Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image Z3r0
1 review
Dec 2017
Gumbalimba Park This was one of the highlights of our 7 day Caribbean cruise. We did a combo excursion that included about an hour at this park so we were not able to try the ziplining but the wildlife was tremendous. Our favourite were the monkeys which were wild but well trained. We got to interact with a mommy and her baby who was asleep on her back for most of it. The pictures of the monkeys on your head is just so fun. There are also large iguanas, macaws, and a picturesque suspension bridge. Tabyana Beach We visited this beach as part of a combo excursion offered on our Norwegian cruise over Christmas. We had an area dedicted for us on the beach which was watched by security (but there are also lockers for a $5 rental fee if you want to be extra safe). We had heard the snorkelling here is on par with the great barrier reef so we rented snorkel gear and were taken out by a guide. We went through a school of fish right at the start, saw barracuda, parrot fish and beautiful coral. I wouldn’t say it was the best snorkeling I have done (saw a greater variety of sea life in Key Largo as well as in St. Lucia) but it was okay.
Read Z3r0's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image he1234
1 review
Dec 2017
friendly staff and good overall up close experience with the birds and monkeys in the park.
Read he1234's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wolfwalker
1 review
Dec 2017
Best of all the tours. The monkeys and birds were wonderful and the cost of the pictures was unbelievably good!
Read wolfwalker's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rainey13
1 review
Dec 2017
Highlight of the excursions! The birds and the Capuchins were fascinating to meet up close and personal. The park is a wonderful preservation & sanctuary place.
Read Rainey13's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image morkandmindy
1 review
Dec 2017
The day was cold and raining with high winds. But we donned our rain ponchos and had a great time with monkeys on our head and parrots everywhere! Loved it.
Read morkandmindy's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sparks1093
6 reviews
Nov 2017
Great interactions with the monkeys and birds, saw a lot of wildlife. They only take cash for most things, including the pictures ($14 for the CD containing all of the pictures of one person). You may take your own pictures too.
Read sparks1093's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image topaz123
4 reviews
Nov 2017
Best part was the 1/2 hour driving to the park. Some things to see, but nothing overly dramatic here....trained monkeys for 5 minutes, lush gardens,etc. Not so sure you need a guide.
Read topaz123's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image HALOnlyCruiser
1 review
Nov 2017
The ride to the park was 30 minutes of dodging and sometimes hitting potholes, some larger than others. But there was a good view of life on the island. The Park itself was very interesting and entertaining. There were iguanas sized from inches to feet. They will approach, but they are herbivores. The people of Roatan eat these critters. The interaction with very colorful parrots and cute monkeys was fun, and there were people to take your picture with the birds and monkeys, or you can take your own shots. The two other visits in the park: a "Pirate Cave" and an Insectarium were not splediferous, but at least they were cool inside. The tour of the park requires a lot of walking, up stairs and hills, including crossing a swinging bridge. There is an alternate route offered for "Chickens". There is a refreshment bar and a small gift shop. I did not go to the beach, but was so hot by that point (even in November) all I wanted to do was get back to the cool ship and shower!
Read HALOnlyCruiser's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Chasing the Sun
1 review
Nov 2017
Lunch was very good, it was surprising how many large animals they had, and the snorkeling was very good.
Read Chasing the Sun's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amayah
1 review
Oct 2017
Interesting ride to the park which took us over the ridge to include views of life on Roatan Island. The animal park was clean, with various activities that one could choose. Our tour included seeing the monkey and parrots.
Read Amayah's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cesavant
1 review
Oct 2017
Roatan was our favorite port as far as the port itself. There were several shops and everything was nicely spaced out. Our Gumbalimba Park tour guide was awesome and we had a great time at Tabyana Beach!
Read cesavant's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dwveale53
2 reviews
Oct 2017
Had a great time with the monkeys and birds. The guide was great and informative. the Island is Beautiful..
Read dwveale53's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TNeff
1 review
Sep 2017
Great interaction with Monkeys and Birds. The beach was beautiful and not very crowded at all!
Read TNeff's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aggiefox95
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Loved the monkeys and macaws. The park is well designed and put together. lockers for rent, food for sale, beach available. Loved it.
Read aggiefox95's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image neesiesc
1 review
Jun 2017
very good tour. The monkeys and parrots are always fun. The parrots will eat any buttons that you have on your clothing.
Read neesiesc's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mamabearjp
1 review
Jun 2017
It was cool. It was neat to see all the Iguanas just free roaming. I didn't realize that our kayaking and snorkeling came with this. It was fun to do after we were done with our excursion. We got to see the beautiful birds, monkeys, and a short tour of the little man made cave there. It was interesting. I would recommend it.
Read mamabearjp's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Justmediana
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Very hot day was taken on tour where air was not moving inside caves monkeys were GREAT.
Read Justmediana's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Txcamper
1 review
Jun 2017
We LOVED it! Our guide Christopher was excellent!!! We loved interacting with the monkey's and the parrots.
Read Txcamper's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mmtex
1 review
Jun 2017
Gumbalimba Preservation Park. This is a privately-owned preserve with a small collection of monkeys, iguanas, parrots, and macaws. Opportunity for easy nature walks and interactions with monkeys (formerly pets) and macaws. Pleasant but not spectacular experience.
Read Mmtex's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image louis0015
1 review
Jun 2017
Outstanding! The nature preserve was amazing: lots of animals and history from our guide made this a must do...
Read louis0015's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image daricurn
1 review
Apr 2017
If you want a very close encounter with monkeys this is your chance. This is our second time to Roatan and we did this the last time too. Loved it!
Read daricurn's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AxiomCruiser
1 review
Apr 2017
For this tour we had to meet up at 7:45am but it was worth it because we were one of the first groups in the park; while we were there, we had no crowds...very nice. The park is clean and the tour is good. We were able to take pics with macaws on our shoulders and with monkeys on our heads. They sure tell crazy stories about what those monkeys might do to you...I was scared to let them get on me. But, the monkeys are well trained and cute...no problems. The rope bridge is wiggly and fun...might be difficult for someone who has trouble walking. There are a few rock stairways to climb up not too difficult. We also saw giant iguanas. The park is on beach and there is a place to eat some burgers, hot dogs, ice cream etc..bathrooms and lockers. After the tour, there is free time to go to the beach or pool and/or get a snack. They have buses back every so often.
Read AxiomCruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mariegi
1 review
Apr 2017
LOVED the monkeys! The tour was quite long as we learned about pirate history and visited the "insect room" in addition to the monkeys and birds. We were able to return to "Monkey Town" (or any/all of the park or the beach - whatever your preference!) on our own after our tour ended which was also very cool. This tour was a favorite for all of us.
Read mariegi's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jmilchick
1 review
Apr 2017
Tied with a dolphin swim on another cruise for my all time favorite excursion.
Read jmilchick's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image champagnenik
1 review
Mar 2017
This was my favorite! We booked the gumbalina preserve and beach trip. We went to the preserve first and played with monkeys and parrots. Really cool. Then took a van to the beach where lunch was served. Good food and alcohol for purchase. The water was clear and amazing. I then paid 10 for a kayak guide on the beach to go out snorkeling....amazing!!
Read champagnenik's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links