Ketchikan Saxman Native Village Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Saxman Native Village cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit Ketchikan's own Saxman Native Village, home to an authentic clan house and the world's largest collection of standing totem poles. If you book a tour through your cruise ship you can even see a native dancing show.
Member Image Bluebirdsforall
1 review
Aug 2017
Saxman native village was fascinating; lumberjack show was hokey but fun.
Read Bluebirdsforall's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Gbo44
1 review
Jul 2017
Well done and gave good impression
Read Gbo44's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image OHappyDaze
1 review
Jul 2017
Native village. Several totems. Some local entertainers.
Read OHappyDaze's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ceriade
4 reviews
Jul 2017
Saxman Village was interesting, but our excursion, which included lumberack show & city tour seemed rushed, even though guide was helpful, informative and knowledgeable
Read ceriade's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tbarsug
1 review
Jul 2017
A peaceful place full of stories!!
Read tbarsug's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DBARR913
1 review
Jun 2017
This was our favorite port. Loved our excursion and the charm of the town.
Read DBARR913's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AgouraTraveler
6 reviews
May 2017
The tour began with a film and brief orientation in one building, then we moved to a carving building where someone gave us some information about that. Then we saw Native Tlingit dancers, who invited us to join them, followed by a visit many totem poles that had been collected and moved to this location. The presenters didn't seem very enthusiastic.
Read AgouraTraveler's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Tauck Tour
Member Image 40 Years between cruises
1 review
May 2017
Our guide was a nice young girl, but didn't know about totem poles!
Read 40 Years between cruises's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cmoncrieff
1 review
Sep 2016
This tour was very amateurish compared to our other tours on this cruise. There is so much more they could have done ... and what they did could have been done so much better. It's a pity really!
Read cmoncrieff's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ca92111@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
This Sourdough Tours was just okay. Ketchikan was filled with tourist trap shops and it was hard to find authenticity there. The guide didn't seem very knowledgeable about the Saxman Native Village and I heard much more about the meaning of the totem poles from a Native Alaskan guide conducting the tour behind us-- wish I'd gone with them instead! The tour ended back in Ketchikan at Dolly's House, a historic red light district tour which was an on-our-own option after we returned. Only a few of the folks in our tour group bothered to go, opting to grab some souvenirs and get back to the ship instead.
Read ca92111@hotmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Our supposed tour did not actually include the longhouse or performance, merely a view of the totems. This we could have had for much less using city bus, but at least we had some narration by a tourguide who was also a carver.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Mntryswed
1 review
Aug 2016
Not very well executed, do not enjoy watching school children dance and perform. Was not a very polished visit or guided tour.
Read Mntryswed's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ibeplato
1 review
Aug 2016
Our tour guide explained several of the totems, well worth an hour or so to visit.
Read ibeplato's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sourdough Tours
Member Image madigan008
1 review
Aug 2016
excellent dance presentation
Read madigan008's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image goblualum
1 review
Jul 2016
The driver was friendly and informative but being a Sunday, the artist was not working and this was not worth the price to see totem poles.
Read goblualum's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image edwardtravels
1 review
Jul 2016
Saxman Village is amazing. Enjoy meeting the native people and enjoy their totem poles. Take your camera as this place is beautiful
Read edwardtravels's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CraftySabine
2 reviews
Jul 2016
The Saxman village was very educational. The totem poles were great.
Read CraftySabine's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Palawala
1 review
Jul 2016
Very cultural and interesting. Beautiful totem polls and great views.
Read Palawala's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday so we could not see the master totem carver but the rest of the tour was great. My daughter even got up and danced with the native dancers. She was so excited when they dressed her up and taught her a traditional dance. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us many of the stories that went along with the totem poles. My favorite was oyster boy.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Susandron
1 review
Jun 2016
We enjoyed the tour.
Read Susandron's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CEOofVacation
1 review
Jun 2016
Enjoyed ourselves
Read CEOofVacation's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ColoradoPlainsCruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Good to see thru a native Alskan Tlingit's eyes.
Read ColoradoPlainsCruiser's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image v336
1 review
Jun 2016
Not much to see. If you have seen one totem, you have seen all. Plan in advance if you plan to take city bus. Service is sporadic.
Read v336's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image Nicknet
1 review
May 2016
GREA
Read Nicknet's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image AIPTravelBlog
1 review
May 2016
Because we were transported in a wheelchair-accessible van, we had our own private guide. He was knowledgeable about the Village and the totem poles, and was personally attentive and delightful!
Read AIPTravelBlog's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links