Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image Rgrand111
1 review
Jun 2018
Overrated. The "Alaska 360" venue is a bit dilapidated. The sled dog demonstration is kind of hoaky. The dogs pull the sled about 200 feet over the dirt. There were too many people on the tour. Everyone was clamoring to hold the sled dog pups who were trying to escape.
Read Rgrand111's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Apriljayne
1 review
Jun 2018
Beauriful scenery, professional guides, extremely informational and just all around a great time was had by all. Love love loved this excursion
Read Apriljayne's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beautyprof
1 review
Jun 2018
We all loved the experiences associated with climbing the mountain, coming down pulled by the dogs, listening to the musher describe his participation in the Iditarod race, and finally up close and personal with dogs and puppies in training. The scenery and history on the way to the camp as well as on the mountain was spectacular
Read beautyprof's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image novice
2 reviews
Jun 2018
Mushers camp and sled dog discovery. Took a bus to a jeep to the camp and had a small ride with the mushers and dogs. Took jeep back to hear story of races and pet pups. Not enough time with the pups. Took the bus to dock. Guide was funny and mushers are real participators in the idiadron race.
Read novice's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GrannyMa
1 review
Jun 2018
Fun, fun, fun! It was a rainy day so we donned big yellow ponchos and away we went. Met the dogs and Jerry who had raced in 16 Iditarod races. It was amazing to see both the passion for racing and the love Jerry had for the dogs. Went on a training ride with the dogs pulling. We had a great time!
Read GrannyMa's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DonnaGiese
1 review
Jun 2018
Enjoyed the helicopter viewing of the landscape to the dog camp. The dogs were so friendly and the musher was a delightful young man who obviously loves his dogs. The sledding was great fun. So glad for the opportunity to do this. This was on my bucket list.
Read DonnaGiese's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlambert1742
1 review
Jun 2018
this came with the white pass scenic railway. at the end of a very long bus ride you got lunch and the chance to dog sled on their summer sleds. Our kids didn't do this as it was an extra 35.00 per person.
Read jlambert1742's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tmt377
1 review
Jun 2018
A great time to see how the dogs train, hear about the Iditarod, and get to spend time with the puppies.
Read tmt377's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cherch7777
1 review
Jun 2018
The dogs were excited and raring to go. Cute experience
Read cherch7777's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image ksucat66
1 review
May 2018
A all-around great experience. You get up close and personal with the dogs; learn a great deal about the dogs and mushing and you get to see and hold puppies.
Read ksucat66's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bridgett2018
1 review
May 2018
We went to the summer training camp. The sled was sort of a golf cart on wheels pulled by a team of 16 dogs in training. It was amazing to see how the dogs work, they love to run. We got to see the puppies. Our guide Denise was fantastic as were the people we met at the camp. The gift shop had really nice stuff and good hot drinks. The only negative is this camp was on the top of the mountain and part of it was a shuttle van on unpaved road and the rest of it was in a Unimog on very unpaved road straight up the mountain, not for the faint of heart. The description didn't describe the access route and I'm kind of glad because I wouldn't have gone, once I was back at the bottom I was glad I went. Really a fun adventure.
Read bridgett2018's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ahuey77
1 review
May 2018
The actual dog sledding portion of the excursion was very fun. And we got to hold puppies afterwards and learn about the training that happens for Iditarod.
Read ahuey77's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruising for 3
1 review
May 2018
Wow - this was amazing. We had a last minute cancellation to our booked tour so we changed to this tour and so glad we did. We were able to enjoy this activity with a small child and seeing the dogs up close and experience the forest sledding was so awesome. An experience I will not forget and glad we could do this one.
Read Cruising for 3's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mark Banner
1 review
Sep 2017
Great fun, puppies were gorgeous!
Read Mark Banner's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image piemom9397
3 reviews
Sep 2017
The trip into the mountains where the dogs were was scenic and our tour guide was personable and informative. The time spent mushing and playing with the puppies was wonderful!
Read piemom9397's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image halhanher
1 review
Sep 2017
This was an amazing experience. We loved learning about dog mushing and being with the dogs. we even held some pups.
Read halhanher's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image floridasnoflake
1 review
Sep 2017
This tour was fantastic! Seeing these dogs and what they do is amazing. My daughter loved petting them and we even got to hold puppies! Made the cold, rainy day much better!
Read floridasnoflake's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image darin2
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Lots of fun. You get to see the mountains and play with puppies.
Read darin2's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cwatsoncat
1 review
Aug 2017
This was a 3 hour excursion. Our tour guide, Savanna, led us to a bus and we drove about 45 minutes out of Skagway up to the Dog Musher's camp outside Dyea. She gave us a running commentary about the area and history of the camp. We then transferred to a very rugged transport vehicle to go up the steep roads to the dirt paths the dogs run on. These are actual Iditarod dogs at their summer training facility and you get to ride in the sled for about 10 minutes, led by a seasoned musher. They talk the whole time about the dogs and you get to pet them. Then you go back down to the base and there is a presentation by an experienced Iditarod musher and you can hold some sled dog puppies (the best part of course). We thought this was very fun.
Read cwatsoncat's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KandiceLK
1 review
Aug 2017
Took my 6 and 7 year old sons for this excursion after our helicopter tour for snow dog sledding was cancelled. This was a great alternative. Nice ride to the camp and then a "mog" up the hill for sledding with the dogs. They put 6 people on an cart for the dogs to pull. And then they pull your for a mile- it's not super fast until you get to the end. After the ride, you meet the dogs that pulled your sled. They then take you back down the hill to hear about the Iditarod. Finally, you get to meet and hold the puppies- so cute! That was definitely the highlight. My kids loved it. They also have a shop and sell pictures they took during the ride and with the puppies.
Read KandiceLK's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wjack
13 reviews
Aug 2017
Gold Rush Sled Dogs was an afterthought, but truly enjoyed this tour. Matt Hayashide, former Iditarod participant was excellent speaker and really enjoyed seeing his dogs!
Read wjack's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MsSheryl
1 review
Aug 2017
Amazing views, great tour guide, dogs were amazing, speaker was an experienced iditerod participant, and what could beat puppies?
Read MsSheryl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alaska Excursions
Member Image Dusty Rose69
1 review
Jul 2017
The guides were great and we learned a lot. The scenes were beautiful, Saw lots of jumping salmon. Really enjoyed the ride with the dogs. Best part was playing with the puppies.
Read Dusty Rose69's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image fwbulldog
1 review
Jul 2017
Took way too long to get there by bus. Only had 45 minutes, and there was only one seat open on the dogsled. Way too far, too rushed, and not worth it. Bad BBQ.
Read fwbulldog's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ctarias
1 review
Jul 2017
We were in a small transit van. Our driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. The Dog sledding was an experience I will not soon forget. We went to a true Musher camp who trains her dogs for the Yukon Quest and Iditerod races. The proceeds from us help her pay for her expenses in the races. Some of the camps you book with the cruise line are just for profit operations.
Read ctarias's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links