Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pass through lush rainforest and explore a fascinating world of active volcanism, biological diversity, and Hawaiian culture, past and present.
Member Image Copper45
1 review
Jul 2017
Very informative. Learned a lot about volcanoes. It was great to get to walk inside the lava tubes and on the lava rock field. Then we got to sea an active volcano, which was the highlight. The water spouts were interesting as well.
Read Copper45's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MaNPaM
1 review
Jun 2017
Had an excellent bus driver/tour guide. Very knowledgeable about the area and even added some unscheduled photo opportunities. The advantage to taking a bus was that we always had parking! Watched rental cars circle around for parking while we hopped off and on.
Read MaNPaM's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruise102015
1 review
May 2017
This was a wonderful tour we had an awesome tour guide and he gave us plenty of time to see things. We went to an orchid plant as well rainbow waterfalls as well to the national volcano park the day was clear and we say live flowing lava just great. Then we got to go to the macadamia nut factory just a great day and the tour was within 4 hours.
Read cruise102015's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image jlighty
1 review
May 2017
Great excursion. Volcano National Park was a great experience.
Read jlighty's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image fajones
1 review
May 2017
The bus tour guide was the best guide I have ever had before. In my years of overseeing a Bank Tour Club I have seen a lot. It was an incredibly beautiful day in Hilo and the view at Volcano National Park were unbelievable. Also Rainbow Falls and the Macadamia Nut tour were a lot of fun.
Read fajones's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image irenee
1 review
May 2017
It was really pretty.
Read irenee's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mk960072
4 reviews
May 2017
Did not see any lava as we only drove to the main stop off the road. The island didn't offer much of interest in my opinion. It's a large island and go with a planned list of what to do.
Read mk960072's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Done via renta car
Member Image Petoonya
2 reviews
May 2017
Very good. We had Vince who was one of the kindest and informative guides we've ever had. Small group- just six of us.
Read Petoonya's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Lavaland
Member Image Happy2be444
1 review
May 2017
Wonderful tour in a small group of the National park, steam vents, lava tubes, and waterfalls. Excellent tour!
Read Happy2be444's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Lavaland
Member Image Spuds friend
1 review
Apr 2017
Excellent experience
Read Spuds friend's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image aguamel
1 review
Mar 2017
had taken this tour several years ago with Roberts and again not disappointed. Great driver guide, with 12 other passengers on a mini van. Not only tour the same sights as the ship, but at least three other stops, including the Orchid Plantation where we ate sandwiches purchased at the Macdama nut farm. Delicious and great surrounding for lunch.
Read aguamel's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image jmsabo
1 review
Feb 2017
Just to experience seeing the volcano and the falls was breathtaking.
Read jmsabo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kidpsyc
1 review
Feb 2017
This was one of the best tours we have taken--privately booked with Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours. She picked us up at the pier and we essentially had a private tour since the other couple from our ship that had booked with her was ill. We drove around Hilo at the beginning and end of the 6 hours seeing the town, beautiful parks, areas affected by the tsunami, and black sand beach. Then we headed out seeing waterfalls and varied landscapes on our way to Volcano National Park, talking about what living near an active volcano is like. Marylou guided our experience at the park, sharing binoculars, narrating what we were seeing, and answering questions. A number of people on bus tours with the Westerdam who were pretty much on their own wound up joining us for the great information and joy in what she was seeing (actually could see lava shooting up as well as the steam from the crater) that Marylou provided. She also guided us through the museum explaining things we might not have noticed on our own. We have mobility problems and were not intending to get out places like the lava tubes on the initial tour agenda, so (since we were her only customers) we slowed the pace a bit and spent more time with fewer things. The drive thru and stops within the national park were very interesting. On the way back to town she continued to point out sights along the way. We opted to by pass the macadamian nut stop in favor of the candy factory / store. Our lunch stop at a coffee processor included an interesting explanation of coffee processing; the food (not included in the tour) was okay.
Read kidpsyc's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Marylou's Big Island Guided Tours
Member Image pretzels66
1 review
Feb 2017
rainbow falls was not much to see, was not impressed with that area, the volcano national park was very interesting. more time could have been spent at actual volcano which was giving us quite a show that day. great for those that have never seen lava fields or volcanoes
Read pretzels66's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Freddy777
1 review
Jan 2017
We boarded our tour bus and proceeded towards Volcano National Park with a stop at the Moana Loa Macadamia Nut Factory enroute. Our guide was very informative. We drove through old lava fields and saw steam vents. When we arrived at the summit of Kiluea we were given 30 minutes to view the small museum on site and the crater. There was a little activity in the crater with sporadic spitting of lava from one of the vents.
Read Freddy777's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sojournertruth
1 review
Nov 2016
Fantastic site and volcano was in action and visible. Needed more time in the exhibits area, but the park ranger outside was excellent.
Read sojournertruth's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ldcruising
2 reviews
Oct 2016
The Rainbow Falls part of it was okay but visiting Volcano National Park is a must. The fact that there is active volcanic activity right now made it much more interesting. When we were there, there was active lava flow inside a crater. Our guide was very good.
Read ldcruising's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Alohacriser
1 review
Oct 2016
Fairly interesting. You only get to about 4000 Feet. The lava tube/cave walk is neat. We went to the Macadamia nut factory on the way to the crater. Make sure you get something to eat quickly or you won't get anything, especially if more than one tour is there.
Read Alohacriser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hop on hop off with additional Volcano NP add on
Member Image summerinitaly
9 reviews
Oct 2016
Excellent, exciting to see a live volcano.
Read summerinitaly's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruiseg18
1 review
Oct 2016
Great to see volcanoes up close.
Read cruiseg18's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: iCruise.com
Member Image dsweeney
1 review
Sep 2016
Good tour. Driver knowledgeable. Walking through lava tube was good . View of craters good. Lunch was poor...gave you a bag when departing ship of a crushed roll which we were sure if it had any meat. Including water, Apple, chips ans 2 cookies
Read dsweeney's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jcvhcv
1 review
Sep 2016
Volcano National Park is a must see. Walking through a Lava Tube was quite an experience. If you expect to see flowing lava, you will disappointed. You do not get to see this. What you will see is lava flows from years ago. It is really something to see. If you want to see a lava flow, you can see it from the starboard side of the ship on the evening when leaving Kona. Bring a tripod if you want to take photos!!!
Read jcvhcv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image herculepoirot18
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent hike down into crater (but a little strenuous) and beautiful waterfalls
Read herculepoirot18's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cavydad
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Rickey's Tour was exceptional. Small tour, typically 12 but only 2 on our tour. We went to the Volcanos and lava tubes. Brief stop at the macadamia nut factory.
Read cavydad's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image theminnow
1 review
Sep 2016
Volcano National Park should not be missed.
Read theminnow's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links