Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn Excursion Reviews

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tallinn's medieval Old Town is known around the world for its well-preserved completeness and authentic Hanseatic architecture.
Member Image bepsie
1 review
Sep 2017
Tour was great but I would have liked some warning as to the extent of the walking on uneven surfaces and the number of stairs.
Read bepsie's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image ljbowen
1 review
Sep 2017
We took the Hop On Hop Off bus tour. However we got off in the Old Town and spent most of our time there. We had a wonderful medieval lunch at the Old Haus, visited some churches and walked around the town square. A very enjoyable time.
Read ljbowen's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Smockie
1 review
Sep 2017
Went to open air museum which told the story of Estonia through buildings home/work. This place is huge and very interesting well worth a visit. After we did a walk around old Tallinn, beautiful town lots to do.
Read Smockie's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image millionmiler
3 reviews
Aug 2017
This was a walking tour that saw the exteriors of the old town, but no guided tours of interiors. The town is charming. Our guide was excellent and in addition to the sights she gave us a good deal of information of what it was like to live in Estonia during the Soviet era and how the country ahs change since that time.
Read millionmiler's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image rjukkola
4 reviews
Aug 2017
We enjoyed an excellent free walking tour in Tallinn offered by a local guide working for tips.
Read rjukkola's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fall-Guy
1 review
Aug 2017
I really enjoyed the architecture and the short concert.
Read Fall-Guy's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image sandybeachy
1 review
Aug 2017
Bused us to the top of the old town and then 3 hour walk thru the city down the hill. With a small group of 12 we were able to leave the port quickly and beat the cruise ship tours with 40 people to many sites. Knowledgeable tour guide. Nice to have an hour at the end to shop and eat lunch.
Read sandybeachy's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image Teilo17
1 review
Aug 2017
Great overview of the city with plenty of time to explore on our own.
Read Teilo17's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image KarenWilbanks
1 review
Aug 2017
Awesome! Loved getting to see this town. Absolutely lovely.
Read KarenWilbanks's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image jan232
1 review
Aug 2017
Beautiful medieval city. Saw most of it on walking tour.
Read jan232's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image HenryGL52
1 review
Aug 2017
The town was beautiful, our guide was professional & vewry informative.
Read HenryGL52's full Silver Whisper cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Highlandl8dy35
1 review
Aug 2017
Was advertised as the only tour (minibus) that takes you into the old town but over half the tour was driving around the new town and visiting the stadium where the singing festival takes place - I wish that I had just taken the free shuttle bus straight to the old town and will do so next time as it is a very beautiful town with huge town walls, many medieval buildings and historical sites. the markets are brilliant for souvenirs especially amber and knitwear.
Read Highlandl8dy35's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Dorieo
1 review
Aug 2017
Tallin is a nice small town. THere wasn't a lot to see here. Our guide was very good.
Read Dorieo's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image PaulaJinks
1 review
Aug 2017
Charming place. Thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour and the cafe stops for cake and chocolates. Writing these reviews I'm beginning to realise just why my clothes shrunk!
Read PaulaJinks's full Columbus cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Gem Lover
3 reviews
Jul 2017
The Old Town was like taking a a walk into medieval times. It was an excellent tour that included a delicious lunch
Read Gem Lover's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sconegirl
1 review
Jul 2017
Although the city was crowded with tourists, our tour guide kept us together and was very informative. The city is very old world and very beautiful. You start at the top of the town on a hill and proceed down narrow cobbled streets. There is a chocolate shop where you can watch the staff make marzipan. I'd like to return in the off season when it is less crowded.
Read Sconegirl's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image CruiseLv
1 review
Jul 2017
Tallinn is wonderful! In addition to the perfectly-preserved Medieval town, there is a fascinating layer of background on the former Soviet occupation that will likely be of interest to many, if your guide can include some of that. Plan to spend extra free time there—you'll want to. Great for dining, exploring and souvenirs. Out tour had an unfortunate and odd extension where we left the old town and boarded a local commuter train to visit a local suburb. Our guide did her best to present this as worthwhile, but it was a short rail trip to a short walk through some slightly tired, indistinct local streets (no particular points of interest) and finished in a nice, but "anywhere" farmer's market. It was a waste of time, pretty much.
Read CruiseLv's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Banditspikealfie
1 review
Jul 2017
Great tour guide...it was a walking tour, and it was a relatively small group. No bathroom stop, which was great!
Read Banditspikealfie's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Linda Rogers
1 review
Jul 2017
An enjoyable visit to see life in this country. Beautiful city.
Read Linda Rogers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ladhruns
1 review
Jul 2017
I fell in love with Tallinn and our wonderful tour guide, Analise. I will return to this beautiful city with such a troubled history. Analise was knowledgable, and interjected humor in just the right doses.
Read ladhruns's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Ampjiii
1 review
Jul 2017
Our guide was very funny. She took us to upper Old Town and lower Old Town. She explained what it is like to live in Estonia and why the people are so happy.
Read Ampjiii's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adventurer101
1 review
Jul 2017
Saw Upper and Lower (old town) of Tallinn. Cute little town and wish we had more time to explore.
Read adventurer101's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Venture-19
1 review
Jul 2017
The tour was well organized with the exception of the meeting point was to be the large balloon which is no longer there. The guide, Leea, was excellent and provided a great prespective of living in Tallinn through the various occupations.
Read Venture-19's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Glauchlan
1 review
Jul 2017
Shocking tour really, the elderly lady conducting the tour couldn't speak English well at all and constantly hesitated (almost comically). She also told off someone on the tour for coming with their wheelchair (not sure if there was a disclaimer to prevent this in the first instance). Sometimes felt she just wanted to talk and talk and the information being provided was not clear or interesting enough to keep us engaged. Shame really as Tallinn was actually a lovely city.
Read Glauchlan's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kochevnik42
1 review
Jul 2017
Started in Upper Old Town and ended in Lower. Great scenery and knowledgeable guide made this a fascinating excursion.
Read Kochevnik42's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links