Dubrovnik Cable Car Excursion Reviews

Dubrovnik Cable Car cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The original Dubrovnik cable car was built back in 1969 and was used by visitors and the locals who wanted to enjoy a magnificent view of Dubrovnik Old City and the surrounding area. Until the war in 1991, more than 2.5 million people were transferred to the top of Srdj Hill. After its destruction in the war, it remained in disrepair until it was restored and reopened in 2010.
Member Image huandbo1991
1 review
Oct 2017
Walked to the cable car by myself (a very short uphill walk) and bought tickets. The rain had stopped, the view was fantastic, and the war memorial museum on the summit was very profound, though obviously told from a Croatian point of view
Read huandbo1991's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image keno940
2 reviews
Oct 2017
The cable car portion was a great opportunity to get some excellent photos of the walled city of Dubrovnik. It was followed by a tour of the walled city and some free time on your own. The only down side is that every cruise ship tour has a stop here so it was terribly crowded which dampened the experience.
Read keno940's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image 56schiff
3 reviews
Oct 2017
Second visit to Dubrovnik.....was curious what it would be like after the war. It's beautiful, little sign of any conflict. Loved walking through the old town, great lunch and did take the "new" cable car to the top with the magnificent view of Dubrovnik and the surrounding area. Well worth it!
Read 56schiff's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image abknowles2
1 review
Sep 2017
We climbed stairs, and stairs and stairs (only one passage goes through the wall to the cable car..and it is not marked. Just ask.) And it was so worth it. Buy your ticket at the base. Looking up so high..then down at sunset from the cable car...spectacular view. So worth the money! Our favourite city on the cruise.
Read abknowles2's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Paid at the base cable car station
Member Image KarsurUK
1 review
Jul 2017
Excellent views, well organised, City Walls walk was well worth it
Read KarsurUK's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image conniecowan
1 review
Mar 2017
Took the cable car up to the top of Mr. Srd to view old Dubrovnik and out to Cavtaat. Cavtat is a pretty little town so go if you want to see a bit of countryside.
Read conniecowan's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ofbp Walt
3 reviews
Mar 2017
worth the 2 mile walk up the stairs....
Read ofbp Walt's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Directly at cable car station
Member Image Sunseeker1001
6 reviews
Mar 2017
Enjoyed seeing the fort without having to do the strenuous walk. The views fromt the top of the cable car were awesome. We enjoyed the time we had on top to do some independent walking about and seeing some of the remaining walls from the upper fort.
Read Sunseeker1001's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Kathleen Thulin
1 review
Mar 2017
Loved the panoramic view of the walled city and then the cable car ride down!
Read Kathleen Thulin's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image BigMac1
1 review
Oct 2016
Cable car really adds to visit with wonderful views. More time to experience restaurant would be good
Read BigMac1's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Tess8766
1 review
Sep 2016
Despite the inclement weather the views were stunning. If you have the time book a table by the window in the restaurant at the top of the cable ride.
Read Tess8766's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image LowPas1186
1 review
Sep 2016
This was part of the overall excursion and it was ok, but I believe that we could have DIY this ourselves and seen the same things at a cheaper price.
Read LowPas1186's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kirra Cruiser
1 review
Aug 2016
Crowded site, but view worth while.
Read Kirra Cruiser's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Presto2
7 reviews
Aug 2016
We did a half day excursion which covered the cable car, with the most amazing views of Dubrovnik and a short stay in a local port Cavtat. This was a very pleasant stop and the views of the coastline from the coach brilliant. It was a lovely way to see the local scenery and it gave us plenty of time to see the old town in the afternoon. We walked the walls and had the chance for a meal in the old harbour area. A fabulous day.
Read Presto2's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image abw1977
1 review
Aug 2016
Incredible views over a beautiful city.
Read abw1977's full Marella Celebration cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image emlustri
1 review
Jul 2016
This was well worth the monet for the incredible view. Some of the best pictures we got, and the most beautiful panoramic views were from the top of the cable car ride.
Read emlustri's full Marella Dream cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image graeagleca
1 review
Jun 2016
Great city... loved the view from cable car.
Read graeagleca's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CJulieJones
1 review
Jun 2016
We could easily of done the cable car on our own and saved a lot of money. Be warned the toilets at the top of the cable car, there are only 2 ladies toilets and hundreds of people queuing for them. There are buses from outside the port which will take you to the bus station, from there it is a 5 minute walk to the cable car.
Read CJulieJones's full Marella Dream cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image turbobob
1 review
May 2016
We got the first cable car up, by the time we came down the line was multiple cars long. The "tour" through the old city was enough to get us oriented
Read turbobob's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AWW3
1 review
Oct 2015
What a view of the old city! Walking tour of city was excellent
Read AWW3's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Taffy 1
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved it.
Read Taffy 1's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Osloboy
5 reviews
Jun 2015
THe tour was boring, should have done this independently, and the guide was not good enought to keep the Group together and in speaking so we could hear and understand.
Read Osloboy's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jaycruze
1 review
Jul 2013

Stunning views from atop, and I really liked seeing the fort, complete with remnants of the shelling it took during the 91-92 war there. Also a bit of a breeze

Read jaycruze's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image usc76
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Enjoyed the vast overview of the area.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image UniCruiser
1 review
Apr 2013

Walk to downtown is about 35- 40 minutes so we booked an excursion for the cable car and you can walk downhill to the downtown area.

Read UniCruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links