Skagway Yukon Van Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Yukon Van Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating 116 Reviews
See the remarkable Yukon on a comfortable and intimate guided van tour in Skagway. You will be in awe of its captivating beauty!
Details & Booking
Member Image qz2z
Sep 2018
Such beautiful scenery! The weather was absolutely perfect. Our driver was awesome. He even made a U-turn so that we could go back to take photos from the bus of a mama bear and her 2 cubs who were munching on berries on the side of the road. However, the included lunch was not good at all. It consisted of flavorless potato salad, 3 types of sandwiches, and dried up banana bread. By the time we got there, they had run out of most of the food. It was sparsely replenished. Ugh.
Read qz2z's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chrisbennettga
Sep 2018
Best of the cruise. The driver (Doug) was passionate and VERY knowledgeable about the area. We stopped at a bunch of places to go out and view the incredible views, took tons of pictures. We were blessed with gorgeous weather, and got some amazing photos of the alders, the lakes (Emerald and Bennett lake are the best), had some ice cream in Carcross, and generally just had a perfect day.
Read chrisbennettga's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smumley
Sep 2018
Too long. 6 hours Could have been done in 2 hours
Read smumley's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CUontheC
Sep 2018
We did a tour all the way up to Carcross in Canada. Learned quite a lot and was able to view some beautiful scenery including a little desert and an emerald lake. Lunch was just ok at our stop. It was sandwiches and soup and pie.
Read CUontheC's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image patzlotnik
Sep 2018
Mark Larson was an entertaining guide. He knew so much about the area.
Read patzlotnik's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BurgerAdventurs9823
Sep 2018
Best part of our trip was the "bus/van" tour in Skagway. Mountain views, a comfy bus ride and we drove into Canada to see the Yukon. The train was expensive and crowded, so very happy we went with the bus tour.
Read BurgerAdventurs9823's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Skagway Tours
Member Image eljay45
Jul 2018
SKAGWAY: This was a very small port. We took the Yukon Scenic Trail tour that was about 5.5 - 6 hours long. It started at 8:00 and we got back to the ship around 2:00. Our guide was name Doug who was very knowledgeable. He was also a photographer that helped take pictures for you at the YUKON and ALASKA signs. It truly helped speed up the process and that everyone got a chance to get a picture in front those signs. We made various stops to take pictures. We stopped for lunch which consisted of Spinach cream and Beef vegetable soups, wraps and sandwiches, rhubarb and banana cream pie as well as cole slaw. The Lunch was amazingly delicious. You need to bring your passport as you do cross the Canadian border. We drove up 3500 feet above sea level mountains and just learned so much about the life of the Gold Rush and history of Alaska. We even got to see a bear. If you love scenery, you'll love this tour!
Read eljay45's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Yukonjake
Jul 2018
Train up to Fraser and then van as far as Emerald Lake. Scenic and relaxing, I loved seeing the traces of the miners' trail up the White Pass from the train.
Read Yukonjake's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image alibubba
Jul 2018
Great driver with lots of wonderful information. Comfortable bus.So much fog that we just didn't get the wonderful scenery you usually get. Emerald Lake was amazing. Lunch was only so-s0. Grandson wouldn't eat anything but the watermelon. Our final stop could have been wonderful, but train arrived at same time and the number of people there made it impossible to shop or enjoy.
Read alibubba's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image steveho
Jul 2018
Skagway bus / train ride – This was a fantastic tour. We booked this tour through BeyondSkagway.com and had a private bus tour to Emerald Lake with stops along the way. This tour was about $250 per person. The morning bus ride out was riddled with fog. The driver, Candace, told us that for July the weather was very typical. My mother was concerned about safety and driving in the fog, but there was so little traffic and Candace really knew the road well. I asked her to pick out her favorite stops because we were not familiar with the various stops. We ended stopping at a glacier waterfall and having a drink of fresh glacier melt water. It was very cold and very tasty. We stopped several times for photos at various lakes and mountains, but the best stop was at the puppies. For $25 per vehicle, we all got out to hold and pet puppies that are being trained to be dog-sled dogs. What a blast! Once we reached Emerald Lake, we stopped for photos. This lake is gorgeous with a deep emerald green color due to diatoms and runoff from the mountains. This is well worth the trip. Several of my group members asked why a 65 mile (each way) trip would take 7 hours. With all the stops and lunch along the way, it ended up taking what it did. It was a perfect trip and worth the 7 hours. This was with BeyondSkagwayTours.com, excellent outfit!
Read steveho's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: BeyondSkagwayTours.com
Member Image evandes
Jul 2018
again a wonderful guide who knew what she needed to do to give us an unforgettable experience
Read evandes's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crismarsh67
Jul 2018
Yukon Adventure by Bus with Chilkoot Charter and Tours Easy pick up right in front of the ship. Our tour guide (I apologize I can’t remember her name) provided us with a lot of information on Skagway and stories of the “Klondike Gold Rush” on our way to White Pass Summit. We stopped multiple times for photo ops of waterfalls, majestic mountains, glaciers, and historic sites. Our guide was a professional at knowing how to quickly take all of our photos in front of the “Welcome to Alaska” and “Welcome to the Yukon” signs. We stopped at the train station to pick up passengers and headed into the Yukon on the Klondike Highway. We stopped for lunch at Caribou Crossing Trading Post. The highlight of this stop was seeing the dog mushing camp and puppies. We also saw a bear while we were here (very exciting). We had one more stop for shopping and then we headed back to Skagway; most of us took a little nap. We had another quick stop for a bear sighting on the side of the road. Once back in Skagway we did a little shopping and had a “spruce tip beer” at Skagway Brewing Company. It was surprisingly tasty! We bought a Ulu knife here and it was the cheapest price compared to all other stops. So if you want one, I would suggest you buy it in Skagway. It is a great souvenir I am reminded of our trip each time I use it.
Read crismarsh67's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Chilkut Charters
Member Image tadumas1
Jul 2018
Great drive to the Yukon. Stopped at the suspension bridge and our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Lots of stops along the way and picture opportunities. We saw two brown bears as well and were able to stop and take pictures. I wish we had a little more time here as we were also able to walk all of the downtown area.
Read tadumas1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruisingtheBays
Jun 2018
Our driver /tour guide, Paul was excellent. His personal passion for the area came through in his great stories and places he stopped. The changing scenery up the mountain through BC to the Yukon was spectacular. Highly recommended this excursion. Good value for the money
Read CruisingtheBays's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image browneyedgirrl
Jun 2018
My husband and I did the Alaskan cruise 7 years ago and chose the White Pass Railway while in Skagway. It was a beautiful train ride, but we decided to do something different this time so we picked the bus tour of Yukon with Frontier Excursions. It was awesome! Instead of only getting a glimpse of the wonderful sights while on the train, we were able to stop and enjoy them on this tour. Our driver HEIDI was AMAZING. She was knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. She stopped on the side of the road for us to enjoy a mama bear with her cubs and entertained us during the drive with wonderful stories. The White Pass takes you to the Canadian border, this tour takes you much further in. I highly recommend this tour! My only pet peeve is how many tourist don't tip their tour guide, especially after 7 hours of hard work.
Read browneyedgirrl's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursion
Member Image bob10us
Jun 2018
Yukon territory scenic drive was excellent. We had a great time driving around mountains out to the Yukon. Had lunch at Spirit Lake Wilderness Resort Restaurant and viewing bears on the trip.
Read bob10us's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ChrisCJSU
Jun 2018
I booked the Yukon Territory Scenic Drive excursion through the ship. This was a 6 hour bus tour that included multiple stops along the way for pictures and lunch. Our tour bus consisted of only 22 passengers so it was a nice small group. Our tour guide/driver, Doug, was fantastic! He told us all about the gold rush and the areas we were driving through. Doug was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was a great speaker and storyteller.
Read ChrisCJSU's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image spurt
Jun 2018
This half-day tour showed you sights and places the train can't get to. A truly magnificent day that included a good BBQ chicken lunch.
Read spurt's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Southeast Tours
Member Image restasured
Jun 2018
Raymie, goes way beyond what she has too. She is truly a joy to be around and knows as much about the Skagway area, people and business's than probably anyone in the area. She is a naturist and knows her animals. Provided binoculars and even a spotting scope that we used to get a very close up look at some mountain sheep and a her baby. Can't say enough good things about this company and excursion.
Read restasured's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Midnight Sun Excursions. Raymie Eatough
Member Image cherch7777
Jun 2018
Very good tour and guide. Beautiful scenery.
Read cherch7777's full Norwegian Bliss cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image grayfamily5
May 2018
We did the Skagway Full Day Yukon Discovery Tour . The driver was great, very informative and helpfule. The tour was great, I think we lucked out because the Whitepass rail was closed due to a landslide. Really good day, lunch at Caribou crossing was nice. Our driver even stopped when she sighted bears at the side of the road!!
Read grayfamily5's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Skagway tours
Member Image The Moore
May 2018
Went to Carcross for a barbecue chicken lunch and dog sleds including petting zoo etc. scenic drive with stops in Carcross and picture taking at Emerald Lake
Read The Moore's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image burradoo
May 2018
Amazing day in a small bus. We had perfect weather and the scenery was outstanding. Our guide was excellent and the day included lunch at Carcross. We travelled through the Klondike area and into the Yukon territory of Canada.
Read burradoo's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image Fortressgirl
May 2018
We booked our Yukon Discovery tour with Southeast Tours in Skagway, and it was delightful. We took a mini-bus with 12 other people. Our guide was Bryan Terrell – best in Alaska! The tour was six hours with many picture stops. The Highlight was a visit to the Dog Sled camp with Barbeque Chicken lunch. Truly wonderful (cinnamon sugar donuts were awesome) We highly recommend this one.
Read Fortressgirl's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Southeast Tours
Member Image Fortressgirl
May 2018
We booked our Yukon Discovery tour with Southeast Tours in Skagway, and it was delightful. We took a mini-bus with 12 other people. Our guide was Bryan Terrell – best in Alaska! The tour was six hours with many picture stops. The Highlight was a visit to the Dog Sled camp with Barbeque Chicken lunch. Truly wonderful (cinnamon sugar donuts were awesome) We highly recommend this one.
Read Fortressgirl's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Southeast Tours

Sponsored links