Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating 1028 Reviews
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Details & Booking
Member Image luvtazzie
Sep 2018
Took the bus over and the train back. Had a great time! Beautiful scenery.
Read luvtazzie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: M&M Tours
Member Image mailladyvickie
Sep 2018
This was the best way to see Skagway ! It was fun , interesting ( our guide gave us so much local information and folklore > the views from the train were all anyone could hope for !
Read mailladyvickie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KEZBETH
Sep 2018
This was a great thing to do and we loved it. Staff on this train is excellent!
Read KEZBETH's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ca_mmorrison
Sep 2018
We hiked up to Dewey Lake. I recommend the hike, but it is not for all ages. I also recommend the scenic rail ride. What an experience. The countryside is amazing.
Read ca_mmorrison's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lol1962
Sep 2018
Must do this activity, the history is amazing as are the views. Americans bring your passports, you're going to Canada. No need to book with the cruise ship, you can make your own way to the station at this port. If you can find the tickets cheaper elsewhere.
Read lol1962's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mogied
Sep 2018
wonderful scenery on a bright sunny warm day. coudn't have been better.
Read mogied's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mipurucker
Sep 2018
We always enjoy that train ride. Great scenery and great historical narratives.
Read mipurucker's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JohnCDM
Sep 2018
Well worth the extra few dollars to take the luxury version of this trip. Snacks, wine, beer, coffee etc., and very comfortable seats. From what I could see of the regular seating it appeared to be benches with no refreshments. This was a very enjoyable and worthwhile excursion.
Read JohnCDM's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bpietruch
Sep 2018
This was a great excursion, views and sights from the mountainside were unbelievable.
Read bpietruch's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LMC28
Sep 2018
We loved the bus ride up to Carcross but felt our tour guide could have told us a few more things about what we were seeing-- instead of simply telling us-- this is the most beautiful place on the route. Also the train ride was unforgetable. However, the train car workers were some of the rudest, most unkind people I have ever interacted with.
Read LMC28's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Scott6428
Sep 2018
Did the train up the pass and the mini van back on a slightly different route. Great experience quiet diverse scenery. It stops in Fraser BC doesn't go all the way to the Yukon. The Gold rush stories were fascinating.
Read Scott6428's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bhays99
Sep 2018
Fantastic views. Comfortable ride.
Read Bhays99's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image totalee
Sep 2018
Another neat ride, something to check off list, not sure if it is a good value for eh money.
Read totalee's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kellyjoyaksich
Sep 2018
LOVED IT! First time on a train. So beautiful. Great historic information.
Read kellyjoyaksich's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jaysee25
Sep 2018
Save money and don't book through the cruise line if you want to go on a railway tour. It's absolutely worth it and the railway is RIGHT by the port. Maybe a 10 minute walk; maybe longer if you walk slow. Just buy your own ticket and board the train. We didn't realize how close it was.
Read Jaysee25's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image R,D,W
Sep 2018
We boarded the train early in the morning. There is a stove in each car but if you are not close to it there is a chill. Just be aware of this and dress appropriately. We were comfortable in our boots and jackets. There is a bathroom in each vintage car. There was complimentary bottled water but no other food or drink. Our train went across the Canadian border . You do not get off train and do not need your passport. The engine "switched around and we headed back down mountain. Before heading the other direction we all stood in unison, flipped our seats and traded sides. We all got a great view either coming or going. There is commentary up and down discussing the history of the gold rush and pointing out sights along the way. It is amazing any animals or humans survived this journey. There are other options for this journey. For instance you could ride a bus up and the train down or you can go further to the Yukon. You are given a commemorative booklet that discusses the journey and provides a map to follow along the journey. We also took a street car tour. This is around Skagway which is a small town. The drivers are the guides and are dressed in period costumes. It is fun and you will learn a bit more about the town and its characters.
Read R,D,W's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image kpainter9
Sep 2018
Such beautiful scenery going through the mountains of Alaska on the White Pass train. Loved hearing the history of gold mining there.
Read kpainter9's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WandaLeeBee
Sep 2018
This was my favorite excursion! The scenery was just beautiful and our narrator was extremely entertaining!!!
Read WandaLeeBee's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiserdrew
Sep 2018
Wonderful scenery and narration.
Read Cruiserdrew's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cacbeausang
Aug 2018
Fantastic Guide (Jennie), we did the bus up and rail back. The independent charter used smaller buses, which was important to us. The guide was great, we made 3-4 stops on the way up to the train. She got our bus of 24 people on our car before the other groups assigned to that same car, so we got to sit on the right side of the train for the way down- much better view on that side.
Read cacbeausang's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image Nan_28
Aug 2018
This is our most favorite Alaskan city. White pass scenic railway, organized by cruise line is phenomenon. Minus one star because of the visit at Liarsville. We stopped there for an hour for nothing.
Read Nan_28's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 2Long2NxtCrz
Aug 2018
Again, it's nice to be in a small group with a personable and entertaining driver. No fighting crowds and we got to stop more often.
Read 2Long2NxtCrz's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Rail Tours
Member Image NanaBCD
Aug 2018
Phenomenal excursion on a train from Skagway, AK, to Fraser, BC, including narrative of the Klondike gold rush and surrounding vistas!
Read NanaBCD's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sdmark
Aug 2018
We did the White Pass Railway and Gold Panning. Train ride was amazing! Kids loved the gold panning.
Read sdmark's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sdmark
Aug 2018
We did the White Pass Railway and Gold Panning. Train ride was amazing! Kids loved the gold panning.
Read sdmark's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links