San Francisco Alcatraz Excursion Reviews

San Francisco Alcatraz cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk the halls that once held many of the country's most notorious criminals at the infamous Alcatraz in San Francisco.
Member Image deanocruiser
1 review
May 2017
This tour should be offered a stand alone tour and not combined with Sausalito. By the time we got to the Alcatraz part there was not enough time to do even a minimum tour.
Read deanocruiser's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fireman cruiser
1 review
May 2017
OUTSTANDING! Highly recommend to anyone.
Read fireman cruiser's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Dylan's Tours
Member Image Gnomey
3 reviews
May 2017
Our ship's tour included Alcatraz, a city tour, over the bridge and a lookout point, dropping us at the ferry terminal. Alcatraz was great. Interesting, nice gardens (for a Jail!) and scenic views. Seemed to cope well with the crowds of people. Bus through town was congested, traffic wise with a limited tour. Over the Golden Gate bridge was cool, fisherman's wharf was packed. Too busy to be pleasant. Was disappointed that the bus just dropped us at the ferry terminal and we were told, go get a ticket. We lost our tour guide and really didn't know what was happening. Could do better Princess.
Read Gnomey's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Josette DeBloc
1 review
Apr 2017
While the Alcatraz tour was AMAZING, the cruise line did not allow enough time for the visitors to enjoy the entire tour. We all had to leave early in order to catch the bus to Sausalito. We would have liked to be able to FINISH the tour, and this is why we are giving a terrible rating.
Read Josette DeBloc's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rhys4
1 review
Mar 2017
Very well organised ,with priority embarkation onto the ferry.Went early morning,so not so crowded
Read rhys4's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image johnnierainey
1 review
Jan 2017
Iconic, must see attraction which we enjoyed enormously. Terrific photo opportunity. Would we do it again soon...mmmh?
Read johnnierainey's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image DaveT65
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Interesting tour; depressing environment for prisoners.
Read DaveT65's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz Cruises
Member Image water1519
5 reviews
Sep 2016
The trip was well organized the friendliness was exceptional and the tour was outstanding.
Read water1519's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz Tours
Member Image cruisue
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Walked over to the ferry boat pier from our cruise port--very close. Ferry left on time. Tour guide on the island gave a good overview and then we were able to walk around with headphones, describing the area. We could return on any of the ferry boats--there was no time restriction for the return.
Read cruisue's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz Island/National Parks
Member Image cruzlvr4545
2 reviews
May 2016
Excellent self guided tour. Don't miss it!
Read cruzlvr4545's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Doggie Daddy
2 reviews
May 2016
The Hornblower dock is by the ship, so an easy walk. Never did this although we lived locally for years. Great narratives.
Read Doggie Daddy's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Hornblower
Member Image aaokcruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2016
nice - book early - get details on where to meet - a smidge disorganized
Read aaokcruiser's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image endocruise
1 review
Mar 2016
Save 50% of you money and book it independently
Read endocruise's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fish & Chips
1 review
Mar 2016
Alcatraz is a definite must see.
Read Fish & Chips's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image trurotraveler
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Transportation to and from went very smoothly...very informative.....a must see
Read trurotraveler's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image WEGL81
17 reviews
Sep 2015
A great once-in-a-lifetime type bucket list tour. Very interesting. Boat ride there and back was fine, with excellent views of San Francisco and the Golden Gate.
Read WEGL81's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz Cruises
Member Image tipitina
6 reviews
Sep 2015
Alcatraz is worth seeing, but do it yourself, you don't need a Princess excursion. You pick up the cruise to Alcatraz from a pier that is right next to the ship. Just walk over and buy a ticket. $30.
Read tipitina's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HouseRulz
3 reviews
May 2015
Do yourself a favor and go to Alcatraz at night. It was a very memorable experience with lots of extra goodies provided. Booking well in advance is a must!!!
Read HouseRulz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image richard1s
15 reviews
May 2015
An interesting and memorable experience. It is very well done and well worth doing for a sense of history about this interesting landmark. Park staff is great.
Read richard1s's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alacatraz Tours
Member Image crcaldwell
5 reviews
May 2015
Princess fumbled the logistics. Their price is four time cost that one would pay by booking one's self. Learning experience for us! Alcatraz is fascinating but crowded and crumbling before our eyes. Your tax dollars at work!
Read crcaldwell's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cambriah
5 reviews
May 2015
The Princess representative did not show up. Alcatraz was very interesting and it is one of the sights we wanted to see during our first visit to San Francisco
Read cambriah's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Markanddonna
6 reviews
Apr 2015
Be sure to book far in advance- check the website about 6 weeks out. The tours are very well done and the historical aspects are very good. Nice job, NPS.
Read Markanddonna's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gibsonsgolfer
7 reviews
Apr 2015
I have been there before many years ago but my wife has never had a chance to explore. We were on a wait list for the ship's tour so I booked quite easily online. The cost was less than $30 PP and we enjoyed the prison's guided audio tour of the place.
Read gibsonsgolfer's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz tours
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013
Extremely interesting! I wasn't sure what to expect but very much enjoyed it. Views from the Island are great. Bring a jacket because it was much cooler there.
Read World Gallery's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NJBeast
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Almost missed this one. Immigration held up the entire ship for 3 hours. We were scheduled on the 1:45 ferry to Alcatraz but immigration finally let us off just after 2PM. The people at Alcatraz cruises were very accommodating and got us on the very next ferry. An extremely interesting and informative historical tour.
Read NJBeast's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz cruises

Sponsored links