Nassau See and Sea Excursion Reviews

Nassau See and Sea cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This tour combines the Seaworld Explorer tour with a one hour city tour of Nassau. You'll board an underwater-viewing vessel for a chance to see a shipwreck and dozens of colorful, tropical fish. After exploring the underwater world, board a minibus for your tour of Nassau.
Member Image CruiserDoll
1 review
Dec 2017
Only did the “Sea” part. This would be a 5 Star Review, but the tour didn’t leave the ship until noon and we had to be back by 3:30. MSC excursions meet on the ship, not at the port, so if we had gotten off the ship to walk around in the morning, we would have been rushed to make it back there at noon (going through security, walking back to ship, etc). The “Sea” part is a faux submarine ride which is actually a glass enclosed button floor of a boat. It goes around to various reef areas and it was like being submerged in an aquarium. We loved it. We skipped the bus tour (“See”) so that we could walk around a but.
Read CruiserDoll's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image alique22
1 review
Nov 2017
The harbor boat ride with rum punch was excellent, the bus driver was not very knowledgeable
Read alique22's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image musman
3 reviews
Oct 2017
Discover Nassau by Land and Sea. This was a very nice catamaran for a sea tour of the beautiful sights of Nassau. This included seeing Paradise Island and Atlantis up close from the water, and our awesome and entertaining narrater Chris pointing out notable homes and Yachts along the way. While being entertained by Chris, we were enjoying Rum Punch and Nonalcoholic Punch. After the sea tour we boarded medium sized air-conditioned busses for a land tour. This was also educational but not as entertaining. I would recommend this excursion for anyone who wants to see much of the island.
Read musman's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ZenaMaria
1 review
Oct 2017
SEE & SEA TOUR: The bus portion of this tour was okay. The bus was even more cramped than the Florida bus (see earlier review on Port Canaveral). It was small but at least it was air conditioned. The driver was very nice and he drove us around telling us about the history of Downtown Nassau. It was a nice experience. He then dropped us off for 15 minutes near two historical landmarks which didn't leave us much time for anything but shopping. That's where the selling by the locals began. It was an okay experience there though. Not the hard selling that we would experience later. That could be because we were there early and the locals were still setting up their kiosks when we got there. It could also be that it didn't feel so bad because we hadn't been so bombarded with all of the selling yet. After that 15 minute stop, we got back on the bus and he took us to our catamaran. The man who gave us the above water tour was hilarious! Very entertaining and it was pretty because he showed us where the rich people lived across the water, although we never got too close. I'm assuming how the residents like it. He also pointed out the island where the Blue Lagoon movie was filmed and told us that Gilligan's Island is somewhere in that area as well although we couldn't see it and weren't going anywhere near it. We rode the catamaran out into the deeper water (not too deep) where we transferred over to the semi-submersible vehicle. We transferred while on the water! (Not wheelchair friendly!) It was a little scary but also fun to do. Once in the other boat, we went downstairs and the looked at the water out of the windows. The windows were pretty scratched up and it's a pretty tight fit down there. But it was air conditioned so not too bad. We rode in silence for a good 10 minutes until we reached the area where the schools of fish were. Then the tour began. The tour guide here was equally as funny as the last. He told us about the fish. We were there for a good 20 minutes or so and then he told us that we were waiting for the catamaran to come back and take us back to the port. So, we were able to go on the upper part of the boat and we were able to feed the fish (white bread) while we waited. We waited another 20 minutes or so for the other boat to return to transfer us back on (in the water again) and take us back to shore. The tour guide was very nice and informative while we waited. He answered any questions we had. He also let us use his restroom if needed. It was literally a tiny room with a toilet and toilet paper. The guy who used it before me couldn't find the light and neither could I. So, I used my phone's flashlight to light my way. If you've ever used a restroom on a small moving boat you will know just how rocky it was. I was bumping all over the place but it was fine. Did the job. :-) While waiting for the other boat, our tour guide told us that we would be dropped off at the Straw Market and we could bargain with the locals to get a good price. (We did go to the Straw Market but the locals refused to bargain at all!!! They didn't care if we walked away, at all. Must just be a locals thing.) We then transferred back over to the other boat. Back on the other boat, there wasn't much talking. It was a pleasant ride back and then we were dropped off at the Straw Market area. (See port review for how we were treated at Nassau.)
Read ZenaMaria's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LaTisha Howlett
1 review
Jul 2017
No one tells you that you will be in locations where you could actually sign up for more excursion outside of the cruise once you're in certain places. We were on the beach. So we could have swum with the dolphins or had a stingray encounter. But everything else was good. For all first timer get looks of advice because there isn't any help for you on the ship. They are just gonna sell you what you ask for and leave you uninformed.
Read LaTisha Howlett's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Jaygeo
1 review
May 2017
Was fun with the activity director having us dancing! Gave us a nice guided tour around the island.
Read Jaygeo's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costco Travel
Member Image DukeIII
1 review
Mar 2017
First half of the tour was cruising in/around Paradise island, second half was on a bus touring Nassau, the Fort, and Steps. First half was great second half not so much.....we ditched the tour and continued on our own.
Read DukeIII's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wyocowgirl
1 review
Feb 2017
I've been to Nassau before, so the city part of the tour was not new. I did enjoy the Sea part, especially in the underwater exploration of the reefs where I saw a turtle, many fish, and a nurse shark. I wish that part was longer.
Read wyocowgirl's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WahooCruiser
1 review
Jan 2017
A great way to see the city. Undersea part was a pretty lame, especially compared to similar experiences other paces.
Read WahooCruiser's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image naomiyu
1 review
Dec 2016
Nassau beach is clean and quite
Read naomiyu's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Susie65
1 review
Oct 2016
This was a fun excursion. We did a land/bus tour first. We went to a fort and saw some of the local historic highlights. Then we we boarded a tour boat and had a harbor tour and saw some famous people's vacation homes. Then we transferred to another boat where we went to the lower level of the boat which had glass around the sides and we got to see a lot of the tropical fish. I enjoyed this excursion a lot.
Read Susie65's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluewaterlovers
1 review
Oct 2016
water murky because of hurricane. Crew was fine, need some new jokes,, bus driver told same ones as the narrator on the boat
Read bluewaterlovers's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image HSTNCRZR
1 review
Aug 2016
Our guide on the catamaran portion of the trip was funny and friendly and share a lot information and history about Nassau and Paradise Island (Hog Island). He was interactive and had volunteers do a dance competition between men and women.
Read HSTNCRZR's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Seahorse Tours
Member Image jsfromsc
3 reviews
Jun 2016
The "tour" of Nassau was mostly a ploy to try to get you to buy souvenirs. The submarine part was interesting, but not spectacular. Walk from the ship to the start of the location was too long for someone with mobility issues and in the extreme heat and humidity. I could not get anyone from Carnival to confirm how much walking was involved. I would have requested assistance from Carnival to get to the bus had I known.
Read jsfromsc's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rburkart
4 reviews
Apr 2016
All previous tours to Nassau had been land only, this time we got to see some the coral reef area. We were entertained by "Slim" on the way to the observation boat, and he pointed out the homes of all the celebrities who have homes in the area. Little did we know! Lots of colorful fish. It would be nice if someone would be allowed to dive in the area and clean up some of the litter that lies on the bottom. We were told that the area is protected and no one is allowed to dive in this area. In spite of this, it was relaxing and enjoyable. Were dropped off "downtown" to do our shopping.
Read rburkart's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vickyelse
1 review
Dec 2015
The bus tour of the city is fast and entertaining, but the really important part is the semi-submarine tour of the ocean floor. I can't even list the number of fish, sharks, turtles, and of course coral we saw and learned about. It's great fun and you couldn't do this many places--the Bahamas' shallow sea makes sea life really accessible, and the local guides are fonts of information.
Read vickyelse's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Babbz
1 review
Sep 2015
WE were told 3 reefs, saw 2. Return boat ride overcrowded and slow, no air or breeze as a result. Land part was in Ac bus and informative, but short and half was spent at the rest room and straw market. I would not go again on this tour.
Read Babbz's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image revbruce
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the semi-sub and the guided tour from the pier out to the vessel but the Atlantis submarine experience i has a few years ago. The bus tour of Nassau was really just a drive to an old fort with a lot of vendors. After lunch we walked around Nassau for about an hour on our own.
Read revbruce's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JeepchickZhills
1 review
Jun 2015
We had a great time with an excellent tour guide. My 11-year-old loved it and we saw lots of tropical fish on the reef. The land tour was informative. We had a brief stop and were able to make some purchases before returning to the ship.
Read JeepchickZhills's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image arsailman
2 reviews
Feb 2015

A RCCL excursion in Nassau was billed as 3 hours, but was maybe, 2.5 hours. The undersea window boat had plexiglass windows one could hardly take pictures through. The amount of area the boat cruised was so limited that the view was very similar, wherever we went. Maybe another half hour, going further, might have made this better.

Read arsailman's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image augustmoon849
1 review
Feb 2015

We were sorely disappointed with this excursion. The best part was the ride out to the "submarine". The boat captain was informative, funny and had a nice island flair about him. But there was a little too much celebrity sighting information. We were ferried out to the "submarine" which was anchored off the island. While we entered the boat and went downstairs the previous group was ushered onto the ferry. We sat in single file seats next to a glass window that was supposed to be 5' under the ocean, but the glass was fairly clouded and scratched. The captain then directed the boat to various reefs and valleys and through out food to attract the fish. It was hard to photograph and it seemed as if most of the feeding was on the other side of the boat. This tour culminated with a return to the shore and a bus trip basically to the top of a hill and fort area and then around a couple of blocks of government buildings. We like to learn about local culture, but this was a big disappointment. It would have been better to hire a taxi and driver. We have friends who went to Atlantis and were pretty upset with the cost and additional expenses once there. We are not in the gem buying department, so the Nassau shopping was uninteresting. It might have been nice to stay on the boat when everyone else was gone. Lesson learned.

Read augustmoon849's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image avgsuperheroine
5 reviews
Dec 2014

This was fun! Our third cruise and very first excursion. There was a fun harbor cruise, but it was hard to hear the lady that was talking--I think it was the speakers. It was beautiful though. Then we did a boat where you sit in the bottom and watch the fish. It was a tight squeeze but even so it was fun, plenty to look at and the guide was fun and entertaining. The bus tour was also great, our tour guide was very personable and fun. The stop at the fort was just the right amount of time at 20 minutes, not really a lot to do there but it's fun for pictures. We really enjoyed getting to see more of the island and wouldn't have walked around the port again on our own.

Read avgsuperheroine's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Ozzie's Mom
3 reviews
Feb 2014

At the pier, we were met by our first tour boat which collected us and took us eastward into Nassau Harbor. The guide was very funny as he pointed out the different home sites of the rich and famous, expounded on the going rate for condos on Paradise Island and other interesting tales. He left no room for boredom if one could be bored surrounded with such beauty.

We soon arrived at the SeaWorld Explorer which is not a glass-bottomed boat but, rather, a boat which has a second deck five feet below the water line with glass windows, ample seating and air conditioning! The guide was well informed about the various sea life as the boat maneuvered around the reef. This was the perfect way to experience undersea life without a snorkel or tank (which my mother would never do).

After the tour, our transport boat returned and took us back to the pier near our starting point where an air conditioned luxury coach awaited. This one hour city tour of Nassau was also very interesting and, afterward, we were dropped the pier. We opted to go shopping before returning to the ship.

Read Ozzie's Mom's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ric032369
1 review
Feb 2014

Its a nice boat ride through the harbor where the guide gives neat little pieces of info about Nassau and some of the celebrity houses you see on the way. He was informative and funny at times. We transferred over to the glass bottom boat. It was more of a semi-submarine. We walked down stairs into the lower part of the boat which was underwater with windows you could see out to the fish. They fed the fish outside the windows. It wasn't amazing, but it was neat. Plenty of fish and a couple of turtles were swimming around. When we were done with that boat, we transferred back to the first boat and they took us back to where we started and we loaded on a small bus/van. They took us to a fort and the queens staircase for about 30 minutes, then drove us back to the pier, pointing out interesting landmarks on the way.

Read ric032369's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image graycat274
3 reviews
Dec 2013

In Nassau, we [unfortunately] bought into the "amazing shopping experience" hype and spent too much only silly Tanzanite jewelry. (Don't buy the "hurry before it's all gone" bull they feed you). But we got some good deals on t-shirts at Del Sol with the $25 coupon book (good for all shops in the Carribean/Bahamas, so keep it for your next cruise!) After shopping we had lunch at a local Asian restaurant and it was great. Then we headed to Tortuga's where my husband got a bottle of rum and enjoyed the rest of his day! In the afternoon, we took the Sea & See tour which was a little lame, but at least we got to see the town of Nassau without having to navigate our selves and we got a great boat ride down the inlet to see the over-priced movie stars' homes.

Read graycat274's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links