Antigua Shirley Heights Excursion Reviews

Antigua Shirley Heights cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Originally built as a signal station to alert troops of approaching ships, this breathtaking spot features commanding views of the English Harbor and Nelson's Dockyard.
Member Image Carolmarol68
1 review
Mar 2018
Great tour, Nelson’s Dockyard also beautiful. Great photo ops!
Read Carolmarol68's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lambs in Alaska
1 review
Mar 2018
The Nelson Dockyard was not nearly as expansive as we thought based on our pre-cruise research. I don't recommend it. However, we took the city bus to Nelson Dockyard, then a water taxi to the beach below Shirley Heights, then hiked up to Shirley Heights. We had some great views and enjoyed being outdoors. Much better than sitting on a bus. City bus cost us $3 per person each way. Entrance to Nelson Dockyard cost $8 per person.
Read Lambs in Alaska's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: took city bus to/from
Member Image jhindley
1 review
Jan 2018
A must see for photos and views; ideal Caribbean location.
Read jhindley's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image moejoe2324
1 review
Jan 2018
Nelson's Dockyard is NOT a dockyard. It's now a millionaires boat parking lot. $8 entrance which most of the local tour operators don't tell you about, so it comes as a surprise on top of the $20/25 per person you pay up front. In the end it's worth it for the view of the English Harbour at Shirley heights
Read moejoe2324's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: Can't remember
Member Image BornForTheSeas
1 review
Jan 2018
We hired a taxi whose driver combined us with another client at a pay-beach, making us wait 45 minutes as he found them and they changed. Then, they had to travel to our destination, waiting as we toured a historical site. the driver hurried us, saying, "I have bad news for you. "the police have closed Shirley Heights because of an auto collision blocking the road." I don't know if that was a valid reason or not, but we will always require "Only-Client" taxi trips from now-on. Although frustrating, the trip offered fabulous sea vistas!
Read BornForTheSeas's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Chris62
2 reviews
Dec 2017
Only an average rating as we felt the tour was rushed & most certainly well over priced. We visited great scenic viewing locations such as Shirley heights, Nelson Dockyards (with lunch) & ended up with a 1:30hr visit to a beach. However the boat docked at 7:30, yet the trip left at 10:15. If we had left at say 8:30 - 9:00, we could have had 2:30 on the beach. By the time we got wet, it was time to get dry to get back on the bus - it's the Caribbean! let's have some time at the beach!! Also the staff at the beach bar, were quite ignorant to the point of rude. they want the tourists money, but not the tourists!! time someone pointed out that's where they get their income from, the ungrateful sods. Is service with a smile & the odd thank you too much to ask?
Read Chris62's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image rebecca7175
2 reviews
Dec 2017
We did the Shirley Heights with the Boatyard trip and it was great!! The tour guide was both entertaining and knowledgeable!! We had fun and learned a lot about the heritage and people of Antigua!! Would highly recommend for a short but interesting tour of Antigua!
Read rebecca7175's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ItaloAmericana
3 reviews
Nov 2017
The catamaran tour was canceled due to "mechanical problems", so we chose this instead. Our guide, Angie, was fun and informative. We're not history buffs, so Shirley Heights and Nelson's Dockyard were nice but not amazing. The lobster lunch we had was very good.
Read ItaloAmericana's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image UpWithTheJollyRogerBoys
1 review
Nov 2017
Fabulous scenery, brilliant guide, great food and a real laugh from start to finish.
Read UpWithTheJollyRogerBoys's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Miller5
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Amazing Antigua tour. It was great to see the island
Read Miller5's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Verdi the Traveler
1 review
Feb 2017
Interesting part of our island tour. Gorgeous views of island harbor
Read Verdi the Traveler's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bengy
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Been before. Liked it both times
Read bengy's full Azura cruise review
Provider: Local taxi
Member Image lindafromwoking
3 reviews
Jan 2017
did a tour to Nelson's dockyard, Shirley Heights and a beach. The beach was a bit disappointing - I am sure there are much nicer ones on Antigua. There wasn't enough time at Nelson's dockyard. It would have been much better to have had an extra hour there and made the excursion one hour longer in total. There was plenty of time.
Read lindafromwoking's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jc3443
1 review
Dec 2016
Great but nowhere near enough time at the locations!
Read jc3443's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bluegiraffe
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Lovely views and some history. We went to Shirley Heights, Nelson's Dockyard, and the Blockhouse. Excellent for photographers.
Read bluegiraffe's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HUNGRYGREEK
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Nelsons Dockyard after visiting Shirley Heights and then a beach break. Typical cruiseline tour in a crowded 24 passenger bus. The views were great and it is nice to walk around the dockyard. The beach was ok and not far from the ship on our way back from the dockyard.
Read HUNGRYGREEK's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Red Rooster
1 review
Apr 2015
Decided to take tour of the island with a local Taxi driver. He took us through the city to Shirley Heights as well as Nelsons Dockyard. We took in the sea air at a cafe and just relaxed.
Read Red Rooster's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image Happy days 296
7 reviews
Mar 2015
Well run with an interesting and amusing guide who knew the island and its history well. Very interesting to see nelsons dockyard - well worth the visit. Rather cramped bus but otherwise fine
Read Happy days 296's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image franforfun3
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

I went on the Nelson's Dockyard, Shirley Heights & Dow's Hill tour.

The tour showed main attractions, and the tour guides even added their own comments while we riding in the bus about Antigua (life, politics, etc). It was a good, comprehensive tour.

Read franforfun3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ukie57
2 reviews
Nov 2013

Our tour guide and bus driver were wonderful. Our guide was remarkable with her ability to remember everyone's first name on the bus! We love the stop at the old fort site and Shirley Heights. A wonderful way to learn a little about the island, but in luxury of an air-conditioned bus.

Read Ukie57's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image starboard gal
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

Pretty island, never been there before. Decided to take a tour that included a long bus ride that featured scenic vistas from the old military forts which are perched atop some very mountainous terrain. The views were outstanding. Our other primary stop was at Nelson's Dockyard, a wonderful historic site. HIghly recommend this tour. Also did some shopping in the town where the ship was docked.

Read starboard gal's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links