Cozumel Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting and Discover Mexico Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting and Discover Mexico cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Taste Mexico's finest white and aged tequilas while exploring the marvelous variety of this world-renowned liquor.
Member Image ano
4 reviews
Jun 2017
This was really misrepresented. It said you will visit a Jose Cuervo "facility" so we are thinking factory or plantation. NOPE. Its a Jose Cuervo gift shop with an extra room with some tables for tasting. One couple got wise to this and left the tour before boarding the bus. We stuck it out. The tasting was fine but it was a hour promotion of Jose Cuervo. Then had, surprise, a stop in the Jose Cuervo gift shop. Next was a "Mexican lunch with 6 exotic salsas." Nope. We got chicken or pork tacos, and a Margareta, but not even one salsa or chip in sight. We did visit a cheesy Mexican museum and small scale models of Mexican artifacts, all for just $70. It was bad, and a total misrepresentation of what we SHOULD have received.
Read ano's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BlufftonCruisers
1 review
Apr 2017
Rocio was the best tour guide. Very knowledgeable and thorough. Enjoyed learning about how tequila is made and what the different types and classes of tequila contain. Would definitely take this tour again. It included a nice Mexican lunch after tasting four different tequilas, which was very good.
Read BlufftonCruisers's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rondiggy26
1 review
Apr 2017
Our Tour Guide, Carlos De Alba, was absolutely wonderful! His knowledge of Tequila, Chocolate and the United States of Mexico was superb! It was great! We each even got a Tequila Aficionado certificate! :)
Read Rondiggy26's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Where To Now Travel
Member Image sierra28546
4 reviews
Apr 2017
Discover Mexico is a very awesome experience, Jose Cuervo is not a tequilla tasting as much as a lesson in appreciating and understanding Tequilla! Had a blast, learned a ton, great lunch and enjoyed the day thoroughly.
Read sierra28546's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image newf4024
1 review
Feb 2017
Have a good time and learned a lot about tequila.
Read newf4024's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coparry
1 review
Feb 2017
This was overall a good excursion. Perhaps a little longer than necessary. Got to make chocolate from cocoa beans and taste many varieties of tequila. Very good prices at the shop. We bought some merchandise and tequila here.
Read coparry's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursions.com
Member Image TNcrewzur
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We got to make our own chocolate, taste various types of tequila and have a homemade taco lunch. Lots of history. Very good excursion.
Read TNcrewzur's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: ShoreTrips
Member Image teriugogirl
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We did the Mexican Fiesta not listed on this list. Was wonderful way to see the local part of Cozumel with a tour guide that was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. Her name was Isis and she was delightful. Tasted tequila and had margaritas. We also went to a Mexican restaurant for lunch. Food was great. Dancers and Singers were wonderful. Would recommend this excursion to anyone. There is some walking but not too much.
Read teriugogirl's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gailford
1 review
Jan 2017
I would highly recommend this tour. Martin C was an excellent tour guide.
Read gailford's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KleinLM
1 review
Jan 2017
Loved this! The one highlight of our trip!
Read KleinLM's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ruthcal
1 review
Dec 2016
A nice brief tour on bus of Cozumel and nice time as Tequila tasting.
Read ruthcal's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Reyeskum
1 review
Dec 2016
We hired one of the horse carousel just outside the pier and it was a great experience. The man was very nice, smart and polite. We had a free tequila tour, learn about the process and tasted different tequilas including some with flavors.
Read Reyeskum's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Horse Carousel
Member Image GadgetExpert
1 review
Dec 2016
Different look into Tequila. Guide Bou was outstanding. Provided a lot of interesting and relevant information about Tequila, it's origin, how it's produced today. Oh, and got to drink a few margaritas!
Read GadgetExpert's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rolosmom
2 reviews
Dec 2016
tequila and me don't talk much at 10 am. That's all I got on this one
Read Rolosmom's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MickeyandLV
1 review
Oct 2016
This features models of Mexico buildings. The models are good. Outside and it was hot and sunny
Read MickeyandLV's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NACL
1 review
Jul 2016
Enjoyed the history of Tequila and the Tasting
Read NACL's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image az62
2 reviews
Mar 2016
They pick you up by taxi and take you on a very short ride to the tequila tasting rooms. The person who spoke was quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The had three tequilas to sample and the presentation was lovely. The only problem was that no one can really drink three glasses of tequila (each glass had about 3 ounces, so you would have ended up drinking 9 ounces of tequila). They really should have saved some of the tequila and made mixed drinks with it. They did include a small margarita as part of your fee, but the wasted tequila would have made about two more drinks. They had the flying men as part of their show. All in all, it was a nice way to spend a few hours, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it unless you think you can drink an entire glass of straight tequila.
Read az62's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lovefuninthesun
5 reviews
Dec 2015
Included: tequila seminar and tasting, taco buffet, margaritas; Mexican history, culture, art, and folk dancers; Jose Cuervo/Discover Mexico gift shop. Very much fun, entertaining and educational. Some of our fellow tourists, however, didn't read the small print describing the cultural aspects of the tour and complained a lot -- they were just expecting tequila and tacos. But we enjoyed it all. Our only complaint was that it was advertised as a 3-hour tour, but we were at the facility 4 1/2 hours, which did not leave us much time to do the other shopping in Cozumel we wanted to do.
Read Lovefuninthesun's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rq27606
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Outstanding. If you have alredy seen the ruins, this is the excursion to take, See reviews on tripadvisor.
Read rq27606's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mebrown48
1 review
Aug 2015
We got a tour guide who gave us tour of the city and took us in the tequila tour and we had lunch at a small local Restaurant.
Read Mebrown48's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image budhakitty
4 reviews
May 2015
This was the second time we have taken tis excursion. It was so fun the first time, we had to share it with others! It is a great lesson in Mexican history and tequila making. The tour guide, Martin, is the best around. So educational and so entertaining! They serve top shelf tequila and making incredible margaritas that I cannot quite recreate at home. Besides the fun, Martin, and the tequila, we partially went back just for the margaritas. It is totally worth the money!!
Read budhakitty's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tead102
1 review
Apr 2015
Fun and interesting experience. We all learned a lot more about Tequila than I ever imagined. Mexicans take Tequila as seriously as Itslians or French take wine. The small museum and Mayan rain ritual we also saw were bonuses.
Read Tead102's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bwest3930
1 review
Apr 2015
Memo, our guide, was excellent. This tour is wonderful. Memo makes sure you have a great time, enjoy Tequila, learn about Mexico, and have a wonderful lunch. Highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed.
Read bwest3930's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Handlebars92708
1 review
Apr 2015
EXCELLENT! Our guide was the greatest! Lunch and drinks also excellent.
Read Handlebars92708's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chilly Willy
2 reviews
Mar 2015

Another 4 hour tour, where we started with a drink of Marguerittas, then we saw a short movie about the history of Cozumel. We walked around the park and were shown miniature replicas of when the Spanish came to Cozumel. Then we went to the chocolate making factory, where we made chocolate which was lots of fun and were given a taste of a hot chocolate drink made from the chocolate.. We then had a taste of 3 different types of Tequilla and then off we went to a Tacos buffet with different types of meats and of course we had a choice of drinks, one of which was a Marguerita. The guide was very knowledgeable and it was very interesting to learn all about Tequila and how it is processed.

Read Chilly Willy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?