Roatan Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Roatan Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is a top-rated snorkeling destination in the Caribbean Sea.
Member Image SuzieQT234
1 review
Jul 2017
Great snorkeling, great crew, the port itself was pretty seedy and we didn't feel safe there.
Read SuzieQT234's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dive Doctor
Member Image mamabearjp
1 review
Jun 2017
Our guide was great. I didn't realize it was a guided tour. He took a life saver for us to hold onto if we got tired. He pointed out some neat fish and different things in the reef. We got to see a baby baracuda, a hammer fish, he showed us a conch shell that was empty, some different colorful fish and he even picked us up some little shells we could take home. Very nice and made the experience worth it.
Read mamabearjp's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lmgcruiser
1 review
Jun 2017
We booked the Jolly Rogers Snorkeling trip as a Royal Caribbean Shore Excursion, and it was great – wonderful snorkeling and a fun trip.
Read lmgcruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bronxite
1 review
Jun 2017
Jolly Roger excursion is the best. Crew made sure everyone was having a good time, took lots of photo's for everyone. Had to crew members in the water with us at all times, one swimming and taking us to the perfect spots and one in a kayak staying with those dragging behind. Back on board, there was plenty of food, drink and music. Looking to snorkel, go with Jolly Roger, you will not be disappointed.
Read bronxite's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Linda61
1 review
Jun 2017
The excursion was very crowded and saw minimal marine life. Lunch was nice, but nothing special.
Read Linda61's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cjstanman
1 review
May 2017
Jolly Roger snorkeling - had a great time, crew was fantastic, safety was first on the agenda, and it was the best snorkeling we have ever done!
Read cjstanman's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aquaman39
1 review
May 2017
Jolly Roger snorkeling and catamaran was a great time!
Read aquaman39's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image soupy36
1 review
May 2017
Small snorkel spot & too short of time in water. Had to wear snorkel vest which is unnecessary. Friendly excursion staff though and saw lots of fish.
Read soupy36's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bman17
1 review
May 2017
Jolly Rodger was a great experience
Read Bman17's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MumMum
2 reviews
May 2017
I'm a novice snorkler so didnt go out very far, however my daughter did and said it was one of the best ones she's done.
Read MumMum's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TigerPaw985
1 review
Apr 2017
Roatan was the most beautiful stop along our cruise. The lush mountain jungles of the island and the beautiful water were amazing. We took a catamaran and snorkeling excursion with Jolly roger catamaran and loved it. The crew was great and took us to French Key and we snorkled on the reef for about and hour in any where from 5 to 45 ft of water. It was like swimming in an aquarium, I saw so many fish it was amazing. Now I will say the snorkeling will tire you out and is a bit more physical because there is a current and fresh springs coming out of the reef so if you are elderly or out of shape I don't recommend it. Once back on the boat the crew fed us a good lunch which was quite tasty, and then we cruised along the shore and some of the local fishing villages and got to see the island and the local people outside of the tourist area. My wife had never been to a third world country before and this was a little eye opening for her. Overall a great day and great experience would do it again in a minute.
Read TigerPaw985's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stevenschultz50
1 review
Apr 2017
Beautiful clear water with much coral. Fewer fish but crew was very friendly! Even though there was just the two of us that day, they still treated us royally. We had the Reef Snorkling and Mayan Princess Beach excursion. Though the West Bay end had many hotels close together, the beach was very nice with chairs. The grounds were immaculate and the MPB hotel very upscale. Beach vendors were numerous but not pushy, in fact they were colorful and added to the charm!
Read stevenschultz50's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursioneer
Member Image d_perry3308
1 review
Apr 2017
shipwreck snorkel and beach break. We didn't get to see the shipwreck as the water was too rough, but they did take us to the reef where the water was just as rough and expected everyone to swim against the current. It eventually turned out ok, but wasn't fun in the beginning.
Read d_perry3308's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stargazer65
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Good Catamaran boat and crew. Good lunch with Caribbean Chicken and rice lunch. Lots of spice rum punch after tour. Took boat to snorkle and 10ft rolling waves on the ride to the other side of island. Almost got sea sick. Took the tour and saw some fish, blue, green clown fish, and some yellow tails. lots of brain corral. Prob would not go again because 120 people were in the water at the same time from two boats.
Read Stargazer65's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jomaro
1 review
Mar 2017
Took us to a beautiful beach for swimming and snorkeling.
Read Jomaro's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Discover Rotan
Member Image Meg1234
1 review
Mar 2017
This was our first Costco excursion. We cannot say enough amazing things. It was us and one other travel group of 8 people. They took us to a small diving resort where we were going to snorkel. Once we got there, my boyfriend actually got to go scuba diving instead and said it was one of the best dives he ever had. They let him scuba dive even though we didn't have quite enough money to cover the difference between that and snorkeling. I loved the snorkeling and the resort had a small beach straight out of a Corona commercial - completely empty with small tiki huts with chaise lounges. People were so friendly and it was a highlight of the trip.
Read Meg1234's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Saw Daniel Johnson's monkey & sloth sanctuary (held one) and then they took you snorkeling for an hour.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Daniel Johnson
Member Image ElaineMarie
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Good equipment, great guides, lots of explanations and safety was a priority.
Read ElaineMarie's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bethpompa
1 review
Mar 2017
Lifeguard took us out over reef, beautiful beach, beautiful water, beautiful reef. Awesome first time experience.
Read bethpompa's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LJHSViking
5 reviews
Mar 2017
Maya Key Private Island, Snorkeling and Lunch. Best for last. Walk off the ship to the pier, meet the group, board the vessel and a short ride to Maya Key. Very cool island with its own zoo, presumably rescue animals and birds. Hundreds of chaise longues, collect your snorkel equipment, walk out the pier, and do your own thing. There were staff on the pier to help out. A ladder into the water and then: definitely saved the best for last. We did three 45 minute snorkels before exiting the water at 1:12 pm for our 1:30 boat back to the ship. Lunch was fine, if a little slow to get started and hampered by a long, slow line that wasn't particularly well set up or managed for the number of people. But back to that reef: ooh la la! Absolutely fabulous with a deep drop at the edge that featured large schools of beautiful blue fish. After our excursion, we visited Mahogany Bay, Carnival's very own Disney-style beach with loungers, food, drinks, lifeguards, swimming and snorkeling from a pier, as well as all sorts of rental equipment such as kayaks available. We swam out to the pier and met Bryan Goodman, who was lifeguarding. After a brief chat, he offered us two masks and snorkels that he keeps on the pier, and away we went for our 4th snorkel of the day. A very nice conclusion to our visit, followed by a sample of local beer.
Read LJHSViking's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cdmmgray
1 review
Mar 2017
In Roatan, Honduras we took the Jolly Roger Catamaran & Snorkel excursion. This was the best snorkeling trip we've been on and we've been on at least 10. The crew is so much fun. They had two divers in the water with us and one on a kayak watching the group. There were probably 60+ of us on the boat and it didn't seem chaotic or crowded at all. They took us to a lovely reef with loads of fish.
Read cdmmgray's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image bwright9369
2 reviews
Mar 2017
The shuttle buses run all day. Stay as long as you want, just be mindful of "Back Onboard" time. Crystal clear water, snorkel equipment available by local vendors. Unsanitary. Bring your own if possible. Do utilize the kayakers who will pull you out to the colorful reef. For tips, mind you. Ask for Albert. Don't be afraid of the reviews about aggressive vendors. Not true. There were a few, not many, and they did not bother you after a "No thank you". Can't fault them for trying to support their families. I have to say I haven't seen this much color and sea life in quite a while. Take advantage of the opportunity.
Read bwright9369's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Drenthe
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Driven to West End for the snorkeling tour. Operators helpful. Lots of sun and fun.
Read Drenthe's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Eco Tours
Member Image pixiechic2016
1 review
Feb 2017
Snorkeled by the reef and saw many beautiful fish.
Read pixiechic2016's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kjbhome
1 review
Feb 2017
Jolly Rodger Catameran and snorkling. Very fun! Great food and great rum punch.
Read kjbhome's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?