Hilo Island Tour Excursion Reviews

See all Hilo has to offer with a tour of this amazingly beautiful island -- you will feel like you are in another world!
The name of our tour was, Ultimate Hilo Coast which I don't see listed above.
Sail Date: July 2019
The name of our tour was, Ultimate Hilo Coast which I don't see listed above. This was also excellent and included lovely waterfalls, stunning valleys, and lush rain forests. I would not recommend this for someone with mobility ... Read More
The name of our tour was, Ultimate Hilo Coast which I don't see listed above. This was also excellent and included lovely waterfalls, stunning valleys, and lush rain forests. I would not recommend this for someone with mobility issues, though. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
The tour company did not have the same itinerary advertised through the cruise line.
Sail Date: April 2019
The tour company did not have the same itinerary advertised through the cruise line. They skipped the orchid garden that I was looking forward to, and the guide was not very good. The cruise line did offer a partial refund though.
The tour company did not have the same itinerary advertised through the cruise line. They skipped the orchid garden that I was looking forward to, and the guide was not very good. The cruise line did offer a partial refund though. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Josh was superb.
Sail Date: February 2019
Josh was superb. the tour centered around Volcano national park; orchard garden lunch; and rainbow falls. Small group - 12 people Highly recommended
Josh was superb. the tour centered around Volcano national park; orchard garden lunch; and rainbow falls. Small group - 12 people Highly recommended Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Visited a black sand beach, saw a blow hole at a public beach.
Sail Date: April 2018
Visited a black sand beach, saw a blow hole at a public beach. The tour was expensive for what you saw.
Visited a black sand beach, saw a blow hole at a public beach. The tour was expensive for what you saw. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
In Hilo, we did the Rainbow Falls and Volcanoes Tour.
Sail Date: March 2018
In Hilo, we did the Rainbow Falls and Volcanoes Tour. Includes a trek into a lava tube via Roberts Hawaii Tours (large group 4 stars)
In Hilo, we did the Rainbow Falls and Volcanoes Tour. Includes a trek into a lava tube via Roberts Hawaii Tours (large group 4 stars) Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
At 2 and a half hours, it was too short.
Sail Date: December 2017
At 2 and a half hours, it was too short.
At 2 and a half hours, it was too short. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
We were a smaller personal group.
Sail Date: September 2017
We were a smaller personal group. Queen Lili Gardens, Rainbow Falls, Orchid Farms, Volcanoes National Park. This was one of the highlights of our trip as we saw the beginnings of the future eruption of Mt. Kilauea
We were a smaller personal group. Queen Lili Gardens, Rainbow Falls, Orchid Farms, Volcanoes National Park. This was one of the highlights of our trip as we saw the beginnings of the future eruption of Mt. Kilauea Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Excellent tour!
Sail Date: August 2017
Excellent tour! In a van with only four other people. Very comprehensive, plenty of photo stops, had lunch at a great little place in Volcano, plus stops at the Macadamia and orchid farms. Ken was a great driver. Definitely recommend.
Excellent tour! In a van with only four other people. Very comprehensive, plenty of photo stops, had lunch at a great little place in Volcano, plus stops at the Macadamia and orchid farms. Ken was a great driver. Definitely recommend. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Kyle picked us up at pier and gave us a running commentary on the island, it's history, and ...
Sail Date: May 2017
Kyle picked us up at pier and gave us a running commentary on the island, it's history, and everything about what we were seeing. We started at Rainbow Fall and from there went to a coffee plant where we got to see how they plant, ... Read More
Kyle picked us up at pier and gave us a running commentary on the island, it's history, and everything about what we were seeing. We started at Rainbow Fall and from there went to a coffee plant where we got to see how they plant, harvest, and process coffee (plus some wonderful samples). We then headed up to the Volcano National Park where we got to see the lava coming up in the crater as well as got a guided tour through the museum. Kyle then took us to places where we could feel the heat through our shoes and see the venting. We then had a guided tour through the lava tubes with Kyle explaining all the latest information on the lava, lava tubes, and volcanos. We stopped at an orchid farm on the way back down to the ship. It was a great tour! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Interesting tour with some lovely waterfalls.Very relaxing.
Sail Date: March 2017
Interesting tour with some lovely waterfalls.Very relaxing.
Interesting tour with some lovely waterfalls.Very relaxing. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Cunard Line
In Hilo I did a tour that took me to a lagoon for a swim, then to a BBQ lunch, and finally to a ...
Sail Date: November 2016
In Hilo I did a tour that took me to a lagoon for a swim, then to a BBQ lunch, and finally to a lava field for an easy walk. I really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was excellent, the food at the BBQ was excellent. The Lagoon was strange. ... Read More
In Hilo I did a tour that took me to a lagoon for a swim, then to a BBQ lunch, and finally to a lava field for an easy walk. I really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was excellent, the food at the BBQ was excellent. The Lagoon was strange. Water was a tiny bit chilly. The water would crash over a rock wall and into the lagoon, so it was a saltwater lagoon. But it was bordered by a cement wall all around, so it seemed just like a swimming hole. They offered snorkeling, but I didn't get in. I don't think there was anything great to see. The walk on the lava field was interesting. I wish we could have seen a lava flow, but that's a different tour, probably on a boat. You could see steam and smoke in the distance from the lava flow. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Have done this before.
Sail Date: October 2016
Have done this before. the lagoon which is heated by deep volcanic action is fantastic. Bring your suit, it was 92 degrees and well guarded and supported.
Have done this before. the lagoon which is heated by deep volcanic action is fantastic. Bring your suit, it was 92 degrees and well guarded and supported. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Saw the volcano park and Rainbow Falls.
Sail Date: October 2016
Saw the volcano park and Rainbow Falls. Other attractions not so good, like Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory, which was closed on Saturday except for the store.
Saw the volcano park and Rainbow Falls. Other attractions not so good, like Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory, which was closed on Saturday except for the store. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
Hard to hear guide/bus driver.
Sail Date: September 2016
Hard to hear guide/bus driver. Nothing very impressive.
Hard to hear guide/bus driver. Nothing very impressive. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Excellent small tour with Gil as leader.
Sail Date: September 2016
Excellent small tour with Gil as leader.
Excellent small tour with Gil as leader. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Great sightseeing of the area
Sail Date: August 2016
Great sightseeing of the area
Great sightseeing of the area Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
great
Sail Date: July 2016
great
great Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
We toured in a small van with a native guide.
Sail Date: May 2016
We toured in a small van with a native guide. Unfortunately, we encountered rain for most of the tour around the island, but the waterfalls and mountain views of the ocean made this a wonderful experience.
We toured in a small van with a native guide. Unfortunately, we encountered rain for most of the tour around the island, but the waterfalls and mountain views of the ocean made this a wonderful experience. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Guide cooked lunch herself!
Sail Date: November 2015
Guide cooked lunch herself!
Guide cooked lunch herself! Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Holland America Line
A+
Sail Date: October 2015
A+
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
Went all over the island.
Sail Date: April 2015
Went all over the island. Our tour guide was wonderful. We went on the tour from the local farmers market. We went to the Macadamia factory , saw the black sand beach, turtles, water falls and so on.
Went all over the island. Our tour guide was wonderful. We went on the tour from the local farmers market. We went to the Macadamia factory , saw the black sand beach, turtles, water falls and so on. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
This was a successful experience.
Sail Date: December 2014
This was a successful experience. We booked a private tour for a whole day and saw a lot in spite of weather, which was not good here either. We only had 2 couples (us and the other couple in a van and enjoyed our tour a lot. Highly ... Read More
This was a successful experience. We booked a private tour for a whole day and saw a lot in spite of weather, which was not good here either. We only had 2 couples (us and the other couple in a van and enjoyed our tour a lot. Highly recommended. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
See trip report
Sail Date: February 2014
See trip report
See trip report Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises
This was the Akaka Falls, Macadamia Nut Farm, and Tropical Gardens tour.
Sail Date: February 2013
This was the Akaka Falls, Macadamia Nut Farm, and Tropical Gardens tour. It was difficult to find the meeting place. However, the tour took us to many unexpected places in addition to those mentioned. We also saw Rainbow Falls, the Rain ... Read More
This was the Akaka Falls, Macadamia Nut Farm, and Tropical Gardens tour. It was difficult to find the meeting place. However, the tour took us to many unexpected places in addition to those mentioned. We also saw Rainbow Falls, the Rain forest Zoo, Wailoa River State Park, a black sand beach, etc. We got back an hour later than planned, but luckily we had no other tour booked. It was a great tour. Later we took a free shuttle to Hilo Hattie's to do some shopping. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider:
Don't bother booking this one, you won't get what you think you are paying for.
Sail Date: December 2012
Don't bother booking this one, you won't get what you think you are paying for. Cost $414 per person over the age of 12 years, for this price we were expecting premium service. The waterfalls are lovely, the Hawaiian BBQ is ... Read More
Don't bother booking this one, you won't get what you think you are paying for. Cost $414 per person over the age of 12 years, for this price we were expecting premium service. The waterfalls are lovely, the Hawaiian BBQ is just some marinated meat cooked on a gas BBQ similar to the one you probably have in your back yard. The helicopter tour was the most disappointing of all. Our group was over booked (I suspect he company took advantage of the fact that both my daughter and I are light weight and of small stature to jam more people in) and instead of there being 3 people plus a pilot in the helicopter, 5 people plus a pilot were squeezed into the helicopter. My 13 yo daughter was jammed in a centre seat with no hope of seeing anything out of the window around the passengers either side of her. We made a complaint to the Princess Tour desk who gave us a written response that stated "window seats could not be guaranteed due to the weight and balance of the aircraft" which essentially means that passengers who are light weight and small in stature will be given second preference when seats are allocated. If we had known that we were paying a premium price for a second rate tour we would have made our own arrangements with a professional tour operator. Read Less
Shore Excursion Provider: Princess Cruises