Skagway Yukon Van Tour Excursion Reviews

Skagway Yukon Van Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See the remarkable Yukon on a comfortable and intimate guided van tour in Skagway. You will be in awe of its captivating beauty!
Member Image jlowe25
1 review
Sep 2017
We booked through Viator on Frontier Excursions and found the tour guide and tour to be spectacular. We were blessed with absolute blue skies and the best weather you could possibly ask for. Our tour was 6.5 hours of driving through the yukon while making several stops and some of the most scenic places I have experienced. Mike, our tour guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and funny. If or when I cruise to Alaska again, it is highly likely I will repeat this shore excursion... it is that good!
Read jlowe25's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image Wasimbari
2 reviews
Aug 2017
A good way to spend a day.
Read Wasimbari's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Skagway Scooters
Member Image friendswithdave
2 reviews
Aug 2017
Great mini-bus tour to the Yukon border. Great sights but saw little wildlife. Recommend. Booked through Juneau Tours and they gave us a free upgrade when no one else booked our tour.
Read friendswithdave's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Skagway Tours
Member Image Fabricrat
1 review
Aug 2017
This was a 6-hour van tour including Alaska, northern British Columbia and the Yukon. The tour guide was a history major and was very informative. We stopped in multiple places and were provided a delicious lunch (BBQ chicken, baked potato, coleslaw and cinnamon sugar donuts (all made fresh there) at Caribou Crossing in Carcross. There were 4 week and 12 week old sled puppies which we were encouraged to interact with. The vistas were breathtaking.
Read Fabricrat's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group (from Shipmate app)
Member Image Lukes Grandmother
5 reviews
Aug 2017
This all-day tour to the Yukon territory was great and the guide, Mike, made it so! A nice barbecued chicken lunch was included with a stop at Caribou Crossing, an interesting place with a nice wildlife museum and sled dogs & puppies to see. The scenery was gorgeous.
Read Lukes Grandmother's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Viator--Frontier tours
Member Image tmow09
1 review
Aug 2017
Since most Skagway tours didn't peak my group's interest, we decided to book a private van tour that took us through British Columbia and Yukon territories. Beyond Skagway did a great job and was affordable. Would definitely recommend them.
Read tmow09's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Beyond Skagway
Member Image roostermtn
1 review
Aug 2017
We had a private van tour for our group of 9 to White Pass and Emerald Lake with a stop at the suspension bridge. Our drive up and back were very foggy so we weren't able to see as much as we hoped but once we got over the pass the weather cleared and the viewing was beautiful. Our guide took great care of us and was very knowledgeable about the area. They were prompt picking us up and we arrived back in port right on schedule.
Read roostermtn's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Beyond Skagway
Member Image RogerLJ
1 review
Jul 2017
Booked with a local tour operator through Viator. Bus driver was also the tour guide and did an excellent job getting us to the Yukon border with plenty of narration during the drive.
Read RogerLJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2jhalpern
1 review
Jul 2017
Got great pics of the yukon but did not get to Emerald Lake because of KNOWN construction potential issues. Also saw NO wildlife and tour site mentioned spotting various wildlife. The mid day lunch stop at Caribou Crossing, to our family, was a tourist trap and we did not get any real time or interaction with the sled dogs or really learn about it, it was more touristy than a real traditional mushers camp. Our guide was lovely, and it wasnt her fault, but I would recommend families book a tour that maybe doesn't go as deep into the yukon but does NOT go to caribou crossing and waste time there. Also I would check in advance with any tour to confirm whether construction may "derail" some of your plans, because most of these port cities in Alaska have ONE highway in and the same one out, so any construction or anything can affect your plans and may make you want to change things.
Read 2jhalpern's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image sfleis100
4 reviews
Jul 2017
The highlight of our trip, going into the Canadian Yikon and then taking the scenic train back to town
Read sfleis100's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours
Member Image Sparling
1 review
Jul 2017
6 of us took a AC van into Yukon Territory through Dyea Dave! It was a great experience and our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave fun little facts throughout the trip. She gave us plenty of time at each stop and we never felt rushed the entire day!
Read Sparling's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Dyea Dave
Member Image Beachiekeen
2 reviews
Jun 2017
We took the Yukon Rail and Bus excursion with Chilkoot Charters. We took the bus up (Emerald Lake, Lake Bennett) and the train back from Fraser. Highly recommend. You must bring your passport.
Read Beachiekeen's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Chillkoot Charters
Member Image rpiwonka
5 reviews
Jun 2017
Second time on this tour and second time with the same driver, Pete. If you take this tour, try to get Pete, he is terrific. Great stories and history of the area. The scenery is magnificent. Much better than the train.
Read rpiwonka's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ezstreet
4 reviews
Jun 2017
I'll review those separately. In Skagway, we took the Yukon Rail & Bus Excursion through Chilkoot Charters & Tours. My husband and I had taken it on our previous cruise and loved it. Jenny, our driver, made this an awesome day! She was friendly and informative, without trying to be a comedian all day! She gave us quiet time, with some beautiful background music, on the trip back to the train, to soak up the majesty of our surroundings. We stopped from time to time for pictures, saw a brown bear, and had a wonderful stop for lunch and sled dog puppies (among other things) at the Caribou Crossing Trading Post. Jenny, our wonderful driver/guide, dropped us off at the Scenic Railway for an unforgettable ride back to the ship.
Read ezstreet's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters & Tours
Member Image Dilmemma
1 review
Jun 2017
We took a bus tour on a small bus through the Yukon and as far as Carcross (Caribou Crossing). It included lunch, as well as admission into the attraction at Carcross. The Yukon is very beautiful, and well worth the trip.
Read Dilmemma's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BitznDar
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Loved it. Pricey, especially for us Canadians who have to add 35% to every dollar spent....but this tour was well worth it.
Read BitznDar's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours
Member Image waterone
3 reviews
May 2017
Skagway was beautiful and trip to Yukon was amazing.
Read waterone's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dancinbear9
1 review
May 2017
6 hour round trip tour to Yukon with various stops for photos and restrooms. Stopped at a small cafe for free sandwiches and pie for lunch. Small menu but adequate. Enjoyed a stop in one village where we could shop for about 30 minutes.
Read Dancinbear9's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ACA Jester
7 reviews
May 2017
We used Frontier Excursions Yukon Discovery Tour. We chose this because the train, depending on the trip type you take, stops at Fraser, and you return via bus on the highway. The van to the Yukon follows the Klondike highway past Fraser and goes all the way to Caribou Crossing just past Carcross in the Yukon. Obviously you see a lot more: We stopped at the Welcome to Yukon sign, Welcome to Alaska sign, and stopped for pictures at the Carcross Desert, Bove Island, and Emerald Lake, along with some other picturesque areas crossing the mountains. We were lucky in that we saw a Brown bear along the side of the road eating Dandelions, and another Brown Bear on the way back. The narration was top notch. There was also lunch at Caribou Crossing and a chance to play with the sled dog puppies and tour a small taxidermy museum. All this for less than the cost of the railroad tour.
Read ACA Jester's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions
Member Image lightbalb2003
3 reviews
May 2017
We did the Yukoner half day tour and it was absolutely amazing. The best pictures from the vacation came from this excursion. It was reasonably priced, professional, and very informative.
Read lightbalb2003's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Frontier Shore Excursions
Member Image CruzinTampa
2 reviews
May 2017
Fantastic tour guide Heidi provided a great narration to the wonderful sights of the Yukon. We saw 7 bears, numerous Dall Sheep and mountain goats, eagles, etc.
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Frontier Tours
Member Image TymCrzr
2 reviews
May 2017
Was too short in time and so did not stop at a lot of picture taking spots where others were stopped. .
Read TymCrzr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Plane Guy
3 reviews
Apr 2017
Great trip into the Yukon. This was a wonderful way to really get off the beaten path and really see some of Inland Alaska & Canada. Well worth the cost.
Read Plane Guy's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Donna Jordan
1 review
Sep 2016
Took a tour to the Yukon! It is beyond beautiful! Saw mountain goats, a desert, and superior scenery! So worth my time and money!
Read Donna Jordan's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SactownSteve
1 review
Sep 2016
Our driver/guide Mike Swayze took us up the highway to White Pass describing all of the points of significance and stopping at many points along the way to give us picture taking opportunities. In the course of the ride we crossed over into the Yukon Territory of Canada and we had to show our passports. We saw all of the things the brochure promised including Emerald Lake which does look like an emerald, the world's smallest 'desert', the Mounty Museum, the Arctic Wildlife museum and we got to see the dogs pulling the sleds. There were some husky puppies available for adoption as well as for petting. This was at Caribou Crossing where we also had a delicious chicken BBQ lunch. A stop was also made at Carcross, which had a really interesting store with a lot of memorabilia as well as souvenirs for sale. On the way back we stopped at the various location signs for picture taking. It was a wonderful six and a half hour trip.
Read SactownSteve's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Frontier Excursions and Adventures

Sponsored links