Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating 151 Reviews
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Details & Booking
Member Image dkaigler
Nov 2018
Due to cold and rainy weather we didn't get to see all we'd wanted to see in one day in Rome. We did get to see Vatican City, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, and the Colosseum. The bus should have returned to the point of leaving a little earlier than it did as everyone was ready to leave early due to the awful weather, but no bus! Disappointing day but mainly due to weather.
Read dkaigler's full Costa Magica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Jazzyfirm
Oct 2018
Marathon foot race to see the main sites in about 5 hours. It's possible but can't go into the venues
Read Jazzyfirm's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kscotese1
Sep 2018
This was a bit disappointing as the bus the cruise line used to facilitate getting us around to the various locations broke down and another didn't appear for 45 minutes. Given that you have just a set amount of time to get around and see the sites ... we had to rush.
Read kscotese1's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cosmogal
Sep 2018
Viator was an excellent choice. The tour was just as described for the Colesseum and the VIP Breakfast Vatican tour.
Read Cosmogal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image kittenkboo
Sep 2018
Wish we had about another hour here. The Roma train was a nice way to transfer to the heart of Roma. Just wish the time on your own was a tad longer.
Read kittenkboo's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Occasional sealegger
Sep 2018
We were dropped near a Metro station with a map and instructions for how to get around. We visited the Colosseum and Palantine Hill. The Colosseum was awesome! Lovely city that we'll definitely return to.
Read Occasional sealegger's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image bpatters1950
Jun 2018
A very comfortable bus provided transportation to St. Peters Square. From there we were able to tour Rome via either the hop on and off bus or to walk to the sights we wanted to visit. We walked and had plenty of time before we needed to return to the pickup point.
Read bpatters1950's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Prettyprincess25
Jun 2018
We took the Passage to Rome excursion which gave us the whole day in Rome. This worked really well for us as we just wanted to do our own thing (and did the HOHO bus).
Read Prettyprincess25's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image peterv54301
Jun 2018
Same deal, although at $350 for the car. This time a Mercedes Sedan vs. a Van. Didn't care for this guide as much. To much time on his phone and he seemed to have his own agenda. Should have set that myself earlier. Took us to a lunch spot where the bill was @ 100 Euro.
Read peterv54301's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: www.limousinecruiservice.com
Member Image Multi Trav
May 2018
Guide travels on coach and gave tips on key sights and queues etc
Read Multi Trav's full Marella Dream cruise review
Provider: Marella Cruises (formerly Thomson Cruises)
Member Image vishnu38
May 2018
We took the passage to rome. The guide stopped the bus far away and then we walked to the vatican grounds. We could have just dispersed from the location of the bus and returned there and would have saved a lot of time. The guide himself was of no help with recommendations and information.
Read vishnu38's full Symphony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Noonalove
May 2018
Great excursion, we had 3 stops, the colosseum, Trevi Fountains/Spanish Steps and the Vatican. We had about 1 1/2 hours to explore the 3 stops. We saw what we wanted and were very happy.
Read Noonalove's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Amy H B
May 2018
Great tour guide and great historic sites to see. Another very long walking tour, I was exhausted but it was worth it. Saw so many amazing historic sites.
Read Amy H B's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruising Clara
May 2018
The tour guide on the bus was very helpful with the information she gave us. Again we did our own thing, walked round the colloseum, then wandered into the center and saw the Trevi fountain. Sampled some of Rome culinary delites with a glass of vino.
Read Cruising Clara's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image fayngreg
Mar 2018
too many hawkers and beggars, how many Selfies can anyone want? too much hassling. Rome needs longer visit that is for sure
Read fayngreg's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Traveler#01
Mar 2018
The bus took you to St. Peter's square for the drop off/pickup.
Read Traveler#01's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Ramliw
Oct 2017
By far, this is our best moment. We had prepaid the €19 bus-transfer to Rome by SmartCruiseTours.com for 9:30am pickup at port. So no need for wakeup call and had ample time for breakfast then disembarked, took the free Epic bus shuttle to port building at 9am. Outside the port building, the SmartCruiseTours people has staged an area advertising the bus transfer for the same fare (so no need to prebook if you don't want to). Arrived at Rome parking area shortly after 11am, 5 minutes walk from Vatican City. We were given a city map and told to meet at 4:30pm for trip back. Walked to Vatican along the Tiber river. Rome Marathon was taking place in the Vatican square area which congested the area more than normal. We dared not lineup for any ticket or inside tour as the line was long. Unable to see the inside of Sistine Chapel as it required ticket and lineup. Perhaps next time in Rome, not as port of call visitor. The nearest metro station from Vatican is Ottaviano, a few minutes walk away. Took metro (€1.50) to Spagna (Spanish Step) to begin our 20000+ steps of doing Rome in 5 hours. From Spanish Steps we walked about 10 minutes to Trevi Fountain. The navigation was complicated by the fact that in Rome as in Barcelona, street signs are not easily seen as they are on the side of a building only some of the times. So trying to determine what street you are on is a challenge. You can always try to follow the crowd if lost. Trevi Fountain is a mess, not at all impressive and much too small to accommodate 500 people trying to throw a coin in the fountain in an area meant for less than 100 people. You will be squeezed and elbowed away when trying to get in or get out of the way. All we got was a not-so-nice photo of a non-functioning fountain and hurried out of the madness. From Trevi Fountain to Pantheon is quite a long walk through a few non-parallel streets with hidden street names. On the way we stumbled upon a faked Pantheon which could be mistaken for the real one because it had real weathered columns that seems like 2000 year-old. Since it has no name or inscription and few tourists gathering, we proceeded onwards along the map route and found the real Pantheon 10 minutes later. We could have a better time if we had the foresight of downloading google map of Rome for offline use and navigate using GPS and google map direction. Well, now I know. About 2:30pm, we walked to Piazza Navona to marvel at the big square with an impressive sculpture. The longest walk from Navona to Colosseum was about to begin when I sensed that my wife was a little jet lagged. I asked a nearby waiting taxi how much to go to Colosseum, he did not answer and waved to me to get inside the taxi. After asking 2 more times, in his exasperation, he said €15. I became suspicious and decided to walk, after wife reassured me she would be okay. The long trek should take 30 minutes or so according to person at Tourist Info in P. Navona, but we did it less time with a pleasantly surprised stop at Alice Pizza along the way where we had a really good square pizza sold by 100g and the place is a standing room only establishment. Bonus was that it has a washroom and free wifi. At intersection of via Vittorio and Imperiali, we saw Altar of the Fatherland, the wedding cake monument. It deserved a tourist snapshot. From here the Colosseum was in sight, albeit some 1 or 2km away. Colosseum and Forum can easily consume a few hours of exploration, but not for this pair of port-of-call cruisers with a 4:30pm pickup time. At 3:30pm, my wife was getting nervous feeling that I might not know the way back. But I knew there was a metro stop near Colosseum (the metro map shows Collosseo). After being assured that Colosseum and Collosseo are one and the same, the metro ride back to Ottaviano station was only 5 minute requiring a transfer from blue line to green line at Termini station. Back at meeting place at 4:00pm, we had time to browse and linger around the bridge over Tiber river. Rome-in-a-day final tally: 20000 steps, 12 km, 4.5 hours. 12 km may sound intimidating, but we never felt it, never felt tired, perhaps we were really excited about the unscripted Rome exploration.
Read Ramliw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thetravelingscientist
Oct 2017
We booked through smartcruisetours and they set us up with a return bus transfer from Civitavecchia to Rome. We left 20min late because it seemed the tour operator was more concerned about filling up the bus than leaving on time. We didn't arrive in Rome until 11:30am and then still had to pick up the tour guide for the people staying on the bus for the full day guided tour. We were dropped off by the Colosseum, which was good but we only had about 4h to see Rome. We still saw the colosseum, palazzo vecchio, pantheon, trevi fountain, castle st angelo, and st peter's square. It was quite rushed but I'm glad we got to see it all. We were at the bus stop 10 min early but the bus was a half hour late! For people who need to get back to a cruise ship, this does not bode well. We got back to the ship with about 15min to spare before the "all aboard" time, which is a bit too close for comfort in my opinion. We will definitely be taking the train next time.
Read thetravelingscientist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CivitaTours
Member Image gkbrownie
Sep 2017
1.5 hrs to Rome on a Coach, dropped in St Peters square, had 5 hours on our own to wander, good idea if you have been before
Read gkbrownie's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kdbqa
Sep 2017
We just walked around and took taxi's around the city. We found a awesome little pizzeria. Just go!!
Read kdbqa's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Us!
Member Image Ptpete1
Sep 2017
A long hour plus journey took us to Porta Borghese, should have been Colloseum but due to a marathon it helped us to get closer.
Read Ptpete1's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image JAWalsh
Sep 2017
We opted for 'Rome of your own' which just gives you the bus to/from the port to the city. I found the price of the cruiseline's Rome full excursions to be way too much. However, as a travel agent, take my advice and if you ARE trying to see all the top sights, book it with the cruiseline. It is way too hard to navigate on your own with short time given in the city. We visited the Vatican museums (booked directly on the Vatican website), and managed to also see Trevi fountain, spanish steps, and the Colosseum/forum area. With NO time to spare for lunch or shopping. It was a chaotic day.
Read JAWalsh's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mfreitas02
Sep 2017
Expensive, but I didnt know about Italian tours transfers in time to book it... in the end you only have 4.5 hours in Rome. BUY the skip the line tours! It was insane, but I will tell you about my day: From the bus drop off location (near the colosseum) we took a cab to the SPANISH STEPS - from there we walked to the FONTANA DI TREVI - then we took a cab to the COLOSSEUM for our 11AM SIP THE LINE tour (we did the audio guide it was amazing - about 1 hr) we then took another cab to ST PETER SQUARE, walked around a bit and went to the VATICAN MUSEUM for our 1PM SKIP THE LINE tour - we saw the SISTINE CHAPEL and left - another cab to the PANTHEON (a must stop) and then another one to the Colloseum to meet up the bus... we had time to walk around there a little more near a version of the ARC of the triumph...and we were back on the bus...
Read mfreitas02's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image leesa123
Sep 2017
On the coach for 90 mins each way with only 45 mins in St Peters Square, booked wrong tour,weather was awful and Rome was flooded
Read leesa123's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image leesa123
Sep 2017
On the coach for 90 mins each way with only 45 mins in St Peters Square, booked wrong tour,weather was awful and Rome was flooded
Read leesa123's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links