Barbados Harrison's Cave Excursion Reviews

Barbados Harrison's Cave cruise excursion
Overall Rating 71 Reviews
Located in the central uplands of the island, this crystallized limestone cavern is a testament to nature's mastery. Flowing streams, deep pools of crystal clear water and towering columns characterize this living cave.
Details & Booking
Member Image HawaiiUK
Nov 2018
The tour itself was fine, although I wish ship excursions were longer. The caves were interesting, and riding in a little train was neat.
Read HawaiiUK's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Timmiesmom
Nov 2018
One caution, this cave's temperature is warm, 78 degrees, so plan accordingly. I love caves/caverns, so found this tour perfect. Particularly because I am a senior and didn't have to walk it! The tram driver and guide were great. The tour of Barbados was very interesting and the buses used were luxurious and air conditioned. Again, great tour for seniors.
Read Timmiesmom's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rose61
Oct 2018
Had a historical journey on the way and the advisor in the cave was knowledgeable. The advisor made our trip visit as he was very funny.
Read rose61's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PhilAllison
Jul 2018
Our tour guide/driver was somewhat knowledgeable and very entertaining. Not sure he was really qualified as a tour guide, but a great personality. The caves were great to see, but the tour guide there had a very 'I'm tired of tourists' look about her.
Read PhilAllison's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image deblauwmk
Mar 2018
Barbados - Wanted to see Harrison cave but waited too long to book through RC as it was sold out two days before we got there. So mental note, book early if want to book through RC. Instead we took a chance and dis-embarked early and got a cab to take us to Harrison Caves for $25 round trip/pp (which also meant he would wait for us there and take us back for this amount!). We got there before tour busses and got right in! Tickets to cave were about $30/ea. Basically saved about 50% by going out on our own as it would have cost double that through RC. The cave is cool and worth the trip, but very Disney like (trams, lighting). It took about an hour for the drive to the caves. Neil, our cab driver, was great. We negotiated a deal with him that instead of $25/pp just for the caves (there were 4 of us so = $100), we’d do a deal for $250/group (included our trip to Harrison Cave) to be our personal guide for the day, returning us to the ship 1 hour before our call time. He then also took us to bar at the highest point on the island with an incredible view, took us to a lovely old church, and then took us to the beach. He left us there for a couple hours and then came back to pick us up and take back to ship. It was an awesome, fun day. The sands of Barbados are particularly feet friendly – flat (no sudden drop offs) and the water was warm.
Read deblauwmk's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image celtic1950
Mar 2018
Easy and great tour.
Read celtic1950's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PGPrendy
Mar 2018
Barbados is my husband’s homeland! Here, we took the Harrison’s Cave Tram Tour, which we booked through Viator, and the tour company was Glory Tours. The Glory Tours driver and guide throughout the drive in Barbados was very friendly and professional. Harrison’s Cave is spectacular! We also met up with my sister-in-law who lives in Barbados, and we all had lunch at Chefette, then took a taxi back to the cruise port.
Read PGPrendy's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image Hopetotravel
Mar 2018
Loved the caves and our tour guide was very informative.
Read Hopetotravel's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image viking fanatic
Feb 2018
great if you have never been to a cave before. still interesting if you haven't, and great ride through the countryside to get there
Read viking fanatic's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ACastillo
Jan 2018
Nice but there are better caves in Puerto Rico if you can get there
Read ACastillo's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Sheryl Gail
Dec 2017
We had a 4 by 4 adventure along with the Harrison Cave. Cave experience was wonderful, however, no instructions were given as to what to do when you exited the cave. We wandered around not knowing if we had time to explore, had to get on a bus, where to meet, etc. Finally asked a worker and they said to take the elevator up a flight and go to the parking lot. That is where the 4 bu 4 was.On the 4 x 4 the driver did not narrate what we were seeing as we drove Not very organized. Did not learn anything about Barbados.
Read Sheryl Gail's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image eleanola
Dec 2017
very slick operation, through caves in mini train, with stops
Read eleanola's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dblock
Dec 2017
Just something to do.
Read Dblock's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EricTravelCruise
Dec 2017
Great visit to the cave. It is nice that they use a tram inside the cave to allow you to see more of it itn less time
Read EricTravelCruise's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ssteinman3
Dec 2017
Unique excursion for a Caribbean island. Enjoyed the cave, tour guide was very informative. A must see!
Read ssteinman3's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image eucen
Dec 2017
Preface - I have visited quite a few caves, and while this is a great trip for those that aren't the most mobile (tram)....I would probably aim to do a walking tour if I had more time.
Read eucen's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BonaireSeeker
Nov 2017
The cave was wonderful. We rode a tram throughout the cave. However, we were told that my sister could take her walker, but the bus wouldn't allow us to take it. Another cruiser needed his wheelchair, and it wasn't allowed either. When we got to the cave's park, there was a great deal of walking just to get to the point where you actually entered the cave. My sister was able to do it, but the other gentleman and his wife struggled greatly as the cave's staff kept saying that it was only a few steps farther. (It was probably a 150-ft. walk.) Everyone felt so sorry for them and tried to help as much as we could. The bus driver just abandoned everyone the second he parked the bus and left us and that gentleman and his wife to climb out of the bus and struggle to get to the tram. Those logistics were not as "advertised" as we had both asked several people and several times to make sure it would work for us. With all that being said from a disability standpoint ... the cave experience itself was wonderful, Unexpectedly huge rooms and a 40-ft waterfall. Just spectacular for an island to have this!
Read BonaireSeeker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RoopFamily
Oct 2017
We enjoyed this day especially with it being our first day off of the ship after sailing for 2 days. The scenery was beautiful, natural wonder of the world. The tour was great- informative and entertaining. The cave tour lasts 1.5 hours on a tram and let you off just to take one picture. Then you head to an overlook where you see sugar cane plants and scenery. Worth the few hours and the money to see Barbados in a nature aspect! Pictures don't do it justice.
Read RoopFamily's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image creativegenius
Sep 2017
Here we opted for the 4x4 Open Air excursion to Harrison’s Cave. There’s honestly no reason for the open air 4x4 for this excursion except that it’s a really fun way to ride around the island. You’re sitting in the bed of a modified Toyota LandCruiser that seats 10. It’s about a 20 - 30 minute ride to the caves and the excursion in the caves itself is about 40 minutes total. It is quite beautiful inside as they take you down into the caves via the tram. They do a nice job of ‘revealing’ the caves by having you approach many of the cavern areas in near darkness and then the lights come on. Much like lighting up a stage. It was quite eerie and beautiful. At the conclusion of the Caves tour, the driver will offer you some refreshments including Rum Punch. In our case he had a full gallon of rum punch and I will say that the rum did not make it back to the port. After leaving the caves he drove us to the Atlantic Ocean side of the island and down to a remarkable beach area where we had about 15 minutes to wander the beach and take photos. It was quite beautiful with the exposed coral formations. Then it was back into the truck and more rum punch. On the final leg of journey from the beach to the ship our driver opted to go off road and through areas of both fields and rainforest types of areas. It was an absolute hoot and the free flowing rum punch added to the hysterics of everyone on board. Let’s just say we boarded as 10 strangers and left as 10 long lost friends. Between the driver, the off roading and the rum, we had an absolute blast going through the countryside on our way back to the port. This is definitely a fun tour to do at least once.
Read creativegenius's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tiggerlvr
Jul 2017
Travelling across the island, the driver was able to keep up a running commentary about the island and many different landmarks! The Caves were very well set up and organized. Because it was so well run, everyone had a great time. There were excellent staff who were polite and helpful. The tour of the caves has been set up so that everyone gets a great experience.
Read tiggerlvr's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Williams Tours
Member Image MirandaLVisser
Jun 2017
It rained so we were not able to go in. We got our money back and our bus driver still drove around and showed us the city which was great and made the best of a disappointing situation.
Read MirandaLVisser's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jenn_K
Apr 2017
Booked with cruise line. Transport to and from the caves was included on an airconditioned bus The cave tour was informative - great sights to see. Educational and interesting. There are a few tiny stalls if you want to buy souvenirs
Read Jenn_K's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image wolfatlga
Mar 2017
I was really looking forward to this excursion very disappointed. Only one elevator worked to take you to the lower level. Then the tram took you down, the operator encourage people to take pictures and videos on the trip, BAD idea, electronic flashes and people blocking the views with the camera's and I Pads, selfie sticks, how annoying. We are in a cave and every thing is let up by electronics. BEWARE you will get wet from the drippings of water in the cave and it is very hot and claustrophobic and one point the turned of the lights to show you how dark it is, really we are in a cave, got it!
Read wolfatlga's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Business Professor
Mar 2017
Fascinating. Drove through the cave, rather than walking, which made it much more enjoyable.
Read Business Professor's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Business Professor
Mar 2017
Fascinating. Drove through the cave, rather than walking, which made it much more enjoyable.
Read Business Professor's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links