Antigua Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Antigua Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The largest of the British Leeward Islands, Antigua boasts one of the Caribbean's most spectacular coastlines with secluded coves and sun-drenched beaches.
Member Image Smitty83
1 review
Oct 2017
A ride around the island, with a tour guide speaking not into the microphone. Two stops - 30 minutes for a rum punch at a restaurant and 20 minutes at someone's herb garden. A real disappointment.
Read Smitty83's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image curfl
1 review
Sep 2017
Interesting tour, tour guide was very informative, only problem was the heat, very warm when off the bus
Read curfl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image josecamuy
1 review
Jul 2017
This was the worst tour I have done in my life. The driver take us around the banana farm and that was it. We were able to take a couple of pictures from the bus he was driving and that was it.
Read josecamuy's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wandwall
5 reviews
May 2017
“Historical Island Drive and Beach Break” Along with our very funny local guide, we were bussed around the island hearing about the politics and culture of Antigua. We stopped at two high lookouts with ruins of English forts and then went to Nelson’s Dockyard where sailing ships were repaired and outfitted during the height of the English occupation. We were given a ticket for a rum punch or soft drink in one of the buildings which is now a bar and then taken to a beach. Despite what the Regent description said, there were bathrooms and changing facilities at the beach as well as shaded tables, a few benches and lots of sea grape trees which provided shade as well.
Read wandwall's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image internetwhiz
2 reviews
May 2017
Was an adequate tour of the island, although the tour didn't match the description offered by the cruise line.
Read internetwhiz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bubblysandy
1 review
Apr 2017
This tour was the best. We met friends out there we toured the island with. One of the best places were Shirley Heights where you could see the whole of the island from there, the beach and the lovely native food and of course the company. The island is absolutely beautiful. Definitely worth visiting.
Read bubblysandy's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stefan_Varong
2 reviews
Mar 2017
We were shown the most important highlights of the island, had breathtaking views in the National Park, seen ruins left by the British in an unbelievable environment as well as Nelson’s Dockyard. Further a stop at a sandy beach. We had a good driver, at the sights some time to explore, as far this can be done in such a fully packed day. I just can recommend Scenic Tours Antigua.
Read Stefan_Varong's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Scenic Tours Antigua
Member Image Cruiser142
1 review
Mar 2017
Private tour booked prior to trip. Operator was excellent and on time. Slight walk off pier required. Timed to meet ship sailing times thus as much beach time as you wish. Circle island drive enclosed van but stops whenever requested. National Park Tour was an additional $8.
Read Cruiser142's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Unique Island Tours Antigua
Member Image Penny Ledges
1 review
Feb 2017
What a tour...Joe Underwood ..local D J and tour guide...He was brilliant. History, knowledge, sense of humour and caring about his visitors and passionate about his island. We laughed from the time we got on the mini coach til the time we got off...The lobster lunch at Nelsons Dockyard was delicious and the pelican showing off his diving and fishing skills was entertaining...The rum punch at both the dockyard and at Turners beach (1.5hr stop including unseasonal shower from the skies) were seriously memorable ...Good choice of tour
Read Penny Ledges's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sue042568
1 review
Feb 2017
We were fortune it enough to get this tour booked with another couple. A great personal island tour with Verlin, who was fantastic. Highly recommend
Read sue042568's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Nellie's Unique Tour
Member Image MidnightBuffetFan
1 review
Feb 2017
We took a car tour with Nellie Beazer's tour company and LOVED it. It was our first time doing an independent tour, and I was a little nervous. I shouldn't have been! Verlyn picked us up close to the ship and took us to all sorts of everyday places. We were able to walk inside the new cricket stadium, visit some of the oldest churches on the island, eat pineapple at a roadside stand, even drive through the grounds of their abandoned hospital! Verlyn was a font of information about everyday island life -- where folks get their groceries, how the educational system works, why people sell stuff at the side of the road. We felt like we got a good picture for authentic island life. We also went to Nelson's Dockyard, which was very interesting - and which had a great bakery!
Read MidnightBuffetFan's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Nellie Beazer
Member Image lightning425
1 review
Feb 2017
The tour with Lawrence of Antigua started poorly. He was at another pier and had no representative at our pier. Eventually, we asked a policeman for help. He had Lawrence on speed dial. Someone came to get us. it was a long walk to the next pier and I had told Lawrence that one of our group had mobility issues. Then we got on a bus where everyone spoke French. Eventually, we were told the problem was that our bus had developed a flat tire. It was being fixed and we would be transferred to the correct tour. Once that happened, Lawrence gave us a very nice tour of the island. At the end, he dropped our group at a lovely beach. Asked how long we wanted to stay. We said two hours. He waited there and then took us back to our ship. If not for the flat tire problem, I would have rated it as excellent.
Read lightning425's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Lawrence of Antigua
Member Image Verdi the Traveler
1 review
Feb 2017
Great tour guide, Isabelle, who was funny and interesting during entire tour. We travelled through the island seeing all the sites, then took over an hour beach break at a beautiful spot in the south. Wonderful day!
Read Verdi the Traveler's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image OBX Cruisers
2 reviews
Jan 2017
“Antigua by Sea & Land” (6 hours) On a previous time in Antigua, we had enjoyed a lobster/catamaran experience. This time we wanted to see more of the island. This ship’s tour was a good combination. For the first half of our day, our group of about 30 was divided into two comfortable air-conditioned vans. We lucked out and had a really entertaining guide, actually the most personable of our entire cruise. “Jo”, is a DJ when he’s not leading tours and made our travel time fun. (He also shared his experience in New York City where he was working as a bicycle messenger on 9-11.) The vistas from Shirley’s Heights were gorgeous. We didn’t see the multimedia presentation but instead spent time outside on the overlook with a guide who covered the history. The views from above of English and Falmouth Harbours set the stage for our visit to Nelson’s Dockyard. Short tour there by a park service guide and free rum punch. My husband found a unique t-shirt in the sail shop. It’s on the right – worth a peek to see them still sewing sails. Warning: The rum punch is ridiculously strong! Some folks got one rum punch and one plain punch and mixed them. Just wish we had a little more time to fully explore the historic area. From that point, it was a very short distance to the beach. Only a few glimpses of the “lush rain forest” as we drove quickly through. When we reached the beach, we said good-bye to “Jo” and were transferred by a rubber dinghy to the catamaran. I hadn’t put my swimsuit on yet and wasn’t prepared to get as wet as we did. (Not complaining, just a “heads up.”) We waded about knee deep into the waves and then sat on the edge of the dinghy and swung our legs over. At the catamaran, it was a bit awkward to climb from the dinghy onto the steps at the back of the boat but lots of help from the crew. (It could be difficult if you are at all mobility impaired.) Then we set sail back to St. John’s, enjoyed a Bajan chicken lunch with salad and other local fixings. Stopped at a reef for those who wanted to snorkel. My husband jumped in, but I thought the water was a little too choppy so just relaxed and enjoyed the rum punch and music. I was impressed they had the dinghy in the water keeping an eye on the snorkelers. Finished with a slow, gentle sail back to St. John’s. (Rain storm over the mountains in the distance made for great photos.) Plenty of room on the cat for everyone either in the shade or up front on the nets. A wonderful day!
Read OBX Cruisers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Neveragain25
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Guide told us vitually nothing. Had to tag along at the back of other groups to learn anything. Separate guide in Nelson's Dockyard was excellent.
Read Neveragain25's full Marella Discovery cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image colchester dave
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Tour was too rushed Not enough time in Nelson's Dockyard for Lobster Lunch and sightseeing
Read colchester dave's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image bengy
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Lovely ride/beaches
Read bengy's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sandij
3 reviews
Jan 2017
bus tour of island, stopped in four places for pictures, last stop at Nelson dockyard was best and wished we were there longer.
Read sandij's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pawz1
1 review
Jan 2017
This is an excellent tour!! Especially enjoyed the visit to the MacMillan home & the pineapple farm. The beach part was very nice & lunch there was excellent!
Read pawz1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steady123
1 review
Jan 2017
Scenic Antigua and Beach. 14 passenger bus with guide takes you to Shirley's Heights for incredible views, then Nelson's dockyard (beautiful and historic) then to a beach for 90 minutes. We really enjoyed it. A great way to get a feel for the island
Read steady123's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Zelda911
2 reviews
Jan 2017
General island tour.. and then they will drop whoever want to at a beach and do return to take you back to the boat when you are ready... They will take some of the bus back and leave some at the beach ... It was great
Read Zelda911's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Unique island tour with Nellie
Member Image sensrock
6 reviews
Jan 2017
Island tour was better than I expected. Our guide was great and stops we made at Block House Fort and Fort Shirley gave us postcard like views of the island - lovely. Stop at Nelson's dockyard was not a highlight for us. Final stop, the beach break, at nearby Pigeon Bay Beach, was disappointing. Beach was small & ordinary - nothing like the spectacular beaches you expect to find in Antigua.
Read sensrock's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Susanr50
1 review
Jan 2017
Antigua experience, a cultural experience with tour guide, musicians, beach and great food and drink
Read Susanr50's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dancezee
1 review
Jan 2017
They took us to a pineapple plantation. We saw a black beach, as this island was created by a volcano. it was really interesting. Then we went to a beach for a half hour and we were servef a buffet lunch of chicken, beans and rice, salad.
Read dancezee's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image donnakmc
1 review
Dec 2016
Nice tour, with stops to see old forts and harbor areas.
Read donnakmc's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links