Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn Excursion Reviews

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tallinn's medieval Old Town is known around the world for its well-preserved completeness and authentic Hanseatic architecture.
Member Image Gator75
7 reviews
Jun 2017
Following a sea day, we arrived in Tallinn and took a shore excursion (TL07 - Best of Tallinn) consisting of city highlights, a concert, lunch, and a walking tour in Old Town. Tallinn was the biggest surprise of the cruise – it is a wonderful city with lots of friendly people. Old Town consists of picturesque narrow streets with many historic buildings (Tail Hermann Tower, Palace Square, St. Mary’s Cathedral) and hand crafted markets. We had an excellent traditional Estonia lunch in an Old Town restaurant. Lunch was followed by a concert of old music in a medieval church. This is also the best place (near Catherine’s Passage) to buy souvenirs and the prices are not ridiculous. If you tour on your own, you have to take the shuttle ($10 round trip) to get to Old Town as it is a fair hike.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image malaprops
1 review
Jun 2017
Next to St. Petersburg, Tallinn was hands down our favorite port. The town is picturesque and the port is a very short walk from Old Town. We did a free walking tour with Tallinn Free Tours and it was one of the best walking tours we've had in any location, ever. We had a nice, cheap lunch from a bakery and went into the tunnels at Kiek in the Kok before heading back to the ship. A++ town, 11 out of 10, would visit again.
Read malaprops's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tallinn Free Tour
Member Image leglaud
1 review
Jun 2017
with an excellent concert and diner
Read leglaud's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image justhappytobehere
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautiful place and also took part in a Marzipan Workshop which was a bit of fun.
Read justhappytobehere's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image semimoist
1 review
Jun 2017
Loved it.
Read semimoist's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tropicalpunch
1 review
May 2017
Loved Tallinn! This was a walking tour and our guide was was very interesting, especially with stories of Tallinn's World War 11 history. This was the best port for shopping and we had plenty of time.
Read Tropicalpunch's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image tim w
1 review
May 2017
Too crowded for our taste, but nonetheless beautiful.
Read tim w's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image taxhelpmi
1 review
Sep 2016
Walking tour was good, my wife has some mobility issues but she was able to make it. Stayed in town for lunch after tour, stopped at really good bakery.
Read taxhelpmi's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image t&c_traveling
1 review
Sep 2016
This was my favorite port city. Tallinn looks like a mid-evil town and very quaint. Would have loved to spent more time there. Went to both parts of old town (high & low). Great town
Read t&c_traveling's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image VictorianVoyager
1 review
Sep 2016
I loved Tallinn. Very vivid and happy memories of walking through the old town. We bought a couple of items there and visited two cathedrals (Orthodox and Lutheran) in our free time. The organist was rehearsing for a concert in the Toomkirik (Lutheran athedral) --- what a wonderful organ.
Read VictorianVoyager's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image cherylandmikem
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Very good tour. Great views from Toompea Hill.
Read cherylandmikem's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Where2now?
1 review
Sep 2016
Comprehensive walking tour. May have been able to do on our own.
Read Where2now?'s full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image James Gang
1 review
Aug 2016
If you walk into Old Town and go to the information center, you can rent a self guided audio tour you can do at your own pace ( approx. 2 hrs. for us) for 10 Euros. We loved it.
Read James Gang's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sbalax
8 reviews
Aug 2016
Tallinn is a fascinating city and we had a wonderful, funny and knowledgeable guide.
Read sbalax's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image littlestuff
2 reviews
Aug 2016
What a charmer. Didn't think this was worth the tour but I sure was surprised. Wonderful old medieval Town with warm people
Read littlestuff's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Michael McFadden
1 review
Aug 2016
A very good mix of sight seeing and experiencing local delicacies with guides who were very knowledgeable about both the ancient and the more recent (Soviet era) history of Estonia and Tallinn. The only tour that had a bit of rain which made for the rather humorous site of a sea of bright red Viking umbrellas in one crowded street as a number of smaller guided tours met.
Read Michael McFadden's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image psdietcoke
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide was great ! This was wa walking tour.
Read psdietcoke's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nj cruisin
4 reviews
Aug 2016
Had Trin as a guide. She is native to Estonia. Friendly and vivacious and a wonderful tour guide. Enjoyed the tour immensely.
Read nj cruisin's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image Granddog
1 review
Aug 2016
Loved the city. Didn't have enough time to see what we (as a group) wanted to see (some churches). Instead taken to uninteresting Olympic site.
Read Granddog's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Chris Marsh
1 review
Aug 2016
Great. Very informative, just the right amount of free time and good value for money
Read Chris Marsh's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image drjimlewis
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Walking tour. About 2 miles total, a bit tedious on cobblestones, but I'm 75 and it was manageable. We enjoyed the Russian Orthodox church, seeing the old town, doing a bit of shopping, and hearing about the history of Estonia.
Read drjimlewis's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drubil
1 review
Aug 2016
great bus tour great guide
Read drubil's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image cuttingedgeglassworks
5 reviews
Aug 2016
Beautiful Old Town with lots of shops and restaurants.
Read cuttingedgeglassworks's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image lisammc
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide but wish we had head sets. Hard to hear her sometimes.
Read lisammc's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image jenoble7216
1 review
Jul 2016
Would have liked more time on own in Old Town
Read jenoble7216's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?