Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating 143 Reviews
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Details & Booking
Member Image ajmom92
Sep 2018
By far our favorite excursion! Holding puppies always makes for a good day!
Read ajmom92's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HBCcruiser
Sep 2018
The dog sledding camp (no snow though) was fun but wish it had been with snow. Very informational. Dogs were being trained for real dog sled race. Also got to pet the puppies. Cute!
Read HBCcruiser's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bingomamma19
Aug 2018
This was a fun excursion that let us learn about dog sledding, meet the dogs, play with the puppies, go in to a room that was 40 below zero and do gold panning.
Read bingomamma19's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image captket
Aug 2018
The Folks at the Gold Rush Dog Team were great and very informative.
Read captket's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Noregrebals
Aug 2018
Spent a lot of time driving. First to location, then another vehicle up to dogs. The drivers were somewhat informative, but I think more information about the scenery and whole process would make this better. Time on sleds was fun, the dogs are amazing. The puppies are sweet.
Read Noregrebals's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ilovermont73
Aug 2018
Alaska 360: Learned about the ididarod and what goes into caring for the dogs during a race. Got to meet and interact with the adult dogs and pet some one-week-old puppies! The man who presented was incredibly informative and hilarious!
Read ilovermont73's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Vone
Aug 2018
So fun seeing the dogs, petting, them, seeing the equipment used. Then we got to watch them run with the sled and pet some puppies. 40 degree's below zero experience finished it off. Super awesome if you are a dog lover;)
Read Vone's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Can't remember
Member Image IneedaVacation1977
Aug 2018
This was a great experience. The information part at the end felt a bit rushed. Loved cuddling the puppies!
Read IneedaVacation1977's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gagekoby25
Jul 2018
Sled ride was awesome and got to play with the pups for awhile.
Read gagekoby25's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kelly2509
Jul 2018
We scheduled an excursion from the port of Skagway to the summer sled dog camp and a dog “sled” ride. We were picked up at the port by Savino (“Savvy”), who provided interesting and sometimes amusing banter during the 75 minute trip up the Klondike Highway. Upon arriving at the sled dog camp, we had plenty of time to play with the dogs and pan for gold, with instructions provided by Savvy. The kids loved it. After a while, we took a ride on the ATV (which is used instead of a sled in summer), with a professional musher. It was great fun and gave us a better understanding of how the dogs are raised, trained and fed. On the ride back to Skagway Savvy made some stops -- including at a refreshing waterfall -- that enhanced our visit to this part of the world. I would definitely recommend Klondike Tours for an excursion adventure.
Read kelly2509's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Klondike Tours
Member Image norcal cruiser02
Jul 2018
Loved the fact that the money we did pay goes to help these mushers fund their passion. Loved holding the puppies. The tour was very well run and very professional. One of our best tours on our cruise.
Read norcal cruiser02's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image italianjd987
Jul 2018
Mushers dog sledding was excellent! Who doesn't love hanging out with dogs and puppies for an afternoon?
Read italianjd987's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Worked_the_World
Jul 2018
This three and a half tour to the gold rush town of Dyea, the mountain drive to the Musher camp in a Unimog, the actual experience of riding a (wheeled since it is summer) dog sled, hearing about the Iditarod, and petting the husky puppies was out of this world. Excellent, excellent, excellent.
Read Worked_the_World's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Musher Camp and Sled Dog Tour
Member Image pak.chris
Jul 2018
Musher's Camp / s'mores. Cool experience in amazingly beautiful location. Great guides, lectures, history, etc. Kids got to hold sled dog puppies. Loved it.
Read pak.chris's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ttaylor646
Jul 2018
Emerald Lake was not to be missed, Heidi was a wonderful tour guide, Bears, Grean Lakes, amazing!!!!!
Read ttaylor646's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image Rgrand111
Jun 2018
Overrated. The "Alaska 360" venue is a bit dilapidated. The sled dog demonstration is kind of hoaky. The dogs pull the sled about 200 feet over the dirt. There were too many people on the tour. Everyone was clamoring to hold the sled dog pups who were trying to escape.
Read Rgrand111's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Apriljayne
Jun 2018
Beauriful scenery, professional guides, extremely informational and just all around a great time was had by all. Love love loved this excursion
Read Apriljayne's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beautyprof
Jun 2018
We all loved the experiences associated with climbing the mountain, coming down pulled by the dogs, listening to the musher describe his participation in the Iditarod race, and finally up close and personal with dogs and puppies in training. The scenery and history on the way to the camp as well as on the mountain was spectacular
Read beautyprof's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image novice
Jun 2018
Mushers camp and sled dog discovery. Took a bus to a jeep to the camp and had a small ride with the mushers and dogs. Took jeep back to hear story of races and pet pups. Not enough time with the pups. Took the bus to dock. Guide was funny and mushers are real participators in the idiadron race.
Read novice's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GrannyMa
Jun 2018
Fun, fun, fun! It was a rainy day so we donned big yellow ponchos and away we went. Met the dogs and Jerry who had raced in 16 Iditarod races. It was amazing to see both the passion for racing and the love Jerry had for the dogs. Went on a training ride with the dogs pulling. We had a great time!
Read GrannyMa's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DonnaGiese
Jun 2018
Enjoyed the helicopter viewing of the landscape to the dog camp. The dogs were so friendly and the musher was a delightful young man who obviously loves his dogs. The sledding was great fun. So glad for the opportunity to do this. This was on my bucket list.
Read DonnaGiese's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlambert1742
Jun 2018
this came with the white pass scenic railway. at the end of a very long bus ride you got lunch and the chance to dog sled on their summer sleds. Our kids didn't do this as it was an extra 35.00 per person.
Read jlambert1742's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tmt377
Jun 2018
A great time to see how the dogs train, hear about the Iditarod, and get to spend time with the puppies.
Read tmt377's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cherch7777
Jun 2018
The dogs were excited and raring to go. Cute experience
Read cherch7777's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image cherch7777
Jun 2018
The dogs were excited and raring to go. Cute experience
Read cherch7777's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Viator

Sponsored links