Tahiti (Papeete) Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Tahiti (Papeete) Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend a day seeing the island's outlying sights and a bit of old Polynesia away from Papeete's bustle.
Member Image katleona
1 review
Jul 2017
Amusing guide kept the bus tour lively. Three stops - was free on debarkation day. Glad we went!
Read katleona's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image eric140253
1 review
Apr 2017
Guide was difficult to understand. Only 3 places visited. Traffic, traffic, traffic! Could have seen so much more with a longer tour. Organisation & management of coaches from ship was dreadful.
Read eric140253's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CobraJet
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Nice to get to a non-English speaking destination. Anyone associated with the tour spoke excellent English, but as soon as you wander a few blocks away from the harbor front you are immersed within French colonial culture, language and food, which we did, and had a great time. The tour was informative and gave us beautiful sea-side views, waterfall, fern grottos, and a tour of a private estate with snacks.
Read CobraJet's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jaws100
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Island tour, with stops at points of interest for information & photos. Very good guide - spoke fluent English.
Read Jaws100's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Can't remember.
Member Image Sr voyagers
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Tour included a visit to a Marae, Museum of Tahiti, water gardens, and a private garden. The owner of the garden gave us an interesting tour which included information on the health benefits of various plants as well as a fresh fruit snack.
Read Sr voyagers's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image bigbill46
2 reviews
Oct 2016
OK but too too crowded. Much more commercial than St. Thomas. Some shops spoke only French (or pretended to). The evening professional dance show on board ship was the best I have ever seen (even the several I have been to on Hawaii)
Read bigbill46's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image beasleybird
7 reviews
Oct 2016
Did circle island tour with Marama. Great guide, interesting tour.
Read beasleybird's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Marama
Member Image Sally Swanson
1 review
Oct 2016
Musee James Norman Hall was a highlight for us. Beautifully done with an exceptionally informative guide. Simply a must for anyone visiting Tahiti.
Read Sally Swanson's full Wind Spirit cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image SandiT
1 review
Oct 2016
A very pleasant diversion for a few hours between disembarkation and our 2 PM day room check-in before our late flight.
Read SandiT's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image mbleacher
3 reviews
Sep 2016
What a pit. Dirty and unfriendly for the most part. We went to the Intercontinental. They were rude there and unfriendly. Expensive and not worth the money. Ignore all that and enjoy the view. Just stay out of town. Ugh.
Read mbleacher's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image kennyvee
1 review
Sep 2016
Bus was slow stopped at places of really no interest missed several stops due to poor time planning
Read kennyvee's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Island tours
Member Image Softsand-13
1 review
Jun 2016
Good but could have gone on a few streets not just the main hwy through. Would of liked to see more houses, shopping areas, local hang outs
Read Softsand-13's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image Taildrgr
1 review
May 2016
Take the Tahiti tour and day room with airport transfer if leaving at midnight for USA
Read Taildrgr's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image ONANISLE
1 review
Apr 2016
Post cruise tour of Tahiti as there is an 11 hour difference between ship returning to Tahiti and Air Tahiti departure to LAX
Read ONANISLE's full Wind Spirit cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Frandya
1 review
Apr 2016
Outstanding tour, our guide was an island native who answered any and all questions. He really knew his stuff and really enjoyed himself as well as his charges. Would do this tour if you are in Papeete
Read Frandya's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dbits
6 reviews
Apr 2016
Driver unfortunately was a mission to downgrade the French government, and brag about her work with the local pregnant teenage girls.
Read dbits's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Fear-the-turtle
7 reviews
Mar 2016
We shared a rental car with our friends, necessitating a hot and humid walk to the Avis office and a wait behind several others. We intended to get out of Papeete as quickly as possible, following a Fodor driving tour. We made several stops, including the black sand beach and lighthouse at Pt. Venus, blowholes, waterfalls, lookout views, gardens, and grottos over the course of five hours. While not as pretty as the other two islands, Tahiti still is gorgeously green and mountainous, but also more crowded. We returned the car with enough spare time to hunt down wifi (a challenge, but we found an internet café at a shopping center whose name started with a “V” near the ship), connect online for an hour, and then try to spend our remaining Central Pacific Francs at the now-closing local market.
Read Fear-the-turtle's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Rented a car with Avis. Self-drive.
Member Image Chris555
7 reviews
Oct 2015
At 7am the bus loaded. I guess everyone was anxious to “get going”. The excursion tour of the island was very nice. Evon and Evette were our driver and tour guide. She was very funny. We drove to Jardin Botanical Garden, about 60 km and turned around. Evette pointed out every church, school, beach, fence or interesting building along the way. We stopped at the black sand beach, fern caves, waterfall, marae, and botanical garden. We then drove through a little bit of Papette downtown. A little bit is all you need to see.
Read Chris555's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Michaele
1 review
May 2015
Excellent lady driver very amusing
Read Michaele's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Lou E
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Tried to save money and by-pass ship tour... Four hour tour of island turned into 6 hours most of which was stopping for folks to go into stores to buy drinks and food. Tour guide seldom said anything about what we were seeing, just let us out of the bus...
Read Lou E's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gerranium20
1 review
Apr 2015
not too much to see in Papeete. Paid $ US 50.00. We booked the tour form one of teh tour operators on the wharf .Airconditioned bus, good commentary . Not too much to see . we stopped off at a light house and beach whihc was black in sand colour .
Read gerranium20's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bslater
1 review
Apr 2015
Tahiti was dirty and a Big disappointment.
Read bslater's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image giraffegirl
3 reviews
Feb 2015
As has been said by numerous others, this is the tour to take if you are a first time visitor to Tahiti. The air conditioned bus was comfortable. The stop at John Norman Hall's home/museum was quite long. The lunch was quite good. The visit to the Tahiti museum was really good, but could have been a little longer.
Read giraffegirl's full Statendam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image cruzcpl
1 review
Oct 2013

Tahiti is the biggest and main island of French Polynesia, it is French so THAT was depressing. The port is in a small city with traffic and a blend of nice people and ... French - they have attitudes. Prices were notably high for the tourists, roads were busy (traffic) even well outside the city, and the city is depressing. Island scenery is as beautiful as you'd expect, many roads not maintained, locals appear to be trashing the place - poor and associated issues. It is NOT the tropical paradise you expect ... go to Bora Bora for that. It is where past explorers landed including the Bounty, which is why it is famous. Beautiful people and hospitality of the past is ... history. People work and tourists are to be exploited. Still, it IS a famous place to say you've been to ... but visit Bora Bora, THAT is what you are looking for.

Read cruzcpl's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Bus at the dock
Member Image Act 3
5 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2013

The last day we had a limited tour prior to our flight back to the states. We made several stops (scenic waterfalls; home of author of Mutiny on the Bounty; etc.) An extra freebee from Paul Gauguin

Read Act 3's full Paul Gauguin cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises

Sponsored links