Antigua Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Antigua Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The reefs off the shore of Antigua contain many nooks and crannies for you to explore. Look for interesting marine life like the parrotfish, angelfish, damsel fish, and grunt.
Member Image Sammysunblazer
1 review
Dec 2017
snorkeling was allitle wavy some sand on coral from Maria excellent beach break at Deep Bay with caribe beer and rum punch Good day
Read Sammysunblazer's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Irenet2
3 reviews
Dec 2017
Snorkeling with stingrays. It started with a drive through the interior with a nice driver who pointed out sites and gave some history of the island. The actual snorkeling with stingrays was amazing! We fed them and they brushed by us with their smooth underbelly. The actual snorkeling was not even necessary as the water was only about 4 foot deep. I highly recommend.
Read Irenet2's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dinake
1 review
Dec 2017
The weather conditions were too windy for snorkeling, which any good outfitter would have checked before brining us out to the reef. We would have appreciated the opportunity to cancel as we could't snorkel. The conditions were too rough and the staff recommended that most people not snorkel unless they were advanced. Those who did have limited visibility. I think had the weather been better it would be a good experience but I'm giving this two stars as they should have cancelled rather than taking our money and not being able to snorkel.
Read dinake's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image zqvol
3 reviews
Dec 2017
This trip was described as a snorkel excursion. Never did Silversea mention that it was guided tour, which made it unbearable for experienced snorkelers. The snorkel boat was nice, and the stop at Deep Bay was excellent.
Read zqvol's full Silver Wind cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image kiran.borra
1 review
Dec 2017
Swimming with Sting rays and snorkeling .. - Stingray experience very nice.. but snorkeling .not much of corals to see. Not worth snorkeling part. but waters are super nice.. shallow and not scary even though its in the middle of the ocean ,
Read kiran.borra's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rolosmom
3 reviews
Dec 2017
beautiful clear water, fresh lobster grilled and served on the beach, small group...heaven
Read Rolosmom's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Creole Tours
Member Image m8zenblue
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Beach very crowded, promised chair and umbrella, had to pay extra for umbrella, water very cloudy, not good for snorkeling.
Read m8zenblue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TXCruiser10
4 reviews
Dec 2017
Sailed on a catamaran for snorkeling. Great time! Catamaran crew were awesome.
Read TXCruiser10's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tobia48
1 review
Nov 2017
Great excursion, and we got a good value, as the cruise line offered a good discount for a sail and snorkel, and beach break. It was only 66 dollars each.
Read tobia48's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LewisFamAdventurers
reviews
Nov 2017
Excellent instruction for first-time snorkelers. Friendly & funny crew. They guided us as we snorkeled but at a decent distance. Little boat zipping around making sure everyone was accounted for and no one was in distress. Felt very safe!! Cool to see the coral reef in the open ocean.
Read LewisFamAdventurers's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image AnnieM10
3 reviews
Nov 2017
We all thoroughly enjoyed this catamaran/snorkelling trip. Staff on board catamaran were great and very attentive when we were in the water. Water was not as clear as we would have liked but it was a bit choppy which is out of control of the operator.
Read AnnieM10's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image creativegenius
5 reviews
Sep 2017
This island had one of my favorite excursions ever, Reef Riders and snorkeling. First off, it’s amazing riding around Antigua as it is part of a nation with Barbuda, only 30 nautical miles away and it got barely a scratch from Irma. Now for the reef riders you take a 30 minute van ride to the pier where the reef riders are waiting. They’re rigid inflatable boats that hold two people, the driver and rider. You sit on a bench like on a jet ski, but you have standard boat controls with a steering wheel and throttle. The boats are powered by a 25hp outboard motor. They are a LOT of fun to drive. You start with an 8 mile drive out to the reef location, following the lead guide. It’s a beautiful ride out and the reef itself is a 2 mile reef. Once there, the guide anchors to the reef and then ties the rest of the boats to his. I actually don’t snorkel, my wife does, and she said the snorkeling was pretty good. Not as good as some other areas, but the water was beautiful and the location beautiful. I think we had about 40 - 60 minutes at the reef. It was plenty of time. Now the WORST part about the excursion is getting back into the boats. They don’t have a step, nor do they have rope along the middle so it’s near impossible to get back into the boat by yourself. The guide gets himself in and then pulls you in. If they would add a single step to the side of the boat or a rope along the bench, you could probably pull yourself in. At about the halfway point of the ride home, you come to a large area with a beach on one side. At this point, the guide will stop you and let you know you have 5 minutes to ‘go have fun’ with the boats. As I said, these boats are a LOT of fun to drive and I used this time to do a lot of sliding around with them. They go quite fast for a 25hp motor as they come right up and out of the water. If you’re looking for something fun and different, this is a great excursion, even with the pain of getting back into the boat. If you choose to walk around the city, let me say that Antigua is a very difficult port city to walk around as the infrastructure is not that great. You will find very rough and often very crooked sidewalks that slant down into the roads. This is a very difficult area for those who cannot walk well and I would not encourage wheelchairs or scooters to simply roam around the port city. It’s VERY crowded and very difficult to move around even just walking. People were very aggressive in trying to get us to purchase items both from the stores and also in the streets. This was the most aggressive we have seen folks outside of Falmouth, Jamaica. So just be aware of that. This may have been due to the influx of refugees from Barbuda, but it’s something we noticed right away when the van driver dropped us off back at the port. We had to run a gauntlet of people in the shopping area as we walked back to the ship.
Read creativegenius's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Comet21
1 review
Apr 2017
It was a 30 minute ride and the beach we snorkels out was very nice
Read Comet21's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jim and Amy
1 review
Mar 2017
The snorkeling was lame, few fish, not much coral.
Read Jim and Amy's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MitchFam67
1 review
Mar 2017
Long bus ride but got to see some "culture" outside of the port. Fun excursion of kayak in the mangos, snorkeling around coral reefs, and a small hike up a hill for excellent views
Read MitchFam67's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jocap
9 reviews
Jan 2017
A brilliant snorkelling experience over a reef
Read jocap's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image gpodell
1 review
Dec 2016
We took the extreme tour. It was probably the best tour I have ever taken in my life. The staff was the nicest you can imagine. We were on a high speed boat that took us around the island to amazing snorkeling locations. The staff would tell us everything about the island which was magnificent. We stopped at the most beautiful private beach for lunch. It felt like we were in a dream. This island was insane and it was only made better by this tour. It is worth every penny and more. There are not enough good things to be said about Adventure Antigua. If I go back I would do the exact same tour again. I did not want it to end.
Read gpodell's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VickiLovescruises
1 review
Dec 2016
Booked for the 4 of us and 5 friends. Very friendly owners, great food, nice rum punch, pretty island and fab snorkelling at Cades reef. Really fun trip. James and Sherrill arranged the taxi for us from the cruise. Highly recommend booking this trip!
Read VickiLovescruises's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: Tropical Catamaran Cruises
Member Image maxcat910
3 reviews
Dec 2016
See Antigua by Sea Nice tour, but a swim is required to reach the snorkeling area. Lunch was good.
Read maxcat910's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PenK
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Catamaran Sail, Snorkel and Beach Cruise AN03B. This trip was really a fish experience. They took us out to a reef, the water was spectacular the whole trip. They bread chummed the water and it was like being in a full aquarium. Wow. The seas where kind of rough that day, but we still had some great snorkeling and they fed us good and drank us good after. Stayed away from the strong Rum Punch after the last two snorkels, haha. Highly recommend.
Read PenK's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vandystar7
1 review
Nov 2016
Wadadli Catamaran, Captain Gordon, excellent experience. The crew took such great care of all of us, and Captain told us about the island as we sailed. We got to swim with turtles, and sail, and beach break. It was wonderful, smooth, safe, exhilarating.
Read vandystar7's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelforadventure
1 review
Nov 2016
Run by Antigua Paddles through the cruise line. Fantastic time, great snorkeling in clear waters and fun kayaking!
Read travelforadventure's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Space Coast Cruisers
6 reviews
Nov 2016
Stingray city. It is a fun experience to swim with the rays.
Read Space Coast Cruisers's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image clemsongal
2 reviews
May 2016
We went snorkeling with the stingrays........beautiful water, gorgeous spot, waist deep water, don't have to snorkel!!
Read clemsongal's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tdrenth
1 review
Mar 2016
Crusoe Island Getaway and Snorkel was really good. I would have given 5 stars had the coordination been better. We sardined into vans for the 20 minute drive and once we got to the resort where our tender was waiting, the 12 passenger, rickety, wooden boat was not large enough for all 40+ passengers to cross to the island together. Instead it served as a shuttle and significantly shortened the 2 1/2 hr period on Prickly Pear Island for those people who were on the last shuttle. The island is beautiful and the snorkeling was amazing - easy to navigate and just deep enough. Sand is really crushed shells, so water shoes would be helpful. There is a bathroom on the island but don't expect much.
Read tdrenth's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links