Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image mfreitas02
1 review
Sep 2017
Expensive, but I didnt know about Italian tours transfers in time to book it... in the end you only have 4.5 hours in Rome. BUY the skip the line tours! It was insane, but I will tell you about my day: From the bus drop off location (near the colosseum) we took a cab to the SPANISH STEPS - from there we walked to the FONTANA DI TREVI - then we took a cab to the COLOSSEUM for our 11AM SIP THE LINE tour (we did the audio guide it was amazing - about 1 hr) we then took another cab to ST PETER SQUARE, walked around a bit and went to the VATICAN MUSEUM for our 1PM SKIP THE LINE tour - we saw the SISTINE CHAPEL and left - another cab to the PANTHEON (a must stop) and then another one to the Colloseum to meet up the bus... we had time to walk around there a little more near a version of the ARC of the triumph...and we were back on the bus...
Read mfreitas02's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wanda52
1 review
Aug 2017
Excellent overview of Rome from the bus, then visited Vatican on our own. Quite amazing but extremely crowded so could only visit Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's because of the lengthy lines.
Read wanda52's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kentman62
1 review
Aug 2017
We chose RCI's 'Navigate through Rome' tour which essentially supplied a GPS handset, recommended a route and then let you loose. Rome is such an easy city to walk through, finding shade on the way, that we covered all the features we wanted, finishing at the Colosseum. We then caught a taxi back to the Vatican. I had pre-bought tickets for 2pm but we were able to enter at 1.30pm. This was a life saver as we were advised that the normal queue was 4 hours, and it was 30 degrees plus.
Read Kentman62's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UrbanAngel
1 review
Jul 2017
Great guide, great transfers and time to do what we wanted. My only criticism is that 3 hours really is very little time to see anything.
Read UrbanAngel's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiserHockey
1 review
Jul 2017
The public transportation strike in Rome was used as an excuse to delay our departure almost an hour, and encouraged a 30 minute early departre from the city. losing 90 mninutes in an already compressed time space is not welcomed at all.
Read CruiserHockey's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hat99
1 review
Jun 2017
Not enough time for one day so be prepared for it to be rushed, not RC issue
Read Hat99's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image senor froggie
1 review
Jun 2017
Civitavecchia tours,rome on your own...Great,cheap option,for those who like to wander on their own....TREVI fountain was breath taking....long day..tiring day...hot day..take some pop and nibbles....make sure you have a holiday ice cream...
Read senor froggie's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Civitavecchia tours
Member Image captholly
1 review
May 2017
Joy of Rome was great... Francesca di Marzo was a wonderful guide. Colosseum and the Vatican are must sees.
Read captholly's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joy of Rome
Member Image VYrainbow
1 review
May 2017
We had been in Rome 3 years before, and we knew the traffic to Rome from the port would take up valuable time, so we opted for the tour which would give us the most time in Rome. The Roma Express train takes boat passengers directly to the train station near the Civitavecchia port on a bus and disembarks at St. Peter's Station in Rome, giving 6 hours of free time in Rome. We knew that being in Rome would entail walking on cobblestone streets the entire day, so saving our energy by taking the train was a good solution, especially for mature travelers. We were able to leave Rome much later than those who opted to take the trains on their own.
Read VYrainbow's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pismo Mo
1 review
May 2017
We just wanted some time on our own to check out the city, and this was perfect!
Read Pismo Mo's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Methusulah
1 review
May 2017
Very interesting and our guide Rita was excellent
Read Methusulah's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGirl2014a
1 review
May 2017
The bus was too crowded and was 4 hours total. We only spent 2.5 hours in Rome. That was definitely not enough time.
Read CruiseGirl2014a's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ronwooten
1 review
Mar 2017
The transportation was arranged by Viking but they were not very helpful in arranging any other details. We wanted to spend time at the Vatican and then to have time for our own exploring and Viking was unable to arrange any skip the line at the Vatican. We arranged our own but would have liked to have had it coordinayed with/by Viking. They could provide us no information.
Read ronwooten's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image pbelmont
1 review
Mar 2017
As we had been in Rome before we wanted to explore our favorites on our own. I suggest going on line to the ORP site and getting the skip the line tickets. This takes you right to the security check points so you don't have to waste hours in line trying to get into the Vatican museum or St. Peter's both of which are must sees. You also need to keep in mind that it can be 1-1/2 hours to get from the ship to St. Peter's Square if you are buying tickets which are timed. There is so much to see really suggest the Red Hop On Hop Off Bus tours! Money well spent.
Read pbelmont's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ForneyTravelers
1 review
Jan 2017
We also did this on our own. We took subway to Vatican City, back to Trevi fountains and the Pantheon.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Self Tour
Member Image DALEPCASTRO
1 review
Nov 2016
Walked all day to many famous places so we could take pictures along the way.
Read DALEPCASTRO's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image honeyb085
5 reviews
Nov 2016
This was a Cruise Critic tour. Make sure your have pre-purchased your Vatican tickets. The place was packed.
Read honeyb085's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
good bus ride in , lots of information, stopped at the Colosseum and took pictures. Then we were left on our own to explore. Found the Trevi fountain which I wanted my grandaughter to see since her dad was there in 1984. I am glad we went in 'off season'. Would hate to be there in the peak periods.
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
No booking.. we did Rome on our own with a bit of Geocaching thrown in.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image acatownsend
1 review
Oct 2016
Not happy with the guide Katrina who pushed us into using an unknown hop on/off tour bus by lying about the other companies eg. Citysightseeing only have 3 buses when they have 17. If we had ignored her, we would have benefitted from a discount when in Florence the next day. She also gave everyone details about a particular restaurant but luckily a fellow passenger was previously duped by her and told us it was crap. We weren't informed about the "Holy door" at the Vatican which skips the queues.
Read acatownsend's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image Scaramouche19
1 review
Oct 2016
We had only 4 hours to walk around in Rome ,because the bus arrived at noon in Rome and at 4 pm we had to be back on the bus.
Read Scaramouche19's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image GJDD
1 review
Oct 2016
Very walker friendly city. Once you arrive you don't need a guide but book your tickets to the Colosseum online ahead of time to avoid the long lines on the day.
Read GJDD's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LittleMoo99
1 review
Oct 2016
Took the Rome on your own tour - expensive but it takes the worry about travelling. (Some people who went on the train by themselves got delayed by 2 hours....glad we did not do that!) Bus drops you off giving you plenty of time to see a few sights.
Read LittleMoo99's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lfultz
1 review
Sep 2016
combined on your own tour with a Viator tour of the sistine chapel and Basilica
Read lfultz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachbumsns
3 reviews
Sep 2016
We used ships transportation to get to Rome and then used the Hop on Hop off bus to get around. We had been to the Vatican before, and the Collesseum so this allowed us to see the rest of Rome.
Read beachbumsns's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links