Cozumel Amazing River & Cavern Explore Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Amazing River & Cavern Explore cruise excursion
Overall Rating
These remarkable caverns connected by underground waterways are sure to astonish you. Enjoy breath-taking stalagmites and other incredible forms that will bring a new appreciation to Cozumel's subterranean world.
Member Image Stefybas
1 review
Dec 2017
This is one of the best excursions we have ever done. The experience is once in a lifetime and they took such good care of us. We felt very VIP.
Read Stefybas's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Spud1
1 review
Nov 2017
Highlight of our cruise. just amazing and very hard to put into words. however I think the Rio Secreto website should explain this better.
Read Spud1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image brianclt
1 review
Oct 2017
This was my favorite excursion on the cruise. Lu (our guide) was beyond awesome! She was so helpful to the group and had a lot of great information about the cave system. I would love to go back and see other parts of this hidden treasure!
Read brianclt's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image msowko
1 review
Oct 2017
By far, this was the coolest excursion of the trip, but it's not easy to do. Be in good physical health to attempt this as it involves climbing over rocks and trecking through uneven and/or slippery surfaces. This experience will stick with you forever as it's beautiful. The underground river and caves are simply breathtaking.
Read msowko's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joey3
1 review
Oct 2017
The EXPLOR all-inclusive Zip-line, underground cave, UTV, lunch buffet Excursion was probably one of the best island excursions we have ever done in my ten years of cruising. Awesome adventures in natural surroundings! What an amazing experience; Zip-lining on several of fourteen zip-lines across the forest tree-lines with the highest at over two hundred feet high! We drove UTVs along paths through water and into underground natural caves for miles and swam in underground caves where the water was glowing from underwater colored lighting.The huge food buffet was included and was delicious including a vast array of deserts and specialty coffees, teas and natural fruit beverages. Overall an excellent experience that we would do again in a heart beat!!!
Read joey3's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mjljr
1 review
Oct 2017
The caves were interesting. The lockers at the facility were wooden particle board and the locks were inadequate. The lunch was very good and authentic. Now Royal Caribbean need to provide a better description of the experience for those that may be physically limited in their walk of swimming abilities.
Read mjljr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GRwilson
1 review
Oct 2017
rough ferry to mainland and drive to the cave but well worth it. The tour guide, Anna, was awesome. She was hilarious and kept us laughing and the cave is beautiful. We have explored many caves and this one has and abundance of outstanding, well preserved features but what was unique was exploring a cave by swimming through it. That was a first. The meal afterwards were great.
Read GRwilson's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jcabrera
1 review
Sep 2017
The tour was very good. The cenotes are awesome and an immensely great way to get out of the oppressing summer heat! You'll feel quite refreshed afterwards. The food was very good and the guides and other personnel were pretty helpful in all kinds of matters (especially if you speak Spanish). At the end of the tour there were some pitches for tequila, etc, but this is a common thing in Mexico (The guides will recommend specific vendors/stores, etc) and they weren't too long or pushy at all. (And the tequila was pretty good and apparently done by a local business that does not export... so either way is a chance to get to know something new). In general, the guides will take good care of you and make it a pleasant excursion and give you as much info as you want.
Read jcabrera's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hackerrester
1 review
Jul 2017
Great experience to explore the caves in Playa Del Carmen. Raul is a top notch guide and really knows about the habitat. Would recommend to go!
Read hackerrester's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kelly_1138
1 review
Jul 2017
Great unique experience!
Read kelly_1138's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coachb22
1 review
Jul 2017
Chaak Tun underground river and Cenotes was amazing!
Read coachb22's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiseaddict1879
1 review
Jun 2017
One of the best excursions that I have taken. The staff was amazing, and the tour was something of beauty. We loved it. It was amazing to see.
Read cruiseaddict1879's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image macuto01
1 review
Jun 2017
the 30 min. trip on boat from the port was little uncomfortable and the time you spend inside the caverns was kind of sort but the place is amazing and the tours guys are great
Read macuto01's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image referre
1 review
Jun 2017
Fantastic !! Best experience in our life.
Read referre's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beer drinker
1 review
May 2017
Loved this shore excursion. Our guide "Ana" was funny and kept watching out for us to ensure we didn't hit our heads on the rocks and letting us know where the dips are in bed of of the stream bed. Ana was very knowledgeable about the structure of the caverns and the Mayan culture. A most see and do.
Read Beer drinker's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Laurarc
6 reviews
Apr 2017
Rio Secreto - We thoroughly enjoyed the Secret River Excursion. Our French guide Rudolf had a very strong accent but he was informative and had a passion for his job.. The lunch afterwards was enjoyable. My only suggestion is please be aware the ferry ride over to the mainland can be rough causing several passengers to vomit from seasickness.
Read Laurarc's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sklnurse
4 reviews
Apr 2017
Absolutely fantastic except for the people allowed on the tour who cannot swim. Our tour had at least 4 people who needed 100 percent assistance. Our guide and photographer were fabulous, but we needed to help these folks thru most of the tour and it was quite nerve wracking to be in charge of them. There are other less strenuous tours of the cavern/river area and they should have been directed to those or limit the number of participants who need assistance to 2.
Read sklnurse's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Guppyxx
1 review
Apr 2017
The caves were absolutely amazing! Nothing like i've ever seen before!
Read Guppyxx's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean online
Member Image MORR
1 review
Mar 2017
" Amazing Secret River tour " Don't bring towels, water shoes, except for CASH to tip SILAS if you get him. Bring Credit card to charge $99 or $135 for pictures w/ free 4-5 gifts like Tequila type bottle, t-shirts, & caps - Worth extra $$ for larger picture pkg. Ask for SILAS - he was very best, made it FUN, took extra time with us, jump or wade in Cold water, did mini facial with dissolved minerals, he cleared our table, informed us of types of food & drinks available in large Buffet - Very good pasta & Mexican type food - Wish we had more Cash to give him as tip - - after ferry ride - divided us into groups of appx 10. Ask for SILAS - Slept on the way there & back on Ferry ride - not rough like others said - not much time to shop so just RElax Needs ICE for drinks but not available. -
Read MORR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lesliepfeiffer
1 review
Mar 2017
Again, Omar was our tour guide for this entire day which also included this swim, snorkel experience in the amazing river and cavern explore. We swam here without fins just our snorkel mask. Omar expertly led the group on a swim tour through this river and cavern. The underwater sights here were amazing. Overall, the trek to get here was long and so was the return to the ship but the experience, albeit short, in comparison to the travel time to get there, was amazing. I wish we could have spent the whole day in these experiences rather than traveling to get there. We ended the day with a beautiful authentic Mexican lunch at a really nice restaurant on the beach. Perfect ending. Time for some shopping in town, about :30 minutes and then back to the water taxi to return to the ship.
Read lesliepfeiffer's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image captngator
1 review
Mar 2017
Relaxing time.
Read captngator's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nytenor
1 review
Mar 2017
Part of XPLOR park. An underwater cavern exploration. Fun.
Read nytenor's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wendy O
1 review
Feb 2017
This was an amazing excursion! Listed as the Underground Mayan River excursion. It is a very long day, with a 45 minute ferry ride from Cozumel to Playa de Carmen and then a van ride to the area in which we'd be snorkeling. Bring towels and bathing suits and water shoes. Skip the sunscreen (bad for the environment and we were mostly in the shade or in caves) and swim fins aren't allowed due to the delicate formations in the caves. Snorkel, mask, waterproof flashlight and PFD provided or bring your own. Not a bad place to have a waterproof camera, either. Large lockers are available to rent for $3 as you won't bring anything with you into the caves except the aforementioned equipment. The underground river is truly amazing with many, many formations of stalactites, stalagmites, and columns, slowly developed over thousands of years. Our guide, Reuben, was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor; an excellent leader for our excursion. Plenty of photo ops in the caves or you can buy photos from the onsite photographer ($20 each, printed on a souvenir 8x10 sheet.) we had plenty of time to explore two different caves before returning to the main area for a lunch of tacos, rice, beans, fruit, and soft drinks. Plenty of food, all you could eat, delicious. Finally, there was a tequila tasting of organic tequilas from a family manufacturer - fun, but they really wanted to sell you the (fairly expensive but good) tequila. If you bring kids on this excursion, this is where the boredom sets in for them. Once back on the van, we returned to the Playa de Carmen area for an hour or two of shopping time. Quite frankly, we were so tired that shopping was the last thing we wanted to do, but there was only one ferry back to the ship that we could take; the shopping time is obviously forced on you to help out the merchants. We got back to the ship right before the all aboard time, after a pretty choppy ferry ride back. Bring plenty of tip money for your guide, van driver, lunch staff, etc. We were incredibly happy with Reuben and Roberto, our two guides on the trip and thought this was one of the best excursions we've ever taken.
Read Wendy O's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DaveC2
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Interesting snorkeling and saw a medical emergency. The crew did well.
Read DaveC2's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Carmenjacobson
1 review
Feb 2017
This was the best! Nadia, our tout guide was so awesome. It was amazing. I never felt claustrophobic or scared. Just beautiful.
Read Carmenjacobson's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links