Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image missamarsh
2 reviews
Jul 2018
Amazing views along this historic route to Yukon goldfields.
Read missamarsh's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BobbyOrr
5 reviews
Jun 2018
Cheaper to book independently. Really enjoyed the Railway. A bit of a walk to get into town though depending on where your ship booked. The Bliss was the furthest away. Be aware of that.
Read BobbyOrr's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lov2TravelTN
1 review
Jun 2018
Great one-way trip to Frazier and van ride back to town. (Skagway White Pass Railway & City Tour:) This was far better than the buses the cruise ship was using. Very personalized service.
Read Lov2TravelTN's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Alaska Shore Executions
Member Image electrician513
2 reviews
Jun 2018
This train ride is not to be missed lots of histpry and scenery
Read electrician513's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MoniqueW1403
1 review
Jun 2018
The White Pass and Yukon Expedition tour was amazing. The views can not be described. The tour was a little long and did not give you time to explore Skagway, but it was worth missing out. Love this tour.
Read MoniqueW1403's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RedBarchetta1974
1 review
Jun 2018
Was the best shore excursion of the trip. Views can't be beat!
Read RedBarchetta1974's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rgrand111
1 review
Jun 2018
The railroad is well run with a knowledgeable narration. Stunning views.
Read Rgrand111's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image zandora
1 review
Jun 2018
The ride was most scenic! A must. BUT you have to be prepared for weather. Whether or not you will be able to see out your window! On our ride up, we were on the right side and saw super views. Then, at the top we all trade sides so others can see a different view (the left side going up is the most scenic). We were on the left going up and after switching sides, the folks going down had a fog bank obscuring their view )-: We took the trip both cruises.
Read zandora's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lesliehannah
1 review
Jun 2018
Great excursion! The bus ride up to the summit was breathtaking and our bus driver was friendly and easy to listen to. The train ride was comfortable and we spent a good amount of time going down the mountain surrouned by beauty and history. We learned alot about the gold rush.
Read lesliehannah's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Delkal
1 review
Jun 2018
The train ride was very scenic and relaxing, but be prepared to out for over 3-4 hours.
Read Delkal's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kuceramd
1 review
Jun 2018
If you like riding trains with more of a vintage feel, enjoy some spectacular mountain scenery and aren't afraid of some of the heights, then you'll enjoy this excursion. But be forewarned, the advertised 3.5 hours turned out to be closer to 4.5. Not sure why, everything pretty much appeared to run smoothly and on time, so maybe just a typo as to the tour length. Many great photo opportunities, especially from the exterior platforms on both ends of your rail car. But be prepared, it does get noticeably chillier outside as you ascend from sea level to nearly 3,000 feet. A leisurely excursion as you primarily sit and take in the vistas!
Read kuceramd's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HappyCruisers4748
1 review
Jun 2018
The weather wasn't good, so the trip up on the bus was mostly "fog". The train ride down was a great experience, although the weather was again a negative factor. The quality of food at the BBQ was very poor. We were so hungry that it didn't matter. Ha Ha
Read HappyCruisers4748's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MrRamsey
1 review
Jun 2018
Very good tour guide: extremely informative. Little too long of a bus ride into the Yukon and back to Fraser to pick up the train. Enjoyed the mushers camp and seeing the puppies. Train ride into Scagway was best part.
Read MrRamsey's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HighSeasBee
1 review
Jun 2018
The views were spectacular. Removed 1 point because other cars received a person tour guide telling stories and singing songs for their ride and we got nothing.
Read HighSeasBee's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lmtillison
1 review
Jun 2018
Loved the train ride up and then back down, the scenery was awesome!
Read lmtillison's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Starbar69
1 review
Jun 2018
It was ok going up in the mountains on a train some good photograph opportunities bit expensive with thought
Read Starbar69's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RickManley53
1 review
Jun 2018
Old narrow gauge rail up to White Pass. Train ride was great, nice to get bottled water and snacks on the ride. People didn't listen and swap sides on way back down so we were treated to one side of the train view. Still a great trip!
Read RickManley53's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MkeCruzn
3 reviews
Jun 2018
I liked the rail trip overall. The route is nice. The weather was great. We did get back late (afternoon trip) but the ship waited for the hundreds who were on the train. We were in a handicap railcar, so it was less crowded, but the train was packed and access to the outside platform was very limited. I would imagine that the regular cars would have even more issues with people wanting to share the outside platforms for photos. The weather was warm and the train cars were rather warm inside too. We all wanted to jump in Summit Lake where we turned around, but of course that was not possible to do. They said they were expanding the capacity of the rail line to handle more/larger ships that they expect to get in the future. A good problem to have!
Read MkeCruzn's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Molson42
1 review
Jun 2018
Gorgeous views. Box of carbs for snack for $10 cash and they tell u they wil take ur booze if u pull it out. Take the first class option where a real meal and drinks are included
Read Molson42's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Barbara520
1 review
Jun 2018
Gold panning was fun, seeing the dogs were the best! Forget the train! BORING. Uncomfortable seats long ride. Boring boring i thought it would never end! I wouldnt tell anyone to get on this train,
Read Barbara520's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kcarrots1
1 review
Jun 2018
Took the train up - beautiful scenery - and the bus back to Skagway, saw 3 bears - one bear in the middle of the road, turned and poised for us to take a picture. Would recommend this excursion to anyone planning to go on this cruise.
Read kcarrots1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jlambert1742
1 review
Jun 2018
Didn't realize most of the 8 hour excursion was on a bus and only 1 hr on the railway. Overall it was ok but cruise ran behind and we didn't get a chance to tour the city of Skagway. I would have been better off just doing the trip up and trip down on the railway and left the rest.
Read jlambert1742's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Deep Thinking Fish
3 reviews
Jun 2018
Fantastic trip with an excellent guide. Weather was stunning, views incredible. Saw two bears on route into Yukon, stopped at every conceivable viewpoint. Lunch stop OK at Carcross, nice then to see the town albeit very quickly. The train back over the White Pass was brilliant in every way - another excellent guide too pointing out the sights of interest.
Read Deep Thinking Fish's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jkw99
2 reviews
Jun 2018
Cloudy day so visibility was not great. Took the round trip to the Summit. Cars were comfortable and you were allowed to stand on the outside platforms.
Read jkw99's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: White Pass RR
Member Image moodynight
1 review
Jun 2018
Fantastic views
Read moodynight's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links