Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image Mark Banner
1 review
Sep 2017
Stunning scenery, fantastic train ride!
Read Mark Banner's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AnnaRocks
1 review
Sep 2017
The cruise excursion price was better than external excursion companies, so do your research. Do the full tour - the train and the drive into the Yukon. It's worth the money.
Read AnnaRocks's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image artkat
1 review
Sep 2017
We took the shorter trip - not the full day and it was a perfect length. Excellent views, great commentary.
Read artkat's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image traveller00
1 review
Sep 2017
This was a good tour, and took several hours. There's still plenty of time left to visit Skagway town. We walked past a theatre and watced a show there (they offered 10% discount to entice us).
Read traveller00's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bluenose 47
18 reviews
Sep 2017
Very worthwhile. Incredible views. We had the best viewing day of the season, according to the guide.
Read Bluenose 47's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rmcavay
1 review
Sep 2017
Must do this while you are in Skagway. Excellent trip with outstanding views.
Read rmcavay's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jennyanndiana
1 review
Sep 2017
This isn't just a beautiful ride through the mountains but also a great chance to learn more about the great Yukon gold rush of the 1890's. The guide gives fascinating information about the history and the hardships faced by those trying to strike it rich. At one point you can actually still see a portion of the narrow original trail. If you're feeling brave, you can stand out on the platform between cars and look down with nothing but the railing between you and a spectacular drop. Coaches provide a restroom and free water. We took the shorter version of this excursion which did not require passports; next time I would love to take the longer excursion into the Yukon.
Read Jennyanndiana's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Grazer5
1 review
Sep 2017
The train was a great trip and the guide was quite good.
Read Grazer5's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: White Pass & Yukon Railway
Member Image Blacker
1 review
Sep 2017
Amazing and very informative tour. Scenery was SPECTACULAR !!
Read Blacker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: White Pass Railway
Member Image RD29P5
1 review
Sep 2017
Small disappointment here, I had thought the trip was round trip on the train, turns out we did the first half in a bus. Being over 6 foot and it seems like most buses are not designed for anyone over 5'8" leg room wise it was a challenge. Overall the experience was very good, just not what I thought I had bought. The train ride itself was great. There is so much to see along the route, that it is truly an experience for everyone. Just thinking about building the rail road, and the hardship's endured by those who made the trek prior to it being built makes you proud of what can be accomplished by humans when we put our minds and backs into something.
Read RD29P5's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image landsx2
1 review
Sep 2017
Enjoyed this excursion immensely. Rode through the beautiful mountains and listened to our guide provide historical information regarding the gold rush and miners. Highly recommend.
Read landsx2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mseckora
1 review
Sep 2017
Enjoyed the tour up to the White pass and the view. Amazing. Recommend going on this.
Read mseckora's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: White Pass Train
Member Image EthelMertz
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Had a great time, the scenery was great, stopped for lunch and saw a lot during the trip, including a couple of bears. Wonderful trip
Read EthelMertz's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours
Member Image edrobichaud
1 review
Sep 2017
added the bus extension to White Horse
Read edrobichaud's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image timberwolves cruise
1 review
Sep 2017
really beautiful scenery and well looked after by our guide jamie
Read timberwolves cruise's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sweet Ginny
2 reviews
Sep 2017
A must do when in Skagway. Informative with breathtaking views!
Read Sweet Ginny's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kenny654
1 review
Sep 2017
A spectacular and thrilling ride with incredible scenery and plenty of history and information from the on-board guides.
Read kenny654's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image whitehousecomp
2 reviews
Sep 2017
We were booked on the 9.00 train but when our tender finally docked the train had left which upset a lot of people. We spent 3 hours in Skagway looking round before we got back to the ship and too the 12.45 train. Very impressed that some coaches had wheelchair lifts and were reserved for disable passangers. The train journey is awsome and should not be missed - the scenery is out of this world!
Read whitehousecomp's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ohjames
1 review
Sep 2017
Enjoyable and scenic. 3 hours of pure Alaska.
Read ohjames's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sweetnessinseattle
1 review
Sep 2017
I booked this White Pass and Yukon Railway online. The only drawback is that you'd have to walk about 10 minutes to the train depot. We didn't mind because we were going to walk around town after the railway ride anyway. The train was not packed so we could choose our seats. Make sure to sit on the left side going up, and go outside to take pictures. It's beautiful!
Read sweetnessinseattle's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: White Pass & Yukon Railway
Member Image critic1965April
1 review
Sep 2017
the train needs an open air car where people can get out and take pictures without having to fight for a 2ft space or take pictures thru a dirty window
Read critic1965April's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tcjones51
1 review
Sep 2017
A very scenic train ride. Up and back on the same line. Guide was informative and nice. Best part, salmon were running and as the trip began the creek that parallels the tracks was full of salmon swimming up stream and dead ones floating in the stream after they had spawned.
Read tcjones51's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image floridasnoflake
1 review
Sep 2017
The hype for this train was big and it was slated as the thing to do, but we just hit it on the wrong day! The train broke down that morning so it was running 2 hours or so late. So we were stuck on the bus waiting in Fraser, BC (middle of nowhere) (in freezing cold and rain) for at least an hour and a half. Then we got on the train and it was so foggy we couldn't even see anything so it was kind of a waste. It was neat to go on the train, but we just had bad luck.
Read floridasnoflake's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image janklo08
2 reviews
Sep 2017
Except for train breaking down--no food available, only water and we were on that train for about 4-5 hours.
Read janklo08's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image katamarom
1 review
Aug 2017
Despite the rain we enjoyed ourselves. Very comfortable that the train actually comes very near to the cruise ship. And on the train, the ladies did their best to entertain us by pointing out interesting and remarkable points along the route. And this excursion left time for a walk through the main street before the ship sailed again.
Read katamarom's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises

Sponsored links