Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image Mark Banner
1 review
Sep 2017
Great fun, puppies were gorgeous!
Read Mark Banner's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image piemom9397
3 reviews
Sep 2017
The trip into the mountains where the dogs were was scenic and our tour guide was personable and informative. The time spent mushing and playing with the puppies was wonderful!
Read piemom9397's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image halhanher
1 review
Sep 2017
This was an amazing experience. We loved learning about dog mushing and being with the dogs. we even held some pups.
Read halhanher's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image floridasnoflake
1 review
Sep 2017
This tour was fantastic! Seeing these dogs and what they do is amazing. My daughter loved petting them and we even got to hold puppies! Made the cold, rainy day much better!
Read floridasnoflake's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image darin2
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Lots of fun. You get to see the mountains and play with puppies.
Read darin2's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cwatsoncat
1 review
Aug 2017
This was a 3 hour excursion. Our tour guide, Savanna, led us to a bus and we drove about 45 minutes out of Skagway up to the Dog Musher's camp outside Dyea. She gave us a running commentary about the area and history of the camp. We then transferred to a very rugged transport vehicle to go up the steep roads to the dirt paths the dogs run on. These are actual Iditarod dogs at their summer training facility and you get to ride in the sled for about 10 minutes, led by a seasoned musher. They talk the whole time about the dogs and you get to pet them. Then you go back down to the base and there is a presentation by an experienced Iditarod musher and you can hold some sled dog puppies (the best part of course). We thought this was very fun.
Read cwatsoncat's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KandiceLK
1 review
Aug 2017
Took my 6 and 7 year old sons for this excursion after our helicopter tour for snow dog sledding was cancelled. This was a great alternative. Nice ride to the camp and then a "mog" up the hill for sledding with the dogs. They put 6 people on an cart for the dogs to pull. And then they pull your for a mile- it's not super fast until you get to the end. After the ride, you meet the dogs that pulled your sled. They then take you back down the hill to hear about the Iditarod. Finally, you get to meet and hold the puppies- so cute! That was definitely the highlight. My kids loved it. They also have a shop and sell pictures they took during the ride and with the puppies.
Read KandiceLK's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wjack
12 reviews
Aug 2017
Gold Rush Sled Dogs was an afterthought, but truly enjoyed this tour. Matt Hayashide, former Iditarod participant was excellent speaker and really enjoyed seeing his dogs!
Read wjack's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MsSheryl
1 review
Aug 2017
Amazing views, great tour guide, dogs were amazing, speaker was an experienced iditerod participant, and what could beat puppies?
Read MsSheryl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alaska Excursions
Member Image Dusty Rose69
1 review
Jul 2017
The guides were great and we learned a lot. The scenes were beautiful, Saw lots of jumping salmon. Really enjoyed the ride with the dogs. Best part was playing with the puppies.
Read Dusty Rose69's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image fwbulldog
1 review
Jul 2017
Took way too long to get there by bus. Only had 45 minutes, and there was only one seat open on the dogsled. Way too far, too rushed, and not worth it. Bad BBQ.
Read fwbulldog's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ctarias
1 review
Jul 2017
We were in a small transit van. Our driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. The Dog sledding was an experience I will not soon forget. We went to a true Musher camp who trains her dogs for the Yukon Quest and Iditerod races. The proceeds from us help her pay for her expenses in the races. Some of the camps you book with the cruise line are just for profit operations.
Read ctarias's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sunluva7
11 reviews
Jul 2017
The ship was docked at the pier closest to town, but there was a convenient shuttle for $2 one way or $5 all day. We spent a couple of hours in the morning shopping, and then did an afternoon Sled Dog Training and Musher Camp tour with Alaska Excursions. This was a fun way to learn about the famous Iditarod dog racing and meet the dogs and hold the puppies. Our guide was great, had a fabulous sense of humor and kept us all engaged with his knowledge of Alaska, Skagways gold rush days, the dog racing and the area in general. The dog sled ride (actually on wheels) through the wooded trail was a blast, but half the fun in getting to the camp was the ride through the steep hills and the twists and turns. As a bonus, we were given multiple stops along the way for some incredible views.
Read sunluva7's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Connie.bearden
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Great adventure! Loved the dogs and puppies.
Read Connie.bearden's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruise0987
1 review
Jun 2017
The Klondike Family Experience (Gold Rush Sled Dogs) included meeting the sled dogs/puppies, learning about the Iditarod race, panning for gold, dredge tour, soda history and tasting, bottling tour, and we were able to bottle and label our own bottle of root beer. There was also lunch provided. Learning about the musher's racing experience and the sled dogs and meeting the dogs was awesome. The gold panning was fun for the kids and we enjoyed watching them do it. The dredge tour was interesting, but at that point our kids were ready to head out... I wish they had left out all the soda stuff...and the provided lunch so we could of headed out in time to eat elsewhere. The food was just mediocre and the soda stuff was a bit random.... It was just a bit too much packed in like they were trying to fill time to justify the price...We would of preferred a slightly lowered price and less time there. The sledding and panning for gold alone would be perfect and then maybe have people around the dredge to answer questions so you can do a semi self guided tour of it.
Read cruise0987's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Expipemjr
1 review
Jun 2017
Good time books up fast,great for kids
Read Expipemjr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image therapycruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
Kevin with Alaska X excursions was a lot of fun as our guide and driver to the Dog Sled training camp. This was a fun excursion and the trip up to the mountain was very interesting. We were given time to visit with the dogs that pulled our slide around the mountain camp area. Then time to pet the puppies. The camp grounds provide a clean bathroom and small gift shop area, all in a setting alongside a waterfall.
Read therapycruiser's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wsomers
1 review
Jun 2017
was suppose to be dog sledding and gold mining but was a petting zoo of sled dogs and panning for gold in a tray
Read wsomers's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseNoob101
1 review
Jun 2017
Very interesting to hear the details about mushing and dog sledding and the selling point was holding the 3 week old puppies!
Read CruiseNoob101's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travel2Liberate
1 review
May 2017
If you like dogs and are interested in dog sledding, this is the excursion for you! We had the pleasure of hearing Matt, a musher, speak about his Iditarod experiences. It's amazing seeing the equipment used in the race and how well they take care of their dogs. You get to meet the dogs and even some puppies and we saw them race around a gravel track. Amazing!
Read Travel2Liberate's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jillou323
1 review
May 2017
The shore excursion included dogs, gold panning and the 40 below experience. I found only the dogs to be of interest to me. I loved petting them, and seeing them run in harness, if only for a short distance. And the puppies were adorable!
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jome
8 reviews
May 2017
It was raining but even in the rain this was a great excursion. I even got to hold a puppy.
Read jome's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Journey_On
2 reviews
May 2017
We got to be pulled by the dogs on their summer training course. We got to ask a dog musher questions. My favorite part was holding an Iditarod puppy in training, only 5.5 weeks old!
Read Journey_On's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SannyAnnie
1 review
Sep 2016
LOVED this!! Absolutely wonderful - even in pouring rain. The area was scenic, but the best part was snuggling the dogs - both the sled team AND 3 week old puppies! Possibly the best excursion on the trip.
Read SannyAnnie's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image magicdreamer
1 review
Sep 2016
The dog mushing camp was a great tour. There was a scenic drive followed by a ride in an all terrain vehicle up a mountain. On top was the mushers' camp where you take a wheeled sled through the woods pulled by sixteen Alaskan Huskies. This was followed by petting the dogs. learning about the Iditarod, and holding puppies. All dog lovers would be thrilled by this experience. Our guide Joseph was a fantastic personality/wannabe comedian. I highly recommend this tour.
Read magicdreamer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links