Skagway Liarsville Excursion Reviews

Skagway Liarsville cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pan for gold in Liarsville, a fascinating reproduction of an authentic nineteenth century gold rush-era mining camp.
Member Image tbarsug
1 review
Jul 2017
Did not know what to expect but the food was decent and the entertainment was interesting.
Read tbarsug's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crackerbit
1 review
Jun 2017
A bus ride to Liarsville which is a re enactment of a gold rush tent village. The people there are really entertaining and tell the history of the place. A little 'gold panning' with flecks of gold planted in the pan. A nice warm gift shop. Dress warmly!
Read crackerbit's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kachhamer
1 review
May 2017
This was a van senic tour up to white pass with a few stops at the grave yard and liarsville. It was perfect. The Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read kachhamer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LindaJ24
1 review
May 2017
The salmon bake in Liarsville was terrific; we also went to the Gold Rush cemetery and on up to Reid's Falls - beautiful.
Read LindaJ24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rdthorne45
1 review
Sep 2016
Tour was OK, salmon overcooked & dining tents were messy
Read rdthorne45's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carolsuehogan
1 review
Aug 2016
Bus trip to Liarsville and then up to the Klondike and into Canada briefly. Highly recommend this.
Read carolsuehogan's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shankster
2 reviews
Aug 2016
This was part of the Best of Skagway and White Pass railway - I could have done without this part.
Read shankster's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mgm1012
1 review
Jul 2016
Sort of a silly thing to do. Had lunch there and it was less than adequate
Read mgm1012's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
We loved this tour, great historical feel. Definately family friendly.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mcookie39
1 review
May 2016
It was fun, we loved the gold panning with the characters. We wish that we had more time, the excursion was pretty short.
Read mcookie39's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Tammy64
1 review
May 2016
Good food!
Read Tammy64's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image poobahapril
1 review
May 2016
Liarsville was a fun, corny, family excursion that we all enjoyed. My grandchildren, ages 3/6, loved the gold mining. We enjoyed the food. It was way better than what we got on the ship.
Read poobahapril's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gmarks6870@yahoo.com
1 review
Sep 2015
The food was delicious (salmon especially) The entertainment was great and the gold panning was fun and wet. Really enjoyed this
Read gmarks6870@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chilled57
1 review
Aug 2015
We did Liarsville after the White Pass Railway we thought this would be a good thing to do, my advice is don't bother, it was rushed and we felt like we were on a conveyor belt. Entertainment average, scruffy place, scruffy people, gold panning wasn't brilliant either
Read chilled57's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rafavila
1 review
Jul 2015
Salmon was amazing and gold panning was fun.
Read Rafavila's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JJca
1 review
Jul 2015
Yummy food - small group no pressure lots of time to walk around and see displays.
Read JJca's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruising mom 3
3 reviews
Jul 2015
This was a nice family excursion. Fortunately, we had good weather, because I think it would have been kind of miserable in the typical cold and rain of Alaska. The food was great, and the entertainment was good. Panning for gold doesn't take place in a stream - they have long, rectangular metal tubs that they seed with real gold flakes. My daughter enjoyed that part the most.
Read Cruising mom 3's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bays
1 review
Jul 2015
We enjoyed our salmon at lunch here and we enjoyed the entertainment afterward. It was crowded, but our bus driver was very good.
Read bays's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image catgirl398
6 reviews
May 2015
The actors tried very hard to show us a good time. Put on a bit of a show with music and dancing. Taught us to pan for gold. This was an add on to our excursion on the White Pass Scenic Railway
Read catgirl398's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sandesurf
2 reviews
May 2015
We took a bus tour to White Pass Summit, suspension bridge, and Liarsville. Our tour guide was Shawn, and he was excellent! Besides the Glaciers, this was a highlight of our cruise! Beautiful scenery! Had a great time at the suspension bridge, and the food at Liarsville was GREAT, and plentiful! It was nice that there were only two tours there during our time, as I can see how would be crowded. I saw pictures of it before we went, and didn't think I would like sitting outside, eating in jackets, but it was fun! Okie Bob was adorable!
Read sandesurf's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gecoffie
2 reviews
Jul 2014
This was a good time. We first had a salmon bake feast which was done very well and was tasty. They have a setup of hiw the town would have looked and provide info in whay the people of the day went through. They also put on a little show before you pan for gold. It was a good time.
Read gecoffie's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NCSuz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

The salmon bake was delicious and the entertainment was fun! Despite an obnoxious family on our bus who annoyed the rest of us, driver Kacye handled the situation professionally with grace and dignity. My husband enjoyed the gold panning more than I did. The Liarsville performers were both talented and enthusiastic, making the brief show quite enjoyable.

Read NCSuz's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Trave1er
1 review
Jun 2014

Liarsville was a waste. They rushed us through every step from the barbecue to the campfire with cookies and hot chocolate, a poem and finally panning for gold. They hand you a pan with some dirt in it and you are to find the gold in it. Before I could do much, they took the pan away from me, so we would leave as another tour was coming in. Only 3 people in charge. The tents showing how they lived were filthy with vegetation having blown in them. Finally we were bused in town to the see the Red Onion Saloon. It was OK. Disney should do their own mining town and not these people. The driver kept forgetting to turn up on the sound on his speaker. He needs to be a bit more professional.

Read Trave1er's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image pattiek
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Best tour Best of Whate Passs/ Skagway - bus ride to Fraser BC then train ride back to Skagway - bus to Liarsville - Oakey Bob and his crew are THE BEST - they made everyone feel so welcome - the salmon bake was fantastic and so much food! Then they do a skit is full costume before showing you how to pan for gold - everyone get 2-4 pieces of gold - it was so much fun - we had one person in an electric scooter and one walker - the tour is fantastic for those with limited mobility.

Read pattiek's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruz'n bug
1 review
Sep 2013

Fun!

Read cruz'n bug's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links