Skagway Glacier Point Wilderness Safari Excursion Reviews

Skagway Glacier Point Wilderness Safari cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Begin your adventure boarding an enclosed boat designed for marine wildlife viewing and photography. Watch for whales and sea lions! After a short drive across the forested glacial moraines, and a quick walk, board a stable voyager canoe and paddle toward the face of the massive glacier. Enjoy the intense blue of the ice sharply contrasting the polished granite walls and vibrant green forest.
Member Image CharlieCharlieCharlie
1 review
Aug 2017
We took an enclosed power boat tour with informative guided narration and discussion of the area along a fjord, seeing wildlife, waterfalls and distant glaciers as we traveled to the glacier point wilderness area. We took a bus to a base camp area to put on rubber boots and life vests, then hiked a path through a gorgeous forested area to load small groups into canoe. We paddled a small amount to get us into deeper water, then motored to the shore closer to the Davidson Glacier. What an amazing adventure with great informative guides. We got as close as we could with the canoes, then we hiked over glacial rocks to get up close to the glacier, not close enough to touch, but a large chunk of ice was fished out. It was quite a hike across the rocks but fairly easy to do. Such a blast and a must do!!
Read CharlieCharlieCharlie's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image QJKM
1 review
Aug 2017
Alaska Shore Tours- picked up from the dock right at the ship. Van shuttle to the boat. The weather cooperated again, clear enough to let me sit outside on deck on the 1.5 hour trip to Glacier Point and get good photos, not through windows. Stopped at a waterfall. It was quite chilly out there, but worth it. Then up the beach to the bus, bus to shed. They had said they had boots for all sizes. I guess cut up the back boots did fit my legs, but didn't mention the water crossings would be over the cut, so I did a lot of hiking with boots full of water and glacier silt. Canoe paddling was literally about 30 seconds to push off from shallows. All the rain earlier had made the final river before the glacier impassable, so we couldn't get up to the glacier face. Still close and beautiful. Outboard motor wouldn't start on the way back, so we paddled until it finally did- enough to feel it the next day, but not too bad. As the only fat girl on the tour, I was happy to make it in mid-pack on the way back. One boot had suctioned on to my foot enough to need assistance in removal. Then quite generous fresh turkey sandwiches on some spindly little picnic tables. I endeavored not to flip the table while a juvenile eagle tested his wings overhead. Back to the beach away from those tables asap, which was full of flat skipping rocks. I stayed inside on the way back to hear the naturalist talk, we stopped a couple more times. Van back to ship. I chose not to shop in Skagway.
Read QJKM's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Tours
Member Image Jkoppen
1 review
Aug 2017
We loved the remoteness of getting to this glacier, and be able to walk right up to it. Quite an experience!
Read Jkoppen's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Smit2916
1 review
Aug 2017
Venture to Glacier Point was amazing - guides were great, knowledgeable and knew their history of the area. We were so close too the Glacier which made it a terrific experience.
Read Smit2916's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image anoodle7
1 review
Jul 2017
This was amazing and I felt like it was the best excursion of the trip. Kids had a blast. Definitely worth the money.
Read anoodle7's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Teacher on a trip
1 review
Jun 2017
By far my favorite!!! The description for it is out-dated. It requires walking about 3 miles total mostly in the rain boots the provide. We got up close and personal with the glacier and saw lots of animals and waterfalls on the boat ride over. The guides and boat driver made the trip so special. Super personable, fun, and informative!! Want to go back to glacier bay asap!
Read Teacher on a trip's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image V1k1ng666
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Wonderful trip into the wilderness.
Read V1k1ng666's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kaylorcc
1 review
May 2017
Very nice excursion to a glacier. Two things: 1) you cannot touch the glacier (they only let you get so close, and there is a stream that separates the beach from the glacier), and 2) although we don't get seasick and aren't really bothered by rough seas, I want to caution that if this is something that affects you, the trip out there was EXTREMELY bumpy. Again, not a problem for us, but definitely could be for others.
Read kaylorcc's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Garmanr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great guides. Boat trip and canoe ride was awesome. Plain turkey sandwich for lunch so don't expect salmon feast. Walked right up close to a huge glacier.
Read Garmanr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jszoke
1 review
Aug 2016
Amazing adventure! We took a speed ferry out past Haines to a small beach where we were met by self-described "Alaska Hippies". These young men were a blast! They were super knowledgeable about the area and the tour. We took canoes out to the Davidson Glacier. It is gorgeous! I was bummed that it was flooded so we couldn't get close enough to walk on it. This tour is a true Alaska Adventure.
Read jszoke's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image nikestx
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing views of the glacier, we were able to walk right up to the tip of it. Fun-loving tour guides.
Read nikestx's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AvgMom2
17 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked online for Glacier Point Wilderness Safari – a 5.5 hr excursion. It was exciting to see the Davidson Glacier up close and be able to spend some time there. Jacket (if needed), boots (you should wear socks), and life vest are provided. The path going down the river is not even, as well as walking towards the glacier. So if you have mobility issues, this excursion may not be for you. Afterwards, they provided turkey sandwiches and bottles of water for everyone. One note of caution - for the duration of the trip, there’s no bathroom anywhere other than the outhouses where we pick up our boots. Try not to drink too much to avoid using the facility, which, according to my husband, was rather unpleasant. Also, four large cruise ships docked here the same day. If you want to book any tours, do it as soon as possible to avoid disappointments.
Read AvgMom2's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Alaska Excursions
Member Image meganearley
1 review
Jul 2016
We were fortunate to go to Davidson glacier and P able to touch it during summit and go in it. This requires a hearty soul, as we rode out of Skagway Harbor in rough water, to a bus on glacier point, Then after getting ponchos issued, we hiked to the canoes. We did paddle a little bit, and then engines took over to get us to glacier point. We traveled through wind and rain, but as God would have it we got to the glacier and it stopped raining. The best adventure ever! But it is not easy unless you are physically well.
Read meganearley's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: alaska excursions.
Member Image Palawala
1 review
Jul 2016
Best tour! Highly recommend! The staff is wonderful. This is a life changing tour.
Read Palawala's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image MB1969Traveler
1 review
Jul 2016
amazing; our favorite excursion. we were able to get right up to the glacier and touch it. the guides were also very friendly and informative. a really fun time. even the boat ride from Skagway is fun and interesting.
Read MB1969Traveler's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Bklyn11214
1 review
Jun 2016
Boat ride to island where we got into canoes to get up close and personal with Davidson glacier. Tour guides were friendly and informative and getting that close to the glacier was simply awe inspiring.
Read Bklyn11214's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Newcomkj
1 review
Jun 2016
Excellent - Guides really know their stuff and have fun doing it. Great day at the glacier. Canoes are motorized so not stressful. Short walk to canoes through forest may be tough for people with walking difficulties.
Read Newcomkj's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruiser4life22
1 review
May 2016
Excellent - lots of fun. Boat ride is bumpy and long. Tour Guides are awesome!
Read cruiser4life22's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WECoyote
2 reviews
May 2016
This is also the same tour the cruise lines book. Our shipmates were on the same boat as us. We took an hour+ cruise through the fiord to the glacier embarkation point. A short bus ride through the rain forest took us to an area where we donned rubber boots and life vests. A half a mile walk through the rain forest got us to our 30 person canoe. We took them up the glacial runoff river for a couple of miles to sand bars in front of Davidson Glacier. We walked across the sand bars and forded runoff streams as we worked our way close to the glacier. We were stopped within about 300 yards of the glacier by the runoff river which was too deep and swift to cross. We were told that we got closer than most groups and I have no reason to doubt them. We got fantastic pictures including a set of bear tracks on the sand bar behind us. They were pretty darn fresh, too. Even the picnic lunch was good. Our boat trip back took us next to a sea-lion resting area where we got up close and personal with hundreds if not a thousand endangered Steer Sea-Lions. Again, we had clear warm weather that is so unusual for the Alaskan coast.
Read WECoyote's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Excursions
Member Image elehuak
3 reviews
May 2016
The most amazing thing to do. Not everyone can say "i walked on a glacier". even though it doesnt like you are walking on a glacier, you more look like you are walking on the moon, you are on a glacier. Tour guides really appreciate you coming because they dont get to see the town/family/friends much. and they serve you lunch. a nice sandwhich/chips/fruit/juice/water.
Read elehuak's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clb5
1 review
Aug 2015
Much easier canoeing -- they have motors. Great experience on glacier.
Read clb5's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image euroy
1 review
Jul 2015
a long day and a very nice day. including Kayaks and walk to the glacier. the only downer - the guide on the ship to the glacier point - her name is magen i think - couldn't stop talking stupidly for a miunte - R/T - Annoyinggggggg!
Read euroy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mrshammer
1 review
Jul 2015
Really wonderful adventure, which began with an hour long boat ride into the Alaskan wilderness. We show eagles and seals on the way as well as beautiful waterfalls. We arrived at the most stunning field filled with flowers and wild strawberries and has a wonderful picnic lunch. The strawberries were yummy. After lunch we took a bus to an area where we put on boots and a life vest, then into a canoe for a thrilling trip to Davidson Glacier. The guides were amazing. The love they have for Alaska was very clear. I highly recommend this excursion.
Read mrshammer's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MBHMarietta
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the canoe ride to get up close to the glacier. Very informative and fun guides. Boat ride to the wilderness area was a bit rough on our morning ride over but return trip was much better. Excellent excursion.
Read MBHMarietta's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ravenmb
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The wind was blowing, so the water was rough. The ride to Glacier Point was a very bumpy and stuffy hour and a half inside a small high speed boat, but it was soooo worth it. When you get to the beach, you have a very brief lunch (it might have been cut short because our boat ride took longer than usual), then load into a bus for a ride through the woods. On the bus ride we met Johnny "Casanova" and his silly fun-loving spirit was infectious. At the top of the hill you start gearing up in head to toe rubber and everyone was grinning because suddenly you felt like you were on a capital A Adventure. Donning life vests over the whole silly ensemble, we tottered down trough the woods to a creek where we loaded into canoes and rowed off toward the glacier. I cannot wait to do it again, maybe in 8 years or so so we can bring our soon-to-be-born daughter.
Read ravenmb's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links