Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Rome on Your Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture out on your own in Rome, a living museum with gorgeous artwork, amazing architecture and inspiring ancient sites -- yet alive and vibrant in a 21st-century way. It's an unforgettable city to visit and we'll warn you right now once you've experienced it you'll want to come back for more.
Member Image Ramliw
1 review
Oct 2017
By far, this is our best moment. We had prepaid the €19 bus-transfer to Rome by SmartCruiseTours.com for 9:30am pickup at port. So no need for wakeup call and had ample time for breakfast then disembarked, took the free Epic bus shuttle to port building at 9am. Outside the port building, the SmartCruiseTours people has staged an area advertising the bus transfer for the same fare (so no need to prebook if you don't want to). Arrived at Rome parking area shortly after 11am, 5 minutes walk from Vatican City. We were given a city map and told to meet at 4:30pm for trip back. Walked to Vatican along the Tiber river. Rome Marathon was taking place in the Vatican square area which congested the area more than normal. We dared not lineup for any ticket or inside tour as the line was long. Unable to see the inside of Sistine Chapel as it required ticket and lineup. Perhaps next time in Rome, not as port of call visitor. The nearest metro station from Vatican is Ottaviano, a few minutes walk away. Took metro (€1.50) to Spagna (Spanish Step) to begin our 20000+ steps of doing Rome in 5 hours. From Spanish Steps we walked about 10 minutes to Trevi Fountain. The navigation was complicated by the fact that in Rome as in Barcelona, street signs are not easily seen as they are on the side of a building only some of the times. So trying to determine what street you are on is a challenge. You can always try to follow the crowd if lost. Trevi Fountain is a mess, not at all impressive and much too small to accommodate 500 people trying to throw a coin in the fountain in an area meant for less than 100 people. You will be squeezed and elbowed away when trying to get in or get out of the way. All we got was a not-so-nice photo of a non-functioning fountain and hurried out of the madness. From Trevi Fountain to Pantheon is quite a long walk through a few non-parallel streets with hidden street names. On the way we stumbled upon a faked Pantheon which could be mistaken for the real one because it had real weathered columns that seems like 2000 year-old. Since it has no name or inscription and few tourists gathering, we proceeded onwards along the map route and found the real Pantheon 10 minutes later. We could have a better time if we had the foresight of downloading google map of Rome for offline use and navigate using GPS and google map direction. Well, now I know. About 2:30pm, we walked to Piazza Navona to marvel at the big square with an impressive sculpture. The longest walk from Navona to Colosseum was about to begin when I sensed that my wife was a little jet lagged. I asked a nearby waiting taxi how much to go to Colosseum, he did not answer and waved to me to get inside the taxi. After asking 2 more times, in his exasperation, he said €15. I became suspicious and decided to walk, after wife reassured me she would be okay. The long trek should take 30 minutes or so according to person at Tourist Info in P. Navona, but we did it less time with a pleasantly surprised stop at Alice Pizza along the way where we had a really good square pizza sold by 100g and the place is a standing room only establishment. Bonus was that it has a washroom and free wifi. At intersection of via Vittorio and Imperiali, we saw Altar of the Fatherland, the wedding cake monument. It deserved a tourist snapshot. From here the Colosseum was in sight, albeit some 1 or 2km away. Colosseum and Forum can easily consume a few hours of exploration, but not for this pair of port-of-call cruisers with a 4:30pm pickup time. At 3:30pm, my wife was getting nervous feeling that I might not know the way back. But I knew there was a metro stop near Colosseum (the metro map shows Collosseo). After being assured that Colosseum and Collosseo are one and the same, the metro ride back to Ottaviano station was only 5 minute requiring a transfer from blue line to green line at Termini station. Back at meeting place at 4:00pm, we had time to browse and linger around the bridge over Tiber river. Rome-in-a-day final tally: 20000 steps, 12 km, 4.5 hours. 12 km may sound intimidating, but we never felt it, never felt tired, perhaps we were really excited about the unscripted Rome exploration.
Read Ramliw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thetravelingscientist
1 review
Oct 2017
We booked through smartcruisetours and they set us up with a return bus transfer from Civitavecchia to Rome. We left 20min late because it seemed the tour operator was more concerned about filling up the bus than leaving on time. We didn't arrive in Rome until 11:30am and then still had to pick up the tour guide for the people staying on the bus for the full day guided tour. We were dropped off by the Colosseum, which was good but we only had about 4h to see Rome. We still saw the colosseum, palazzo vecchio, pantheon, trevi fountain, castle st angelo, and st peter's square. It was quite rushed but I'm glad we got to see it all. We were at the bus stop 10 min early but the bus was a half hour late! For people who need to get back to a cruise ship, this does not bode well. We got back to the ship with about 15min to spare before the "all aboard" time, which is a bit too close for comfort in my opinion. We will definitely be taking the train next time.
Read thetravelingscientist's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: CivitaTours
Member Image gkbrownie
4 reviews
Sep 2017
1.5 hrs to Rome on a Coach, dropped in St Peters square, had 5 hours on our own to wander, good idea if you have been before
Read gkbrownie's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ptpete1
1 review
Sep 2017
A long hour plus journey took us to Porta Borghese, should have been Colloseum but due to a marathon it helped us to get closer.
Read Ptpete1's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image JAWalsh
1 review
Sep 2017
We opted for 'Rome of your own' which just gives you the bus to/from the port to the city. I found the price of the cruiseline's Rome full excursions to be way too much. However, as a travel agent, take my advice and if you ARE trying to see all the top sights, book it with the cruiseline. It is way too hard to navigate on your own with short time given in the city. We visited the Vatican museums (booked directly on the Vatican website), and managed to also see Trevi fountain, spanish steps, and the Colosseum/forum area. With NO time to spare for lunch or shopping. It was a chaotic day.
Read JAWalsh's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mfreitas02
1 review
Sep 2017
Expensive, but I didnt know about Italian tours transfers in time to book it... in the end you only have 4.5 hours in Rome. BUY the skip the line tours! It was insane, but I will tell you about my day: From the bus drop off location (near the colosseum) we took a cab to the SPANISH STEPS - from there we walked to the FONTANA DI TREVI - then we took a cab to the COLOSSEUM for our 11AM SIP THE LINE tour (we did the audio guide it was amazing - about 1 hr) we then took another cab to ST PETER SQUARE, walked around a bit and went to the VATICAN MUSEUM for our 1PM SKIP THE LINE tour - we saw the SISTINE CHAPEL and left - another cab to the PANTHEON (a must stop) and then another one to the Colloseum to meet up the bus... we had time to walk around there a little more near a version of the ARC of the triumph...and we were back on the bus...
Read mfreitas02's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image leesa123
1 review
Sep 2017
On the coach for 90 mins each way with only 45 mins in St Peters Square, booked wrong tour,weather was awful and Rome was flooded
Read leesa123's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image browne543
2 reviews
Sep 2017
We actually stayed in Rome for 3 nights following our cruise. Stayed in the Empire Palace Hotel which we found very satisfactory. Rome is a beautiful city and well worth spending some time in.
Read browne543's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wanda52
1 review
Aug 2017
Excellent overview of Rome from the bus, then visited Vatican on our own. Quite amazing but extremely crowded so could only visit Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's because of the lengthy lines.
Read wanda52's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shiphound
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Love Rome. We have been there multiple times before and so just used RC transportation and went off on our own. Had a wonderful lunch at a wine bar called Cul du Sac.
Read shiphound's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kentman62
1 review
Aug 2017
We chose RCI's 'Navigate through Rome' tour which essentially supplied a GPS handset, recommended a route and then let you loose. Rome is such an easy city to walk through, finding shade on the way, that we covered all the features we wanted, finishing at the Colosseum. We then caught a taxi back to the Vatican. I had pre-bought tickets for 2pm but we were able to enter at 1.30pm. This was a life saver as we were advised that the normal queue was 4 hours, and it was 30 degrees plus.
Read Kentman62's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UrbanAngel
1 review
Jul 2017
Great guide, great transfers and time to do what we wanted. My only criticism is that 3 hours really is very little time to see anything.
Read UrbanAngel's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiserHockey
1 review
Jul 2017
The public transportation strike in Rome was used as an excuse to delay our departure almost an hour, and encouraged a 30 minute early departre from the city. losing 90 mninutes in an already compressed time space is not welcomed at all.
Read CruiserHockey's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Hat99
1 review
Jun 2017
Not enough time for one day so be prepared for it to be rushed, not RC issue
Read Hat99's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image senor froggie
1 review
Jun 2017
Civitavecchia tours,rome on your own...Great,cheap option,for those who like to wander on their own....TREVI fountain was breath taking....long day..tiring day...hot day..take some pop and nibbles....make sure you have a holiday ice cream...
Read senor froggie's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Civitavecchia tours
Member Image captholly
1 review
May 2017
Joy of Rome was great... Francesca di Marzo was a wonderful guide. Colosseum and the Vatican are must sees.
Read captholly's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Joy of Rome
Member Image VYrainbow
1 review
May 2017
We had been in Rome 3 years before, and we knew the traffic to Rome from the port would take up valuable time, so we opted for the tour which would give us the most time in Rome. The Roma Express train takes boat passengers directly to the train station near the Civitavecchia port on a bus and disembarks at St. Peter's Station in Rome, giving 6 hours of free time in Rome. We knew that being in Rome would entail walking on cobblestone streets the entire day, so saving our energy by taking the train was a good solution, especially for mature travelers. We were able to leave Rome much later than those who opted to take the trains on their own.
Read VYrainbow's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pismo Mo
1 review
May 2017
We just wanted some time on our own to check out the city, and this was perfect!
Read Pismo Mo's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Methusulah
1 review
May 2017
Very interesting and our guide Rita was excellent
Read Methusulah's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGirl2014a
1 review
May 2017
The bus was too crowded and was 4 hours total. We only spent 2.5 hours in Rome. That was definitely not enough time.
Read CruiseGirl2014a's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ronwooten
1 review
Mar 2017
The transportation was arranged by Viking but they were not very helpful in arranging any other details. We wanted to spend time at the Vatican and then to have time for our own exploring and Viking was unable to arrange any skip the line at the Vatican. We arranged our own but would have liked to have had it coordinayed with/by Viking. They could provide us no information.
Read ronwooten's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image pbelmont
1 review
Mar 2017
As we had been in Rome before we wanted to explore our favorites on our own. I suggest going on line to the ORP site and getting the skip the line tickets. This takes you right to the security check points so you don't have to waste hours in line trying to get into the Vatican museum or St. Peter's both of which are must sees. You also need to keep in mind that it can be 1-1/2 hours to get from the ship to St. Peter's Square if you are buying tickets which are timed. There is so much to see really suggest the Red Hop On Hop Off Bus tours! Money well spent.
Read pbelmont's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ForneyTravelers
1 review
Jan 2017
We also did this on our own. We took subway to Vatican City, back to Trevi fountains and the Pantheon.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Self Tour
Member Image otter941
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Arrived 2 days earlier. Hop On Hop Off offered opportunity to spend more time at each of the venues we wished to see.
Read otter941's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Hop On Hop Off
Member Image DALEPCASTRO
1 review
Nov 2016
Walked all day to many famous places so we could take pictures along the way.
Read DALEPCASTRO's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises

Sponsored links