to spend time with free range monkeys who will take your glasses and cameras. There are photo ops with parrots too. Please support the native people and tip them. It will help keep costs down for cruisers in the long run. Bring $3 for the locker rental, money for lunch if you want it, purchase a video if you want, and gift shop. This is one of the few places left that lets you take your own photos. Challenge yourself and take the rope bridge across the river. I am old and over-weight. If I can do it, you can too. After the park, they shuttle you to the beach.
Read bwright9369's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pixiechic2016
1 review
Feb 2017
Our guide was awesome. We loved the monkeys and parrots the best.
Read pixiechic2016's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Gumbalimba Park
Member Image Flawless_1011
1 review
Feb 2017
At Roatan, Honduras we purchased a tour that took us to see the Monkeys and a stop at the beach. It was worth every penny, you actually get to get into the cage with the monkeys and they sit on your shoulders. It was one of (if not the best) excursion I’ve ever done. The beach was very nice as well. Beautiful water.
Read Flawless_1011's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wsm614
2 reviews
Feb 2017
The park was nice, not much of a beach. I would recommend to take the tour early and then go back to the ship if you want to swim.
Read wsm614's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sarita86
1 review
Feb 2017
This was a really good excursion. It was close by, so we got to spend a good amount of time there AND have quite a bit of time exploring the port. It was interesting and not too taxing physically. The birds and monkeys were super cute and although they have a photographer taking pictures of you holding them, they have no problem with you taking your own pictures.
Read Sarita86's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ladydi123
1 review
Jan 2017
Very interesting, long excursion though so not too much time after before ship was to leave. Loved the monkeys
Read ladydi123's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hunt1530
9 reviews
Jan 2017
Beatiful privately owned nature preserve with various species of animals including macaws, iguanas, and thieving monkeys. A little shabby around the edges. Beach and pool.
Read Hunt1530's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image msladybuggg
2 reviews
Jan 2017
The monkeys are the best beach area is not great including the vendors Do bring singles there are many opportunities to show your gratitude (6 times)
Read msladybuggg's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rgstoneinsc
1 review
Jan 2017
It was OK, but set up as a tourist trap.......not worth the money........ monkeys and macaws encounters very structured.
Read rgstoneinsc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Expensive but worth it, one of the best experiences. Monkeys were so interesting a little frightening..... Roads are terrible, rough ride to/from. Very nice beach but attacks from locals to buy junk.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fafnar
5 reviews
Dec 2016
Lots of fun with monkeys climbing on you and birds on your shoulders. Very family friendly.
Read Fafnar's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lyndamoreau
1 review
Dec 2016
The famous "monkey island." Dirty small bus took us there. Only a short time with the monkeys. Warning - if you can't stand for long period of time or walk don't go on this excursion. We are ok, but there were older folks huffing and puffing. Also, you really don't have time to buy the photos at the end. The woman is sooooooo slow.
Read lyndamoreau's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?