Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image fwbulldog
1 review
Jul 2017
Took way too long to get there by bus. Only had 45 minutes, and there was only one seat open on the dogsled. Way too far, too rushed, and not worth it. Bad BBQ.
Read fwbulldog's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ctarias
1 review
Jul 2017
We were in a small transit van. Our driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. The Dog sledding was an experience I will not soon forget. We went to a true Musher camp who trains her dogs for the Yukon Quest and Iditerod races. The proceeds from us help her pay for her expenses in the races. Some of the camps you book with the cruise line are just for profit operations.
Read ctarias's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Connie.bearden
3 reviews
Jul 2017
Great adventure! Loved the dogs and puppies.
Read Connie.bearden's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruise0987
1 review
Jun 2017
The Klondike Family Experience (Gold Rush Sled Dogs) included meeting the sled dogs/puppies, learning about the Iditarod race, panning for gold, dredge tour, soda history and tasting, bottling tour, and we were able to bottle and label our own bottle of root beer. There was also lunch provided. Learning about the musher's racing experience and the sled dogs and meeting the dogs was awesome. The gold panning was fun for the kids and we enjoyed watching them do it. The dredge tour was interesting, but at that point our kids were ready to head out... I wish they had left out all the soda stuff...and the provided lunch so we could of headed out in time to eat elsewhere. The food was just mediocre and the soda stuff was a bit random.... It was just a bit too much packed in like they were trying to fill time to justify the price...We would of preferred a slightly lowered price and less time there. The sledding and panning for gold alone would be perfect and then maybe have people around the dredge to answer questions so you can do a semi self guided tour of it.
Read cruise0987's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Expipemjr
1 review
Jun 2017
Good time books up fast,great for kids
Read Expipemjr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image therapycruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
Kevin with Alaska X excursions was a lot of fun as our guide and driver to the Dog Sled training camp. This was a fun excursion and the trip up to the mountain was very interesting. We were given time to visit with the dogs that pulled our slide around the mountain camp area. Then time to pet the puppies. The camp grounds provide a clean bathroom and small gift shop area, all in a setting alongside a waterfall.
Read therapycruiser's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CruiseNoob101
1 review
Jun 2017
Very interesting to hear the details about mushing and dog sledding and the selling point was holding the 3 week old puppies!
Read CruiseNoob101's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travel2Liberate
1 review
May 2017
If you like dogs and are interested in dog sledding, this is the excursion for you! We had the pleasure of hearing Matt, a musher, speak about his Iditarod experiences. It's amazing seeing the equipment used in the race and how well they take care of their dogs. You get to meet the dogs and even some puppies and we saw them race around a gravel track. Amazing!
Read Travel2Liberate's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jillou323
1 review
May 2017
The shore excursion included dogs, gold panning and the 40 below experience. I found only the dogs to be of interest to me. I loved petting them, and seeing them run in harness, if only for a short distance. And the puppies were adorable!
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jome
8 reviews
May 2017
It was raining but even in the rain this was a great excursion. I even got to hold a puppy.
Read jome's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Journey_On
1 review
May 2017
We got to be pulled by the dogs on their summer training course. We got to ask a dog musher questions. My favorite part was holding an Iditarod puppy in training, only 5.5 weeks old!
Read Journey_On's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SannyAnnie
1 review
Sep 2016
LOVED this!! Absolutely wonderful - even in pouring rain. The area was scenic, but the best part was snuggling the dogs - both the sled team AND 3 week old puppies! Possibly the best excursion on the trip.
Read SannyAnnie's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image magicdreamer
1 review
Sep 2016
The dog mushing camp was a great tour. There was a scenic drive followed by a ride in an all terrain vehicle up a mountain. On top was the mushers' camp where you take a wheeled sled through the woods pulled by sixteen Alaskan Huskies. This was followed by petting the dogs. learning about the Iditarod, and holding puppies. All dog lovers would be thrilled by this experience. Our guide Joseph was a fantastic personality/wannabe comedian. I highly recommend this tour.
Read magicdreamer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
A dog musher who competed in last year's Itidarod talked and showed us his equipment and dogs and puppies! Great experience, but we had to stand for quite a while while the musher talked. I wish they had benches to sit upon like the had for the short film in the shed.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Booked locally via M&M, had a wonderful educational experience led by a multiple Iditarod contender and a plus was being able to cuddle puppies. Oh yes, and the gold panning and 40 degree below were all at the same site.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image chadcf
1 review
Aug 2016
We enjoyed getting pulled in a sled and visiting the puppies, the employees were mostly friendly and informative and my daughter loved the trip.
Read chadcf's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
This was fun and very informative. Loved the dogs! The speaker was excellent.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Met Iditorad racers. Was impressed with new things I learned about sled dog racing and sled dogs.
Read vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image djdd2@juno.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Great run with the dogs
Read djdd2@juno.com's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Anamal Planet Recommended
Member Image pianomom0105
1 review
Aug 2016
Not sure this is the right name for our excursion. We booked a trip to the Klondike Gold Fields, where we learned about the Iditarod race, met 2 mushers who've finished this race, learned about the sled dogs and met them, and played with 5-week old puppies. We decided not to enjoy the -49 degree room (don't like cold weather anyway) and shopped for souvenirs instead. All the staff is very friendly.
Read pianomom0105's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 7_OUT
1 review
Aug 2016
We did it for our granddaughter. We had been to the same one before. Great excitement the first time. :>)
Read 7_OUT's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JulieMorr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Loved it!
Read JulieMorr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image a240448
1 review
Aug 2016
We took turns guiding the sled. The dogs were wonderful and we had a chance to hold the puppies after our ride. This was the best excursion of the many we took during our trip.
Read a240448's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DayStar
1 review
Jul 2016
Highlight of trip - got to hold 18 day old puppies!!!!
Read DayStar's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gardengirls12020
1 review
Jul 2016
The Dog Sledding was a blast and the puppies were adorable!
Read Gardengirls12020's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links