Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image CruiserHockey
1 review
Jul 2017
The public transportation strike in Rome was used as an excuse to delay our departure almost an hour, and encouraged a 30 minute early departre from the city. losing 90 mninutes in an already compressed time space is not welcomed at all.
Read CruiserHockey's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hat99
1 review
Jun 2017
Not enough time for one day so be prepared for it to be rushed, not RC issue
Read Hat99's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image captholly
1 review
May 2017
Joy of Rome was great... Francesca di Marzo was a wonderful guide. Colosseum and the Vatican are must sees.
Read captholly's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joy of Rome
Member Image VYrainbow
1 review
May 2017
We had been in Rome 3 years before, and we knew the traffic to Rome from the port would take up valuable time, so we opted for the tour which would give us the most time in Rome. The Roma Express train takes boat passengers directly to the train station near the Civitavecchia port on a bus and disembarks at St. Peter's Station in Rome, giving 6 hours of free time in Rome. We knew that being in Rome would entail walking on cobblestone streets the entire day, so saving our energy by taking the train was a good solution, especially for mature travelers. We were able to leave Rome much later than those who opted to take the trains on their own.
Read VYrainbow's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pismo Mo
1 review
May 2017
We just wanted some time on our own to check out the city, and this was perfect!
Read Pismo Mo's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Methusulah
1 review
May 2017
Very interesting and our guide Rita was excellent
Read Methusulah's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGirl2014a
1 review
May 2017
The bus was too crowded and was 4 hours total. We only spent 2.5 hours in Rome. That was definitely not enough time.
Read CruiseGirl2014a's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pbelmont
1 review
Mar 2017
As we had been in Rome before we wanted to explore our favorites on our own. I suggest going on line to the ORP site and getting the skip the line tickets. This takes you right to the security check points so you don't have to waste hours in line trying to get into the Vatican museum or St. Peter's both of which are must sees. You also need to keep in mind that it can be 1-1/2 hours to get from the ship to St. Peter's Square if you are buying tickets which are timed. There is so much to see really suggest the Red Hop On Hop Off Bus tours! Money well spent.
Read pbelmont's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ForneyTravelers
1 review
Jan 2017
We also did this on our own. We took subway to Vatican City, back to Trevi fountains and the Pantheon.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Self Tour
Member Image DALEPCASTRO
1 review
Nov 2016
Walked all day to many famous places so we could take pictures along the way.
Read DALEPCASTRO's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image honeyb085
5 reviews
Nov 2016
This was a Cruise Critic tour. Make sure your have pre-purchased your Vatican tickets. The place was packed.
Read honeyb085's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
good bus ride in , lots of information, stopped at the Colosseum and took pictures. Then we were left on our own to explore. Found the Trevi fountain which I wanted my grandaughter to see since her dad was there in 1984. I am glad we went in 'off season'. Would hate to be there in the peak periods.
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
No booking.. we did Rome on our own with a bit of Geocaching thrown in.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image acatownsend
1 review
Oct 2016
Not happy with the guide Katrina who pushed us into using an unknown hop on/off tour bus by lying about the other companies eg. Citysightseeing only have 3 buses when they have 17. If we had ignored her, we would have benefitted from a discount when in Florence the next day. She also gave everyone details about a particular restaurant but luckily a fellow passenger was previously duped by her and told us it was crap. We weren't informed about the "Holy door" at the Vatican which skips the queues.
Read acatownsend's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image Scaramouche19
1 review
Oct 2016
We had only 4 hours to walk around in Rome ,because the bus arrived at noon in Rome and at 4 pm we had to be back on the bus.
Read Scaramouche19's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image GJDD
1 review
Oct 2016
Very walker friendly city. Once you arrive you don't need a guide but book your tickets to the Colosseum online ahead of time to avoid the long lines on the day.
Read GJDD's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LittleMoo99
1 review
Oct 2016
Took the Rome on your own tour - expensive but it takes the worry about travelling. (Some people who went on the train by themselves got delayed by 2 hours....glad we did not do that!) Bus drops you off giving you plenty of time to see a few sights.
Read LittleMoo99's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lfultz
1 review
Sep 2016
combined on your own tour with a Viator tour of the sistine chapel and Basilica
Read lfultz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachbumsns
3 reviews
Sep 2016
We used ships transportation to get to Rome and then used the Hop on Hop off bus to get around. We had been to the Vatican before, and the Collesseum so this allowed us to see the rest of Rome.
Read beachbumsns's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image greenmo
1 review
Sep 2016
Tour we wanted had no English speaking guides available so had to do Rome on your own which was fine but expensive again. Rome was beautiful so made it all worth it. Did the 'Hop on, Hop off' bus which worked well.
Read greenmo's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lindalovestraveling
1 review
Sep 2016
Love our guide Guilo. He told us lots of info in the ride into Rome. We booked Vatican tickets way before we left. Ran over there and did that, then walked back, stopping at Trevi, Forum, Colessium. Great day but lots to see.
Read Lindalovestraveling's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image paulroo
1 review
Sep 2016
simple to do by yourself, train gets you to Rome in an hour, traffic is manic so if you can you are better walking to the various points of interest.
Read paulroo's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ballasalla
1 review
Sep 2016
very easy way to get to see Rome
Read Ballasalla's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image philipsw285
4 reviews
Sep 2016
We ended up with one of the dancer/singer from the stage show who had as much noledge as us she was surposed to be p&o representitive on the trip overseeing apparently the coach that got the women who was the guide said she was useless and gave no information about rome at all.............
Read philipsw285's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
The coach was on time and dropped us off next to the Colosseum. It is about 1.5 hours drive into Rome and back.
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?