Antigua Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Antigua Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The largest of the British Leeward Islands, Antigua boasts one of the Caribbean's most spectacular coastlines with secluded coves and sun-drenched beaches.
Member Image chicopus
1 review
Jan 2018
Our tour to Shirley Heights and the Nelson dockyard was the most enjoyable excursion of our holiday - stunning scenery, interesting history, and a gorgeous dockyard to look around -our idea of a fabulous day out. The port in Antigua was one of the nicer ports, with a short walk along the water between the two port areas. We were there on a Sunday, so some shops were closed. There was free wifi in a section of Heritage Quay, with outdoor seating to sit and read e-mails.
Read chicopus's full Marella Celebration cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image Senior Single
10 reviews
Jan 2018
Our ship had a delay of four hours arriving, so the driver was a substitute and not as good as the original trip here several years ago. He had no mike, so it was impossible for those in the rear to hear.
Read Senior Single's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Lawrence of Antigua
Member Image Cornishe traveller
7 reviews
Jan 2018
Did an overview of the island then were taken to Shirley Heights and onwards to Nelsons Dockyard. A very worthwhile excursion.
Read Cornishe traveller's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Lovetocrooze
1 review
Jan 2018
Two highlights of this tour were the Nelson Docks and a breathtaking view from one of the higher peaks on the island.
Read Lovetocrooze's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ckorni1
2 reviews
Jan 2018
Amazing Antigua was the tour name. Took a general bus tour of the island, stopping at Shirley Heights (great views) and Nelson's dockyard (great place to walk around) to look at the restoration or oogle the incredible boats docked there now
Read ckorni1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jhindley
1 review
Jan 2018
Best views anywhere. Like the dockyard and all the boats. Also like sailing around the shoreline.
Read jhindley's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image williamcate
2 reviews
Jan 2018
Private Antiqua VIP tours was excellent. Our singing driver Alvin very informative and fun to have as our guide. We visited, Betty's hope sugar mill and was told slave history. As a side note I noticed a lot of other tour participants following us around attractions as Alvin was knowledgeable and obviously they had booked the cheap tour! Devils bridge – where caribbian sea meets the atlantic ocean and the seas spray through/under small coral bridge We visited Nelsons dock yard – the bakery offered some interesting items, rest isn't that interesting, but the guide Alvin recommended was excellent. Fig tree drive was a windy road not that interesting, Islanders call bananas - figs **** no rain forest as advertised in ship brochure ****
Read williamcate's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Antigua VIP tours
Member Image WeBcruisingMN
3 reviews
Jan 2018
We hired a taxi for this tour. Driver was courteous, safe, and informative. English Harbour was very good but we didn't get enough time there. Cost was only $25/person for a 2.5 hour tour
Read WeBcruisingMN's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Marion02
1 review
Jan 2018
An amazing coincidence- the rowing contest from the Canary Islands to Antigua arrived exactly as we arrived at the port on the tour. We were able to see the little row boats and see the rowers and the festivities welcoming them. It was very interesting.
Read Marion02's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image JazzerSue2
1 review
Dec 2017
Kept waiting at pre-arranged meeting point for half an hour. Tour guide who finally made contact looked after us very well. We had a tour of whole island but it didn't fully meet my expectations considering how much we paid.
Read JazzerSue2's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: Unique Island Tours
Member Image SaltAir_SaltWater
1 review
Dec 2017
Antigua has beautiful waters but its interior is average. Stay on the water.
Read SaltAir_SaltWater's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image archerniak
4 reviews
Dec 2017
Private tour for just the two of us booked with VIP. Alvin our tour guide and driver was excellent. Husband is a photographer and wanted to get great island shots and Alvin knew exactly were to go. Took us to lunch very local as well and I had a wonderful Goat Curry. Great experience
Read archerniak's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: VIP Tours Antigua
Member Image Gator75
8 reviews
Dec 2017
For all but the Barbados stop, the ship requested all passengers who booked ship excursions to check in at the theater where you received the trip ticket and a number, then sit inside to wait to be released according to the tour number you were given. This process worked very well. Following two sea days, we arrived in Antigua around 9:00 a. m. Since it was our first time to the island, we went on a ship shore excursion - a Panoramic Tour of the Island (3-hours). We enjoyed the tour and learned a great deal about the island from the driver (“Tony with the Pony” tail), but it was a long van ride over bumpy roads. The tour included two stops, one at a resort on the ocean and the second at an herb garden. We purchased a few souvenirs in the shops near the terminal building. Unfortunately, it was a national holiday and many shops were closed.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MSCcritic
1 review
Dec 2017
Saw most of the island. Went to one beach. Had a bit of time for pictures and shopping. Would like to to return.
Read MSCcritic's full MSC Seaside cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image remarkability
2 reviews
Nov 2017
Our driver/guide Jerome was fabulous and the tour itself was extremely informative and scenic. Antigua has a lot to offer.
Read remarkability's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Gordon Antigua Tours
Member Image suzah8611@yahoo.com
1 review
Nov 2017
We really enjoyed this tour and the tour guide Edwin was great. He thoroughly explained the scenes and then afterwards when we mentioned we wanted to find a nearby beach he took us there himself and picked us back up! He was amazing. We would definitely book this tour again.
Read suzah8611@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jcruiser201
3 reviews
Nov 2017
Great overview of parts of the island. the Guide was great giving us information about the island, the plants and the economy. had a short beach break which was nice. I am sure there was better beaches but nice nonetheless.
Read jcruiser201's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tampart1
21 reviews
Nov 2017
Antigua has bad roads full of potholes, and I think the driver hit most of them. The mini bus had small seats and little legroom, especially for someone over 6' tall. The bus needed new shocks/struts because we bounced up and down for almost 3 hours. If you have a bad back or neck, do not take the "Panoramic Antigua Drive". It was difficult to enjoy the tour because of the rough ride.
Read Tampart1's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Brookey262
1 review
Nov 2017
Very interesting for our first visit to Caribbean. Trip was informative and we got a good feel of the island.
Read Brookey262's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Sundae
3 reviews
Nov 2017
Our group of 6 from cruise critic roll call got Nellie as our tour guide for the History Replayed tour. The van is great with AC. Nellie is a total sweetheart. Nellie kept a running commentary of what we see and where we go. She got us a plate of local bananas and "black" (in name only) pineapples to sample. We never felt rushed at any place. Entrance to the national park ($8) was separate from her tour price. Even though she'd mentioned in email to me no drinks are included, she did have a cooler in the van and offered iced drinks.
Read Sundae's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Unique Island Tour Antigua
Member Image Lilypearl2146
1 review
Nov 2017
BRUTAL. Hot and cramped mini-bus over dreadful roads with a very unprofessional guide/driver whose best time is during the regatta with the 'wet t-shirt contest'.
Read Lilypearl2146's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mapcollector
1 review
Nov 2017
All the vendors in orange shirts had same $25.00 per person price for an island tour. Our promised only 5 in the van, but we ended up with 9 and 4 of them were told it included the Shirley Heights shipyard, but it did not. After much heated discussion, the four left our tour and took a cab to the shipyard as that was their priority. When we stopped for a bathroom break, the bathroom was closed. The second stop at the marina charged for the bathroom which had no running water....disappointing. Driver pointed out all the schools and churches, but nothing about the history or the forts etc.
Read mapcollector's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: one of many Orange shirt tour guides
Member Image KimEcruise
1 review
Nov 2017
Nothing remarkable. Would have been nice if we could have stopped at a roadside stand to try some of the fruits we were driving past (Black pineapple), or even a sample on board?
Read KimEcruise's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image m2mboss
1 review
Nov 2017
Without doubt, as other travelers noted, this is the standard many expected from Viking, even as an included tour. Excellent organization, great guide, nice island!
Read m2mboss's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image doxierome
1 review
Nov 2017
2 1/2 hour tour. Air not functioning well on bus. Driver/tour guide explained a bit about government and history. The fact that residents of Barbuda were evacuated to Antigua for their safety.
Read doxierome's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links