Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image Mrskigen
1 review
Aug 2017
Comfortable seats, great scenery.
Read Mrskigen's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image eilncastro
1 review
Aug 2017
Informative train ride, beautiful scenery, relaxing few hours.
Read eilncastro's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image csidwell
1 review
Jul 2017
Fun way to see some gorgeous landscape and learn interesting history. loved it
Read csidwell's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GoQueenBee
1 review
Jul 2017
It's just as described, took the train up to White Pass and back. Very scenic and informative. We enjoyed it.
Read GoQueenBee's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ghalsing
1 review
Jul 2017
The ship did not offer the excursion we wanted, so we booked ourselves. It was the White Pass and Bike return to Skagway with Sockeye Cycles and that was EXCELLENT
Read ghalsing's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JPGRAMI
1 review
Jul 2017
Enjoyed 1.5 hr train ride and scenery.
Read JPGRAMI's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image retmntcruiser15
1 review
Jul 2017
Great way to see some amazing scenery. Buy the hat!
Read retmntcruiser15's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yiayiat
1 review
Jul 2017
A must do!
Read yiayiat's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Canejean
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Trip on the train was wonderful. Kind of disappointed that we had no time on top...just hop in bus for short ride down.
Read Canejean's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dalmore
2 reviews
Jul 2017
Terrific scenery. Had to choose between this and dog training.
Read Dalmore's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image zarfkitty
1 review
Jul 2017
Do the White Pass Rail. There are no words. And a photo is worth a thousand of them, but I have over 3,000 photos to sift through and edit. I picked out a couple good ones for you.
Read zarfkitty's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiser241
1 review
Jul 2017
We took the railway one way and saw several different climate zones. There is a lot to see although I didn't see any wildlife. I wore a lightweight down coat, hat, and gloves (in July) so I could stand outside for much of the trip. This is one of the best railroad trip a person can experience.
Read cruiser241's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image fwbulldog
1 review
Jul 2017
If you're heading down, make sure you sit on the right side of the coach. Amazing scenery.
Read fwbulldog's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mikeliebert6
1 review
Jul 2017
Very enjoyable. Great viewing and historic. Took many pictures.
Read mikeliebert6's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Silverspruce
1 review
Jul 2017
breathtaking views and excellent commentary by tour guide
Read Silverspruce's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debi Harman
1 review
Jul 2017
The scenery was fabulous and the rail car we were in was built in 1903. The history was amazing. It's hard to describe looking down a1000 foot drop on a mountainside and thinking of someone building the rail line over a hundred years earlier. Truly gave an appreciation for sacrifices made and the gift we have been given.
Read Debi Harman's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image zinnia17
1 review
Jul 2017
Beautiful scenery, informative narration.
Read zinnia17's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image BC Traveler
1 review
Jul 2017
Always an enjoyable, easy-going ride with wonderful views.
Read BC Traveler's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image LisiBear
1 review
Jul 2017
Beautiful train ride. Bus driver was wonderful. she told us all about Skagway and the history of the train.
Read LisiBear's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dinausc11
1 review
Jul 2017
The White Pass Scenic Railway was wonderful but they didn't tell us there was no food and we were traveling with small children. So by the time we got to the panning the only thing they wanted to do was to eat. Luckily they had delicious, fresh baked cookies at the gold panning location.
Read dinausc11's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Emanuel Schreibmaier
Member Image HollyN25
1 review
Jul 2017
We just did the basic 3.5-hour White Pass Railway up and back. There are several versions of the train ride; some that include a bus ride further into Yukon Territory for a full 8-hour tour, and some that add on shorter things. I’m sure all are good! We LOVED the train ride, and consider it a MUST for anyone going there, especially for the first time. Our commentator was excellent, the scenery was AMAZING, and we saw two bears; one on our way up and one on our way back! Everyone had said to sit on the left side going up (the right-hand side is closer to the mountain), and they were correct (get in line early for this!). You’ll switch sides going back down (the seats flip over to face the other way), but it travels down much more quickly than it did going up. You are also able to stand between the cars and take photos, which I did going up. We chose a back seat in our car for easier access to windows and outside, which then had us in the front on our way back. There are no snacks on this train ride, so make sure to eat ahead of time and/or bring snacks. There is free bottled water for everyone.
Read HollyN25's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aj.mellen@yahoo.com
reviews
Jul 2017
Fun railway tour. Lots of beautiful landscapes. Saw NO animals. Nice relaxing trip
Read aj.mellen@yahoo.com's full cruise review
Provider: White Pass
Member Image joelkmcw
4 reviews
Jul 2017
Took a bus from the ship to the train station, boarded the train in Skagway, had about a 45 minute train ride up the pass and into Canada. Got off the train but I can't recall the name of the little town, got back onto the bus and went to the Yukon suspension bridge. Went from there on the bus to Jewell Gardens for lunch. Then back to the ship. Overall good tour. Learned a lot about the gold rush days. Jewell Gardens does glass blowing too, and I saw a lot of Chihuly influence there.
Read joelkmcw's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image caseylee4ts
1 review
Jul 2017
The bus ride up and the train ride back were really fun. There's a lot of forest areas you go through on the train where there isn't much scenery. However, it was still a blast. One kind of weird thing was going through Canadian customs just to immediately turn around and go back into Alaska. Seemed like an awful waste of time, but I suppose that's where the train goes, so there you go.
Read caseylee4ts's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Nicole Sautter
1 review
Jul 2017
Gorgeous, breathtaking views. The only thing I wish they had better explained before boarding was that the front and back windows & door of each train car need to be kept open for the majority of the trip to keep the windows from fogging up. This might have allowed people who don't like being cold to switch to seats closer to the middle of the cars. As I don't mind being cold, I would have gladly taken a seat in the very front or back (switched with others complaining regarding the cold) as there is NO SCENIC VIEW to view when the windows are completely fogged over!!!!!
Read Nicole Sautter's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links